*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2015, 11:56 pm

^nice stuff and build, u may wanna consider bolting those sub boxes to the floor
when subsonics hit every thing gonna be moving there!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2015, 12:41 am

Agreed. Also looking good there!

Some advice if u wish to acknowledge is completely up to u. I have some experience with joinery and I have learnt that wood (especially mdf) does not like vibrations. Glue is very important. Ideally, if you can brace with pine (not white) and use a bonding glue that fuses you will be future proofing your structure. It is very good to keep in mind that at 22hz, which u WILL encounter in movies, will move anything in its way.

Also, when running speaker wires, please use a high end brand and 1 awg higher in thickness than recommended for any upgrades u may consider. Oh, and a good enough length tucked away for termination mistakes ;)

That looks like fun man!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2015, 12:43 am

Gladiator wrote:Can anyone share some feedback on the following brands:
Onkyo (looking at the TX-NR747)
Pioneer ELITE (looking at the VSX-90)
Denon (looking at the AVR-X2200W
I've been using a Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH since Dec 2009 as my main HT receiver and have no issues so far - i love it. Really good quality and well built.

Postby crazybalhead » September 1st, 2015, 10:11 am

I use a TX NR 608.

Very nice features, all of which I don't use yet. it is driving 2 x paradigm monitor 11 towers a center 3 and two atoms.

The towers are used bi amped.

It is just a lovely intuitive amp to use, loaded with features. This one could have used wifi, I guess the new ones have it. I don't really miss it as the primary source is an apple tv and PS3.

Lots of power, sublime soundstage and LOTS of dynamic range. Those could be a function of the speakers which are fairly sensitive also.

Multiple inputs and outputs, Audessy EQ and all that stuff, which I'm not convinced works very well.

Good DSP settings to help less than stellar outputs. A lot of times, even with stereo movies, I forget it's just the two towers without a sub playing.

Some people say the SQ from an Onkyo is "bright" or "harsh" but that has not been my experience, again could be a function of the speakers.

The video adjustment and processor has my oldish Toshiba LCD looking pretty good for a 720P TV from 2007. Really nice processing there.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2015, 12:26 pm

^ awesome speakers, you could definitely run those without a sub.
Is there an input in the speakers for the LFE channel from the receiver? or you just leave it unplugged?

Auto setups like Audessy etc are not perfect in any way but they give you a good starting point IMO. YOu know you going to tweak from now till next week after anyway lol

I've heard people say Denon and Pioneer are also bright and almost very digital sounding, whereas Yamaha and Anthem are warmer, especially the former.

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2015, 12:57 pm

Thanks for the pointers Chiney and X_Factor... i did drill into the ground and used "hit its" to anchor the 2x4 beam at the front. The subs are bolted to the beam.

crazybalhead... those are some really nice speakers. If you dont mind, would you share the cost and supplier. PM if you don't want it public. I am using a German MB quart set that cost me an arm and leg at Sound and Security 8 years ago. I was going to upgrade but Chiney would not take the box building contract... LOL

Duane, the Pioneer Elite seems like a very good receiver, especially with the Atmos feature. I have also read that "audiophiles" prefer the sound of the Yamaha. However the Pioneer has the price just right. Are there any local suppliers ?

Thanks again for the discussion...

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 1st, 2015, 1:43 pm

hi gladiator, will you be utilising the ATMOS features and installing speakers in ceiling etc?

Postby crazybalhead » September 1st, 2015, 1:57 pm

Bought the speakers from a local rep. It's on paradigms website for a very very good price, equivalent to the US price converted to TT. So no Price times ten business. Guys name is Dom Chatoor. Look it up on the site.

The Onkyo also has the wide option, or "high" fronts and all that jazz for a bigger soundfield.

Duane, I didn't say I have no sub, sometimes when the feed is from a stereo movie, it plays through left and right only and I "forget"that the sub is off at that point. NO LFE input on the towers. Just pure stereo goodness.

The sub is the homemade ting with the amp and car subwoofer.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2015, 2:14 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Bought the speakers from a local rep. It's on paradigms website for a very very good price, equivalent to the US price converted to TT. So no Price times ten business. Guys name is Dom Chatoor. Look it up on the site.

The Onkyo also has the wide option, or "high" fronts and all that jazz for a bigger soundfield.

Duane, I didn't say I have no sub, sometimes when the feed is from a stereo movie, it plays through left and right only and I "forget"that the sub is off at that point. NO LFE input on the towers. Just pure stereo goodness.

ah ok now I understand.

there may be a way on the Rx to get 2.1 for stereo sources, but as you said, pure stereo goodness from a good source is hard to beat.

Postby crazybalhead » September 1st, 2015, 2:23 pm

it sure can go to 2.1 Duane. I just don;t bother sometimes. Especially when the monkeys are sleeping.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2015, 2:26 pm

no contract for me boy gladiator!

also, those paradigm towers are freaking awesome!

my next build is going to be very similar to the style and depth, but just engineer around the room size when i build my dedicated HT room.

im in love with the sound from my yamaha and i fully agree with duane's statement on the the pioneer being brighter than yamaha.

quite timely, my bro in law, replaced his rx-a3000 with a pioneer elite 89 and he said the sound is nice, but lacks the warmth the yamaha had.

his setup is also VERY good..

those towers are BREASTLY, the depth is amazing. also they weight like 70lbs...

sub...

it gives my IDMAX15 a run for its money everytime i go over and listen to it...

Postby Morpheus » September 1st, 2015, 4:43 pm

^^That set! :shock:

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2015, 10:38 pm

gfbl wrote:hi gladiator, will you be utilising the ATMOS features and installing speakers in ceiling etc?

That's the plan... however the receivers that do 5.2.4 are very expensive. The 5.2.2 may be a more plausible option right now.

Postby SR » September 2nd, 2015, 8:29 am

Ways....... nobody listens to 2 channel anymore

Postby Gladiator » September 2nd, 2015, 8:47 am

SR wrote:Ways....... nobody listens to 2 channel anymore

Just a press of the Pure Direct button on the Yamaha and the L/R fronts only play in stereo. For listening to the FLAC audio stuff...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2015, 10:29 am

Gladiator wrote:
SR wrote:Ways....... nobody listens to 2 channel anymore

Just a press of the Pure Direct button on the Yamaha and the L/R fronts only play in stereo. For listening to the FLAC audio stuff...

when i listen to music i press that and wow, so good!

Postby crazybalhead » September 2nd, 2015, 2:11 pm

Exactly, come nah man SR. Yuh eh see I say sometimes I does even forget the sub?

Postby 16 cycles » September 2nd, 2015, 2:19 pm

+1 on 2 channel only....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2015, 3:02 pm

and add in that CD or FLAC goodness.
the SACD format with wider dynamic range was great, pity they never continued it.

Then there's bluray audio
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/04/14 ... rick_road/

Postby 16 cycles » September 2nd, 2015, 3:22 pm

make sure your A/V receiver uses a good DAC.....or route to an external...

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 2nd, 2015, 3:51 pm

Gladiator wrote:
gfbl wrote:hi gladiator, will you be utilising the ATMOS features and installing speakers in ceiling etc?

That's the plan... however the receivers that do 5.2.4 are very expensive. The 5.2.2 may be a more plausible option right now.

looking forward to seeing the room completed, setup and tuned

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 2nd, 2015, 4:20 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1441225248.631898.jpg

2 channel goodness!

Postby SR » September 2nd, 2015, 7:46 pm

Where u get that rack russel i looking for one to handle the mcintosh weight

Postby Gladiator » September 2nd, 2015, 8:34 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Bought the speakers from a local rep. It's on paradigms website for a very very good price, equivalent to the US price converted to TT. So no Price times ten business. Guys name is Dom Chatoor. Look it up on the site.

Thanks man...

Postby 16 cycles » September 2nd, 2015, 9:03 pm

Custom rack...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 3rd, 2015, 5:16 pm

These things are life/time savers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2015, 9:01 pm

^ Banana!!!

I'm using them on the Def Techs and they really do make like easier.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1441328472.121777.jpg

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 3rd, 2015, 9:20 pm

awesome!

the wife is fully enjoying the audio return on the rx, using netflix on the tv and the rx auto detects.

saves me from , " Ryan the speakers not playing!!!!!!"

carluva

Postby carluva » September 3rd, 2015, 10:21 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Chiney wrote:Yamaha RX-A3000

Thanks..

Thinking of upgrading my receiver at the moment. I have been using Yamaha for the past 10 years with the best results. RXV-659

I am thinking about upgrading to a Dolby ATMOS capable receiver. However the Yamaha options currently available are kinda pricey.

Can anyone share some feedback on the following brands:
Onkyo (looking at the TX-NR747)
Pioneer ELITE (looking at the VSX-90)
Denon (looking at the AVR-X2200W)

I am currently working on a dedicated HT room. Will share some pics here. I Learnt a lot from this thread.... The complete build is a diy (civil works, electrical, masonry, carpentry, lighting etc.)

My build comprises the following:

Optoma HD141X
MB Quart Centre and Front L/R channels
Acoustically transparent screen (120" diagonal 6:9 aspect ratio)
MTX Dipole dual 5.25" surround speakers
4 x 6.5" coaxial kevlar cone speakers (top middle and top rear)
Dual 15" Dayton Audio ported subs tuned to 22Hz
Yamaha RXV 659 Amplifier (soon to be upgraded)
Crown 1000W class D amp for subs

Imageth

My first rieceiver was a pioneer. The second was a yamaha and my current receiver is a denon...

For my taste the denon is the best with the yamaha second. The denon has audyssey whic can sample up to eight points in the room to acoutically calibrate the room. The pioneer and the yamaha used only a single calibration point. Now the trick with audyssey is that it will calibrate the speakers for the room acoustics but for me that was not perfect. I then needed to tweak to my liking. Having done so, the denon outshines and outperforms the pioneer and the yamaha.

I dont have experience with onkyo but have heard good things. Me personally, i love the denon and would recommend them. Im not too sure about the atmos as not many shows have been released with atmos and ive never heard it, so i will only be convinced once i hear it. Im not sure if its worth the money and will improve the movie experience. If youve heard atmos and are impressed then go strong and post your views.

For the receivers you are looking at, the "W" in the denon means it has wireless capabilities. My denon does not have that but its no biggie since i dont need wireless capabilities and didnt want to spend extra for a feature i wont need. You may want to consider that if you are looking at the denon.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 3rd, 2015, 10:28 pm

Chiney wrote:no contract for me boy gladiator!

also, those paradigm towers are freaking awesome!

my next build is going to be very similar to the style and depth, but just engineer around the room size when i build my dedicated HT room.

im in love with the sound from my yamaha and i fully agree with duane's statement on the the pioneer being brighter than yamaha.

quite timely, my bro in law, replaced his rx-a3000 with a pioneer elite 89 and he said the sound is nice, but lacks the warmth the yamaha had.

his setup is also VERY good..

those towers are BREASTLY, the depth is amazing. also they weight like 70lbs...

sub...

it gives my IDMAX15 a run for its money everytime i go over and listen to it...

... "BREASTLY" ????? lol... Dont u mean BEASTLY