The *Official* [IDIOT DRIVER OF THE DAY] Thread

kamakazi

Re: The *Official* [IDIOT DRIVER OF THE DAY] Thread

Postby kamakazi » September 12th, 2014, 10:01 am

You were in the Lexus man blind spot.
He tried to move across two lanes using only his mirrors....he would never see you until he hits or physically looks over his/her shoulder. Good reaction

Postby Chimera » September 12th, 2014, 12:21 pm

GTcruzer wrote:He was NOT an idiot driver (at least for the period he came in my view) but the clip is just to show how sh!t can happen even at slower speeds. Be careful out there guys. Especially with these wet conditions.

thats by the aranguez turn off/low cost

see that happen anytime the road a lil wet

every single time rain fall, ppl skidding into a ditch on both sides of that same area

Postby Morpheus » September 12th, 2014, 12:32 pm

kamakazi wrote:You were in the Lexus man blind spot.
He tried to move across two lanes using only his mirrors....he would never see you until he hits or physically looks over his/her shoulder. Good reaction

Bad location to try to move across 2 lanes.....

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 12:51 pm

Ummm 3:06-3:23, why did you deliberately surge forward to prevent the suv from merging at the top of the feeder lane?

Reddis

Postby Reddis » September 12th, 2014, 12:55 pm

He got squeezed because the SUV had already passed the area to merge

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 12th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Reddis wrote:SHE got squeezed because the SUV had already passed the area to merge
Correct, Nicole was trying to merge from the shoulder. And she continued her shoulder antics later in the clip.

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 3:36 pm

So it's okay to force the bad-drive? The person was expected to sit there until someone wasn't intent on being a dick? Two wrongs to make one wronger?

Postby cinco » September 12th, 2014, 3:44 pm

Hook wrote:So it's okay to force the bad-drive? The person was expected to sit there until someone wasn't intent on being a dick? Two wrongs to make one wronger?

no but she could have merged where the merging area is available.
the guy in his lane is not wrong she was basically driving on the shoulder because she was impatient to merge behind him

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 3:51 pm

The suv wasn't more than a car length or two from the merging lane, and attempting to merge slowly, but was prevented from doing so. The camera doesn't show what circumstance made it so it had to get to the end of the lane before the merge. Maybe the driver behind was anasshole too.
Either way that was a dick move to squeeze the person out of a merge.
If they're an idiot driver, it's because of the shoulder run afterward, but some consideration for the merge was called for and you were being a dick.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 12th, 2014, 3:58 pm

Hook wrote:The suv wasn't more than a car length or two from the merging lane, and attempting to merge slowly, but was prevented from doing so. The camera doesn't show what circumstance made it so it had to get to the end of the lane before the merge. Maybe the driver behind was anasshole too.
Either way that was a dick move to squeeze the person out of a merge.
If they're an idiot driver, it's because of the shoulder run afterward, but some consideration for the merge was called for and you were being a dick.
If she had to 'sit and wait' to merge she should have done so!

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 4:02 pm

You're being pedantic. I don't see the need to squeeze the suv out of a safe merge just because you find they should obey the rules to the letter. Life happens.
Okay, so the line was crossed and the person attempted to merge without running too far down the shoulder, and your best response was "nah haul yuh cornt, no merge fuh you".
That not making any sense.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 12th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Hook wrote:You're being pedantic. I don't see the need to squeeze the suv out of a safe merge just because you find they should obey the rules to the letter. Life happens.
Okay, so the line was crossed and the person attempted to merge without running too far down the shoulder, and your best response was "nah haul yuh cornt, no merge fuh you".
That not making any sense.

I understand the point you are making. But by your own admission "The camera doesn't show what circumstance made it so it had to get to the end of the lane before the merge." For all I know she might have driven around others trying to merge. Therefore I choose not to judge pseudorandom and call him names. My comments are based on what I can observe in the clip.

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 4:18 pm

Well then we're on the same page.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 12th, 2014, 4:25 pm

Hook wrote:So it's okay to force the bad-drive? The person was expected to sit there until someone wasn't intent on being a dick? Two wrongs to make one wronger?

When you sit there in traffic and see people continuously doing their shoulder driving without any ramifications you inevitably want to do something. The squeezing of the shoulder drivers is about the only thing you can do even if it is an "ahole" move likely to lead to a collision and headache with police and insurance later down the road.

Postby Morpheus » September 12th, 2014, 4:26 pm

LoL even I thought the squeeze was kind of harsh but as was said we do not know what happened before. Also I would be even more willing if SUV had indicated (not sure if she did).

There are some people for example have all kinds of time to merge, clear left lane etc, but choose to ride out the whole merge lane before looking to merge when you reach up on them. LoL.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 12th, 2014, 4:27 pm

Hook wrote:Well then we're on the same page.
Same page, different perspective.

Postby Hook » September 12th, 2014, 5:03 pm

When you sit there in traffic and see people continuously doing their shoulder driving without any ramifications you inevitably want to do something. The squeezing of the shoulder drivers is about the only thing you can do even if it is an "ahole" move likely to lead to a collision and headache with police and insurance later down the road.

The hookmobile isn't a bicycle eh, it's a car, so I face the same things as you do on the road.
I'm no saint, but I'm considerate and I'm honest, and I've been to the end of the merging lane before, so I know how it feels.

This wasn't a roadhog 500ft down the shoulder trying to push in your front bumper, this was a person who stopped just outside the lane. I believe that some consideration was called for.
I guess we both would have acted differently, that's all.

samos

Postby samos » September 12th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Anarchist wrote:Allyuh picking on women I see men of all ages driving like 12 year old girls. A man decide he want to tail me and that wasn't good enough so he decide to overtake me on aranguez main road and I do him a wickedness I pull on him and make him run in to a parked 3 ton good for d a$$hole. His A6 is now a A $hit. I laugh at he tail n drive off. Then again u does see some men thinking like is a exam they writing to pass through some places they does make me wonder boy I does think little girls teaching these big hard back men to drive.
€£¥~~squeeze deem tight~~¥£€
I really hope this story is not true because,i think you just incriminated yourself for a reckless driving charge

Postby 16 cycles » September 12th, 2014, 5:21 pm

Too many ppl run to very edge of merge lane rather than filter before...then there are times when nobody wanna give u a bligh....roll down yuh window...watch the person in eye and ask for a bligh... is work...jus hadda be humble rather than you have to give me space...my chit more imp than yours...

Postby Trini Hookah » September 12th, 2014, 5:33 pm

16 cycles wrote:Too many ppl run to very edge of merge lane rather than filter before...then there are times when nobody wanna give u a bligh....roll down yuh window...watch the person in eye and ask for a bligh... is work...jus hadda be humble rather than you have to give me space...my chit more imp than yours...

Well said. But there are some that don't let a SINGLE person pass

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » September 12th, 2014, 10:36 pm

As long as I'm on the lane & next to the merger, I leave a car length for ANYONE (even people I saw come off the lane behind) simply cuz once they're merging before that broken line ends, they should get that chance to merge safely & I'd look the a$$ blocking out a shoulder driver at that point. But when I reach that solid line & merger done, I close the gap. Simple as that.

On the flip side, when there's no jam, I'd run past a short merger (once the shoulder allows but not for more than a few meters) if I haven't gotten up to at least 70kph before getting into lane. I don't think it's safe to merge at speeds lower than that. I hate to see people not get a chance so they stop at the end of the merger & eventually pull onto the highway lane from a dead stop.

The *Official* [IDIOT DRIVER OF THE DAY] Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2014, 8:59 am

What y'all think about guys using the merging lane as an overtaking lane? They remain in the left lane in regular traffic, don't use the shoulder to overtake but as soon as they see a clear merging lane they shift left and use it.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on September 13th, 2014, 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 13th, 2014, 9:10 am

That's real sheit, easy recipe for accident.

Postby Hook » September 13th, 2014, 9:18 am

That just causes more bottle-necking. People need to stop doing that nonsense and leave the merging lanes for legitimate merging.

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » September 13th, 2014, 11:00 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:What y'all think about guys using the merging lane as an overtaking lane? They remain in the left lane in regular traffic, don't use the shoulder to overtake but as soon as they see a clear merging lane they shift left and use it.

This is exactly what I was talking about too. Thing is, if you go to block them out at that point, chances are others around you wouldn't have seen that person's drive & then label you as the a$$hole preventing people from properly using the merger.
For instance, suppose the SUV in the clip had done that but the camera didn't see & we call the man an a$$ for blocking out the SUV.

Postby nervewrecker » September 13th, 2014, 12:16 pm

You mean like by paria suits there? Men famous for that drive.
Nearly send a wagon down in the drain yesterday for that foolishness.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 13th, 2014, 1:49 pm

There is only one merging Lane in the vicinity of paria suites and that is located in between the north and South bound lanes of the South trunk road. The road is just very wide in that area :smile:

Postby Morpheus » September 13th, 2014, 2:01 pm

That's the new drive in front of Nestlé. Hit the merge lane or even the shoulder outside of the merge lane. Saw a few tickets shared for that.

As I on that area. What about the south to east loop? As soon as men clear the loop is merge unto the highway. WTH like Trini eh care about road markings or wha? :x:cry:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 13th, 2014, 2:03 pm

Have seen it there but usually see it on the northbound I think after Carsonfield

Postby Hook » September 13th, 2014, 2:14 pm

Trinis don't care for road markings breds. How many times have you seen cars break solid lines, stop on zebra crossings, stop in the yellow grid or end up in the oncoming lane just to turn left?