Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2015, 6:23 am

ketching my tail to wake up 5am to go workout,
3rd day fail

Postby DVSTT » January 5th, 2015, 7:30 am

orangefox wrote:What is the "best" brand Whey protein ?

100% on whey isolate works for me.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » January 5th, 2015, 3:52 pm

there is no best brand.

just calculate the purity of the protein by comparing grams of protein per serving to total weight of a serving and find percentage. tell you how much protein you are paying for per lb. that should tel you which is better than which.

marlener

Postby marlener » January 5th, 2015, 3:57 pm

I started using Mass Effect and found that it's working well for me. I liked the fact that the container was actually full not half like some supps. Try and see what works for you by review and trial.

Postby DVSTT » January 5th, 2015, 7:15 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:

there is no best brand.

just calculate the purity of the protein by comparing grams of protein per serving to total weight of a serving and find percentage. tell you how much protein you are paying for per lb. that should tel you which is better than which.

I never thought to do that.

konartis

Postby konartis » January 5th, 2015, 7:43 pm

For real^^^

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » January 6th, 2015, 1:31 am

That...and there are the good brands.

True Nutrition
ON
Dymatize
Hammer.

Take your pick.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 6th, 2015, 1:34 am

Currently switch up from ON pro complex to Allmax Isoflex (27gr protein / 30gr serv)....choc mint. Nom nom.
Last edited by INHUMAN on January 7th, 2015, 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 6th, 2015, 6:34 pm

BEAST whey seems to have the best price per gram ratio IMO.

Postby DVSTT » January 6th, 2015, 6:38 pm

eurotuner wrote:BEAST whey seems to have the best price per gram ratio IMO.

I think you have to also consider the quality of the protein as well. There was an article I read some years back concerning protein quality as some manufacturers buy Whey in bulk from a third party supplier and make their blend, whereas others make it all from scratch.

Postby X_Factor » January 6th, 2015, 7:24 pm

are u sure?....last time i checked it was around a 39g scoop size with a 25g protein...difference of
14g of other stuff....

optimum gold standard is usually has the best scoop size to protein ratio but also more costly than the others....

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 6th, 2015, 8:06 pm

Have not used ON Whey in a while....over a year, will google and compare.
How many of y'all feel bloated after drinking whey protein?

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2015, 8:27 pm

Granola is good stuff right?

Picked up some, looked yummy and was good roughage.

Trying to reverse the Xmas effects

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 6th, 2015, 8:29 pm

Not that great for roughage, lentils is better.

Nice source of carbs/fats depending on blend. Can make you feel bloated though.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 6th, 2015, 8:33 pm

ON Gold Std is cool, flavours taste meh.

I had a bag of MP and liked it the best so far.

Currently finishing off some Dymatize, hope to get back the Muscle Pharm.

Quantity of protein per serving is a good measure but that's still what the manufacturer is telling you. I'd just try to get the most grams of protein for my $ that tastes good without a set of fillers (mass gainers).

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2015, 8:44 pm

Gracias.
Have to pick up some oats too. How you guys have your oats? Just so? Any particular brand to buy?
Time to get kind of serious with this diet.

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » January 6th, 2015, 8:54 pm

Never heard of em...it's probably crap. Enjoy your additives

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... XOVE#gid=0

Read and heed.
Last edited by ImprezaDriver on January 6th, 2015, 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » January 6th, 2015, 8:55 pm

ImprezaDriver wrote:

Never heard of em...it's probably crap. Enjoy your additives

It's a bit blunt but my sentiments exactly.

Postby X_Factor » January 6th, 2015, 9:44 pm

many ppl advocate the steel cut oats but after doing some research, the old fashion rolled oats is almost as good for maybe 1/4 of the price
just stay away from anything instant....

konartis

Postby konartis » January 6th, 2015, 9:55 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Gracias.
Have to pick up some oats too. How you guys have your oats? Just so? Any particular brand to buy?
Time to get kind of serious with this diet.

Rolled oats finely blended then blended with 2 scoops of protein powder and skim milk....i use it as a meal also in the mornings...somtimes at night with casien protein to replace meal....

konartis

Postby konartis » January 6th, 2015, 9:58 pm

eurotuner wrote:Have not used ON Whey in a while....over a year, will google and compare.

I used to get bloated when i use regular milk.

Postby X_Factor » January 6th, 2015, 10:03 pm

konartis wrote:
eurotuner wrote:Have not used ON Whey in a while....over a year, will google and compare.

I used to get bloated when i use regular milk.

that bloated feeling occurred when i used certain flavours from certain brands ..
main one would be strawberry blast elite whey, drink that and would come very close to vomiting
chocolate from ON as well...

tolerated vanilla pretty well from most brands back then

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » January 6th, 2015, 10:52 pm

X_Factor wrote:

are u sure?....last time i checked it was around a 39g scoop size with a 25g protein...difference of
14g of other stuff....

optimum gold standard is usually has the best scoop size to protein ratio but also more costly than the others....

beast whey is excellent value for your dollar. the reason why beast whey has that large difference in serving weight vs grams per serving is because every single scoop of beast whey is like a mini multivitamin and miltimineral. You get 100% your daily required value of vitamin C IN EVERY SINGLE scoop of beast whey......vitamin c is the #1 vitamin required for muscle recovery, how brilliant is that. You also get stuff down to zinc and BIOTIN!

now compare ON gold std whey and other protein supplements you get ZERO vitamins or minerals.

even in comparison to ON whey beast has the same amount of carbs per serving (i dont count fibre as carbs) which is insane given the huge hype on whey gets. beast whey has higher sodium but that really isnt a concern, we eat tonnes more sodium in everything else we ingest.

compare the labels below beast whey vs on gold std whey and you will see clearly where im coming from. In not saying this because i am the authorized dealer for beast sports nutrition, but it is my honest opinion, and its a very well thought out product with recovery in mind and not just being a "protein" epsecially given the HEFTY price people are paying for ON whey these days.

Postby DVSTT » January 6th, 2015, 11:18 pm

b18b_turbo wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

14g of other stuff....

beast whey is excellent value for your dollar. the reason why beast whey has that large difference in serving weight vs grams per serving is because every single scoop of beast whey is like a mini multivitamin and miltimineral. You get 100% your daily required value of vitamin C IN EVERY SINGLE scoop of beast whey......vitamin c is the #1 vitamin required for muscle recovery, how brilliant is that. You also get stuff down to zinc and BIOTIN!

now compare ON gold std whey and other protein supplements you get ZERO vitamins or minerals.

even in comparison to ON whey beast has the same amount of carbs per serving (i dont count fibre as carbs) which is insane given the huge hype on whey gets. beast whey has higher sodium but that really isnt a concern, we eat tonnes more sodium in everything else we ingest.

compare the labels below beast whey vs on gold std whey and you will see clearly where im coming from. In not saying this because i am the authorized dealer for beast sports nutrition, but it is my honest opinion, and its a very well thought out product with recovery in mind and not just being a "protein" epsecially given the HEFTY price people are paying for ON whey these days.

Wow. The beast is winning.

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2015, 11:58 pm

Thanks guys.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 7th, 2015, 12:35 am

Add a dash of cinnamon in the oats...

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:08 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Add a dash of cinnamon in the oats...

Cinnamon? Why?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 7th, 2015, 1:20 pm

just for taste...

or you can throw in some dried cranberries or peanut butter

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2015, 1:23 pm

mmmmm, loves me some peanut butter. Not too good for those on a cut. lol