COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 103 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » April 5th, 2020, 12:56 am

Interesting...

New Oxford study suggests millions of people may have already built up coronavirus immunity

A model predicting the progression of the novel coronavirus pandemic produced by researchers at Imperial College London set off alarms across the world and was a major factor in several governments' decisions to lock things down. But a new model from Oxford University is challenging its accuracy, the Financial Times reports.

The Oxford research suggests the pandemic is in a later stage than previously thought and estimates the virus has already infected at least millions of people worldwide. In the United Kingdom, which the study focuses on, half the population would have already been infected. If accurate, that would mean transmission began around mid-January and the vast majority of cases presented mild or no symptoms.

The head of the study, professor Sunetra Gupta, an Oxford theoretical epidemiologist, said she still supports the U.K.'s decision to shut down the country to suppress the virus even if her research winds up being proven correct. But she also doesn't appear to be a big fan of the work done by the Imperial College team. "I am surprised that there has been such unqualified acceptance of the Imperial model," she said.

If her work is accurate, that would likely mean a large swath of the population has built up resistance to the virus. Theoretically, then, social restrictions could ease sooner than anticipated. What needs to be done now, Gupta said, is a whole lot of antibody testing to figure out who may have contracted the virus. Her research team is working with groups from the University of Cambridge and the University of Kent to start those tests for the general population as quickly as possible.

Source: https://theweek.com/speedreads/904584/n ... s-immunity

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 5th, 2020, 3:28 am

Redress10 wrote:Some people trying to bring race into this by naking this a doubles v 1% thing. All street food have been discouraged by WHO. Kfc etc are not street foods. Gov't didnt ban doubles, they banned gathering of crowds.

A doubles man will always encourage crowds or even traffick. Also a doubles seller mainly use their hands to prepare, handle and sell their food. This food is mainly eaten via the hands as well providing a direct pathway for the virus to enter the body.

Non essential people are not suppose to be outside except to access essential services. These essential services have workers who still need to buy food etc whilst working hence curbside pickup and take away.

Doubles sellers are technically loiterers because they set up a temporary structure at side of the road(tent etc). By that very nature they are in violation of the new regulations concerning gatherings.

most doubles is served hot, some is cooked on the spot and served. chinese food places cook and serve the food steaming hot, so i dont think the virus wil be in the food. Fry chicken, pizza, submarine sandwiches and other store type fast food is made and put on a shelf under heat lamps to keep "warm". any employee pass and sneeze or cough in the room will infect the food and the warm lamps will not kill the virus. you stand a better chance getting infected from those foods than the doubles. but again all them chinese hiding in self quarantine and wearing the mask meaning they know the full sheit of what going on. stay the fork home and doh buy one fork ah food outside dey.

screwbash

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 101 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby screwbash » April 5th, 2020, 3:33 am

Redress10 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Good question. I do not know because I am inside for the past week.

Plenty people close on their own volition. Plenty food places started closing up to limit contact.

I don't agree with KFC etc opening but for every kfc location there are probably 10 doubles vendors. Who going to police doubles vendors now to make sure they not a covid risks? They going to be using tongs now when dealing with food? Ent they use to separate the barra with their hands most times. Eating doubles was never a hygienic practice to begin with. Men selling doubles by stink drain with flies buzzzing. If people want to still be buying food outside in these times then go brave.

Hear nah, trinis relll fxucking stink and dotish. Nastiness

flies is joke, d men under the white tent in freeport by the big drain does hadda put up with rats. if you eating doubles dey and watch right dey in the drain is one seta big mc rats in the area. i sure dey all over the stalls in the night. not to far a man selling fish with out ice so i sure he trowing the rotten fish in the drain too. d men by uwi selling doubles is right next to the stink big drain

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2020, 5:41 am

screwbash wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Some people trying to bring race into this by naking this a doubles v 1% thing. All street food have been discouraged by WHO. Kfc etc are not street foods. Gov't didnt ban doubles, they banned gathering of crowds.

A doubles man will always encourage crowds or even traffick. Also a doubles seller mainly use their hands to prepare, handle and sell their food. This food is mainly eaten via the hands as well providing a direct pathway for the virus to enter the body.

Non essential people are not suppose to be outside except to access essential services. These essential services have workers who still need to buy food etc whilst working hence curbside pickup and take away.

Doubles sellers are technically loiterers because they set up a temporary structure at side of the road(tent etc). By that very nature they are in violation of the new regulations concerning gatherings.

most doubles is served hot, some is cooked on the spot and served. chinese food places cook and serve the food steaming hot, so i dont think the virus wil be in the food. Fry chicken, pizza, submarine sandwiches and other store type fast food is made and put on a shelf under heat lamps to keep "warm". any employee pass and sneeze or cough in the room will infect the food and the warm lamps will not kill the virus. you stand a better chance getting infected from those foods than the doubles. but again all them chinese hiding in self quarantine and wearing the mask meaning they know the full sheit of what going on. stay the fork home and doh buy one fork ah food outside dey.

Tests have shown that steady temperatures of about 133°F kill coronavirus in 15 minutes. Hot foods are usually served at 140°F to 170°F. Food kept in a warm oven is about 180°F.

You have a better chance of food being germ-free if it is served from a warming drawer or warming table using tongs than if served or prepared on the spot.

Postby matr1x » April 5th, 2020, 6:08 am

The question is always, would the 1% eat KFC garbage....

Postby Redman » April 5th, 2020, 6:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Redman wrote:If an SOE is called...what we doing with people that break curfew?

Throw them in jail?

Like yuh want them go Hyatt.

Either serve jail or get fined a 10k or more. If you are covid+ and breaking quarantine, 50k.

As Max say, after some examples made and pockets get touch, people will fall in line.

An SOE would mean processing the idiots through the system....increasing the volumes you trying to reduce.
Also it will bring the virus into the prison system.

Then after the fact everyone who get sick or dead will sue the state.

Unless we cutting their ass on the spot...I think the SOE is more problematic than its worth

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2020, 7:13 am

matr1x wrote:The question is always, would the 1% eat KFC garbage....
Yes.

[IMG]https://www.thewrap.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/KFC.jpg
[/IMG]

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 101 cases, 6 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2020, 7:29 am

screwbash wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Good question. I do not know because I am inside for the past week.

Plenty people close on their own volition. Plenty food places started closing up to limit contact.

I don't agree with KFC etc opening but for every kfc location there are probably 10 doubles vendors. Who going to police doubles vendors now to make sure they not a covid risks? They going to be using tongs now when dealing with food? Ent they use to separate the barra with their hands most times. Eating doubles was never a hygienic practice to begin with. Men selling doubles by stink drain with flies buzzzing. If people want to still be buying food outside in these times then go brave.

Hear nah, trinis relll fxucking stink and dotish. Nastiness

flies is joke, d men under the white tent in freeport by the big drain does hadda put up with rats. if you eating doubles dey and watch right dey in the drain is one seta big mc rats in the area. i sure dey all over the stalls in the night. not to far a man selling fish with out ice so i sure he trowing the rotten fish in the drain too. d men by uwi selling doubles is right next to the stink big drain

that is a covid -22 in the making.

Postby 88sins » April 5th, 2020, 8:14 am

Redman wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Redman wrote:If an SOE is called...what we doing with people that break curfew?

Throw them in jail?

Like yuh want them go Hyatt.

Either serve jail or get fined a 10k or more. If you are covid+ and breaking quarantine, 50k.

As Max say, after some examples made and pockets get touch, people will fall in line.

An SOE would mean processing the idiots through the system....increasing the volumes you trying to reduce.
Also it will bring the virus into the prison system.

Then after the fact everyone who get sick or dead will sue the state

Unless we cutting their ass on the spot...I think the SOE is more problematic than its worth

This fella gets it.
Locking ppl up will create more cases, mostly localized to the prison population and staff, who will then go home and unknowingly infect their families. That's a huge price to pay to protect idiots from themselves.

Postby rspann » April 5th, 2020, 8:36 am

I don't even get why the fuss about who getting to sell and who getting closed down. With this disease in full swing ,who really want to eat outside and risk getting infected ? Even the paper the doubles wrapped in and the KFC box are potential sources .

eitech

Postby eitech » April 5th, 2020, 8:53 am

rspann wrote:I don't even get why the fuss about who getting to sell and who getting closed down. With this disease in full swing ,who really want to eat outside and risk getting infected ? Even the paper the doubles wrapped in and the KFC box are potential sources .

Fuh real eh. I haven’t eaten out in two months now

Postby Redman » April 5th, 2020, 9:03 am

rspann wrote:I don't even get why the fuss about who getting to sell and who getting closed down. With this disease in full swing ,who really want to eat outside and risk getting infected ? Even the paper the doubles wrapped in and the KFC box are potential sources .

Cuz whiners need to whine.
Last edited by Redman on April 5th, 2020, 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 9:11 am

Very sad that in times like these, people only care about themselves.

Trinis let me down bad, but i must admit that there are quite a few Trinis that are doing their part.

I commend the many that are not receiving a salary and waiting it out. But then it have these doubles men that want to rail up. Stay yuh oily kant home and ban yuh money hungry belly.

Postby De Dragon » April 5th, 2020, 9:20 am

Redman wrote:

Cuz whiners need to whiners.

:?
No, people who have had their businesses shut down for close to a month now, (and now doubles/pie whatever vendors) with the resultant loss of employment for their staff need to know why their businesses have to close while the more crowded establishments like KFC, Starbucks, Pizza Hut etc. continue to operate.
Couple this with the Minister of Labour seeming not to know what the F*ck is going on with the unemployment relief, it is, or should be, understandable that people have questions.

Postby pugboy » April 5th, 2020, 9:22 am

and the handling of money too

Postby paid_influencer » April 5th, 2020, 9:23 am

We have this situation where people are abiding by the law and still being shut down by nebulous criteria from law enforcement.

It is a legitimate gripe.

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2020, 9:54 am

Even ignoring preparation next to a drain, I doubt that any doubles vendor or lunch lady working out of an Igloo cooler meets the recommended minimum safety guidelines for serving food.

--------

Shopping

Purchase refrigerated or frozen items after selecting your non-perishables.

Never choose meat or poultry in packaging that is torn or leaking.

Do not buy food past "Sell-By," "Use-By," or other expiration dates.

Serving

Hot food should be held at 140 °F (60 °C) or warmer.

Cold food should be held at 40 °F (4.4 ºC) or colder.

When serving food at a buffet, keep food hot with chafing dishes, slow cookers, and warming trays. Keep food cold by nesting dishes in bowls of ice or use small serving trays and replace them often.

Perishable food should not be left out more than 2 hours at room temperature—1 hour when the temperature is above 90 °F (32.2 ºC).

Leftovers

Discard any food left out at room temperature for more than 2 hours—1 hour if the temperature was above 90 °F (32.2 ºC).

Place food into shallow containers and immediately put in the refrigerator or freezer for rapid cooling.

Use cooked leftovers within 4 days.

Reheat leftovers to 165 °F (73.9 °C).

[URL]https://www.fsis.usda.gov/wps/portal/fsis/topics/food-safety-education/get-answers/food-safety-fact-sheets/safe-food-handling/basics-for-handling-food-safely/ct_index
[/URL]

Postby Gladiator » April 5th, 2020, 9:58 am

This information is not accurate... heating infrared lamps that KFC uses only keep food at 140 max.

No fast food place keeps food in a hot oven.

Most times when you buy KFC unless it just came out the fryer, it is cold like azz.

adnj wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Tests have shown that steady temperatures of about 133°F kill coronavirus in 15 minutes. Hot foods are usually served at 140°F to 170°F. Food kept in a warm oven is about 180°F.

You have a better chance of food being germ-free if it is served from a warming drawer or warming table using tongs than if served or prepared on the spot.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 5th, 2020, 10:07 am

We now have 104 cases and 7 deaths

Postby K74T » April 5th, 2020, 10:09 am

One of the Tobago patients I believe

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 5th, 2020, 10:11 am

Tobago death
92369412_3253679614661824_394237358792245248_n.jpeg

computercentral

Postby computercentral » April 5th, 2020, 10:13 am

Hopefully we peaked it looking like..... hopefully we are testing and just not telling people to self quarantine

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 10:20 am

computercentral wrote:Hopefully we peaked it looking like..... hopefully we are testing and just not telling people to self quarantine

Mate of mine call yesterday, sick like a dog.

He was told to SQ.

The experts over the phone said he does not have Covid 19.

Postby Redman » April 5th, 2020, 10:35 am

Redman wrote:

Cuz whiners need to whiners.

:?
No, people who have had their businesses shut down for close to a month now, (and now doubles/pie whatever vendors) with the resultant loss of employment for their staff need to know why their businesses have to close while the more crowded establishments like KFC, Starbucks, Pizza Hut etc. continue to operate.
Couple this with the Minister of Labour seeming not to know what the F*ck is going on with the unemployment relief, it is, or should be, understandable that people have questions.

As I said.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » April 5th, 2020, 10:38 am

paid_influencer wrote:We have this situation where people are abiding by the law and still being shut down by nebulous criteria from law enforcement.

It is a legitimate gripe.

i not calling names so don't say i pohlitisizin d issue

but it had certain people

who was more concerned with stage in the sea and playing dress up in ghama

than drafting and hashing out the legislation to PROTECT people during this crisis and the next

that is why the first time the average man see any real action about this was the second week of MARCH

and that is why we are where we are

nothing to protect the tenants. nothing to protect the landlords

one rule for we and we friend and one rule for you

you cannot manage a crisis so

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2020, 10:55 am

Gladiator wrote:This information is not accurate... heating infrared lamps that KFC uses only keep food at 140 max.

Most times when you buy KFC unless it just came out the fryer, it is cold like azz.

adnj wrote:

Heat lamps keep food at 140°F by design. Food coming out of a deep fryer is about 350°F. So, I believe that we are in agreement.

A warm oven or warming drawer is often used. Taco Bell warms tortillas and A&W warms hot dog buns in a warming drawer. Macaroni and cheese is kept warm in microwave safe plastic containers using a warming drawer at KFC, IIRC.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 104 cases, 7 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 10:56 am

Imagine doubles people seeking legal action. LMFAO

what is wrong with allyuh dotish AF Trinidadians?

Dont you illiterates realize that HAD you ALL complied with the initial plea from the Govt......DO NOT CONGREGATE....none of these semi-shut down measures would have been in effect.

So dont blame the UNC, PNM, prestige holdings bla bla bla for your ignorance.

The beat up is rather pleasurable.

Postby Gladiator » April 5th, 2020, 11:24 am

Yes that's correct... but they keep the chicken and chips under the IR lamps and the mashed potatoes, mac & cheese and the sandwich patties in the warming ovens.

I remember a town hall meting on CNN with Sanjay Gupta and he said that the virus cannot spread via food. Something to do with the fats in the food damaging the membrane of the virus (similar to the effect of soap). And as we all know KFC has no shortage of grease... the packaging however is the thing to be worried about.

adnj wrote:
Gladiator wrote:This information is not accurate... heating infrared lamps that KFC uses only keep food at 140 max.

adnj wrote:

Heat lamps keep food at 140°F by design. Food coming out of a deep fryer is about 350°F. So, I believe that we are in agreement.

A warm oven or warming drawer is often used. Taco Bell warms tortillas and A&W warms hot dog buns in a warming drawer. Macaroni and cheese is kept warm in microwave safe plastic containers using a warming drawer at KFC, IIRC.

Postby Gladiator » April 5th, 2020, 11:27 am

They doing wireless testing now?

computercentral wrote:Hopefully we peaked it looking like..... hopefully we are testing and just not telling people to self quarantine

Mate of mine call yesterday, sick like a dog.

He was told to SQ.

The experts over the phone said he does not have Covid 19.

Postby Gladiator » April 5th, 2020, 11:28 am

LOL bro.. we nowhere close to a "peak"... we still on level ground.