The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 11:53 am

have no problems on either of my iphones with the ipad baseband...i read that some ppl are having gps issues but up to not i havent seen any on mine....

when the phone is started or sim changes, its taking a lil longer than normal to pick up service, like 2 mins....

Postby M_2NR » December 1st, 2010, 2:02 pm

the gps in this 3G first it grab the right cordinate... then it shift... :(

i guess its cause my certs are still hacked.

I gonna get push doctor now and fix my certs b4 i get the battery hogging issue that sherif talked about

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 1st, 2010, 8:53 pm

How do we install the caller-id fix for ios4 now that iSpazio is down?

ANY HELP PLEASE!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 1st, 2010, 9:11 pm

Battery Issues Reported After Unlocking iPhone 3G/3GS With Ultrasn0w 1.2
By
_GadgetNews
– December 1, 2010

As you already know the newly released PwnageTool / Redsn0w jailbreak tools for iOS 4.2.1 requires you to transfer iPad’s 3.2.2 baseband to your iPhone 3GS & 3G in order to unlock it using Ultrasn0w 1.2. We have gotten a few reports of this method resulting in poor battery performance experienced by many users. Some users have also complained about their device becoming very hot when in use.

An official fix for this problem is currently being worked on, and it will be released on Cydia when ready. But in the meantime, you can try one of the following methods to temporary fix the issue:
How To Fix Battery Issue After Unlocking iPhone 3G/3GS On iOS 4.2.1 With Ultrasn0w 1.2:
Method 1:

The first method requires you or a friend to have the official iPhone SIM card. What you need to do is put that SIM in the iPhone and let it activate officially. It will even work if the SIM card is not active in that country or is dead. Once your iPhone is activated with this SIM card, you can then take it out and switch back to whichever one you like.
Method 2:

If you cannot get hold of an official SIM card, a temporary fix is to install SBSettings and turn your 3G off every time you are done using it. This will prevent the battery drain issue but is slightly tedious and annoying.
Method 3:

This method is not available yet but a Dev-Team member is said to be working on an official fix for this issue. Once released on Cydia, all you will need to do is install it to your iPhone.

Here is the statement from Sherif Hashim:

On a very important side note, before anyone starts to complain about battery drainage issues after installing the new ultrasn0w on the 6.15.00 updated BB, the culprit here is not ultrasn0w, it’s the hacktivation process (activating the phone by pwnage tool or redsn0w rather than using an official carrier sim to do so) that u mostly did while jailbreaking.

The 4.1 and 4.2.1 ipsws unlike their old ancestors, seem to keep looking for valid push certificates all the time, either thru your wifi, or thru your cellular data network (which u only have after installing ultrasn0w and hence u accuse it) , this can be seen clearly if u have a cellular working data plan for 3g or edge and u watched the settings > general > usage > cellular network data (sent & received are continuously increasing even without using any internet traffics on the phone) , this will also render the phone going hot even in stand by mode and also very rapid battery drainage occurs plus consuming ur data if you were not on an unlimited plan.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » December 1st, 2010, 10:13 pm

Hey guys, I need some help here please, I think I f*@$ed up.

I got a 32GB 3GS about a month after it was launched last year and I've been using the stock OS (3.0) since then. I decided to update to the new iOS 4.2.1 last night. iTunes installed the update then I ran redsn0w and the jailbreak was successful. However, when the phone rebooted normally, I decided to erase all the data via the settings tab. Next thing I know, the phone went to recovery mode and has been stuck in that mode since. I tried to re-update via iTunes but it gives an error code of 1015.

I don't care about the data that was on the phone before so that should lessen the burden of getting it up and running. I just want a working updated OS that is untethered jailbreaked/unlocked.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. :(

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 1:32 am

You didnt read this page thus far haven't you?
M_2NR wrote:BUT:
This is the great part. Unknown users /wont/ be able to ever update to a virgin IPSW again... ever... unless apple removes this restriction because once u have this 06.15 BB you can never update unless you using a cooked/custom IPSW.

Ok if you have updated to 4.2.1 i wanna assume you are now on ipad BB aka 06.15? if this is so... carry on...

Just use a cooked IPSW...

or... i'd like to hope its a old bootrom since you said 3.0. You can try using iReb to kick it out of recovery. 4.2.1 afaik cant be kicked out of recovery by tinyumbrella but u can try iReb.
aka try this (Thanks to the poster):
just recovered it Put it in DFU Mode, Open newest version of iReb, press 3GS, wait.
Go Back to itunes, holding shift click recover, and select the firmware Wait until its recovered. To activate the iPhone download the orginal 4.2.1 select it in the newest Redsn0w. Jailbreak it and pamm... your iphone is now fully recovered ...

Best bet?
found an ipsw here:
http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f456/s-3gs-4-2-1-6-15-bb-custom-ipsw-1152507/#post6632863

Direct link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6JVZF92E

download that and KEEP IT!

and read that thread.. that guy in the same hole as you...

personally... if i had that iphone.. i would beat you for updating it straight to 4.2.1 and losing that golden BB. Its just me but a 3GS with a BB of 04.26.08 is like... gold... you can literally sell that on ebay for 400usd and more right now... thankfully your untethered tho :)

BTW if you are going the pwned ipsw route... run redsn0w on it and put it into DFU and tick "just enter pwned DFU" k?
that's so it wont error out to 21/16xx.

good luck... hopefully u understood wtf i typed (Half asleep)

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » December 2nd, 2010, 4:31 am

hot blue wrote:How do we install the caller-id fix for ios4 now that iSpazio is down?

ANY HELP PLEASE!!!

I'm dying to find out for the iPhone 4

I know there was a technique posted using iFun Box and the downloaded file.

But I don't wanna f around to much with the 4 so i rather someone teach me

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 7:58 am

AirPlay was introduced with iOS 4.2.x which allowed users to stream audio, video and photos via supported iOS devices so that you can watch them on your television sets (using Apple TV). This feature though came with its share of limitations, the primary being the lack of support for third-party apps, and audio-only streaming from Safari.

There are of course ways to enable AirPlay Video Streaming in all iOS Apps, but I bet most of the users would prefer getting a concrete solution. Maybe Apple can release an API that can be utilized by the third party app developers to enable streaming via their applications.

The problem was initially put down by many who thought that the issue could be related to bandwidth limitation. But a more concrete reason could be associated to Apple making haste with the incomplete version of AirPlay that doesn’t support third party apps. Again in my opinion this haste was made to ensure that the iOS 4.2 is released in November. The second most nagging issue that has been noted is that users are unable to stream content on their iPhone 4 via AirPlay that has been shot on their iPhone 4. The reason as mentioned above could be bandwidth related.

Whatever the reason was, Steve Jobs in his response to a mail clarified that AirPlay will have all these features added in 2011, possibly via the next iOS 4.3 software update.

Q: Hi, I recently updated both my iPhone 4 and iPad to 4.2. I think my favorite feature is airplay. This is seriously amazing and makes sharing content seamless. I just purchased Apple TV and was wondering are you ever going to make airplay video work for videos in safari and 3rd party apps? I hope to get a response.

A: Yep, hope to add these features to Airplay in 2011.

------

Saurik has announced that he has ported the latest version of Cydia to iOS 2.x and 3.x.

It was a grueling all-nighter, but I got the latest Cydia ported to 2.x and 3.x with only one minor UI issue left to be looked at by @chpwn.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:59 am

Ok, this is what you should do :
Now your iphone has 4.2.1 and in recovery mode state :
run redsn0w 0.9.6b5 and browse to stock 4.2.1,
Check only the box dfu only
Perform this action : start holding the Power button the same time you hit the Next button ( 3 secs count )
When achieved , it will say DFU done.
Now open up itunes and shift + restore to this CFW of 4.1 3gs.

http://modmyi.com/forums/redsn0w/739220 ... ne-up.html

interesting indeed....

my problem though, whenever i try to do any custom install, my itunes remain on preparing phone for restore for like 10mins and nothing happen...is this normal?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 10:12 am

Oh & the new Angry Birds Christmas update is out.

that's new

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 2nd, 2010, 10:24 am

BlueGalant HD wrote:
hot blue wrote:How do we install the caller-id fix for ios4 now that iSpazio is down?

ANY HELP PLEASE!!!

I'm dying to find out for the iPhone 4

I know there was a technique posted using iFun Box and the downloaded file.

But I don't wanna f around to much with the 4 so i rather someone teach me

I used the tutorial from here http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/problems-with-callerid-and-format-fix-from-cydia/#more-83 but it does not seem to work.
From what SRASC told me, he put the .deb file in a different location to the what the tutorial said. I tried both ways but it did not work :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 10:31 am

I was thinking about that. Any chance that that particular copy is corrupt in some way?

I believe this was the one I downloaded & used.

http://www.mediafire.com/?dtniy2ujiiz

I asked Zcrugby about the new repo source for it in Cydia but he hasn't gotten back to me as yet.

Postby bushwakka » December 2nd, 2010, 12:05 pm

im yet to see a convincing argument as to why Apple is superior to others

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » December 2nd, 2010, 12:58 pm

I have a feeling people who upgrade their baseband to 6.15.00 going to get shaft with 4.3 and any more upcoming firmware.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » December 2nd, 2010, 1:31 pm

M_2NR wrote:You didnt read this page thus far haven't you?
M_2NR wrote:BUT:
This is the great part. Unknown users /wont/ be able to ever update to a virgin IPSW again... ever... unless apple removes this restriction because once u have this 06.15 BB you can never update unless you using a cooked/custom IPSW.

Ok if you have updated to 4.2.1 i wanna assume you are now on ipad BB aka 06.15? if this is so... carry on...

Just use a cooked IPSW...

or... i'd like to hope its a old bootrom since you said 3.0. You can try using iReb to kick it out of recovery. 4.2.1 afaik cant be kicked out of recovery by tinyumbrella but u can try iReb.
aka try this (Thanks to the poster):
just recovered it Put it in DFU Mode, Open newest version of iReb, press 3GS, wait.
Go Back to itunes, holding shift click recover, and select the firmware Wait until its recovered. To activate the iPhone download the orginal 4.2.1 select it in the newest Redsn0w. Jailbreak it and pamm... your iphone is now fully recovered ...

Best bet?
found an ipsw here:
http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f456/s-3gs-4-2-1-6-15-bb-custom-ipsw-1152507/#post6632863

Direct link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6JVZF92E

download that and KEEP IT!

and read that thread.. that guy in the same hole as you...

personally... if i had that iphone.. i would beat you for updating it straight to 4.2.1 and losing that golden BB. Its just me but a 3GS with a BB of 04.26.08 is like... gold... you can literally sell that on ebay for 400usd and more right now... thankfully your untethered tho :)

BTW if you are going the pwned ipsw route... run redsn0w on it and put it into DFU and tick "just enter pwned DFU" k?
that's so it wont error out to 21/16xx.

good luck... hopefully u understood wtf i typed (Half asleep)

M_2NR, thanks a bunch bro! I understood wtf you typed and it was a great help! :D

Yes, I'm on iPad BB 06.15.00. You were right, tinyumbrella couldn't kick it out of recovery so I used iReb and followed the rest of the instructions from the other forums.

I successfully restored my phone, jailbreaked, and unlocked it. It's working awesome now!

About beating me for upgrading straight to 4.2 and losing the stock BB, I could beat myself as I now know. But on the other end, it's untethered so I'm lucky and safe! lol

Anyone else in the same position and need any help, let me know!

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 4:09 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Ok, this is what you should do :
Now your iphone has 4.2.1 and in recovery mode state :
run redsn0w 0.9.6b5 and browse to stock 4.2.1,
Check only the box dfu only
Perform this action : start holding the Power button the same time you hit the Next button ( 3 secs count )
When achieved , it will say DFU done.
Now open up itunes and shift + restore to this CFW of 4.1 3gs.

http://modmyi.com/forums/redsn0w/739220 ... ne-up.html
interesting indeed....

my problem though, whenever i try to do any custom install, my itunes remain on preparing phone for restore for like 10mins and nothing happen...is this normal?

weird... with 4.1 it working fine on the 3G when i was testing it on... :(
Something went wrong tho, normally if that happened to me... it would error out to 21/16xx. When i know a restore gonna start is as soon as u start restoring... it flashes
(lcd blinks). you can also /try/ iReb (which i never got to work)
Your GPS working?
mines isnt accurate at all on the iPad BB.
hot blue wrote:I used the tutorial from here http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/problems-with-callerid-and-format-fix-from-cydia/#more-83 but it does not seem to work.
From what SRASC told me, he put the .deb file in a different location to the what the tutorial said. I tried both ways but it did not work :(

worked for me recently :) try out the ifile method. I made that tutorial for those who didnt/couldnt have ifile. iFile is now shareware though, at the time it wasnt.
GL
Thanks SRASC for that quick guide :)
Nighttroll wrote:I have a feeling people who upgrade their baseband to 6.15.00 going to get shaft with 4.3 and any more upcoming firmware.

this is my greatest fear. But there is always a way and there is PT and @musclenerd, @comex and the others who seemingly dont give in to naggers.

____

richard, glad to hear bro! excellent news. We all make mistakes tho, so dsi ;)
how is your GPS?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 6:54 pm

ok think my 3gs is bricked...tried the method u all posted above and stuck on the recovery screen

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 7:08 pm

i keep getting error 21

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 7:11 pm

if u stuck on the recovery screen use iReb.

You will get error 21 if you not in the pwned dfu mode. Thats the only way it will take an ipsw now. if you use a stock one u will get error 10xx and custom one in recovery mode w/o pwned dfu will give error 21.

21 is not a bricked phone it just means the ipsw was not accepted.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 7:20 pm

ok nice.....got thru with the custom firmware...it just activated with my at&t sim......

use redsnow to jailbreak??

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 8:08 pm

its not jb'n already? its supposed to be if not yup.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 8:23 pm

Anyone found the repo now holding the CallerID fix? I looked it up on zcrugby's iPhone (when he was distracted) earlier, but damn memory, I forgot. Argh.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 8:43 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has just issued a notice stating that updating your iPhone to the iPad baseband for unlock could result in the loss of GPS functionality.

Unlockers have been reporting mixed results about GPS functionality at 06.15.00. Until we can track down what differentiates those who retain GPS vs. those who lose it, be conservative and assume you’ll lose GPS at 06.15.00. As we work on finding the cause (and possibly a fix), please report your personal findings in our comments section. (Update: early indications are that while 06.15.00 is capable of GPS, it will require some further hacks. But please still be conservative and assume you will lose GPS at 06.15, in case the hacks don’t work).

While the iPad baseband should be capable of GPS functionality if you don't absolutely need the unlock you should not update to the iPad baseband at this time.

If this mentioned earlier, my bad

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:03 pm

SRASC wrote:Anyone found the repo now holding the CallerID fix? I looked it up on zcrugby's iPhone (when he was distracted) earlier, but damn memory, I forgot. Argh.

so i did some digging (literally just now) and found this:
http://www.myrepospace.com/profile/AppleTeam4arab/32734/CallerID-Format_Fix_FW_3x

currently added their repo...

Code: Select all

http://cydia.myrepospace.com/AppleTeam4arab/

and found this:

anyone wanna test and let us know?
if it does... ill use cyder2 and rip the deb from it...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 2nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

I do remember it was MaiPhone or something similar. A fairly familiar one. I heard that iSpazio apparently is back up & running. It was dated 12th October.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:22 pm

used an at&t sim i had lying around, activated the phone before jailbreak.....lets see how the battery is doing...

Postby M_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:26 pm

ispazio is apparently back up... cuz cyder2 refreshed and it didnt error out... so i come with gifts...

http://www.mediafire.com/?qs22gccbf3sswso

just ripped it off them... to keep

Just so u know.. ispazio repo aint working on iphone still...
ImageImage
:cry:
but we have the debs which is all that matters

phreak

Postby phreak » December 3rd, 2010, 12:31 am

fellas, for caller id fix for 4.x.x you can use the repo: http://fishbone.ge

that should help out..

got it working perfect on 3g & 3gs.. the only issue i had was after i installed the caller id fix i had to remove the repo.. for some strange reason it was conflicting with the ultrasn0w repo..

weird ish i guess..

can't test it yet with 4, cause it factory unlocked and can't get bloody cydia on it yet.. real missin mih caller id though..

easy..

bossmann

ispazio repo

Postby bossmann » December 3rd, 2010, 1:51 am

the new ispazio repo is ispaziorepository.com tried and confirmed working on ios4
IMG_0005.PNG
IMG_0005.PNG (56.7 KiB) Viewed 2606 times
IMG_0004.PNG
IMG_0004.PNG (71.25 KiB) Viewed 2606 times

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » December 3rd, 2010, 2:33 am

Need a little help here guys. I got my iPhone 4G not too long ago and I was trying to get facetime to work on it. Basically, I'm trying to connect with a iPod touch 4G. Now, I suppose to see "FaceTime" when I go in Contacts and select a person to call. However, this is not the case with mine.
As you can see it's just "Text Message, Share Contact and Add to Favourites"

I went into settings and turned on FaceTime, but it says "Waiting for activation..."

Can anyone help me sort this out? Thanks...