Local Dialect
1.jpg

TriP

Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:09 pm

Local Starfish

Basket star - A type of brittle star - Related to star fish.
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:13 pm

Local Fight

Knife vs big stones

Expletive Language

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Local Entertainer ~ Jemel The Entertainer - Grand Charge

Guess allyuh see dis by now :lol:

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:25 pm

Local Cocoa Book

A 'very' old book on cocoa and chocolate.
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:29 pm

Local Lymphedema ~ Cancer Related

One Lymphedema therapist out of Trinidad and Tobago says the lack of available data on cases of Lymphedema in cancer patients has hindered how the condition is managed on a regional level.

Karie Ann De Gannes a therapist and director of the Lymphedema Association of Trinidad and Tobago visited Grenada earlier this month as part of the 3rd annual medical conference community outreach program.

The public is advised that images contained in this story may be disturbing to some viewers.

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:31 pm

San Fernando
5.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:34 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Woodland

Woodland - South Oropouche River

Short

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:45 pm

Local Events

1. Trinidad and Tobago Power Boats Association

Regatta #5 ~ Trinidad and Tobago Yacht Club ~ Sunday3thJuly ~ 12pm

2. Rock the Nite

Kato's Place ~ Royal Palm Plaza, Maraval ~ Wednesday29thJune ~ 7pm
Bands: LP4 ~ Halogen Sunset ~ Zachary de Lima

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:52 pm

Local Cashew Hill ~ St. Anns

Wettemen are an island adventure crew from the majestic Trinidad

Cashew Hill, Upper Ariapita Road, Belle Vue Estate, St. Anns, Port of Spain

Very nice location ~ Cabin in the Hills over looking Port of Spain

TriP

Postby TriP » June 27th, 2016, 11:58 pm

Local Stollmeyer’s Castle

Killarney, popularly known as Stollmeyer’s Castle was commissioned by Charles Fourier Stollmeyer in 1902 and was completed in 1904.

When construction was finished, Mrs. Stollmeyer found it too extravagant for her simple tastes and her husband gave it to their son, Conrad, as a wedding present.

It was the wife of the younger Stollmeyer who named the structure Killarney, after the place in Ireland she had hoped to spend her honeymoon.

Charles Stollmeyer never lived in the castle.

During the Second World War Killarney was occupied by US Forces and it is during this period it became known as Stollmeyer's Castle.

In 1979 the building was acquired by the Trinidad and Tobago Government.

Presently, it is unoccupied and placed under the care of Citizens for Conservation.
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 12:11 am

Local Dragon Fruit

What Is Dragon Fruit and Does It Have Health Benefits?

Dragon fruit is a tropical fruit that has become increasingly popular in recent years.

People enjoy it for its unique look and taste, and there’s evidence it may provide health benefits.

This article explains everything you need to know about dragon fruit.

What Is Dragon Fruit?

Dragon fruit grows on the Hylocereus cactus, also known as the Honolulu Queen, whose flowers only open at night.

The plant is native to southern Mexico and Central America. Today, it is grown all over the world.

It goes by many names, including pitaya, pitahaya and strawberry pear.

The two most common types have bright, red skin with green scales that resemble a dragon — hence the name.

The variety that’s most widely available has white pulp with black seeds. The less common variety has red pulp with black seeds.

Another variety has yellow skin and white pulp with black seeds. It is referred to as yellow dragon fruit.

Dragon fruit may look exotic, but its flavors are similar to other fruits. Its taste has been described as a slightly sweet cross between a kiwi and a pear.

Nutrition Facts

Dragon fruit contains small amounts of several nutrients and is a good source of vitamin C and iron.

Given the high amount of fiber and vitamin C, as well as the extremely low calorie content, it can be considered to be a highly nutrient-dense fruit.

Bottom Line: Dragon fruit is a low-calorie fruit that is high in fiber and provides more than one-third of the RDI for vitamin C.

It Contains Antioxidants

Red and White Pulp Dragon Fruit

Dragon fruit contains several types of antioxidants.

These are compounds that protect cells from unstable molecules called free radicals, which are linked to chronic disease risk and aging

These are some of the main antioxidants contained in the pulp

Betalains: These deep red pigments have been shown to protect LDL cholesterol from becoming oxidized or damaged

Hydroxycinnamates: This group of compounds has demonstrated anti-cancer activity in test-tube and animal studies

Flavonoids: This large, diverse group of antioxidants is linked to better brain health and a reduced risk of heart disease

One study compared the antioxidant properties of 17 tropical fruits and berries.

While dragon fruit’s antioxidant capacity was not as high as many other fruits’, it was found to be best at protecting certain fatty acids from free radical damage

https://authoritynutrition.com/dragon-fruit/
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 12:15 am

Local Laventille

A series that will take you through different parts of Trinidad and Tobago.

Come take a look and satisfy your curiosities.

Some may wonder what certain areas that you heard of look like, where a particular road you've been seeing goes or a good way to get from one area to the next while alleviating your traffic woes.

This series does just that and more, some routes will be scenic, some "dangerous" and some routes will be quicker.

Let me show you the way first, then you decide if to make that Drive or not.

Each episode will have you saying, ohh that's where that goes or that's how you get there.

So stay tuned because you never know where the next drive will take you and remember to like and subscribe.

You can even leave comments and even suggestions for Drives you will like to see.

Song: Capleton - Jah Jah City

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 12:30 am

Local Chan nan Tree

How many can remember the "three hole marble Game" and "chan nan" was the reward

The good old days when the "Home Sweet Home" pitch oil lamps was also the holder of the "chan nan" seeds and almost any cocoa estate had a "chan nan" tree.

Those were the days when boys fight with bare hands and the next day they were friends.

Those boys have turned men and are either dead or dying, so to is the "Chan nan" tree.

It has served its time and is now making way for the new generation, the generation of computers and guns
1.jpg
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 12:37 am

Local Liming ~ 4 in 1

1. Diving in Tobago

2. Snorkeling at Macqueripe Bay ~ Avicii - 'The Days'

3. Tobago Dragon Boat Championships

4. Hike to Marakeet Bay ~ Nice Cute ting in vid

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 12:55 am

Local Rio Claro ~ Fund Raiser Cookout

Oil Down, Bhaji Rice featuring Navet Lagoon Brand and Island Grain rice, Curry Duck featuring Central Farms duck, Local Chicken
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
5.jpg
8.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
9.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 1:04 am

Local Country Club ~ Rock Concert 2015 ~ Jaundis-i - 1

From their album 'Voodoo In The Cuckoo'

Song 'Broken Promise'

Song 'Armageddon'

Song 'Shango'

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 1:08 am

Local Country Club ~ Rock Concert 2015 ~ Jaundis-i - 2

From their album 'Voodoo In The Cuckoo'

Song 'Armageddon'

Song 'Pretender'

Song 'Peace by Piece'

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 1:20 am

Local Species ~ 3 in 1

1. Relocation of a 4ft Female Caiman

2. Juvenile Hawk had fallen of a nest nearby, that was found in someones's yard in Waterloo

3. The study abroad team in Trinidad and Tobago spent some time in the ASA Wright Nature Centre
Eating Termites

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 1:40 am

Local Monkey

Cases of animal abuse are gut-wrenching.

The story of little Munchkin breaks my heart.

A hunter's whose concern was more about money, killed an adult female monkey to capture her infant.

Traumatized and fearful the little infant fought for his life, so the hunter bashed the infant's head and knocked him unconscious.

The man only cared about making a profit.

The hunter tried to sell the badly injured infant but no one was interested in buying an unconscious monkey.

A doctor purchased the infant to save its life, for the poor little infant had a deep cut on his head and a bulging eye, caused by the blow to his head.

The infant was brought into Sunnyview Vet Care by his rescuer, the doctor.

He was not interested in keeping the infant, his only concern was the welfare of the infant monkey.

Sunnyview Vet Care, reached out to their client Roseanne, who is a wonderful pet owner and is extremely knowledgeable about proper care for a monkey.

Roseanne adopted the little infant and named him Munchkin.

Under the care and love of Roseanne, Munchkin is doing well.

Munchkin's wound has healed and his bulging eye is back to normal and he is learning to trust and be handled by his loving owner
1.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 2:06 am

Local Tobago Puppy ~ Muraco: A Dumped Puppy Who Found Love - 4

"Muri—such a sweet innocent face, but the evidence gives it all away"

Hard to believe that it was only yesterday Sunday26thJune that Muri flew to the States - Boston Massachusetts

Feels like weeks have passed . . . and as if so much has happened since then.

Muri's last full day with Venus—they played in the garden, they spent time upstairs at Auntie Mary's playing and consuming dog biscuits and milk, they came back home and slept, they found a large toad nestled in Venus's crate (and luckily didn't bite it), they went for a late afternoon drive to the beach but Muri was afraid of the sound of the waves & it was getting darker so we didn't stay long.

Came back home and had a delicious dinner of dog food and tuna. Venus is fast asleep by my feet and Muri is conked out on her blue towel with her stomach looking like a balloon. It's her last meal before flying.

Preparing Muri's dog crate for the journey with send-off messages. Meanwhile she goes for one last lie down on her favourite chair after playing with Veenie. We leave in a few minutes

While waiting at the cargo place earlier this morning, Muri pottered around, sniffing and wagging her tail at anyone who came near.

Thanks to the herbal Pet Kalm, she was quite relaxed . . . until the noise from the cargo trailer sent her scurrying into the safety of her crate where she curled up on her blue towel (unwashed to keep the familiar scent) , clutching her beloved yellow stuffed toy. This was the last vision we had of her. Tears flowed as the cargo man took her crate away. Fortunately she didn't cry while within earshot (if at all??), because that would have made it worse.

A few more messages were taped onto the crate—such as "Protected by Archangel Raphael."

Muri was last to be loaded onto the plane and will be first to be offloaded in NY. I told the man to be gentle with her and he said "I will. We are trained to be." Thankfully, he did lift her crate very gently while telling her: "Come on, let's go" in a soft tone.

I believe it all went & is going smoothly thanks to all of you who offered your wishes and prayers. Even yesterday at the closing of a Buddhist meeting, an unusually large gathering of Buddhists chanted Nam Myoho Renge Kyo for Muri and her journey.

Muri's plane was on time and flew over just after 8 a.m. The image of this sweet creature flying over with her soft toy brought more tears, but . . . at least the journey has begun and, as I write this (10:00 a.m.), she has only 3 hours left until she lands.

Photo of Muri fast asleep on the long drive home! Seeing this photo lifts my heart immensely . . . and I know those of you who miss Muri too or were concerned about her will also feel better seeing it. We know that Muri is in good hands (literally)! She even has a smile on her lips.

Awake now—and ears at attention

Video clip of Muri meeting Bode, the other dog in the household. Tail wagging as always, eager to connect with everyone around her. I now realize how others on Facebook used to feel, looking forward to Muri's pics or videos every day, curious to know what she would be doing next. I find myself wanting to have those images all the time too, and when I receive one in my messages, my heart lights up. It is just a day after her departure, so it's natural to still feel that she is 'ours' . . . a strange and not so easy feeling—one that I haven't had before. I imagine this is what surrogate mothers feel like—carrying a baby for 9 months then giving it over to a new family

Begins:

On Pg 137 SaturdayApril23rd: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=396866&start=4080

To Pg 145 SundayMay22nd: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=396866&start=4320

To Pg 150 ThursdayJune16th: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=396866&start=4470
4.jpg
5.jpg
1.jpg
6.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » June 28th, 2016, 2:28 am

Local Down de Islands

Kes ~ Girlz Girlz Girlz ~ :wink:

TriP

Postby TriP » July 2nd, 2016, 11:14 am

Local Patrick Manning ~ R.I.P

Former Prime Minister Patrick Manning died early Saturday after being diagnosed with blood cancer.

He was 69.

On Friday, his wife, Hazel Manning, a former education minister, confirmed that her husband had been suffering from Acute Myeloid Leukemia and was “being prepared to undergo treatment”.

At “at 8:15 am today (2-7-16), Former Prime Minister Patrick Augustus Mervyn Manning passed away peacefully at the San Fernando General Hospital after battling Acute Myeloid Leukemia.

“Former Prime Minister Manning was surrounded by his family and loved ones.

The Manning family would like to thank everyone for their prayers, love and support during this trying time.

View Ched: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=457715&start=60
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » July 2nd, 2016, 11:21 am

People of Trinidad and Tobago

Peter Celestine, 62 lives on a ridgeline in Paramin, a point so high that within the space of minutes the clouds descend and everything becomes a fog -then lift again to reveal a view of country and man that seems unreal in our time.

"I have family lower down in the village but no children. I live alone.

The accident happened 12 years ago in Blanchisseuse when I was hunting and stepped in a trap gun.

It took three years to heal. While I was waiting for a (prosthetic) leg, I made one myself with PVC, wood and some screws and went back to work.

This one I got a year ago.

In the early days, I used to get up in the morning and think and feel I still had a leg and fall but now I can I can climb trees for coconuts. It’s never stopped me from doing anything.

I plant kush kush, cabbage, sieve, provisions. I sell to people up here and if I have extra I take it down (to POS).

If I want to fish, I fish. If I want to hunt, I hunt.

People come up here and ask me to sell my land all the time but I won’t. I don’t have electricity. I have gas to cook. I collect rain water and have the flambeaux at night.

I had a woman who lived with me seven years but then she left.

I have a drink, a smoke.

No worries- no problems"
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » July 2nd, 2016, 11:24 am

Local Faces
3.jpg
2.jpg