Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Kasey

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Kasey » August 19th, 2012, 3:37 pm

HondaB20B wrote:i watch paint dry...........................lol

seriously!!

LOL. Need a co-worker?? LOL!!!

So ur a painter..........

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 19th, 2012, 3:47 pm

hahahahhahah :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby UML » August 19th, 2012, 5:48 pm

Kasey wrote:

seriously!!

with all dat stock he mussee Michelangelo :mrgreen:

honda u have real stock dey man :shock:

i have one small ass tank and i find it is real wuk....i cud imagine wah u does have to do.

what is the best days or time to go by raj

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 19th, 2012, 6:24 pm

Kasey wrote:

seriously!!

No, i'm not a painter..............nor a painter helper. LOL
I'm in the oil industry though

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 19th, 2012, 6:51 pm

Reefplanet wrote:honda do u have anemones?

yup, i actually have 9 rock flower anemones ranging in size (5"-8") and color (florescent reds and orange, greens, yellows, red and blue) All stay in the sand and spread like flowers. I dont have the regular anemones that clowns live in because they move about in a reef tank and sting corals.
check back pics on page 142

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 19th, 2012, 7:09 pm

Things that you have to keep in check in a reef other than ammonia, nitrates, PH and nitrites (thats routine) are Cal and Alk. You dont have these in check you will see some problems. My Cal and Alk i check every 2 wks, the others every 2mts or so. I know every behavior of fish, invert and coral in the tank all the time. Anytime they act strange like not eating or hiding or corals not opening, i know something is wrong and i do minor checks.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 19th, 2012, 7:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Things that you have to keep in check in a reef other than ammonia, nitrates, PH and nitrites (thats routine) are Cal and Alk. You dont have these in check you will see some problems. My Cal and Alk i check every 2 wks, the others every 2mts or so. I know every behavior of fish, invert and coral in the tank all the time. Anytime they act strange like not eating or hiding or corals not opening, i know something is wrong and i do minor checks.

Also Magnesium. If Magnesium is off you will have problems keeping alk and cal in check.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 19th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Fishman wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Things that you have to keep in check in a reef other than ammonia, nitrates, PH and nitrites (thats routine) are Cal and Alk. You dont have these in check you will see some problems. My Cal and Alk i check every 2 wks, the others every 2mts or so. I know every behavior of fish, invert and coral in the tank all the time. Anytime they act strange like not eating or hiding or corals not opening, i know something is wrong and i do minor checks.

Also Magnesium. If Magnesium is off you will have problems keeping alk and cal in check.

Thats correct.............. actually i really supposed to get the test kit by raj and i keep forgetting.

Postby UML » August 19th, 2012, 7:36 pm

honda cud u put the names for ur corals on pg 142...i was confused when i first saw it....still confused though.......u used to put the pic name as the coral name so das how i used to have an idea of what is what. thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 19th, 2012, 8:35 pm

UML wrote:honda cud u put the names for ur corals on pg 142...i was confused when i first saw it....still confused though.......u used to put the pic name as the coral name so das how i used to have an idea of what is what. thanks

fixed

Postby UML » August 19th, 2012, 11:13 pm

thanks. i can finally stop saying...boy dem "ting" pretty eh :oops:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 12:11 am

UML wrote:thanks. i can finally stop saying...boy dem "ting" pretty eh :oops:

LOL

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 2:03 am

some are new corals
Trachyphyllia  feeding.jpg
Trachyphyllia.jpg
Neon green tip frogspawn.jpg
Multi-color Acans.jpg
Maze brain.jpg
Lobophyllia & red, yellow rock anemone.jpg
Encrusting  gorgonian.jpg
4 different mushrooms.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 2:31 am

some more
Acans.jpg
Scolly & peppermint shrimp.jpg
GSP & red mushrooms.jpg
Acans starting to grow on sand.jpg

Postby UML » August 20th, 2012, 9:21 am

does ur peppermint shrimp attack ur anemones? does a fire shrimp attack anemones as well?

btw dem ting real pretty boy :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 11:00 am

hahaha :lol: Honda when u selling boi...You have so much stock more dan d ocean :wink:
Is a gorgonia a beginner coral?
anyone could lend a small cup of sand from ur system ..we could trade a cup for a cup so my sand can get......live! :D please

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 11:10 am

In my reef tank, i have 4 skunk cleaners, 2 fireshrimp and 5 peppermint shrimp and they walk all over the corals and stuff. They only try to steal food from the corals and anemones sometimes. All the shrimp do cleanups of unwanted food on the sand bed and rocks and maybe sometimes if there are zoas or other corals dying. The skunkcleaner and fireshrimp set up cleaning stations throughout the rockworks and the fish pull-up and get a free cleaning by removing parasites, dead skin or scales or any other stuff. The fish even open up their mouth or the shrimp open their gill flaps and give a clean.
Its really amazing to watch. Every 2-3 wks, the shrimp molt and you see their outer skin floating around. I leave it in cause it provides food for the anemones.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 11:51 am

shoulld my lights be on or off during the cycle?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 12:04 pm

Thats still questionable................. some say yes, some say no. I had mine on right through, but then again, i had enough live rock and bacteria to sustain it. I think you can keep it off or to a minimum, because when the diatoms and algae start during the cycle, you dont want it to bloom. Some of the other guys may be able to chime in on how they did theirs. The way how technology has changed lately i really cant answer.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 12:36 pm

Reefplanet wrote:hahaha :lol: Honda when u selling boi...You have so much stock more dan d ocean :wink:
Is a gorgonia a beginner coral?
anyone could lend a small cup of sand from ur system ..we could trade a cup for a cup so my sand can get......live! :D please

hook up your system, the live rock you have still living so you good. Use the same water also. When the system start running you have to try avoiding moving up the rocks or disturbing the sand bed and stuff. Do you have the saltwater kit to test your Ammonia, Nitrates, Nitrites and PH during the start of your cycle? And how are you testing your salinity. Get the bacteria and you will be good. Now remember you will be going through a mini cycle, cause you already using live rock. If you were using dead rock and starting from scratch, your cycle would of been the 4-5 wks. I didnt go the recommended way either, i had bought all my 250-300lbs of live rock about a year prior and had them with fish in my concrete tubs. Had about 10 black mollies constantly breeding along with some angels, tangs and clowns. When the tank was eventually set up, i just transferred all the live rock, some fish, and emptied 2 bottles of bacteria into the tank. It was actually more than 10 times the recommended dosage, but it worked. Lights went on full time and skimmer was running 24/7. Never really got much of a ammonia spike........ had allot of algae and diatom bloom but i later limited the time on the lights and started the phosbhan reactor a few mths later............................and here is my tank today. I'm not saying you have to follow what i did, maybe i was lucky and got away with it............. maybe the fish gods were with me

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 2:41 pm

Here is some good info.......................

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2006-03/cj/index.php

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 7:08 pm

thanx honda..my system up already..have live rock sand and water in it. Have a powerhead.. getting the masters test kit. My salinity is 1.024 it was 1.025 yesterday but i added water.i have like a few lbs or dry rock but im getting live rock thursday by raj so i will have more live rock.So can i add a cup of live sand from a mature system or add t after the cycle?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 7:24 pm

why are you going to add live sand (from a mature system) after the cycle now?
you already using live rock, adding more live rock and adding bacteria from a bottle. Get your test kit ASAP and check...................... then yuh on!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 7:51 pm

coool i will and yes im adding t after so my sand can have a variity of critters

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Reefplanet wrote:coool i will and yes im adding t after so my sand can have a variity of critters

:roll: :roll: ...........................ok

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 8:06 pm

wuts with the " :roll: :-| am i doing something wrong???idk :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 20th, 2012, 8:19 pm

Reefplanet wrote:wuts with the " :roll: :-| am i doing something wrong???idk :(

Nah, the "critters thing"
BUILD IT AND THEY WILL COME .................... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 8:40 pm

lol oh ok

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 20th, 2012, 8:52 pm

honda u going d fish expo wednesday?

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » August 20th, 2012, 9:36 pm

Reefplanet i nw start up a tank take ur time n go slow doh rush n ud get tru let the tank take time n cycle n yuh on.. i do d same ting honda do i hav 300lbs a rock buy bacteria n after a week i added my first fish n the tank runin good for about 3mths n im a newbie so i no u wa see rel fish