:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2018, 9:44 pm

This is why I have a skybox.

Wanted a brake line fitting. Pull up by bicks in debe. $150.00 from in a half cut they looking to throw away.

As luck would have it I see one up the road in a half cut looking to dump. $20.00

And dont talk about rude and illiterate behavior from people on bicks compound.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2018, 3:06 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:theres this place in sando, just before RIG just after achievors, general appliance or electric, i know its general something. They have alot of gauges and fittings, i bought my 134a adapters from them. saw gauges there too.

also just before duncan village gas station, after rons have a ac place, they selling some excellent prices too.

i looking for a brass hammer, who having that ?
I bought mines at SWS.The price was reasonable compared to everybody else.
nervewrecker wrote:Wilog freeport and Rushwood st sando also has some nice prices.

Reficool is the place in duncan village.

Atlantic air and servair sells the uniweld and yellow jacket manifold gauges. Those are my choice (yellow jacket). They dont do 134a though, you will need a pressure temp chart.

Gaps is right before prive entrance. Easy to miss
I think I saw Wilog freeport advertising online.Out of all the places you listed,which would you recommend?

Postby hydroep » May 8th, 2018, 3:36 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:So i was in bhags today and decide to price some things

M18 battery 1400 4amp
M12 battery 650 4amp
M18 charger 800

Lol.wtf

You cannot beat the convenience and portability of battery powered tools eh but the prices of replacement power packs are ridiculous...:|

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2018, 5:21 pm

hydroep wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:So i was in bhags today and decide to price some things

M18 battery 1400 4amp
M12 battery 650 4amp
M18 charger 800

Lol.wtf

You cannot beat the convenience and portability of battery powered tools eh but the prices of replacement power packs are ridiculous...:|

nah man

the prices in BHAGWANSINGHS outragerous

toolstore its $295 for 4amp m12 battery
$595 for 4amp m18 battery

see the massive difference?

and you can still get it cheaper if you bring it yourself from amazon or even buy replacement type batteries

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2018, 6:12 pm

not only that, if those batteries sitting on shelf a very long time and gradually run down to zero
it shortens the lifespan of the battery

Batteries should be kept in at least a half charge or so

ebay have generic ones much cheaper, better to buy higher capacity one as it will be under less stress during usage

Postby Ted_v2 » May 8th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Best move is to buy one tool with batteries and slowly buy bare tools and add slowly. I cant see myself needing more than one charger.

i have 3 m12 tools and 3 m12 batteries. 2 2ah and one 4ah

1 m18 tool and two batteries 2ah and a 5.0

i bought one of my m12 drills for just over 30US.

Postby nervewrecker » May 8th, 2018, 8:40 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:theres this place in sando, just before RIG just after achievors, general appliance or electric, i know its general something. They have alot of gauges and fittings, i bought my 134a adapters from them. saw gauges there too.

also just before duncan village gas station, after rons have a ac place, they selling some excellent prices too.

i looking for a brass hammer, who having that ?
I bought mines at SWS.The price was reasonable compared to everybody else.
nervewrecker wrote:Wilog freeport and Rushwood st sando also has some nice prices.

Reficool is the place in duncan village.

Atlantic air and servair sells the uniweld and yellow jacket manifold gauges. Those are my choice (yellow jacket). They dont do 134a though, you will need a pressure temp chart.

Gaps is right before prive entrance. Easy to miss
I think I saw Wilog freeport advertising online.Out of all the places you listed,which would you recommend?
I deal with all if them. Whoever has lowest prices I buy there. Unless I buying in bulk. Most bulk purchases were done from wilog.

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2018, 11:44 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Best move is to buy one tool with batteries and slowly buy bare tools and add slowly. I cant see myself needing more than one charger.

i have 3 m12 tools and 3 m12 batteries. 2 2ah and one 4ah

1 m18 tool and two batteries 2ah and a 5.0

i bought one of my m12 drills for just over 30US.

yup

sometimes it cheaper to buy a tool set on sale just for the batteries and charger

that $1199 kit from tool store real good

2 m12 batteries, m12 charger, milwaukee 10 inch drill pliers plus the m12 hammer drill (non fuel)

the batteries alone worth $600
the charger a $200-$300
pliers a $200

could sell the hammer drill for $200 and still walk away a winner lol

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 9th, 2018, 12:31 am

Seeing as you guys talking about Milwaukee, not sure of the prices for them but got this msg from L&DG today.Image

Postby hydroep » May 9th, 2018, 5:23 am

Great info and advice on the cordless tools fellas. Honestly had written them off because of the perceived cost of maintenance but allyuh have mih itching to try one now.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2018, 7:10 am

yeah when you start using modern lithum powered tools there is no going back
just the fact that drills have proper variable speed trigger is alone worth it

once you dont run down batteries low they will last a long time

Postby Ted_v2 » May 9th, 2018, 6:54 pm

i remember days of putting up guttering with my two drills, a old black and decker single speed and another skil 12v.

failureeeeeee. the corded drill super fast and unstable, the skil well it was decent but for 5-8 holes and dead.

tech isa hella thing.

Postby adnj » May 9th, 2018, 7:23 pm

pugboy wrote: modern lithum powered tools... once you dont run down batteries low they will last a long time

You will get the longest life from any LiIon battery if you don't let it discharge below 20% AND you don't fully charge.

Charging to 80%-90% max voltage alone will increase the durability of the battery about 30%.

Same goes for your phone and other electronics.

Postby hydroep » May 10th, 2018, 6:05 am

Beast...

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2018, 6:57 am

if tire shops start using that, wheel nut studs gonna sell even more lol

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 10th, 2018, 5:39 pm

Made an outboard Spider for my lathe. This allows you to support/center up long pieces of stock when you pass it through the headstock. The main body was made from 4140 steel. There is also a 10mm pocket in the body that holds a magnet that the tachometer's sensor will pickup.

These parts were not my own design but were made from drawings published by another machinist.

Postby adnj » May 12th, 2018, 7:29 am

^^^ Nice.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 12th, 2018, 10:59 pm

Got this for TT$99 in RadioShack. Really good deal IMO

Postby skylinechild » May 21st, 2018, 3:40 pm

^^^^ looks good Duane.....

i have this kit from amazon i use for customer repairs. bought it about 3 yrs now and zero issues.
tips are strong and not broken.
as a bonus the screw driver handle can be disassembled and reassembled in a "T" configuration in case you need to apply more torque to the problematic screw.

paid 60 usd for it... it made back its cost in less than one week... :lol:

theres a newer version of it on amazon now.

so i bought myself some tools on amazon cause i dont like the idea of constantly borrowing other ppl tools.

lets go !!!

1.Greenlee multi meter - price now is $78usd - price dropped after i bought it...price was 90 usd.
price dropped last week guys.

pros:
1 cheaper than a fluke
2. does temperature measurement - thermocouple included
3. auto and manual ranging
4. can do dc and AC measurements.
5. category 3 (1000v) compliant & category 4 up to 600v compliant
6 back lit screen
7. can accept aftermarket leads for various applications. (alligator clips - mini probes etc etc etc)

cons.
1. no built in transistor test
2. not current sensing - but hey- thats what the leads are for right :lol:

2. RJ11/45 cable tester etc

pros:
1cant test cable continuity on both rj11 & Rj45
2. can find wires on a patch panel
3 tone is nice and loud
4 can determine tip and ring
5 can be used on other things too...

cons:
1.takes 2 9v batteries to operate... one for each piece
2. instructions are not 100 % but you'll get there
3. tool feels of a average quality... its not of a german made quality but its ok
plastic and tactile feel and sensation is also good.

3.trendnet Rj45 network crimper

pro:
1 price
2. lite weight -wont tire your hands out from crimping all day long.
3.ratching mechanism
4. can crimp RJ11/12/45

cons:
none soo far.

4. universal cutter stripper

pros:
1 solid abs plastic - feels sturdy
2. can cut / unsheath cat cables as well as RG (coax) cables.
2a. can also unsheath 0 gauge wire ( or any automotive amp wire) for those pro audio men.
3.price

cons
1. size - may be a bit large for some but its ok.

my future purchases
1. tool bag for tool storage
2.RJ45 ends and boots
3 roll of cat 5 and cat 6

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2018, 4:11 pm

^ yeah I had the iFixIt 54 bit driver set alone from your kit that I bought some years ago. But I lent it out and still waiting to get it back lol

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 21st, 2018, 5:52 pm

I have the newer Ifixit kit.
It is useful

Postby skylinechild » May 21st, 2018, 6:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yeah I had the iFixIt 54 bit driver set alone from your kit that I bought some years ago. But I lent it out and still waiting to get it back lol

Damn....i hate it when that happens.... and they dont even offer the 54bit driver kit by itself anymore on amazon. - which they did up to last yr for 25 usd..... which wasnt THAT bad.

friend of mine had just the kit alone and didnt know the value of it and lost all the pieces even managed to stick a fine thread screw into the handle and since it was magnetic the screw couldnt come out and no bit could go in....so it was a lost cause for him.....

it does seem that fixit licenses the kit to other manufacturers who then make & sell it under their various brand name(s)

for example >>> https://www.ebay.com/itm/KINGWIN-54-BIT ... SwceNZU-4p

#2 >>> https://www.ebay.com/itm/LESOLEIL-Screw ... SwbElZbSam

#3 >> https://www.ebay.com/itm/54-Bit-Driver- ... kFOekAaiEw

by chance did you lend it to the same tuner who borrowed another tuner kitchen appliance or whatever it was.... and didnt return it... ??

kamakazi wrote:I have the newer Ifixit kit.
It is useful

its very useful plus you can buy more tips from other manufacturers and keep it so you can open virtually any device.

my kit is my main tookit l to fix customer equipment. what do you use yours for ???

i recommend you get the multimeter... its priced at 78 usd from 90 usd which is what i paid last week wen i bought it.... buy it now since the price is abit lower. you wont regret it.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 22nd, 2018, 8:27 am

Mainly for laptops...
I saw Amazon has the 64 bit driver kit available for $30 USD

I have the pro tech tool kit...
Already have a cheap multimeter... Don't need another one with extra functions just yet.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2018, 6:53 am

looking for a steel drum with open top

Postby rspann » May 24th, 2018, 7:09 am

pugboy wrote:looking for a steel drum with open top

Go by Platinium paint shop. Tell them you want some drums free. Cut it open with a hammer and chisel.dont use torch.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2018, 8:22 am

Where is platinum

rspann wrote:

Go by Platinium paint shop. Tell them you want some drums free. Cut it open with a hammer and chisel.dont use torch.

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2018, 9:01 am

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 24th, 2018, 10:37 am

I could do with the tape and bits combos.

Postby rspann » May 24th, 2018, 7:41 pm

pugboy wrote:Where is platinum

rspann wrote:

Shillingford lane off El Socorro Rd ,opposite tool zone. Tell them I sent you.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2018, 9:29 pm

going For that sale this weekend, i could do with something.

Anyone interested in a small 20 gallon air compressor?
I have alot of tools i wanna start selling out and upgrading slowly.