OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Kronik

Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby Kronik » January 12th, 2017, 6:21 pm

lets see if petrotrin gonna suffer the same fate of T&TEC, sending home all the temporary workers and offering VSEP to workers over 50

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » January 12th, 2017, 7:07 pm

I was right. Mariano is saying Petrotrin (PT) is overstaffed and its debt is $13.2B

However I dont agree with his position that PT has to be profitable to divest or Privatise. Remember ISCOTT or some are too young to know what it stands for and the history thereof.

There is a que by Private equity to get PT. He as a finance person may very well be behind the scene working for this que ........

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2017, 7:24 pm

MB double deals....Will be advising clients on a purchase
...while trying to buy the same asset.

And LOL at Motley being involved.

He arranged the WGTL financing package....

Seems that they know where this is heading.

Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2017, 9:17 pm

Kronik wrote:lets see if petrotrin gonna suffer the same fate of T&TEC, sending home all the temporary workers and offering VSEP to workers over 50

This self

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 12th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Kronik wrote:lets see if petrotrin gonna suffer the same fate of T&TEC, sending home all the temporary workers and offering VSEP to workers over 50

This self

that is not going to happen.... if it does... who in they right mind going to leave petropnm....

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2017, 10:05 pm

If the package is good people will take it

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2017, 10:06 pm

If the package is good people will take it

Postby nervewrecker » January 12th, 2017, 10:27 pm

Have a guy that offered to buy the company some time back. Now might be his chance.

Hearing talk they not allowed to drill deeper than 1800feet. Not sure how true but im pretty sure I heard another oil company drilling to 2800feet (may be wrong).

Min of energy sabotaging the comoany bad too. Contractor rigs outside drilling and petrotrin rig inside for petty little things.

So everything in favor of the contractors.

South Man

Postby South Man » January 12th, 2017, 10:28 pm

Source

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 12th, 2017, 11:05 pm

Petrotrin already sent home a bunch of temporary staff a while back.
Also I don't thinking people who are saying to privatize the company has even the slightest clue about how the company actually operates or this country for that matter. Privatizing a company doesn't necessarily make it an automatic sucess, the company could even end up in a worse position in the long run.
But I have to say that certain entities like cnc3 and the UNC keep saying to privatize, but then that doesn't surprise me in the least. We all know who is actually going to benefit in the end, and it ain't the people of Trinidad and Tobago...

Kronik

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby Kronik » January 13th, 2017, 1:17 am

South Man wrote:

Source

I work there, at least for now till they send us home. Union branch president informed us on Wednesday about it after talk started to spread on Monday

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Kronik wrote:
South Man wrote:

Source

I work there, at least for now till they send us home. Union branch president informed us on Wednesday about it after talk started to spread on Monday

Hearing the same thing.
If however they go that route, thats the end of petrotrin. Our department will have approx 5 men. And if we dont do our work, the whole place suffers.
The contractor might get a bigger slice of the cake now.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2017, 1:43 pm

Ent dey wah 5%, geee dem 5%

Postby desifemlove » January 13th, 2017, 1:46 pm

vaiostation wrote:Petrotrin already sent home a bunch of temporary staff a while back.
Also I don't thinking people who are saying to privatize the company has even the slightest clue about how the company actually operates or this country for that matter. Privatizing a company doesn't necessarily make it an automatic sucess, the company could even end up in a worse position in the long run.
But I have to say that certain entities like cnc3 and the UNC keep saying to privatize, but then that doesn't surprise me in the least. We all know who is actually going to benefit in the end, and it ain't the people of Trinidad and Tobago...

depends on the model. It's not just about selling off all the shares to the private sector.

Postby Redman » January 15th, 2017, 7:52 am

This 80 m increase in wages that Petrotrin has to meet.....what's the break down...

How much of this is for the OWTU members, other unions, management.

I'm told 65% goes to to other negotiating units?

car

OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby car » January 15th, 2017, 7:56 am

Men who working on 6 months contract already get the shaft. The rest will get it when their contract ends.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 15th, 2017, 11:17 am

If petrotrin has to restructure they might have to terminate the following positions and hire contractors where necessary.
- All labourers/Millwright (Contractors can perform these duties for a fraction of the cost)
-Condition Monitoring department ( Hire a company like tosl or d.rampersad to take over, with petrotrin engineers supervising)
-Administrative workers most can be terminated and a third party can control this department
-Electical/Mechanical technicians, all temporary technicians can be terminated (leaving only permanent staff). The company can hire a trainee and give him a two year contract at a stipend of $3000 no benefits. After the two years hire another trainee. Also hire contractors to do most of the "bull" work.
- Refinery Operates are all permanent and too important to cut, however they can be given extra task, like the task of a guager or pumpmen or certain safety task( checking safety equipment), so these positions would be redundant and therefore unnecessary.

These are some of what I have seen in the companies I have worked for. I'm not a hater against petrotrin workers, because a lot of my good friends work thier and I wouldn't like to see them lose their jobs and I hope they don't.
But I hearing temporary men under 5years going to get the shaft.

Postby The_Honourable » January 15th, 2017, 9:35 pm

As the artificial crisis loomed, no one took it on.

It was as if everyone knew that this was just grandcharge to give our lame government an appearance of rescuing us, themselves and the Oilfield Workers Trade Union from a crisis which was never going to happen. The population treated the impending crisis with all the indifference reserved for storm or hurricane warnings. On the Friday before the threatened OWTU “shutdown” bars were full, the Christmas ‘flu was being named “Trump”, not “Strike”, and commentary on Facebook was exposing the whole farce as “grandcharge”.

And quite rightly, the population took the phalanx of pseudo- angry blue shirted OWTU officials with more than a grain of salt. Pantomime poseurs, engaging in a rare work opportunity starred on TV as erectors of “strike camps” which they, we and the government knew would never be needed. This government, “Red and Ready” before we voted out the UNC last September, are still shuffling, like the lame and the blind, hoping to take a footstep one day, and unashamedly telling us that they are still groping.

More: http://newsday.co.tt/commentary/0,238462.html

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Privatising petrotrin will mean higher electricity costs. That means the .03 cents you currently pay per kilowatt hour will go to .30. So if u like the idea of paying an electricity bill 10x what u pay now. Go ahead and privatise. Government cant tell a private company how much t charge. Only person gonna win is the new owners who will digout allyuh eye until is open war on our streets in the fight for food and resources.

Postby nervewrecker » January 16th, 2017, 1:11 pm

bluesclues wrote:Privatising petrotrin will mean higher electricity costs. That means the .03 cents you currently pay per kilowatt hour will go to .30. So if u like the idea of paying an electricity bill 10x what u pay now. Go ahead and privatise. Government cant tell a private company how much t charge. Only person gonna win is the new owners who will digout allyuh eye until is open war on our streets in the fight for food and resources.

They pay one flat rate for an amount agreed upon. Not per kilowatt

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 1:14 pm

bluesclues wrote:Privatising petrotrin will mean higher electricity costs. That means the .03 cents you currently pay per kilowatt hour will go to .30. So if u like the idea of paying an electricity bill 10x what u pay now. Go ahead and privatise. Government cant tell a private company how much t charge. Only person gonna win is the new owners who will digout allyuh eye until is open war on our streets in the fight for food and resources.

Who?

Im talking abut a privatised petrotrin having to supply ttec. Ttec will have to pay higher prices than they do now.. and then so would we as a result.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 16th, 2017, 1:31 pm

What does Petrotrin have to do with electricity??

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 16th, 2017, 1:33 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Who?

Im talking abut a privatised petrotrin having to supply ttec. Ttec will have to pay higher prices than they do now.. and then so would we as a result.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 1:38 pm

Ermmm.. u knw how electricity is generated locally? What u think ttec des use to provide the country with electricity? Hopsbread from yummy's bakery? Lol

Postby gastly369 » January 16th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Ohlaawdhavemercy

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Leaving u with some homework...

Class, today for homework you will do research on the cost of electricity in other caribean islands including barbados our nextdoor neighours.. and identify the reason why their prices differ from ours.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 16th, 2017, 1:44 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Ermmm.. u knw how electricity is generated locally? What u think ttec des use to provide the country with electricity? Hopsbread from yummy's bakery? Lol

I know there are two Powergen generating facilities in Trinidad, 1 TGU and 1 Trinity Power who all use Natural Gas to generate electricity.

Awares me of which generation station that uses liquid fuel as its primary source of power??

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 16th, 2017, 1:49 pm

bluesclues wrote:

I know there are two Powergen generating facilities in Trinidad, 1 TGU and 1 Trinity Power who all use Natural Gas to generate electricity.

Awares me of which generation station that uses liquid fuel as its primary source of power??

Do the homewrk i will correct your work when i get back. Im sure u will start answering some of ur own questions in the research.

May google be your guide

Postby Dizzy28 » January 16th, 2017, 1:59 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Do the homewrk i will correct your work when i get back. Im sure u will start answering some of ur own questions in the research.

May google be your guide

No one can be so dumb so clearly you have to be crazy!!!!

TTEC
1/Scarborough Power Station, Darrel Spring Road, Scarborough - Scarborough Power Station has an installed capacity of approximately 11MW and is used primarily for standby power. The facility is a diesel engine generating station that is located in the heart of the capital city of Tobago.
Cove Power Station, Cove Eco-Industrial and Business Park at Lowlands, Tobago

2/The Cove Power Station has an installed capacity of 65.6 megawatts (MW). There are four (4) Wartsila units, each with a capacity of 16.4 MW with dual fuel capability (both natural gas and diesel). Start of commercial operations: The plant was commissioned on October 23rd, 2009. The Cove Estate Gas receiving facilities were officially commissioned on January 14th, 2013. However, the Cove Estate Power Plant turbines began using natural gas after September 2013.

Independent Power Producers
Power Generation Company of Trinidad and Tobago (POWERGEN)
Their individual capacities are:
3/ Point Lisas : 838 MW - In 1978 two 20,000 kilowatt Simple Cycle Gas Turbine-Generator units were added, increasing the total installed capacity of the Power Station to 128 MW and providing “Black Start Capability” which is the ability to start up independently of the power grid. Between 1980-1982, three additional 88,000 kilowatt (88MW) units and four 62,500 kilowatt (62.5MW) units were installed, bringing the total installed capacity to 642,000 kilowatts (642MW)

4/ Penal : 236 MW - this Plant consisted of two GE Frame7 Gas Turbines, each exhausting into a Heat Recovery Steam Generator (HRSG) and one GE Steam Turbine, having design steam conditions of 850 lb/inch2 and temperature of 950oF.

5/Trinity Power Ltd, Point Lisas
The facility of TPL consists of six (3) General Electric (GE) simple cycle gas turbines rated for a combined output of 225 MW. The Plant is also equipped with a 1.5 MW black start diesel generator.

6/Trinidad Generation Unlimited (TGU) operates a 720MW combined cycle (CC) power generation plant on approximately 16 hectares of land at Union Industrial Estate in La Brea. It was originally conceived as a 60%-40% joint venture between AES Corporation (a US–based corporation) and the Government of Trinidad and Tobago with funding in the form of debt financing from the international financial market. With the collapse of the financial markets in 2008, Government assumed majority ownership of the project and responsibility for its financing. The facility cost approximately $US740 million or $TT4.7 billion. The plant consists of six (6) GE gas turbines rated for a combined output of 450 MW. Waste heat from the exhaust of these gas turbines is utilized by six Heat Recovery Steam Generators to produce steam. The steam produced by this waste heat is used to power two (2) steam turbines. These produce an additional 270 MW of power without the use of any additional natural gas.

Source - Min of Energy and Powergen websites

Postby Redman » January 16th, 2017, 3:09 pm

Deja vu all over again.