The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

christopherwilliams2

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:21 am

rfari wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Same here. I use it daily for simple things like youtube, reading mail, pdfs and checking online. I hate to use my phone now to search online. gotta love how drive works on android. It pushes automatically. As i say it's a fun device and there are tons of quirks still like the camera only works in webos since the drivers are still being ported but it works really nicely for an "old" fairly cheap device (relatively) not to mention the sound on this thing is super. It is as good if not better than quite a few laptop speakers. I didn't get it for 99$ though. :(

If i had to advise someone to buy a tablet I will never tell them go android though. There just aren't enough well designed tablet apps (not just my view eh). An iPad still runs laps around android tabs in this aspect.

How come you didnt go the Kindle Fire HD route?

I have the 3rd Gen kindle and it was routine horrors and stunts to convert pdf to ebook format. That turned me away from it. And I guess the lack of full USB too. Any 2nrs using Bluetooth headset and mics with their tabs?

I use calibre to convert pdf to amazon Kindle format.. Very easy.

Postby S_2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 1:57 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 3rd, 2012, 7:18 pm

Anyone know where i can get a replacement screen for a S3 locally? friend had her fone fall and the screen got cracked.

Postby M_2NR » October 3rd, 2012, 7:35 pm

rfari wrote:I have the 3rd Gen kindle and it was routine horrors and stunts to convert pdf to ebook format. That turned me away from it. And I guess the lack of full USB too. Any 2nrs using Bluetooth headset and mics with their tabs?

ahh. I know some android tabs have a USB host so you can get a microUSB to USB cable for a few bucks and hook up USB devices.

Talking about that, i never tried. Thing stays in the car mostly anyway :oops:

S_2NR wrote:Ordered an anti glare screen protector and case for my s2. what u guys use? Just a case? Just a screen protector? Or both?

TPU case + clear screen protector. I know it have some who swear by the scratch resistance of Gorilla glass, i had a certain tuner tizzik looking for scratch the other day :lol:
BTW Sand does scratch gorilla glass eh.

Parvin wrote:Anyone know where i can get a replacement screen for a S3 locally? friend had her fone fall and the screen got cracked.

That is pressure.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-Galaxy- ... 0814472442

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » October 3rd, 2012, 8:03 pm

Parvin wrote:Anyone know where i can get a replacement screen for a S3 locally? friend had her fone fall and the screen got cracked.

Sorry I can't help. I understand the pain though that's why I use an otterbox.

casper

Postby casper » October 3rd, 2012, 8:08 pm

When's the jelly bean update?

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » October 3rd, 2012, 9:02 pm

^^ This is the latest official update afaik...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1646610

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 3rd, 2012, 9:52 pm

The screen film that comes with the otterbox Commuter doesn't seem so great, allyuh call down a good one

casper

Postby casper » October 4th, 2012, 9:34 am

got an update for google maps today and saw they put in the street view....how do u get that thing to work tho?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 4th, 2012, 12:43 pm

Phone fell today fellas...
uploadfromtaptalk1349368909985.jpg

casper

Postby casper » October 4th, 2012, 12:48 pm

yea boi dog dat izza rellll hard luck scn i feel ur pain...

:(

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2012, 12:50 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Phone fell today fellas...
uploadfromtaptalk1349368909985.jpg

No case?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 4th, 2012, 1:03 pm

I don't like cases...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 4th, 2012, 1:17 pm

bassotronics wrote:^^ This is the latest official update afaik...

Isn't it available as an OTA/kies update?

casper

Postby casper » October 4th, 2012, 1:23 pm

ZeroOne wrote:
bassotronics wrote:^^ This is the latest official update afaik...

Isn't it available as an OTA/kies update?

dont think so nah...well at least not yet...i tried yesterday

Postby tr1ad » October 4th, 2012, 1:32 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:I don't like cases...

well now this is awkward

Postby Trini Hookah » October 4th, 2012, 2:22 pm

Last night woke up in a frenzy and pushed my phone off the bed...not a scratch/dent.

Xperia lived to see another day 0X

Postby Stephon. » October 4th, 2012, 2:26 pm

tr1ad wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:I don't like cases...

well now this is awkward

He really say that? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » October 4th, 2012, 2:30 pm

anyone tried it yet?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... ooma&hl=en

Android: Atooma offers complete control over your Android phone's sensors and components, and gives you a remarkably easy to master interface to program activities that you may be doing manually, like switching to Wi-Fi when you get home, silencing notifications when you get to the office, or even read incoming SMS messages aloud when you're driving, for starters.
We've covered a few apps that let you build triggered events for your Android device, most notably Tasker and Llama, but the learning curve for both of those tools can be a little steep. Atooma aims to give you the same level of control over your device without the struggle to learn and master dozens of operations and triggers, and it really comes through. When we say it's like IFTTT, we mean it: creating activities is as simple as filling out "IF [X], DO [Y]," where X and Y correspond to triggers and activities you choose, whether they're system activities, or involve external apps like your music players and social networks.

Filling in those triggers and activities is as simple as selecting from a icon-based menu of options, each of which asks you for more information if it's required. For example, if you select "location" and "GPS," you'll be prompted to select the map area you want to trigger the event. The UI is simple to master, and if you've been intimidated by or just don't need the extreme detail that apps like Tasker offer, it's worth checking out. Best of all, it's completely free and available to download now at Google Play.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 4th, 2012, 8:48 pm

That looks good. Seeing some mixed reviews though.

Tasker is a pain to learn.

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 12:23 pm

IBC just dropped off my amzer case :oops:

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:IBC just dropped off my amzer case :oops:

Got mine too!

Yu dam copycat lol

Loving the anti glare protector as well. No fingerprints no glare :grin:

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 12:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Stephon. wrote:IBC just dropped off my amzer case :oops:

Got mine too!

Yu dam copycat lol

Loving the anti glare protector as well. No fingerprints no glare :grin:

I ain't buy the anti glear screen protector. I might buy it next week. Wanted to hear your review first. Your fault though you told me it would a look good on mine and the idea got in my head :oops:

casper

Postby casper » October 5th, 2012, 12:48 pm

would u believe i also ordered an amzer TPU case for my co-worker's sony xperia

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007OT ... 01_s00_i00

^^^this is it....i eh go lie...first time i hearing about this brand and i really impressed...the cut out holes are frikkin PRECISE!!!!!!!!....also once u put it on it not gonna be moving or getting loose etc...it stays on and it wont ever stretch....awsome brand i must say

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Yea it fits really good. Whites look slightly grainy with the anti glare screen protector but I'm willing to sacrifice that little nitpick for no glare or fingerprints. And it feels a lot smoother when u slide ur finger across the screen. Got it on with no bubbles. :mrgreen:

Postby Stephon. » October 5th, 2012, 1:04 pm

casper wrote:would u believe i also ordered an amzer TPU case for my co-worker's sony xperia

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007OT ... 01_s00_i00

^^^this is it....i eh go lie...first time i hearing about this brand and i really impressed...the cut out holes are frikkin PRECISE!!!!!!!!....also once u put it on it not gonna be moving or getting loose etc...it stays on and it wont ever stretch....awsome brand i must say

Follow fashion!

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 1:09 pm

this is what i got. looks great on the black.

this would look great on the white:
stephy get this one :lol:

casper

Postby casper » October 5th, 2012, 1:45 pm

gyad boi S_2NR i hate anti glare screen protectors they look so grainy and take away from the beauty of the phone's screen...all my screen protectors MUST be crystal clear just like original or else i eh want any at all...the privacy ones look really awful too IMO...dunno why ppl like those privacy ones for na

Postby stev » October 5th, 2012, 1:51 pm

that case look classy....make sure and extend ur pinky when using ur phone. :P

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2012, 1:52 pm

the glare bothers me so i dont mind.
i is a man cant live without AR coating on my glasses :lol:

and it not grainy overall (well at least not the one i got) , it just noticeable on the whites.
ill sacrifice a lil screen quality for improved viewing and less eye strain.