3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

lighthammer

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby lighthammer » January 9th, 2011, 12:39 am

TOP 10 THINGS PHOTOGRAPHERS SHOULD NOT DO

1. DON’T EXPECT RESULTS OVERNIGHT
Learning photography takes time — and that goes for the artistic and technical aspects. Sure, you might be artistically and/or technically inclined, but you probably won’t have galleries begging for your photos a month after you pick up your first camera. The process of learning photography and developing a personal style can take years (or even a lifetime). Just keep at it and you should start to notice improvements in your work as the months turn to years.

2. DON’T LUST FOR NEW GEAR
New gear is exciting, isn’t it? Bigger better cameras, faster lenses, filters, tripods, flashes, bags, etc. Don’t get me wrong — it’s fine to get excited over this stuff. But don’t make it your life’s goal to constantly buy the next best thing on the market. My advice is to buy new gear when you need it rather than when you want it. You’ll know that you need something when you repeatedly find yourself missing opportunities (or even paying jobs) due to a lack of some feature or piece of equipment.

3. DON’T BE AFRAID TO FAIL
This one goes for anything in life — failure leads to success, improvement, and learning. You might screw up one or two shots from time to time, but you’ll remember those mistakes next time you head out (and hopefully you won’t make them again).

4. DON’T GET COCKY
Whether it’s seemingly justified or not, nobody really likes a cocky bastard. So you sold a print, got into a gallery exhibit, got featured on some big website, etc — that’s great, but don’t let it go to your head. Don’t talk down to other photographers or put yourself on a pedestal. If you do, it’s only going to drive people away.

5. DON’T IGNORE THE CRITICS
If you share your photos anywhere on the web, you’ve probably had unsolicited critiques. Of course, you’re more than welcome to ignore them, but it usually doesn’t hurt to read them and think about it. You might just learn something or improve a photo. But, keep in mind that not all advice is good advice.

6. DON’T MAKE IT COMPLICATED
Photography is relatively simple on the technical side. Too many times, I’ve seen new photographers get hung up worrying about modes and settings when they really don’t need to. As you continue to shoot and educate yourself, you’ll pick up the technical stuff quite easily. Besides, if you worry too much about the technical side, you’re more likely to miss shots entirely.

7. DON’T STEAL IDEAS
This goes for any form of creative expression. You see what I did at the top of this article? I gave credit where credit is due because I borrowed an idea and turned it into something of my own. Same thing for photos — if you borrow a concept from another photographer, make sure you give them credit. And look at it this way — if you inspired others to create new things, wouldn’t you like it if they gave you recognition for that?

8. DON’T NEGLECT YOUR GEAR
Cameras and other photographic equipment can be delicate at times. With the cost of cameras and lenses today, it’s worthwhile to take care of them. Try not to bang it around on things, drop it, get it wet, etc. And keep your gear clean if you want it to last — lens elements and sensors in particular.

9. DON’T IGNORE “THE RULES”
The rule of thirds, symmetry, leading lines, perspective, background, depth of field, framing, crop, and so on. You’ve probably come across some of the basic rules of photography either on the web or in a book. Then you also see advice out there saying “break the rules”. So what’s the answer? Follow them? Break them? Here’s the thing… there’s a major difference between breaking the rules on accident and breaking the rules on purpose. It’s called intent, and that’s what separates the good from the bad. So learn the rules, then learn how to break them.

10. DON’T STOP LEARNING
Probably the worse thing a photographer (or any hobbyist/professional) can do is stop learning. There is a ton of stuff to learn about photography and art in general, and the flow of new information only increases as technology advances. So always be open to learning new things — even if you think you know it all!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 9th, 2011, 9:58 pm

^^ true statements
2 weeks into the nikon d90 and have not gotten a chance to explore it fully..but jus quick indoor shot..nothing compared to you guys " yet "

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 10th, 2011, 12:31 am

That first shot WIN ImprezaDriver....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2011, 11:20 pm

Bird Sanctuary - click to enlarge

Postby Trini Hookah » January 10th, 2011, 11:49 pm

^ the last two really stand out, nice! :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2011, 9:41 am

^ only just realised I posted the same pic twice - the first one and the last one are the same

Postby Rainman » January 11th, 2011, 10:05 am

vrampersad14 wrote:^ the last two really stand out, nice! :D

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ only just realised I posted the same pic twice - the first one and the last one are the same

ROFL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 11th, 2011, 10:18 am

^ seems he didnt like the first one as much :(

Postby sMASH » January 11th, 2011, 12:57 pm

duane, u need to put 'like' buttons for each individual post and not thread. ur pics are awesome.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2011, 9:53 am

^ thanks!

Postby Trini Hookah » January 12th, 2011, 11:19 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ seems he didnt like the first one as much :(

I actually now saw it, scrolled past it before. :oops:

Freelander

Postby Freelander » January 12th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Selling Canon rebel XSi body with an 8gb sd card all original boxes and documentation included charger battery av cables etc $250

lens

EFS 18-55mm with tama UV slim filter $120 (hoya 58mm circular polarizer filter) included
70-200mm F4L few marks on hood lens body mint, tama UV filter with original box and carry case $550
EF50mm F1.8 auto focus UV filter includedoriginal box $80
remote shutter release switch (cable) $5

everything for $1000
prices are in canadian so just convert accordingly

reason for sale dont use it enough to justify keeping it any questions just hit me up a PM

let me know if anyone is interested im coming down 1st week in february

Postby shogun » January 12th, 2011, 5:22 pm

ImprezaDriver wrote:

Great pics man. Are you willing to put up the full size to this?...wouldn't mind having it as a background for the desktop. :)

Postby 16 cycles » January 14th, 2011, 5:03 am

for a noob like me...the 270exflash and the 50mm f1.8 lens makes a world of difference for the low light conditions...

^ playing around with some foreground blurr etc

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 14th, 2011, 9:25 am

duane, yuh big showoff :|

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » January 14th, 2011, 9:30 am

Yea Duane...the second to last one...love it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2011, 12:25 pm

^ thanks - that's my personal favourite of the bunch too

ImprezaDriver that photo is very cool - where, what is it? a moving sidewalk?

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2011, 9:56 pm

rough seas bulletin meant Trip to Toco :-)
taken off the Lighthouse point

splash

bigger splash

late evening shot with low ISO and increased EV (exposure compensation) settings in 'manual' mode
(same trusty Fuji point and shoot)

The place we stayed, Hosana in L'anse Noir

tried to capture the steepness of the valley

Last edited by MG Man on January 15th, 2011, 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 18th, 2011, 2:16 pm

first 4 pics mean :shock: :shock: :twisted:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2011, 3:02 pm

nice photos MG man!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 19th, 2011, 8:56 pm

These are shots of the sun rising over the past couple days.... seen while driving to work.
(taken with my blackberry bold 9700)

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 21st, 2011, 6:34 am

Postby 16 cycles » January 21st, 2011, 6:36 am

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2011, 6:41 am

Australian outback in one pic.

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 21st, 2011, 3:51 pm

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » January 21st, 2011, 5:41 pm

that Mehndi pic looks great. same with the shot of the waves by the coast...

here are some newb shots i took with a xsi and a stock 18-55mm lens. c/c welcome

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 21st, 2011, 9:27 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image

Australian outback in one pic.

This is brilliant man...

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2011, 10:22 pm

^^Thanks man.

Have a lot more just too lazy to upload any lol

Lance

Postby Lance » January 22nd, 2011, 8:35 pm

Kirkstall, Leeds at night