Fishman wrote:I agree that the DIY LEDs are fairly easy to do. For a tank that size if doing LED and making your own, look into parallel strings rather than series so as to cut down on many drivers. Using too many drivers such as the Meanwell 48D can cause some line overloading/overheating. The HLG series is a better choice for larger builds. There is a great DIY thread over at reefcentral.
That being said I'm still not sold on LED's. I am running a DIY in the center of my tank and radium MH 250W on the ends. I have made the led build in the center to visually match what the Radium's look like and I still prefer the Coral colors I have under the Radium's. The PAR under the LED's are actually more than the Radium's but I still prefer what I see under the MH. The only reason I still run it is I don't want the extra heat of a third MH. I'm not sure if it is because of the narrow spectrum of LED's.This is just my opinion though as there are others that love the LED technology.
ziggy_dappa wrote:Fishman wrote:I agree that the DIY LEDs are fairly easy to do. For a tank that size if doing LED and making your own, look into parallel strings rather than series so as to cut down on many drivers. Using too many drivers such as the Meanwell 48D can cause some line overloading/overheating. The HLG series is a better choice for larger builds. There is a great DIY thread over at reefcentral.
That being said I'm still not sold on LED's. I am running a DIY in the center of my tank and radium MH 250W on the ends. I have made the led build in the center to visually match what the Radium's look like and I still prefer the Coral colors I have under the Radium's. The PAR under the LED's are actually more than the Radium's but I still prefer what I see under the MH. The only reason I still run it is I don't want the extra heat of a third MH. I'm not sure if it is because of the narrow spectrum of LED's.This is just my opinion though as there are others that love the LED technology.
I can't compare to MH since i upgraded from PC to DIY Led lighting.
Am using Cree/Meanwell with Royal Blue/Cool Blue/ Neutral white/ Cool White /True Violet combo.
I still don't have the colors where i want them yet but i am going to experiment with some warmer whites from Luxeon and i also have a some cyan and deep reds to mess with.
But growth is great, even has the power to bleach SPS on the sand bed if turned all the way up.
Fishman wrote:ziggy_dappa wrote:Fishman wrote:I agree that the DIY LEDs are fairly easy to do. For a tank that size if doing LED and making your own, look into parallel strings rather than series so as to cut down on many drivers. Using too many drivers such as the Meanwell 48D can cause some line overloading/overheating. The HLG series is a better choice for larger builds. There is a great DIY thread over at reefcentral.
Am using Cree/Meanwell with Royal Blue/Cool Blue/ Neutral white/ Cool White /True Violet combo.
I still don't have the colors where i want them yet but i am going to experiment with some warmer whites from Luxeon and i also have a some cyan and deep reds to mess with.
But growth is great, even has the power to bleach SPS on the sand bed if turned all the way up.
Yup same same combo for me minus the violets. Don't get me wrong, growth is great as the PAR is higher than my MH. I have a PAR meter to check it with. The LED color is where I want it as they are dimmable channels connected to an Apex, so I set them to suit. The problem is the color of my SPS. They just have better colors under the MH.
HondaB20B wrote:Ey fishman, where you got your PAR meter to buy. I need to get one so i can do my regular checks along with checking to see if i can keep the clam
ziggy_dappa wrote:Fishman wrote:ziggy_dappa wrote:Fishman wrote:I agree that the DIY LEDs are fairly easy to do. For a tank that size if doing LED and making your own, look into parallel strings rather than series so as to cut down on many drivers. Using too many drivers such as the Meanwell 48D can cause some line overloading/overheating. The HLG series is a better choice for larger builds. There is a great DIY thread over at reefcentral.
Yup same same combo for me minus the violets. Don't get me wrong, growth is great as the PAR is higher than my MH. I have a PAR meter to check it with. The LED color is where I want it as they are dimmable channels connected to an Apex, so I set them to suit. The problem is the color of my SPS. They just have better colors under the MH.
Yea I understand exactly what you mean that's why I playing around with the colors to determine if they would be the choice for my next tank upgrade, as i would prefer not to use halides due to the power consumption and heat.
I am using manually dimmable drivers (potentiometer control)to adjust color temp right now.
Fishman wrote:HondaB20B wrote:Ey fishman, where you got your PAR meter to buy. I need to get one so i can do my regular checks along with checking to see if i can keep the clam
I bought it in the classifieds on Reefcentral. It's an Apogee and I got a good deal on it. I've been reading some threads though that you can just buy the submersible quantum sensor from Apogee and then hook it up to a multimeter. Then just use a conversion factor to correct the figures. The sensor by itself is much cheaper than the whole meter from Apogee. There are a few sensors though so do your research to make sure you are getting the right one to use with a multimeter.
bluesteel29 wrote:a solution for the heat problem using HID lights is a cooltube...attach some ducting and a fan n it should drop the heat from the bulb drastically.
HondaB20B wrote:
Saw 3 plugs by Raj
On a different note......................Every night my moonlights are always on till late (they always say it promotes spawning of fish, inverts & corals), tonight my male pajama cardinal in the DT, decided to release his 1wk old fry into the water stream. Well they didnt last too long (food for the others), 10min after, 2 of my skunk cleaner shrimp released their young into the water also. It was a crazy frenzy for food. Even the zoas were eating. Its amazing to see how small life really is.
UML wrote:HondaB20B wrote:
Saw 3 plugs by Raj
On a different note......................Every night my moonlights are always on till late (they always say it promotes spawning of fish, inverts & corals), tonight my male pajama cardinal in the DT, decided to release his 1wk old fry into the water stream. Well they didnt last too long (food for the others), 10min after, 2 of my skunk cleaner shrimp released their young into the water also. It was a crazy frenzy for food. Even the zoas were eating. Its amazing to see how small life really is.
thanks honda
btw my nitrates still high...should i buy it or wait till it drops? only thing it mighten be available and my last coral was doing fine under the high nitrate conditions? should i buy it?
also, 2 weeks of dosing my tank at 0.4ml and no change.......should i add the 0.5ml for a total of 0.9ml or go up to 0.6ml instead and see if i see any changes?
HondaB20B wrote:UML.................What you have in your sump? bio-balls, sponge, filterfloss?
UML wrote:HondaB20B wrote:UML.................What you have in your sump? bio-balls, sponge, filterfloss?
plastic pot scrub
sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
HondaB20B wrote:sharkman121 wrote:The best thing you can put in yr sump besides a skimmer is an Algae turf scrubber.
Now i not saying no, but why even put one of those, every couple days or wks you still have to clean it..........................just put in some rowaphos in a reactor and yuh good.
I put one in since october and never saw algae again in my tank. Since then my phosphates undetectable