The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2012, 9:46 am

I installed Jellybean Resurrection Remix for my i9100 s2 and must say its the best rom ever.

One thing though my WIFI stopped working a month ago. Tried flashing and unrooting with odin, factory restore, everything i could think off. But wifi still won't work it sticks on scanning and then turns back off. Tried different kernel everything. Maybe its a hardware issue?

A guy would trade his HTC inspire for my S2 as it is but to be honest after seeing them specs and comparing it to this S2 I cannot part with it. Plus the EDGE and 4G works fine which is the main reason for the phone anyways.

I currently use reverse USB tethering to get internet on it since I am home these days and already have land line dsl.

Thinking of a way to get the internet via bluetooth from the pc to the phone.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2012, 9:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I installed Jellybean Resurrection Remix for my i9100 s2 and must say its the best rom ever.

One thing though my WIFI stopped working a month ago. Tried flashing and unrooting with odin, factory restore, everything i could think off. But wifi still won't work it sticks on scanning and then turns back off. Tried different kernel everything. Maybe its a hardware issue?

A guy would trade his HTC inspire for my S2 as it is but to be honest after seeing them specs and comparing it to this S2 I cannot part with it. Plus the EDGE and 4G works fine which is the main reason for the phone anyways.

I currently use reverse USB tethering to get internet on it since I am home these days and already have land line dsl.

Lol how does wifi fail just so just so?

casper

Postby casper » October 16th, 2012, 10:02 am

^^yea some devices like d wifi does give up jusso for real...i once had a blackberry flip pearl and d wifi and bluetooth just stop workin in it jussso...i have a ipod touch 4g at home too d wifi stop working as well...i dunno nah sometimes i feel like my router sending wireless viruses to my devices :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2012, 10:08 am

That happened once to me when I updated my coby tab and it just took a simple restart to fix the bug.

Never had a device fail on wifi and I'm on a lot of *open* networks all day.

De ass allyuh dewing?

Postby pete » October 16th, 2012, 10:19 am

When I loaded CM9 on my galaxy player the wifi wasn't working. Went back to the RemICS rom and it's working again. No wifi on that device would truly suck (Not a phone)

achillies

Postby achillies » October 16th, 2012, 10:24 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I installed Jellybean Resurrection Remix for my i9100 s2 and must say its the best rom ever.

When you say you tried different kernels, what you mean, Samsung based or AOSP based

And the last time I had WiFI issues on my device, it was because of an BusyBox installer by Stericson (forgive the spelling if it's wrong)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 16th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Since i switched the s3 back to 4.0.4 from the Poland 4.1.1 update..every thing works good...my blackberry charger charges just as fast as the samsung official.
Now to regain my Dead Trigger points

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 17th, 2012, 8:38 am

it have any way to get paid apps for free???

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 17th, 2012, 8:53 am

achillies wrote:

When you say you tried different kernels, what you mean, Samsung based or AOSP based

And the last time I had WiFI issues on my device, it was because of an BusyBox installer by Stericson (forgive the spelling if it's wrong)

Both!

Phone kinda sucks now. I even tried flashing the official samsung ICS, even took out the battery for like a whole night and put it back in the next morning to see if the wifi would work and still nothing.

I have hard time parting with it for similar phones though. Few people wanna trade their LG and HTC single core 1ghz phone and stuff for my S2 because they really interested in 4G but everytime I compare the specs and looks of this phone to the others there really is no comparison even without the WIFI. Man even the 1080p camecorder on this phone is way better than the 1080p I had on my Motorola Atrix 2. this 1080p records a lot cleaner and sharper and smoother, less vsync issues etc. So you see giving this up for a phone with 720p is hard even though I dont even use the camcorder LOL

One day it was on regular gingerbread that the phone came with. Rooted offcourse and I was talking to someone on the phone, when time to hang up the call it won't hang up so I had to force it to show down. When rebooted the WIFI would not work.

Figured was something simple till I restored from backup and installed different roms like cyanogen mod 9 and stuff that I had before and none worked. Figured it might be hardware.

It sucks but I would prefer the WIFI dead than the 4G because when I am home I never use the phone I use my PC. But when I am in traffic coming home or something it is then I need my internet on the phone and only thing that would work is EDGE or 4G. So in a way I suppose it isn't all that bad.

viper1

Postby viper1 » October 17th, 2012, 3:42 pm

Need some help tuners, dropped my htc one x and now there is a huge hairline crack across the screen(digitizer screen has the crack but still working, LCD below is still perfect)

Who locally can professionally repair this for me or would i have to do the repair myself(dont want to unless i have no choice as it looks a bit complex from watching some videos)

Should i order a complete lcd+screen replacement or just the screen?(seeing as they are both glued together and separating them might just break the lcd unless repair shops can do it)
Also the one x is a unibody design like the iphone so the screen and attached components would need to be pryed out from the back plate.

Pics of the damge:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/89886925/IMG_0349.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/89886925/IMG_0350.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/89886925/IMG_0352.JPG
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/89886925/IMG_0353.JPG

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2012, 4:21 pm

Unless u goin to the us soon. Sell and buy a new one. Less stress

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Google announces Android event for October 29th at 10AM ET

It looks like the rumors about an Android event on October 29th were correct. An invitation from Google just landed in our inboxes for an event at 10AM at Basketball City in New York's Pier 36 entertainment complex, and while the invite is light on specifics, the design is unmistakably a reference to the company's Google Now interface. The timing of the event is significant for being on the same day as Microsoft's own Windows Phone 8 event

Over the past few weeks we've seen rumors building for an LG Nexus device running stock Android and based on the company's Optimus G hardware, but images we saw purporting to be of a Sony Nexus device lend credence to months-old talk of an expanded, multi-manufacturer Nexus program. In either case, Google will be streaming the event live on YouTube, and you can be sure The Verge will be there with a liveblog for the ages.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 17th, 2012, 10:39 pm

viper1 wrote:Need some help tuners, dropped my htc one x and now there is a huge hairline crack across the screen(digitizer screen has the crack but still working, LCD below is still perfect)

Who locally can professionally repair this for me or would i have to do the repair myself(dont want to unless i have no choice as it looks a bit complex from watching some videos)

Should i order a complete lcd+screen replacement or just the screen?(seeing as they are both glued together and separating them might just break the lcd unless repair shops can do it)
Also the one x is a unibody design like the iphone so the screen and attached components would need to be pryed out from the back plate.

Pics of the damge:

count it as loss my friend. same thing happened to my s2...ended up selling it for parts.
got an s3....with OTTERBOX :evilbat:

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 17th, 2012, 11:26 pm

Wow @ problems on this page :/

Btw men really could see a diff between 1080p and 720p on a phone screen??

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2012, 12:09 am

Dude if u don't like android OS or the devices that run them then kool for u...but it amazes me how u still come on this page every day religiously to point out the bad and beat up over it...if ur preference is apple then u should be in the apple thread talkin bout how kool the iPhone 5 is and how they added an amazing 5th row of icons and a headphone jack at the bottom Lolz

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 18th, 2012, 12:13 am

casper wrote:Dude if u don't like android OS or the devices that run them then kool for u...but it amazes me how u still come on this page every day religiously to point out the bad and beat up over it...if ur preference is apple then u should be in the apple thread talkin bout how kool the iPhone 5 is and how they added an amazing 5th row of icons and a headphone jack at the bottom Lolz

:lol: de ass

Ok then :/

viper1

Postby viper1 » October 18th, 2012, 1:23 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
viper1 wrote:Need some help tuners, dropped my htc one x and now there is a huge hairline crack across the screen(digitizer screen has the crack but still working, LCD below is still perfect)

Pics of the damge:

count it as loss my friend. same thing happened to my s2...ended up selling it for parts.

damn everyone seems to be saying the same thing lol...seems like noone locally can do this repair.
oh well i guess i'll use it for now and wait for the one x+ release later this month or the new nexus
hate using a case but definitely gonna get one of those otterbox for the new one lol

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 18th, 2012, 5:31 am

yeah Viper1...i learned my lesson. Every now and then i take my phone out to remind myself how sleek it is....then i put it away when the fear becomes too great. sickening feeling to see you s2 valued at 3000 a few minutes before (at that time) being sold for 400-500.

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2012, 8:18 am

i dont particularly like cases on my phones but for the s3 i made sure and get one though...just using a android TPU type case and its more than enough protection for the phone cuz i dont drop my devices...otterbox is the best protection but it takes ALOT from the actual beauty of the phone though

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 18th, 2012, 8:23 am

Whats the best ROM for the S3 ?

Have a friend with one looking to get rid of all the bloatware with the stock firmware (I think it's ICS)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 18th, 2012, 8:42 am

casper wrote:i dont particularly like cases on my phones but for the s3 i made sure and get one though...just using a android TPU type case and its more than enough protection for the phone cuz i dont drop my devices...otterbox is the best protection but it takes ALOT from the actual beauty of the phone though

Well I drop mine all the time. So I have to make sure it is safe. Two kids under 2 years old.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 18th, 2012, 8:44 am

casper wrote:Dude if u don't like android OS or the devices that run them then kool for u...but it amazes me how u still come on this page every day religiously to point out the bad and beat up over it...if ur preference is apple then u should be in the apple thread talkin bout how kool the iPhone 5 is and how they added an amazing 5th row of icons and a headphone jack at the bottom Lolz

Ent u used to do that?

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2012, 8:55 am

i had a iphone but i never used to come in this thread and $hit up android

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2012, 8:58 am

casper wrote:i dont particularly like cases on my phones but for the s3 i made sure and get one though...just using a android TPU type case and its more than enough protection for the phone cuz i dont drop my devices...otterbox is the best protection but it takes ALOT from the actual beauty of the phone though

Well I drop mine all the time. So I have to make sure it is safe. Two kids under 2 years old.

u have a reason to have an otterbox...cuz of the kids...i dont need one though...

how did the phone handle the drops though??? any damages at all?

Postby Greypatch » October 18th, 2012, 9:02 am

got my update OTA for 4.1.2 this morning

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 18th, 2012, 9:06 am

I
casper wrote:

u have a reason to have an otterbox...cuz of the kids...i dont need one though...

how did the phone handle the drops though??? any damages at all?

Fallen from lap, baby throws, lap tumbles, desk falls, pocket topple sat on sofa, the works. Otterbox thing protects like a champion, not one scuff.
My s2 fell 2 feet softly on tiles, and the screen cracked, no protection of course.

casper

Postby casper » October 18th, 2012, 9:19 am

Greypatch wrote:got my update OTA for 4.1.2 this morning

4.1.2 u say???

on what device is this?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 18th, 2012, 10:06 am

viper1 wrote:

Pics of the damge:

damn everyone seems to be saying the same thing lol...seems like noone locally can do this repair.
oh well i guess i'll use it for now and wait for the one x+ release later this month or the new nexus
hate using a case but definitely gonna get one of those otterbox for the new one lol

http://www.seidioonline.com/

Really thin cases that provide protection and add much bulk. Got one for my gf.

Trini Hookah wrote:

Ent u used to do that?

Dan, Loww the youth, he is mih Padna :lol:

Postby Damien » October 18th, 2012, 10:15 am

After paying 4k for rhe s3 i had to love the otterbox by force

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 18th, 2012, 11:18 am

Guys please remember that Google also make apps for the iPhone, iPad and Macintosh.
So have some respect. Poking fun is one thing but remember you Apple folks use Google on a daily basis.