Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

SHARIFF

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby SHARIFF » September 10th, 2012, 7:31 pm

mojosodope wrote:Yeah I called raj earlier he has it but not the calibration solution. The meter itself is reasonable on amazon but the calibration solution heavy so I was trying to avoid the shipping cost.

UNLESS YUH HAVE TEN TANKS OR MORE YUH BETTER WITH A TETRA OR API TEST KIT
METERS NEED CONSTANT CALIBRATION AND D SOLUTION SHELF LIFE SUCKS

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 7:59 pm

I have the api master test kit and it does the job but it's hard to tell the exact pH sometimes since the colors are really similar to one another. I'm going to be drip acclimatizing 6-8 discus to a pH of 8.2 so I need to be spot on so the api test kit falls short in that aspect. The meters I saw on amazon you have to purchase the solution separately and it kinda costly

I found this on ebay, comes with two small packets any thoughts? seems like it would do the job

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-pH-Pock ... 3f1bb4a052

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 8:00 pm

SHARIFF wrote:
mojosodope wrote:Yeah I called raj earlier he has it but not the calibration solution. The meter itself is reasonable on amazon but the calibration solution heavy so I was trying to avoid the shipping cost.

UNLESS YUH HAVE TEN TANKS OR MORE YUH BETTER WITH A TETRA OR API TEST KIT
METERS NEED CONSTANT CALIBRATION AND D SOLUTION SHELF LIFE SUCKS

Thats strange???? Ive checked my calibration multiple times and never had any problems. The color test strips are ok but the digital meter is allot faster. Every once in awhile i even use both of them back to back to see if the readings consistant. When you acclimatising fish or corals that you picked up and the PH is a fair amount off from yours (too high or too low), i really dont think you want to be going tru d headache of using the test strips 5-10 times in the next 1-2hrs.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 8:09 pm

as far I'm concerned based on experiences from people that have used it, reviews, research etc, test stripes are worthless to any serious aquarist, I use the liquid api master kit but I just need really accurate pH readings for this so that's why I want the meter.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 8:17 pm

Honestly, for delicate fish like discus. buy the meter.
You could even check people who working in a lab to get some solution or calibrate it for you

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 10th, 2012, 8:21 pm

yeah thanks for the advice man, I went ahead and purchased it, for the cost of discus it's really a stupid move not to make a sensible investment such as this.

Postby UML » September 10th, 2012, 8:35 pm

honda, can i get copepods to buy from raj?
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 9:01 pm

You really dont need to buy copepods to put in your tank. Its advisable (from the net) that your tank be WELL ESTABLISHED (9mths +) and running efficiently before you put a mandarin. There are reports stating that mandarins can actually remain in an unpopulated copepod/amphepod tank for just over 3mths before even showing signs of starvation (by that time its too late) followed by death. I never even bought that for my tank. I actually got away with it in my tank by adding the mandarin within the 1-2mth, because all my 250lbs+ of live rock thats in my tank right now was bought a year prior and running in my concrete tubs outside. I also had numerous fish including mollies. So actually my tubs were way cycled and stuff long before i even set up. Just leave the tank and they will multiply on its own. The only thing you will have to check on is the other fish you are putting in there doent eat the same food (copepods). Mandarins are slow movers and eaters. Right now i have a yellow banded possum wrasse that competes with my mandarin, but up to a few mths ago, he (the wrasse) was taking the brine shrimp, mysis and other food chunks. After awhile you'll stop seeing copepods all over the glass, but dont worry...............the're out there.

RIGHT TRU IT STATES WELL ESTABLISHED.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... pcatid=551

Mandarin Fish are fairly slow moving and prefer live foods in the aquarium. Because of this they are difficult to acclimate to aquarium life and should only be introduced to a long-established aquarium with a healthy growth of copepods. Live rock, macroalgae, and a refugium help to produce the types of food they prefer. Their small mouths are only suited to feeding on small prey.
Last edited by HondaB20B on September 10th, 2012, 9:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 9:16 pm

Whenever the moonlights (Super blue LED's) come on late in the evening, very small critters come out and start to run on the glass. The mandarin is always picking at them constantly.

Postby UML » September 10th, 2012, 9:46 pm

k thanks again honda

not sure if is copepods i have self.....is some kinda small shrimp-like thing that crawls around in the tank at night

will wait until my tank is a year old then...now 6 months

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 10:10 pm

that could be all kinda critters............... might even be baby brine shrimp or sea fleas etc. I used to feed my tank with live brine shrimp (at night so they'll survive) so that they will multiply and my mandarin will always have food. I always see allot of them scampering tru my rock works.
once your tank well maintained and you not using excess products that might kill off stuff you;re good to go. I see Chais have ah set of products on their shelf for SW use................ All those just create problems long term. Regular water change and regular feedings (depending on bioload) a very good skimmer and you good to go. your fish and coral will remain healthy. After awhile you'll realize your tank running on auto pilot and you have nothing much to do again. Cleaning of my tank/50gal water change every 2-3wks now takes less than 1/2hr. To me the hardest part now is the cleaning of coraline algae of the 3 viewing glasses

Postby UML » September 10th, 2012, 10:17 pm

HondaB20B wrote:that could be all kinda critters............... might even be baby brine shrimp or sea fleas etc. I used to feed my tank with live brine shrimp (at night so they'll survive) so that they will multiply and my mandarin will always have food. I always see allot of them scampering tru my rock works.
once your tank well maintained and you not using excess products that might kill off stuff you;re good to go. I see Chais have ah set of products on their shelf for SW use................ All those just create problems long term. Regular water change and regular feedings (depending on bioload) a very good skimmer and you good to go. your fish and coral will remain healthy. After awhile you'll realize your tank running on auto pilot and you have nothing much to do again. Cleaning of my tank/50gal water change every 2-3wks now takes less than 1/2hr. To me the hardest part now is the cleaning of coraline algae of the 3 viewing glasses

i need to invest in a good skimmer eventually

wah u use to clean the glass....i see a couple areas in my tank getting some and I considering removing it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Azoo glass cleaner with the razor blade. I leave the coraline though on the viewing glasses, glass cleaners and mp40's............... the look better all purple than the original black

Postby UML » September 10th, 2012, 10:23 pm

k i realize its amphipods i have

it looks like this

*doing happy dance* :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 10:30 pm

UML wrote:i need to invest in a good skimmer eventually

yup, especially if you going into corals. When you get one of those fancy ones that use pin wheel tech, you'll see the kinda gunk a skimmer really pulls out of your water. Mine constantly works overtime cause i feed excessively................... like over 10 times for the day.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 10:35 pm

If you're gong to put wrasses, they'll eat out allot of your mandarins food. so you'll have to watch your stocking list

Postby UML » September 10th, 2012, 10:46 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:i need to invest in a good skimmer eventually

yup, especially if you going into corals. When you get one of those fancy ones that use pin wheel tech, you'll see the kinda gunk a skimmer really pulls out of your water. Mine constantly works overtime cause i feed excessively................... like over 10 times for the day.

any recommendations?

HondaB20B wrote:If you're gong to put wrasses, they'll eat out allot of your mandarins food. so you'll have to watch your stocking list

dont like wrasses
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2012, 11:00 pm

Some may beg to differ, but there are allot of options out there when it comes to skimmers. I've had good results with ASM. WHY?.................. besides getting it easily by raj, actually seeing him using one on his big tank. Also In the event of a breakdown, He'll lend me a skimmer untill i get a replacement. Not only that, I Know 2 people bought Reef octopus models off amazon (in TNT) and in 6mths the motor went. When they called them in the US, it was a problem to get it. Same thing with my chiller. I'll go crazy seeing my tank with no chiller or skimmer running for a couple hrs, much less days. I aint going tru dat. Mind you Reef octopus is top of d line stuff. And Raj is actually the dealer of both products. Now think about it, ent if you seeing someone using a product and it working for them............... ent you'll use it too?? Ive had my skimmer since inception (Just over a year) and i've never ever had any problems with it. Allot easier to finetune than the reef octopus (so i've heard). My skimmer runs 24/7 and pulls allot of skimmate because of the excessive feedings i do. If i was using an in-efficient skimmer from the beginning, i would of had poor water quality and allot of cyano.
Powder blues and powder browns are delicate tangs. ICH MAGNETS as reef central places them. The're not good in small tanks because of how the swim allot. They need space. Dont let me discourage you though. Two mandarins in a small tank is stress for if not one.......... but both. Two of them competing for the same food source. I was going to place a second one (red) in my tank but later changed my mind. maybe next year when i know for sure the tank can handle it.

Postby UML » September 11th, 2012, 6:11 am

k

right now i removing pot scrubs every week, doing water changes every 1-2 weeks, vodka dosing daily and still not seeing any improvement.

will know for sure when all the pot scrubs are out
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 6:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2012, 10:04 pm

UML wrote:k

if my nitrates dont drop when i take out all the pot scrubs...i will consider buying a better skimmer.

right now i removing pot scrubs every week, doing water changes every 1-2 weeks, vodka dosing daily and still not seeing any improvement.

:shock: .......you still taking potscrub out?
how much ah them thing you put

Postby sharkman121 » September 12th, 2012, 9:56 am

Still looking for a home for a maroon clownfish and a foxface rabbitfish, had an accident with my tank. PM me.

Postby UML » September 12th, 2012, 10:41 am

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:k

if my nitrates dont drop when i take out all the pot scrubs...i will consider buying a better skimmer.

:shock: .......you still taking potscrub out?
how much ah them thing you put

:oops:

bout 60

taking out 12 per week :mrgreen:

anyone want pot scrub to wash wares? :wink:

Postby sharkman121 » September 12th, 2012, 10:43 am

UML wrote:anyone want pot scrub to wash wares? :wink:

haha

Postby UML » September 12th, 2012, 4:06 pm

damn u nitrates
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 12th, 2012, 9:05 pm

got two 9" red tail catfish, AND two 9" Black collard catfish, still looking for a HOME.

link

Postby link » September 13th, 2012, 12:06 am

Kasey wrote:got two 9" red tail catfish, AND two 9" Black collard catfish, still looking for a HOME.

donate dem to my 're-homing' pond....I'm putting dem big fellas in the pond ...those who got too big for regular home aquarists...
let me know...I'll pick them up....
rgds

rookie

Postby rookie » September 13th, 2012, 11:11 am

Image tanks a lot for all the help guys my tank is really coming together !

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 14th, 2012, 12:53 am

For those of you who interested, South Coast petshop in Grand Bazzar have 1" freshwater shrimp (not crayfish)........$3
He also has some Red Star Flower Horn Cichlid & the blue star also.
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... catid=1994

LucaG

Postby LucaG » September 14th, 2012, 9:20 am

Saltwater Aquarium for sale with live rock, sand, fish, lighting, skimmer, phosban reactor, power head, hang on/internal overflow box.

Equipment:
Aquarium - 25" Wide x 25" Deep x 25" High - Its a square tank. - $4000
Sump Tank - 20" Wide x 12" Deep x 15" High - $125
Coralife T5 Quad Lamp Fixture with Lunar Aqualight Led 30" T 5 - $2500
Aqua Lifter Pump with hang on bracket - $185
Phosban Aquarium Phosphate Reactor 150 with Top Quality Phosban (1 lb) - $700
Koralia Evolution Water Pump 1050gph - $350
E.S.V. B-Ionic 2 Part Calcium Buffer (2 x 1 Gallon Bottles) - $ 400

Coming with built in stand and cabinet

Price of Equipment with Marine Fish -$9000 TTD
Purple Tang
Pair of Black Clownfish
Royal Gramma
3 Chromis
Coral Banned Shrimp
Anemone

Contact Nicholas @ 472-8645

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » September 14th, 2012, 12:30 pm

I have a new 600g of new life spectrum thera a forumla non medicated anti parasitic fish pellets , I just got it and I used a teaspoon but the pellets sink too fast for my rainbow fish, if anyone's interested PM me, located in Arouca.