3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby RBphoto » December 2nd, 2010, 8:30 am

Like the encrusted bottle there man.

Postby MG Man » December 2nd, 2010, 6:25 pm

the crap inside didn't taste too good tho...

Postby RBphoto » December 2nd, 2010, 8:35 pm

Starting to shoot some seasonal stuff.
DSC_0004.jpg
Brair Place in the morning

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

syncrod

Postby syncrod » December 4th, 2010, 7:28 am

Canon T2i 18-55m f3.5 ~ f5.6 IS
1/60, ISO-100 @ f5.6 @ 48mm

plex

Postby plex » December 4th, 2010, 7:39 am

Humm, that food shots making me hungry...

varung

Postby varung » December 4th, 2010, 11:34 am

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

PIER 39 SAN FRANCISCO

varung

Postby varung » December 4th, 2010, 11:40 am

varung

Postby varung » December 4th, 2010, 11:49 am

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 5th, 2010, 11:38 am

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 5th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Nice Pic varung, with a little touching up and higher res it could really pop.
Hope you don't mind me using it for practice.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 5th, 2010, 10:49 pm

double post >.<

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 6th, 2010, 12:51 am

Haven't been shooting much but here's a couple from some recent assignments...

Everyone's a photographer, these days.....

Hooray for juice!

Signing the Register...
Not so happy with this pic, cut off too much of the dude on the right with the disembodied/floating head.

And some other pics from before...

Took this with my Blackberry

MMmmmm... meatballs... *drool*

If you sit still for long enough, you can watch life pass you by...
Shot handheld, no tripod. Grand Central Station, NYC NY.

What I shoot with - Nikon D200 with MB-D200 battery grip, and one of my lenses, Sigma 10-20mm F/4.5-5.6 EX HSM.

This image won a couple competitions and was selected to be a wallpaper for some Smartphones (blackberry & iphone)

My failed attempt at Microstock - I suck at stock photography :( :(

My oldest lens. The serial no. on the front rim says "Nikkon 1977".
This is an old Nikkor-Q 135mm f/2.8 MF lens. Very popular back in the day, and it's manual-focus only (really old school). The focusing rim is actually quite smooth to operate and manually-focusing is a pleasure. It makes you work harder for the shot, plus the 135mm focal length is a bit odd on a 1.6x crop AP-C Nikon digital, but it's still fun to shoot with. Bought it at B&H NY.

Shot these two pics using the old 1977-made Nikkor-Q 135mm f/2.8 MF:

More shots (using different lenses)
Shooting into the sun can sometimes be a good thing....

and finally....

Shot with the Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D. Just goes to show that the ol' 50mm lenses (nikon, canon, etc.) are still THE BEST lenses for headshots & shoulder-portraits. These lenses can't be beat for sharpness and clarity - have a look at the model's eyes and see how sharp the Nikon 50mm rendered them. *protip*: In any headshot or portrait, a rule of thumb is to make sure the EYES are in focus, if nothing else.

If you're serious or semi-serious about getting some good, sharp shots with a shallow DOF - get yourself a 50mm prime lens. You won't be sorry.

(Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF-D on Amazon for approx $125USD. *NOTE* - will NOT AUTOFOCUS on a NIKON D40/D40X/D60/D3000/D5000 - MANUAL FOCUS ONLY on these bodies)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2010, 1:09 am

^ nice stuff!!!

Rensh

Postby Rensh » December 6th, 2010, 4:02 am

I really like this photo boy..nice!

And the lil fella drinking the chubby lol.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 6th, 2010, 6:26 am

^^ cheers!

8) 8) 8) 8)

Postby Sinister_Audio » December 6th, 2010, 6:39 am

*gulp*....DAYMN

Postby MG Man » December 6th, 2010, 7:12 am

lighthammer I hate yewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
*pelts Fuji in dustbin*

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2010, 8:10 am

bb and eye fone, oui!! really nice stuff,

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 6th, 2010, 8:26 am

lighthammer wrote:Image
Hooray for juice!

awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww,how lovely :P :P

such a handsome cutie

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 6th, 2010, 9:09 am

lighthammer,sorry eh but i stolez your pic.......dais my wallpaper :oops: :oops: :oops:

i wub him, so adorable :oops:

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » December 7th, 2010, 12:50 pm

here are some amateur shots i took with my 450D this past weekend. Shots taken from the crowne plaza

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 7th, 2010, 1:09 pm

Quickie in spain, Im just getting accustomed to my DSLR

Cid

Postby Cid » December 7th, 2010, 1:25 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:here are some amateur shots i took with my 450D this past weekend. Shots taken from the crowne plaza

u mean from here

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 8th, 2010, 4:30 pm

I like this one

Would have been cool if you got some lights in the mountain side, hehe.
But a pretty good shot for a hand-held, it's pretty sharp.

Hotgyul - no scene, he was really into his chubby softdrink :D

Thanks everyone else, I need to do some more shooting but I think you guys have given me some inspiration to go out and take some more pics :)

Lance

Postby Lance » December 11th, 2010, 3:58 pm

Hey guys,

For some time now I've been considering getting into photography as a hobby. I think I am ready to start. I'm in the market for my first camera (aside from the basic point & shoot).

I've been doing some researching, but for a noob it gets complicated fast. I want something on the beginners end that will allow me to learn the basics of good photography (rather than just thinking that a 2000USD camera is the end all). I have no problem buying something more complex 1-2yrs down the line when I can actually maximize its use.

My budget is a modest 200pounds or 320USD.

So far the only thing that has caught my eye is the CANON POWERSHOT SX20 IS DIGITAL ZOOM. Any recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 11th, 2010, 4:13 pm

^ why buy a point and shoot?

if your intention is to get into photography as a hobby then save up a lil more and start with a DSLR
You can start off with a Canon XS with a 18-55mm kit lens and move on from there.

Any lenses, flash, filters, lights, triggers etc that you buy for this will continue to work as you upgrade and all you will need to upgrade is the camera back/body instead of buying a "whole" camera.

It will also help to train you as to how various lenses and flashes work, rather than being stuck with the same ones on the point and shoot SX20.
You can very easily rent Canon lenses, flashes, batteries, grips, filters, triggers etc etc from a number of people including quite a few on the forums here so you wont have to spend a whole lot of money learning by experience.

Lance

Postby Lance » December 11th, 2010, 4:29 pm

Thanks man,

I honestly did not consider that aspect. I actually did not know that the Lenses were ''forward compatible''. The D1000 looks interesting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 11th, 2010, 4:41 pm

Of course! The entire Canon EOS system is made to be compatible
Of course there are lenses that are specific to certain crop factors almost everything is forward compatible

the same lens and flash will work on a Canon EOS 1000D (US$499) will also work on a Canon EOS 1D MKIV (US$6000)

Postby 16 cycles » December 11th, 2010, 5:14 pm

a year has passed since i bought the canon 450d (xsi) - no regrets....

i do realize that the kit lens not the best for low light conditions....so ordered a 50mm f1.8 lens with 470ex flash and tripod (can direct this flash upwards)

this is the first camera i've ever owned and enjoying the experience....

some of the jargon still like rocket science but learning as i go along...