Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 9:49 pm

eternal audio wrote:Reefplanet i nw start up a tank take ur time n go slow doh rush n ud get tru let the tank take time n cycle n yuh on.. i do d same ting honda do i hav 300lbs a rock buy bacteria n after a week i added my first fish n the tank runin good for about 3mths n im a newbie so i no u wa see rel fish

:drinking: ...................................i had to read this about 3 times to understand :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » August 20th, 2012, 10:02 pm

lol o gorsh i iz a trini lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 11:09 pm

eternal audio wrote:lol o gorsh i iz a trini lol

dat aint TRINI pal.......................... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 11:54 pm

just some of my zoa collection, the cam not getting the true color of them. Of all of the zoas seen here, about 85% of them are florescent an really pop under my blue LED's. All of these zoas (except the fruitloops - pic #8) were bought as frag plugs or small rocks (most with no more than 10 polyps) and stuck throughout my rockworks and as you see has grown. Some in excess of 50 polyps in less than 3 mths. I have never target fed my corals. Last monday the tank celebrated exactly one year. Thanks to the assistance of Raj (his advice on caring and placement of corals ) and reefers i've met by him. All this hard work and dedication payed off. Hoping to go a few steps further soon.
IMG_1270.JPG
IMG_1269.JPG
IMG_1268.JPG
IMG_1267.JPG
IMG_1266.JPG
IMG_1265.JPG
IMG_1264.JPG
IMG_1258.JPG
Last edited by HondaB20B on August 21st, 2012, 12:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 21st, 2012, 12:02 am

some more
IMG_1286.JPG
IMG_1281.JPG
IMG_1278.JPG
IMG_1276.JPG
IMG_1275.JPG
IMG_1274.JPG
IMG_1273.JPG

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 21st, 2012, 2:01 pm

:shocked!: :shocked!: WOOOOOOOW!!!!! you have rel coral i cant wait for mine...but have to :(

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » August 21st, 2012, 7:13 pm

Reefplanet wrote:honda u going d fish expo wednesday?

I know this isn't addressed to me but please forgive me for butting in here... What is this fish expo you speak of?

Postby UML » August 21st, 2012, 8:20 pm

honda my tank went to 85 degrees today :shock:

is it even possible to mind anything other than fish in that temp?

will let u know if my anemones still alive :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 21st, 2012, 10:55 pm

How much does it go down too.

Low =
high = 85F/29.4C
your main problem here will be the fluctuation in temps. When this happens, the fish and corals go through allot of stress. This increases the possibility of sickness.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/PIC/article.cfm?aid=89

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2012, 8:48 am

HondaB20B wrote:How much does it go down too.

Low =
high = 85F/29.4C
your main problem here will be the fluctuation in temps. When this happens, the fish and corals go through allot of stress. This increases the possibility of sickness.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/PIC/article.cfm?aid=89

depends on the weather outside...cold days cud get 81 but more often i get 83....well since i get my new thermometer. 85 is the highest i ever got.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 22nd, 2012, 10:44 am

Low - 81F/27.2C
High - 85F/29.4C

thats nearly 2 deg C difference. Honestly i dont know how it might affect your corals. I've had those similar readings on my small tank and had issues with keeping zoas and brains. But then i still cant pinpoint and say it was that. I had high Nitrates, lighting was poor, didnt have reefsafe fish, was using tapwater for top-off and mixing salt, was dosing all kinda products from Azoo, was overfeeding, WAS AH NOOB, my hydrometer was way off (was reading 1.025 but when checked with a refractometer by Raj, it was saying 1.019/20) So many factors could of caused my problem with keeping corals, And to this day i'll still never know why i cant keep corals in that tank. The tank is still set up (running 2yrs & 8mths) and the temps are still the same, but corals that i've taken from my reef tank that has thrived for mths die in under 2 wks. I've put GSP, zoas and kenyas and they dont make it. Algae grows great though................LOL. So you might have to consider asking around still to the fellas that running fans on their tank. I dont know if fishman may be able to chime in as he's the most experienced person in reefkeeping.

Postby UML » August 22nd, 2012, 10:51 am

k cool thanks

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 22nd, 2012, 11:03 am

I tink i going By raj today anyone gonna be dere? i gonna get live rock and sand..again :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 22nd, 2012, 11:35 am

Dont think he might be able to sell anyone anything today. Fish coming in today and when he dripping fish, he dont like people there or bothering him. But who knows............call him first. 744-8768
I cant make it today........................... I in d bush working

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 22nd, 2012, 7:04 pm

anyone going fish expo in gulf tomorrow idk the time...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 23rd, 2012, 3:26 pm

I thought they had a fish expo in Gulf city today. I went lunch time and i aint see a single thing. Like it was on the roof or something?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 23rd, 2012, 3:28 pm

hahahahahah :lol: :lol: :mrgreen: yeh maybe .... lol is today ...well that wut d fella who told use say it was :?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 23rd, 2012, 7:10 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Low - 81F/27.2C
High - 85F/29.4C

thats nearly 2 deg C difference. Honestly i dont know how it might affect your corals. I've had those similar readings on my small tank and had issues with keeping zoas and brains. But then i still cant pinpoint and say it was that. I had high Nitrates, lighting was poor, didnt have reefsafe fish, was using tapwater for top-off and mixing salt, was dosing all kinda products from Azoo, was overfeeding, WAS AH NOOB, my hydrometer was way off (was reading 1.025 but when checked with a refractometer by Raj, it was saying 1.019/20) So many factors could of caused my problem with keeping corals, And to this day i'll still never know why i cant keep corals in that tank. The tank is still set up (running 2yrs & 8mths) and the temps are still the same, but corals that i've taken from my reef tank that has thrived for mths die in under 2 wks. I've put GSP, zoas and kenyas and they dont make it. Algae grows great though................LOL. So you might have to consider asking around still to the fellas that running fans on their tank. I dont know if fishman may be able to chime in as he's the most experienced person in reefkeeping.

If the coral are used to swings it shouldn't be an issue. My tank swings from 77.5F to 80F and I don't have any problems as my coral is used to it. It's a problem when the coral has been conditioned to a rock solid temp and then all of a sudden it swings. 85 F is pushing the upper limits of temp though. I wouldn't want my tank that hot. Though I have heard of tanks that have survived up to 86F for a minimal amount of time, I personally have never had a tank get that high and wouldn't want to risk it. A controller can help with situations like this. If for whatever reason my tank reaches to 82F my controller shuts down all of the lights to stop the temp from spiking anymore.

Honda any chance of the tank that has problems keeping coral having copper in it at any time in its past?

netsket

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, AquariumAquarists & Aquascapers

Postby netsket » August 23rd, 2012, 7:46 pm

WTB. 1/4 HP Used Aquarium Chiller

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 23rd, 2012, 9:44 pm

Fishman wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Low - 81F/27.2C
High - 85F/29.4C

If the coral are used to swings it shouldn't be an issue. My tank swings from 77.5F to 80F and I don't have any problems as my coral is used to it. It's a problem when the coral has been conditioned to a rock solid temp and then all of a sudden it swings. 85 F is pushing the upper limits of temp though. I wouldn't want my tank that hot. Though I have heard of tanks that have survived up to 86F for a minimal amount of time, I personally have never had a tank get that high and wouldn't want to risk it. A controller can help with situations like this. If for whatever reason my tank reaches to 82F my controller shuts down all of the lights to stop the temp from spiking anymore.

Honda any chance of the tank that has problems keeping coral having copper in it at any time in its past?

Still dont know the problem........................ i recently put in some mushrooms and the open up real good up to today. I'm going to load up this tank weekend with the mushrooms.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 23rd, 2012, 9:49 pm

Anyone went to the show in gulf?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 24th, 2012, 6:20 am

so nobody went to the show?

Postby UML » August 24th, 2012, 7:46 am

HondaB20B wrote:I thought they had a fish expo in Gulf city today. I went lunch time and i aint see a single thing. Like it was on the roof or something?

HondaB20B wrote:so nobody went to the show?

look like tecpure eh even gone to he own show :mrgreen:

im glad i didnt waste my time....didnt see any ads about it anywhere except tuner so i was skeptical

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 24th, 2012, 11:05 am

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:I thought they had a fish expo in Gulf city today. I went lunch time and i aint see a single thing. Like it was on the roof or something?

HondaB20B wrote:so nobody went to the show?

look like tecpure eh even gone to he own show :mrgreen:

im glad i didnt waste my time....didnt see any ads about it anywhere except tuner so i was skeptical

I even went as far to ask nu image petshop............... they themself was lost :? :?

TECPURE.............................CARE TO TELL US WHAT HAPPENED?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 24th, 2012, 12:37 pm

guess it was some big joke....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 24th, 2012, 12:51 pm

Reefplanet wrote:guess it was some big joke....

I guess so, but i'm waiting to hear what he has to say first. The man could of said that it was cancelled?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 24th, 2012, 12:59 pm

will raj be open tomorrow????

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 24th, 2012, 1:00 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:guess it was some big joke....

I guess so, but i'm waiting to hear what he has to say first. The man could of said that it was cancelled?

yeh maybe

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 24th, 2012, 1:55 pm

Reefplanet wrote:will raj be open tomorrow????

Raj dont close pal.................. i've been there as early as 6:00am and late as 10:30pm to pick up fish or corals. You just need to call him first

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 24th, 2012, 2:36 pm

Now spoke to Tecpure on the phone and from what i heard (phone got cut off cause where i am in santa flora), he had problems with management of Gulf City, so he hoping to get it sorted for next wk.......................