The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 4:27 am

ok update....my 3gs battery is working fine now...used an AT&T sim and activated the phone before jailbreak and left sim in phone on first power up.....

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 4:58 am

Redsn0w 0.9.6 Beta 6 Just Released With SAM (Subscriber Artificial Module) Support
Tagged with: Redsn0w 0.9.6 Unlock iPhone 3G Unlock iPhone 3GS

Good news, a new Cydia tweak SAM (Subscriber Artificial Module) has been released by iPhone hacker @sbingner. This allows you to officially activate your iPhone 3GS or 3G after updating to baseband 06.1.5.00 using either PwnageTool 4.1.3 or Redsn0w 0.9.6 Beta 5. As you are already aware, many users have started facing battery drain and hotness issue after unlocking with Ultrasn0w 1.2 following updating of bb 06.1.5.00.

The iPhone Dev Team have released an update to Redsn0w, redsn0w 0.9.6 Beta 6 to support SAM on your iPhone 3GS and 3G. After installing SAM as given in this article – fix battery drain using SAM, go ahead and run Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 with the option ‘Deactivate’.

This will remove the normal patches made to lockdownd and let SAM take over.
Here is the update from the Dev Team:

Developer @sbingner (author of TetherMe) has made some excellent progress devising a new hactivation method that kills two birds with one stone for all you ultrasn0w unlockers. His tool, “Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM)” tricks your iPhone and iTunes into creating legitimate activation tickets even though you’re unlocked with ultrasn0w. This means you get the full benefit of push applications, and your battery life increases substantially. If you’d like to try it out, check out http://www.bingner.com/SAM.html

To help make it easier to try out @sbingner’s tool, we’ve updated redsn0w to include a new “Deactivate” option for the 3G and 3GS. Use this option *after* you’ve installed SAM…it will remove the normal patches made to lockdownd and let SAM take over. (sbingner plans on making a button to do this within SAMPrefs too). Great work, @sbingner!

http://www.enewsplus.com/redsn0w-0-9-6- ... e-support/

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 7:49 am

Activate iPhone 4, 3GS, 3G Officially Without Original SIM or Hacktivation with Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 & SAM

iPhone developer and hacker Sam Bingner has released Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM) method which will allow you to officially activate your iPhone 4, 3GS and 3G without hacktivating, or using original SIM card.

“Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM)” tricks your iPhone and iTunes into creating legitimate activation tickets even though you’re unlocked with ultrasn0w. This means you get the full benefit of push applications, and your battery life increases substantially. If you’d like to try it out, check out http://www.bingner.com/SAM.html

The benefit of Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM) as opposed to hacktivation is that it will result in great battery life, fully working push notifications and so on just like how it is on the officially activated iPhones.

Follow the instructions posted below to officially activate your iPhone using this new method.

Step 1: Download the latest Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 for Windows or Mac via the links given at the end of this post.

Step 2: Follow the instructions posted here to jailbreak your iPhone using this latest version of Redsn0w 0.9.6b6.

Step 3: Once you have jailbroken your iPhone, start Cydia and add http://repo.bingner.com repository.

Step 4: Now install “SAM” and “SAMPrefs” as shown in the screenshots below.

Step 5: Now start the latest Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 again and select “Deactivate” option as shown in the screenshot below. This will allow your iPhone to revert back to a stock lockdownd in order for SAM to function.

Step 6: Now navigate to Settings > SAM and click "De-Activate iPhone"

Step 7: Start iTunes. Make sure your iPhone is connected. Allow iTunes to activate your iPhone officially.

Note: If iTunes says invalid SIM, you will need to manually select the appropriate carrier under one of the methods besides "Automatic" and click on a SIMID.

Once done, you should see the following message on your iPhone
:

Step 8: Now simply follow the steps posted here to unlock your phone using Ultrasn0w 1.2 so that you can use it on any carrier you like.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » December 3rd, 2010, 3:11 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Activate iPhone 4, 3GS, 3G Officially Without Original SIM or Hacktivation with Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 & SAM

iPhone developer and hacker Sam Bingner has released Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM) method which will allow you to officially activate your iPhone 4, 3GS and 3G without hacktivating, or using original SIM card.

“Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM)” tricks your iPhone and iTunes into creating legitimate activation tickets even though you’re unlocked with ultrasn0w. This means you get the full benefit of push applications, and your battery life increases substantially. If you’d like to try it out, check out http://www.bingner.com/SAM.html

The benefit of Subscriber Artificial Module (SAM) as opposed to hacktivation is that it will result in great battery life, fully working push notifications and so on just like how it is on the officially activated iPhones.

Follow the instructions posted below to officially activate your iPhone using this new method.

Step 1: Download the latest Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 for Windows or Mac via the links given at the end of this post.

Step 2: Follow the instructions posted here to jailbreak your iPhone using this latest version of Redsn0w 0.9.6b6.

Step 3: Once you have jailbroken your iPhone, start Cydia and add http://repo.bingner.com repository.

Step 4: Now install “SAM” and “SAMPrefs” as shown in the screenshots below.

Step 5: Now start the latest Redsn0w 0.9.6b6 again and select “Deactivate” option as shown in the screenshot below. This will allow your iPhone to revert back to a stock lockdownd in order for SAM to function.

Step 6: Now navigate to Settings > SAM and click "De-Activate iPhone"

Step 7: Start iTunes. Make sure your iPhone is connected. Allow iTunes to activate your iPhone officially.

Note: If iTunes says invalid SIM, you will need to manually select the appropriate carrier under one of the methods besides "Automatic" and click on a SIMID.

Once done, you should see the following message on your iPhone
:

Step 8: Now simply follow the steps posted here to unlock your phone using Ultrasn0w 1.2 so that you can use it on any carrier you like.

Tried and was successful. thanks
activated iphone.png

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 3:20 pm

I love where we going in this thread!
thanks phreak, bossmann and Aaron!
I'll try this stuff soon.

Thanks for the new ispazio repo as well. and saw SAM last night. Glad to have a tutorial up :)

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 4:18 pm

niceeeee.....push on my email was deactivated hence why my battery was holding up all day...this is what is causing the battery drain mainly...just used SAM and monitoring

Postby M_2NR » December 3rd, 2010, 11:14 pm

actually the doc (Sherif) was saying that on the latest devices, apple constantly had the devices looking for certs and activation which led to it.

I gonna try SAM as well... cuz im bored.. but gonna backup my certs first :)

EDIT: Loved seeing all the commands and raw details of that deactivation! XD

gonna sam it up now.

k i didnt see anything with iphone activated but sam says it is and ipusher says push working so... woohoo?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 4th, 2010, 10:50 am

Back in ’09 we reported that Apple was working on a Radio app for the iPhone and today Patently Apple reports that Apple has patented a Radio.app. As you can see in the image above the iPhone mockup on the right is displaying your traditional radio app with presets and song info. The image on the left is where things get interesting. As you can see the iPhone on the left is displaying a map with your location along with all the nearby radio towers.

This patented radio feature would be very helpful for people driving around and looking for the best possible radio signals. The radio signal strength is symbolized by the half circles above the radio towers, similarly to the AirPort signal strength indicators on Apple’s iOS devices and Macs. Apple’s patent is incredible and if it actually comes to life this will be amazing for people constantly searching for good radio strength. Then again most of what Apple patents never sees the light of day — or Apple’s labs for that matter.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 5th, 2010, 9:32 am

Some of the new signage going up in Apple Stores around the country has a little news item: The white iPhone will be available Spring 2011. That confirms an earlier report and also would seem to put to rest the rumors that Apple killed it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 6th, 2010, 3:40 pm

Google on Monday announced its entrance into the e-book market -- and competition with Apple's iBooks -- with the search giant's "Google ebookstore," for iOS and Android devices.

Though it is not yet available on the App Store, Google eBooks for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch will allow customers to read and sync more than 3 million e-books on the go. The application will also offer access to the company's Mobile eBookstore.

"We designed Google eBooks to be open," said Abraham Murray, product manager for Google Books. "Many devices are compatible with Google eBooks -- everything from laptops to netbooks to tablets to smartphones to e-readers.

"With the new Google eBooks Web Reader, you can buy, store and read Google eBooks in the cloud. That means you can access your ebooks like you would messages in Gmail or photos in Picasa—using a free, password-protected Google account with unlimited ebooks storage."

Titles can be purchased from the Google eBookstore, or from independent bookseller partners, including Powell's, Alibris, and participating members of the American Booksellers Association. The company has distinguished its e-book service by saying it's "all about choice."

"Launching Google eBooks is an initial step toward giving you greater access to vast variety of information and entertainment found in books," Murray said. "Our journey has just begun."

Google's announcement is not a surprise, as less than a week ago a report from The Wall Street Journal said that the digital bookstore was on track to launch by the end of 2010. The product was previously known as Google Editions.

Like Apple's iBooks and the Amazon Kindle, Google's service allows users to wirelessly sync their titles across a number of devices. Because the service remembers where a reader left off in a book, they can begin reading again from the same spot on a separate device.

Apple's iBooks application, and accompanying iBookstore, debuted with the launch of the iPad in April. In June, it was revealed that Apple had already taken 22 percent of the e-book market.

Last week, a new survey found that the Amazon Kindle was "rapidly" losing e-reader market share to Apple's iPad. The Kindle still has the market share lead, however, with 47 percent of polled consumers owning Amazon's e-ink reader, while 32 percent said they had Apple's multi-touch iPad.

Postby M_2NR » December 7th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Watch Flash Videos On iPhone & iPad, No Jailbreak or Apps Required
http://www.macstories.net/tutorials/watch-flash-videos-on-iphone-ipad-no-jailbreak-or-apps-required/

fairly easy to do.. its just a bookmarklet. It's for sites that have there backend to support h.264 format but if a blogger/writer doesnt enable it, this does...
sites like Flickr Video, MegaVideo and Vimeo should work.

good luck

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 8th, 2010, 8:58 am

MuscleNerd of the iPhone Dev Team has confirmed that he has got untethered jailbreak working on the latest iOS 4.2.1 firmware. He further explains that this a “backup” plan to Comex’s upcoming userland method and that it is generalizable.

MuscleNerd wrote:Got "backup plan" for untethered 4.2.1 JB working (video coming up). Uses mysterious 4.2b3 hashes Cydia kept for you

(It’s a "backup plan" because comex is working on a more extensible one, but this method is also generalizable)

ipt4g 4.2.1 untethered JB w/4.2b3 kernel: http://is.gd/inE4e … Wastes no exploits, but upcoming @comex JB maybe better

This method also uses iOS 4.2b3 (Beta 3) SHSH blobs which Cydia was saving for all iOS devices last month. Oh an all iOS devices will be supported. You can see it in action in the video embedded below:

No word on the release date yet.

------

This video clip purports to show yet another accomplishment from the iPhone Dev Team, this time they’ve managed to boot an iPod touch without using wires.

As our source puts it, “MuscleNerd just uploaded this video booting a untethered iPhone 4. and I heard they are on their way to unlock bb 02.10.04.”

Meanwhile we sit and wait for Apple to make good on Steve Jobs’ one time promise that the company is working to deliver untethered sync…“someday”.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 8th, 2010, 2:26 pm

Comex of Spirit and JailbreakMe fame has confirmed that a more efficient userland-based untethered jailbreak method for iOS 4.2.1 will be released before Christmas 2010. This confirmation in fact came before MuscleNerd got a backup method to make jailbreak untethered on iOS 4.2.1.

iCykey: @comex I want a 4.2.1 untethered jailbreak for christmas

Comex: @iCykey you’ll get it.

------

Earlier today, MuscleNerd confirmed that he has got a “backup” method of making jailbreak untethered on iOS 4.2.1. This new method utilizes iOS 4.2b3 (Beta 3) SHSH blobs which Cydia only recently started saving for all iOS devices.

And now, in a reply to Twitter users Lezanz and idansc, MuscleNerd also confirmed that the IPhone Dev Team is working on a method to downgrade 06.15.00 baseband back to 05.15.xx so that iPhone 3GS and 3G users who upgraded to iPad’s 06.15 for iOS 4.1 / 4.2.1 unlock can restore to the stock iOS firmware.

@Lezanz sorry still collecting data on that. But also working on a bb downgrade (!) method for those with unlockable bb

@idansc yes if the BB downgrade method works, it will work for 06.15 too.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 8th, 2010, 2:45 pm

yup the caller-id fix from ispaziorepository works on ios4... thanks for that.

for anyone interested I have an iPhone4 16GB Factory Unlocked to sell... asking 6k
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=346823

Postby M_2NR » December 8th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Can't wait for that untethered JB. boom! hopefully after the 16th.

___

Is google voice not allowing you to use Google's free VOIP method? Try Talkatone

http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/reviews/talkatone-voip-app-free-iphone-google-talk-voice-calls-over-3g-wifi/

And its free and it works wonders! i called my buddy in the US and talked for free just now.
I am still catching my royal to get magicjack setup on iSip and i keep forgetting to try to... but alas thanks to google it might no longer be necessary.

Location also works too!
(well until google latitude is out of the store this should work)

samureye

Postby samureye » December 8th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Hey guys, will make a new thread if people don't see this. Considering purchasing an iMac. Has anyone ordered one from Apple's site? Are there any problems getting it shipped with a skybox? I know some companies are not fans of Trinidad Credit Cards. The other option is to get it via amazon. Will there be any problems getting something that can be easily damaged shipped like that? Also, is Apple Care worth getting since we are here? Much thanks for any help

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » December 8th, 2010, 3:19 pm

samureye wrote:Hey guys, will make a new thread if people don't see this. Considering purchasing an iMac. Has anyone ordered one from Apple's site? Are there any problems getting it shipped with a skybox? I know some companies are not fans of Trinidad Credit Cards. The other option is to get it via amazon. Will there be any problems getting something that can be easily damaged shipped like that? Also, is Apple Care worth getting since we are here? Much thanks for any help

Not sure how the shipping part goes but I doubt it might be a problem to ship it to a skybox

As far as the Apple Protection warranty, i got a Mac recently and I decided to call around to local Apple authorised dealers, F1 connect told me that they do honor the warranty free at charge, the only thing they don't honor is software, but hey if your getting your mac fixed for free locally what else can you ask for ?

Hope it helps

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 8th, 2010, 4:49 pm

sexyicon wrote:
samureye wrote:Hey guys, will make a new thread if people don't see this. Considering purchasing an iMac. Has anyone ordered one from Apple's site? Are there any problems getting it shipped with a skybox? I know some companies are not fans of Trinidad Credit Cards. The other option is to get it via amazon. Will there be any problems getting something that can be easily damaged shipped like that? Also, is Apple Care worth getting since we are here? Much thanks for any help

Not sure how the shipping part goes but I doubt it might be a problem to ship it to a skybox

As far as the Apple Protection warranty, i got a Mac recently and I decided to call around to local Apple authorised dealers, F1 connect told me that they do honor the warranty free at charge, the only thing they don't honor is software, but hey if your getting your mac fixed for free locally what else can you ask for ?

Hope it helps

ive read that the 27" imac is known for being DOA or with a cracked/shattered screen

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 9th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Not cutting across SRASC News for the day but...

Apple has just announced their “Top 10” list of everything-iTunes for the year 2010. This includes top music, movies, TV shows, podcasts and iPhone / iPad apps.

The iPhone and iPad apps are broken down into paid, free and top grossing categories for the year 2010

Top 10 Paid Apps for iPhone and iPod touch (Year: 2010)
Angry Birds
Doodle Jump
Skee-Ball
Bejeweled 2 + Blitz
Fruit Ninja
Cut the Rope
ALL-IN-1 GAMEBOX
The Moron Test
Plants vs. Zombies
Pocket God

Top 10 Free Apps for iPhone and iPod touch (Year: 2010)
Facebook
Angry Birds Lite
Words With Friends Free
The Weather Channel
Paper Toss
Bing
ROCK BAND FREE
Talking Tom Cat

Top 10 Grossing Apps for iPhone and iPod touch (Year: 2010)
MLB.com At Bat 2010
Angry Birds
Call of Duty: Zombies
Bejeweled 2 + Blitz
FriendCaller 3 Pro
Zombie Farm
TomTom U.S.A.
TETRIS
Plants vs. Zombies
Doodle Jump

Top 10 Paid Apps for iPad (Year: 2010)
Pages
GoodReader for iPad
Numbers
Angry Birds HD
Keynote
Glee Karaoke
WolframAlpha
Pinball HD
Friendly for Facebook
Star Walk for iPad

Top 10 Free Apps for iPad (Year: 2010)
iBooks
Pandora Radio
Netflix
Google Mobile App
Solitaire
Movies by Flixster
IMDb Movies & TV
Kindle
Google Earth
Virtuoso Piano Free 2 HD

Top 10 Free Apps for iPad (Year: 2010)
Pages
Numbers
Keynote
LogMeIn Ignition
SCRABBLE for iPad
Documents To Go Premium
Angry Birds HD
Real Racing HD
Plants vs. Zombies HD
Proloquo2Go

http://www.redmondpie.com/top-10-iphone ... s-of-2010/

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 2:46 pm

hoss post ALL the news yuh want
that will save him some time. glad you post the source too :)

I really glad to see the others posting. Good to see you all seeking an interest etc.

I just saw another post from ispazio.net.. but it aint english. its about getting megavideo to work on iOS.

WRT to ispaziorepository.com... that should be automatically changed. I did over my 2G this week and it was there :)

we still have the deb in case tho

silver

Postby silver » December 9th, 2010, 2:55 pm

listen all this is very nice...but i need ultrasn0w to work on bb2.10.04... where is the dev team on this??

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 9th, 2010, 2:55 pm

I glad to see Angry Birds and Plants vs Zombies on the list.

Those are two very addictive games...well until you beat PvZ. AB is always a greater challenge.

No lie though...a time Angry Birds had me occupied for the entire boat ride to Tobago :) And I hate sailing eh...

samureye

Postby samureye » December 9th, 2010, 3:40 pm

rodfarva wrote:
sexyicon wrote:

Hope it helps

ive read that the 27" imac is known for being DOA or with a cracked/shattered screen

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 9th, 2010, 9:45 pm

So my brother cracked the 4.2BB on 05.13.04 on his 3G.

With the ability to rollback to whatever baseband he wants...

Can anyone say "hello 4.2"...weekend for me :D

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 10:17 pm

silver wrote:listen all this is very nice...but i need ultrasn0w to work on bb2.10.04... where is the dev team on this??

isnt that an old baseband on <3.x f/w? time to update son.

idlemind wrote:So my brother cracked the 4.2BB on 05.13.04 on his 3G.

yay! glad to hear he got a pwned ipsw. :)

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » December 9th, 2010, 10:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:
silver wrote:listen all this is very nice...but i need ultrasn0w to work on bb2.10.04... where is the dev team on this??

idlemind wrote:So my brother cracked the 4.2BB on 05.13.04 on his 3G.

yay! glad to hear he got a pwned ipsw. :)

I think that baseband is for the ip4
But the dev team is taking a while to unlock it

If ur bro unlocked that ipsw he should share it with the dev team to help further the unlock process

Postby M_2NR » December 9th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Right.. got mixed up with a 3G baseband.

wrt to unlock ipsw etc. 05.13.04 BB was already unlocked. all he did most likely was use pwnagetool or used a ipsw created by pwnagetool to update. thereby preserving his BB.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 10th, 2010, 5:39 am

Correct he got a cracked ipsw and I thunk he used his AT&T sim to jb.

He didn't explain in full what he did but by weekend il do mine over and report.

M_2NR is it too late to rollback your 3G? Or Pops good with it?

Postby M_2NR » December 10th, 2010, 7:19 am

Can't "roll back" the BB per say. Once it has been updated, its stuck on it (iPhone 3G 5.9 bootloader-> latest) . Unless you on old bootloader like 5.8 on a 3G or a iphone 2G then you can downgrade BB. :(

But they are working on a program to downgrade the ipad BB to 05.15 in case people want to update legit.

All he had to do if he was on windows was what we desc. on the prev. page. Only difference for those who dont have a ATT sim is to use SAM.

silver

Postby silver » December 10th, 2010, 7:53 am

silver wrote:
listen all this is very nice...but i need ultrasn0w to work on bb2.10.04... where is the dev team on this??

M_2NR wrote:

What?? no..this is an I Phone 4 with version 4.1 (8B117) Modem firmware version 02.10.04..(i think that means the BB is 05.15.01?? cud be wrong)
i have an AT&T sim...but i didn't upgrade to 4.2 cuz i was waiting for the unlock for the bb...
Is there a way to unlock??