Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 7th, 2023, 1:21 pm

^ true.
Barring major issues like that, houses rarely depreciate here.

Postby MaxPower » October 7th, 2023, 2:48 pm

Houses will devalue when typical poor local workman ship starts to show later down the road especially with all the cheap methods and materials these “contractors” are promoting.

If you want to keep and increase the value of your home, save your money and build it well, maintain it well and pray flooding does not hit the area regularly.

Do not feel you can buy your brand new looking sheit house and expect to sell it for more in its deteriorated state.

The times today of “land doh rotten” are changing.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2023, 5:35 am

I looking to install some spc flooring on concrete floor
does the concrete have to be perfectly flat ?
also the concrete was cast in sections like terrazo with the plastic dividers a very long time ago
so some areas have chips around the dividers, do those need to be patched up to fill the voids ?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 14th, 2023, 7:45 am

pugboy wrote:I looking to install some spc flooring on concrete floor
also the concrete was cast in sections like terrazo with the plastic dividers a very long time ago
so some areas have chips around the dividers, do those need to be patched up to fill the voids ?

The chips around the dividers you’ll get away with, or you could just take a piece of cardboard and put dap in the chips just for safe measure..

And for the flooring, the flatter the better. The flooring once locked in forces itself to be flat so anything undulating would cause the planks to either pop out or straight up not interlock at all.

Postby supercharged turbo » October 14th, 2023, 9:49 am

Where can I get polycarbonate sheets reasonably priced?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 14th, 2023, 6:18 pm

Care to share what spc flooring you going with and the cost? I'm looking at my options so any feedback is appreciated.

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2023, 7:12 pm

i haven’t started looking tbh
are they all similar ?

Jerry84 wrote:
Care to share what spc flooring you going with and the cost? I'm looking at my options so any feedback is appreciated.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 14th, 2023, 8:49 pm

Jerry84 wrote:

Just did a few rooms at home here…

-I would say stick to SPC. Avoid laminate at all costs for the flooring,

-6.5mm and up.

-Yea they’re pretty much all the same, get the one with the soft backing on it

- I went with Fine furnishing and Grade 1 pvc for my brands. Good prices

- It really easy to install yourself so you could save some money

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 14th, 2023, 9:27 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

The chips around the dividers you’ll get away with, or you could just take a piece of cardboard and put dap in the chips just for safe measure..

And for the flooring, the flatter the better. The flooring once locked in forces itself to be flat so anything undulating would cause the planks to either pop out or straight up not interlock at all.

Get any bumps and lower areas out (larger spots not really chips) . It'll look level but when you step on the spots they will sink. Use a self leveler on the bad areas, no need to coat the entire floor.

Be warned the majority of SPC is chinese and the click systems are nowhere as good as brand name laminate of old. Tile Warehouse and CW Interiors have the biggest selections i've seen.

Postby supercharged turbo » October 19th, 2023, 10:35 pm

I'm looking for a lead free non toxic paint possibly designed for pets.Anyone know where I can find this locally?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 25th, 2023, 11:14 am

When doing gypsum ceiling, the price of the c channel is now $45 per length. I was wondering if there is another more economical option to brace both horizontally and vertically. Thanks

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2023, 11:20 am

you dont use much c channel when doing the ceiling

its mostly furring channel

and cheaping out on that doesn't make sense, you want your ceiling to drop soon after you spend all that $$ behind it?

call grade 1 pvc or mangalie trading in central or maroof in gasparillo to get their c channel prices

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 25th, 2023, 2:50 pm

Chimera wrote:you dont use much c channel when doing the ceiling

its mostly furring channel

and cheaping out on that doesn't make sense, you want your ceiling to drop soon after you spend all that $$ behind it?

call grade 1 pvc or mangalie trading in central or maroof in gasparillo to get their c channel prices
Thanks for the feedback. I wasn't sure the quantity needed. Appreciate you educating me on this.

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2023, 2:55 pm

if you buying 50 furring you might need 4-8 c channel if so much

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 26th, 2023, 8:53 pm

Long post ahead.

So I was recently (2 years) gifted a 35 year old house to live in from my grandmother. I started fixing it up little by little to repair and "modernize" as much as I could. Firstly I am looking for a way to clean the bathroom tiles without damaging anything else as everything else is in excellent condition. I've tried scrubbing, using vinegar and baking soda as well as those off the shelf cleaners. Tile is a cream colour and seems stained. What options do I have?

Secondly has anyone ever explored filtration systems for houses? On first occupying I drained the tanks and cleaned thoroughly but the amount of dirt that's in the tanks now, when draining today I stirred up the bottom of the tank and the water literally ran almost black. Definitely want some kind of filter now so open to suggestions.

Much thanks for taking the time to read my long post.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2023, 10:27 pm

Power wash those tiles. If that doesnt work, muriatic acid will do it(that will fck up anything eh, fixtures will turn color as well). Be very careful if you do decide to use it.

Postby Chimera » October 27th, 2023, 12:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Power wash those tiles. If that doesnt work, muriatic acid will do it(that will fck up anything eh, fixtures will turn color as well). Be very careful if you do decide to use it.

get a surface cleaner when you pressure washing those tiles

and all those groceries and hardwares sell products like tile stripper and industrial tile cleaner

look into that

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 27th, 2023, 4:48 pm

Thanks...I'll look into those off the shelf products (tile stripper, cleaner). I tend to stay away from muriatic acid as it messes up everything else.

Postby maj. tom » October 27th, 2023, 4:59 pm

How bad is bad? Boiling water in a bucket with some bleach easily cleans up most bathroom scum and grime. Cork the drain outlet and let it sit for a 10 minutes. Wear a respirator and goggles and suit up because bleach fumes very corrosive will eat away your eyes and lungs. Then scrub it with a heavy duty Scotch Brite and some oven cleaner.

And if that eh remove it, well the tiles probably permanently stained down in the porous layer. You can chisel them out and replace it with new tiles because I sure the bathroom area not that big. Such is renovation.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2023, 5:19 pm

for soap scum stain buildup interchem sells a chemical you spray on, it is mildly acidic and give off a little fumes but nothing like muriatic acid

it will soften up the scum and make it slimy and easy to scrub off, if all doesn’t come off just do again

bleach doesn’t remove the white scum at least from my exp

Postby supercharged turbo » October 27th, 2023, 9:29 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking for a lead free non toxic paint possibly designed for pets.Anyone know where I can find this locally?
Anyone?

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2023, 9:46 pm

i don’t think they make lead based paint anymore

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 27th, 2023, 10:02 pm

pugboy wrote:for soap scum stain buildup interchem sells a chemical you spray on, it is mildly acidic and give off a little fumes but nothing like muriatic acid

it will soften up the scum and make it slimy and easy to scrub off, if all doesn’t come off just do again

bleach doesn’t remove the white scum at least from my exp

Vinegar in hot water removes the white scum. Well it worked for me on tempered glass and other types of enclosures.

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2023, 10:04 pm

what helps is when ppl take a shower to not leave suds around

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » October 29th, 2023, 8:06 am

Jerry84 wrote:Long post ahead.

So I was recently (2 years) gifted a 35 year old house to live in from my grandmother. I started fixing it up little by little to repair and "modernize" as much as I could. Firstly I am looking for a way to clean the bathroom tiles without damaging anything else as everything else is in excellent condition. I've tried scrubbing, using vinegar and baking soda as well as those off the shelf cleaners. Tile is a cream colour and seems stained. What options do I have?

Secondly has anyone ever explored filtration systems for houses? On first occupying I drained the tanks and cleaned thoroughly but the amount of dirt that's in the tanks now, when draining today I stirred up the bottom of the tank and the water literally ran almost black. Definitely want some kind of filter now so open to suggestions.

Much thanks for taking the time to read my long post.

I used a peroxide based cleaner recently. Worked better than expected.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » October 29th, 2023, 3:13 pm

Have some used bamboo props for sale decking broke late (7wks) 10ft or more, come pick & choose what you want @ $5 each. location Bamboo#3
Call 294 0592

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » October 30th, 2023, 12:45 pm

Suggestions welcomed for whole house water filtration.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2023, 12:52 pm

will need regular filter changing

Jerry84 wrote:Suggestions welcomed for whole house water filtration.

nick639v2

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby nick639v2 » October 30th, 2023, 11:50 pm

Jerry84 wrote:Suggestions welcomed for whole house water filtration.

How clean you want this water??

Clean your tanks first then install filter on your main pump output line.

From cleanest(drinking/consumption) to just good enough(showers and no brown) I’ll recommend-

20” filters for whole house application or for kitchen or single room it can be downgraded to 9” filters

Cleanest - 3 stage- 20” filters (Woven, white, charcoal).

Mid- 2 stage- 20” (washable stainless filter, blown white)

Reg - single 20” stainless washable

If you want to make an investment you can get a Hayward pool filter housing for the main output to use even larger filter sizes that are paper or they have washable ones too as a single.
Larger the initial filter size investment is the greater times between filter changes

It will need constant monitoring tho as said before.

I currently do a 9” 3 stage for kitchen and single stage 20” woven filter for laundry and that’s it. washroom could get whatever wasa providing.

Water Source has the best prices, sometimes even cheaper than importing anything once they have stock

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 31st, 2023, 9:53 am

Our filter is on the line supplying the tanks but because its exposed to the sun and rain, it gets mossy quick.

What's the easiest way to stop that? build a covering with board? didnt wanted to used metal/galvanize cause of the heat transfer