Reefplanet wrote: it was a metal stand so there was not much support at the bottom of the tank.
sharkman121 wrote:HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
Now i not saying no, but why even put one of those, every couple days or wks you still have to clean it..........................just put in some rowaphos in a reactor and yuh good.
I put one in since october and never saw algae again in my tank. Since then my phosphates undetectable
Yeah once a week you need to clean the ATS. I tried rowaphos already but didnt like the results i was getting, i had a TLF reactor. Not doubting its a great product but ive never had much luck with it.
sharkman121 wrote:Reefplanet wrote: it was a metal stand so there was not much support at the bottom of the tank.
i dont understand this part. My tank has a metal stand too. You must make sure and use a big enough level when setting up. Very important.
sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
UML wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
even though i dont have an algae problem?
sharkman121 wrote:UML wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
even though i dont have an algae problem?
benefits of an algae turf scrubber:
ats removes: nutrients, ammonia, nitrate, phosphate, heavy metals.
ats maintenance: screen scraping once a week.
ats: doe's not remove vitamins,trace elements, minerals near as much as a skimmer.
ats: produces lots of food in the water column, reef flora (worms, copepods, amphipods, sponges and microalgae to name a few) food for the reef, corals and fish.
ats: only electric is for compact fluorescent lighting ,very low watt consumption.
only reason ats have not been the alternative to protein skimming is people like sprung and other authors have bad mouthed them, and look at them a a sole filtration system, when a ats is set up like a protein skimmers (add on to exsiting filtration system) .a skimmer does't even compair to a ats.
Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have chaeto or any plant u put in a sump?
Reefplanet wrote:honda do u have a sump?
HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
Now i not saying no, but why even put one of those, every couple days or wks you still have to clean it..........................just put in some rowaphos in a reactor and yuh good.
I put one in since october and never saw algae again in my tank. Since then my phosphates undetectable
Yeah once a week you need to clean the ATS. I tried rowaphos already but didnt like the results i was getting, i had a TLF reactor. Not doubting its a great product but ive never had much luck with it.
The first mth in my setup, i had algae and plants/turtle grass (1-1 1/2" high) growing on my rocks (about 40%) and gravel (about 20%). It was lush and bright green. All my fish refused to eat it........Pulled out every couple days and got fed-up. It started to grow over corals and mushrooms. My phosphates were very high and i just got fed up doing water changes. Went by raj and bought the RowaPhos, reactor and pump and hooked it up. 2 days after i went away for a mth in october and when i came home, all of it was gone..........rocks was bare. It had turned brown, started to desolve and majority was found in my sump. Since then its clean as ever and ive never had an outbreak again. In any case, if any algae starts up, the 4 tangs handle it. I just replace the rowaphos every 4mths or so and thats it. Never had any problem with it. My phosphates are always reading undetectable in my tank since then also......................... I get high readings in my 200gal RO/DI tank water. So even though i make a 50gal water change every 2-3wks with it, the rowaphos takes it out immediately. Bluewaters water is high in phosphates and thats why when i first had my 75gal tank, i always had an algae bloom and my phosphates would never go down. For FOWLR, that could work, for reef.................... you cant stick. I dont even stick when it come to replacing my DI media. Anytime my TDS meter reads between 1-2, i put in a new cartridge.
HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
The first mth in my setup, i had algae and plants/turtle grass (1-1 1/2" high) growing on my rocks (about 40%) and gravel (about 20%). It was lush and bright green. All my fish refused to eat it........Pulled out every couple days and got fed-up. It started to grow over corals and mushrooms. My phosphates were very high and i just got fed up doing water changes. Went by raj and bought the RowaPhos, reactor and pump and hooked it up. 2 days after i went away for a mth in october and when i came home, all of it was gone..........rocks was bare. It had turned brown, started to desolve and majority was found in my sump. Since then its clean as ever and ive never had an outbreak again. In any case, if any algae starts up, the 4 tangs handle it. I just replace the rowaphos every 4mths or so and thats it. Never had any problem with it. My phosphates are always reading undetectable in my tank since then also......................... I get high readings in my 200gal RO/DI tank water. So even though i make a 50gal water change every 2-3wks with it, the rowaphos takes it out immediately. Bluewaters water is high in phosphates and thats why when i first had my 75gal tank, i always had an algae bloom and my phosphates would never go down. For FOWLR, that could work, for reef.................... you cant stick. I dont even stick when it come to replacing my DI media. Anytime my TDS meter reads between 1-2, i put in a new cartridge.
Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have chaeto or any plant u put in a sump?
HondaB20B wrote:Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have chaeto or any plant u put in a sump?
you aint go need that for a bit still......................... your tank not going to finish cycle until next 3-4 wks. You still even have to hook up a light in the sump to grow the cheato. Thats something if you not careful with, can kill all livestock in your tank. It comes just like charcoal..........it absorbs everything but if not careful in culturing it, can dump everything back.
Raj have though, i tried that early on and it never grew so i threw it out and got rid of the floodlight.
HondaB20B wrote:You cant try everything in the book the same time to control nitrates. All of the are said to work. Just now you will tell me you trying nitrate remover. Remove all the pot scrub and do a waterchange. In any case as fishman also told you it wont go down in a day.
HondaB20B wrote:cheato acts like a sponge, what people usually do is hook up their lights in the sump opposite to your DT (now i said usually) So when one is on in your DT, the sump light is off. In the night when the DT is off, the sump light is on growing the cheato. It absorbs everything and grows because of the lights. Depending how hast it grows, you trim it and throw it away. I was by raj a few times when Raj warned customers about making sure the cheato does'nt die in the sump because of forgetting to put the sump lights on timers. One person i met there had that problem after and lost all his fish and corals in a 300+gal tank. He forgot his lights off and the cheato dumped all the nutrients what it absorbed over the last 2-3 wks all in a couple hrs back into the tank.....poisoned everything. He said he got up to a milky white tank and everything dead. I think i was reading just yesterday that cheato and vodka dosing cant go hand in hand.................dont quote me though
Reefplanet wrote:Where am i getting bottled bacteria and how much is it??
UML wrote:HondaB20B wrote:You cant try everything in the book the same time to control nitrates. All of the are said to work. Just now you will tell me you trying nitrate remover. Remove all the pot scrub and do a waterchange. In any case as fishman also told you it wont go down in a day.
too late![]()
just kidding
HondaB20B wrote:cheato acts like a sponge, what people usually do is hook up their lights in the sump opposite to your DT (now i said usually) So when one is on in your DT, the sump light is off. In the night when the DT is off, the sump light is on growing the cheato. It absorbs everything and grows because of the lights. Depending how hast it grows, you trim it and throw it away. I was by raj a few times when Raj warned customers about making sure the cheato does'nt die in the sump because of forgetting to put the sump lights on timers. One person i met there had that problem after and lost all his fish and corals in a 300+gal tank. He forgot his lights off and the cheato dumped all the nutrients what it absorbed over the last 2-3 wks all in a couple hrs back into the tank.....poisoned everything. He said he got up to a milky white tank and everything dead. I think i was reading just yesterday that cheato and vodka dosing cant go hand in hand.................dont quote me though
nah me eh playing dat nah......i prefer the dosing....it helps me "relax"![]()
btw wah salt mix allyuh using? i using the azoo brand...is it any good? all i know it pricey. considering to change cause i need some salt now and the azoo store closed until the 24th. wah wud u recommend?
[rant]
ppl who are straightforward, reliable, professional and honest really cannot deal with ppl who are the opposite and play games...........i now understand why so many ppl have so many bad things to say about a certain individual....being naive i always thought it was just jealousy
[/rant]