What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

drchaos

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby drchaos » January 30th, 2016, 11:08 pm

Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?

With the mentality that we have ... they would just a buy a BMW with that money and then they back to square one...

Would it not be much better to use that money to set up research for local agriculture so all local farmers can benefit or provide extremely low interest agricultural loans to the ex Caroni workers and farmers. The money can also be used to put in infrastructure in the vast amounts of state lands that are not being used then lease large plots for farming.

Postby S_2NR » January 30th, 2016, 11:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Can someone here tell me if books involving things like software development, books on Algorithm etc will be subjected to the new Vat system? I am of the impression that there will be no vat on these types of books for learning.

But I am hearing on the other side that all these books will be subjected to Vat. If anyone here knows specifically it will be much appreciated. There is also the issue of customs, some of them will look at a book that is titled "Java" and think its a science fiction book based on Star Wars.

all

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2016, 1:12 am

^ If its true then thats a pretty d!ck move! why tax books for studies?

It says here that books for educational purpose will be zero rated this is why I was asking. If its the case I go just download the book and watch it on my Monitor since I have a glossy reflective S24 series DELL 24 inch monitor, bought this on Amazon in the event I would need to read e books without going blind on a matte screen.

http://www.looptt.com/content/computers ... dded-items

"Additionally, certain books will also be subject to VAT, namely literary works, reference books, directories, collections of letters or documents permanently bound in covers, loose-leaf books, manuals or instructions whether complete with their binder or not, school work books and other educational texts in question-and-answer format with spaces for insertion of answers, children’s picture and painting books, exercise books, other paper and paperboard of a kind used for writing, printing or other graphic purposes.

However “workbooks, activity books, exercise books and similar books for educational purposes for use in schools, colleges and other educational institutions” will still be zero-rated."

It seems like customs won't know what to tax and will just tax everything. On one hand it says educational books no vat, but school work books will have tax.................................

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2016, 1:21 am

Customs are clueless people. It will be just like it is now with cellphones. They will tax when and how much they feel like it. Other times you might get away. U mad, stay mad, they don't care. Sad that is all that for books. Switch to ebooks

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2016, 3:53 am

S_2NR wrote:Customs are clueless people. It will be just like it is now with cellphones. They will tax when and how much they feel like it. Other times you might get away. U mad, stay mad, they don't care. Sad that is all that for books. Switch to ebooks

Yeah E-Books it is for real yes, what a stupid set of people putting taxes on books. Its nice having a physical copy of a book but at this rate nah to hell with that that sheit yes.

Good thing I anticipated this and got this gloss monitor yes, makes reading a pleasure on the eyes.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 31st, 2016, 7:31 am

drchaos wrote:Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?

With the mentality that we have ... they would just a buy a BMW with that money and then they back to square one...

Would it not be much better to use that money to set up research for local agriculture so all local farmers can benefit or provide extremely low interest agricultural loans to the ex Caroni workers and farmers. The money can also be used to put in infrastructure in the vast amounts of state lands that are not being used then lease large plots for farming.

What does get me vex is people with internet access apparently not knowing how to use Google.

Can you buy a BMW for $37,000 ?

The total payment to the cane farmers is 130 million TTD divided by 3,481 cane farmers. Thats works out to $37,345.59 per person. The cane farmers didnt win the lottery.

Now separate from that issue the total EU grant is 75 million Euros. Which is about 523 million TTD. Where the rest of the money going (or went already) I dont know.

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2016, 8:28 am

drchaos wrote:Can someone please explain why we are just giving out money to ex cane farmers? Wasn't the money given by the EU to help the country diversify away from an old system of mono cropping?

The money was given by the EU to compensate for the transition loss of private cane framers and to set up new framing crops.

The money is not for the government.

Postby sMASH » January 31st, 2016, 10:17 am

Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We lucky the white folk still so nice after what Eric did. They didn't have to pay off their suppliers after cancelling a contract, but they did.

Fleckin black man running this country now and told fellow blackmen that they not getting their money that they DID work for, and to write it off as savings.
We vote for dat.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 31st, 2016, 11:08 am

Urm .. I personally know a co worker who says she is waiting on that money to renovate her house ...
hence my comment ....
and who say you cant get a used BMW for 37K???

matix

Postby matix » January 31st, 2016, 11:24 am

Seriously Allyuh. Have the meet, with tags of your tuner name with police and ambulance present.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 31st, 2016, 4:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Customs are clueless people. It will be just like it is now with cellphones. They will tax when and how much they feel like it. Other times you might get away. U mad, stay mad, they don't care. Sad that is all that for books. Switch to ebooks

Yeah E-Books it is for real yes, what a stupid set of people putting taxes on books. Its nice having a physical copy of a book but at this rate nah to hell with that that sheit yes.

Good thing I anticipated this and got this gloss monitor yes, makes reading a pleasure on the eyes.

i have a sweet book collection on tablet. i use moon reader pro which gives me a virtual library to go through showing covers and summaries. really beautiful program.

men might start scanning all the schoolbook that dont have a digital format and making 'photocopies' that can be read on tablet. pnm approaching this ting so wrong eh. this is the 21st century. there is no way you can 'guide' the population towards your preferred consumer practices anymore when technology can replace it all.

they going to cause more losses and a slowdown of economic activity because ppl will work and depend less and less on government services and facilitate and provide their required services between themselves. in a free society with such technological advancement... there are options. whereas in the old days you could easily control the path by annihilating certain routes or making them very difficult.

our politicians need to stop trying to make the past extend past its time. stop trying to force the old ways to last longer. be proactive and not reactive. be leaders and visionaries, not vindictive a-holes.

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2016, 4:57 pm

drchaos wrote:Urm .. I personally know a co worker who says she is waiting on that money to renovate her house ...
hence my comment ....
and who say you cant get a used BMW for 37K???

Numbnuts the money is for Caroni cane farmers and not workers .

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 31st, 2016, 7:58 pm

dipsh*t ... her husband is an ex caroni cane farmer ...

I think the scrotum's of the kabal members are so far down your throat that it is starting to affect your cognitive abilities boy ZR ...

Postby Habit7 » February 1st, 2016, 12:08 am

sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.
We lucky the white folk still so nice after what Eric did. They didn't have to pay off their suppliers after cancelling a contract, but they did.

Fleckin black man running this country now and told fellow blackmen that they not getting their money that they DID work for, and to write it off as savings.
We vote for dat.

Those cane farms belonged to the "white man" Tate & Lyle. When they originally went bust, the white man was going to fire everybody, pack up bags and head back to England, no VSEP, no land leases. It was the very Eric that saved the livelihoods of those workers by buying up those farms and forming Caroni (1975) Ltd. and gave them work while he developed Pt. Lisas, a true sustainable and profitable industry unlike cane farming.

Seukeran Tambie, the president of the Cane Farmers Association of T&T, (I don't know if you call him a blackman) is saying that the EU money is not for payout and that Dr. Rowley should not pay anyone like what the PP did.

So stop spreading your foolishness.

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 6:47 am

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Drchaos, stop being a duck. EU left money for the workers in the cane industry, so let them have it.

We vote for dat.

Those cane farms belonged to the "white man" Tate & Lyle. When they originally went bust, the white man was going to fire everybody, pack up bags and head back to England, no VSEP, no land leases. It was the very Eric that saved the livelihoods of those workers by buying up those farms and forming Caroni (1975) Ltd. and gave them work while he developed Pt. Lisas, a true sustainable and profitable industry unlike cane farming.

Seukeran Tambie, the president of the Cane Farmers Association of T&T, (I don't know if you call him a blackman) is saying that the EU money is not for payout and that Dr. Rowley should not pay anyone like what the PP did.

Really?

The delegation of the European Union to Trinidad and Tobago met on Friday with the Cane Producers’ Association to discuss the EU support to the sugar sector. The meeting follows a request made by the secretary of the Cane Farmers Association, Seukeran Tambie, to discuss the issue of direct payment of EU funds to farmers. Cane farmers have been systematically consulted on the EU programme of support since its initiation in 2007. They have also repeatedly been invited by the chargé d’affaires of the European Union to make proposals for performance indicators and measures which could enable them to increase food production and assist them in mitigating the impact of the closure of the sugar industry.

The chargé d’affaires of the T&T delegation, Stelios Christopoulos, stated: “We were happy to meet with Mr Tambie once more to clarify the EU’s position on grant funding to the sugar industry again. “As we have stated in the past, while we hope that former cane farmers will be among the main beneficiaries of the grant funding which is delivered as sector budget support, direct cash compensation payments have never been foreseen,” he said. “The EU closely follows and monitors measures taken by the Government to improve agricultural infrastructure such as, access roads, drainage and irrigation on former sugar lands. “We are satisfied with the steps taken so far and confident that the Government of Trinidad and Tobago will continue its policy of using EU funding in ways that will benefit the farmers.

“I hope that this time, farmers’ associations, including the cane producers association, will at last come forward with constructive proposals of how to better use the EU funding to improve enabling conditions and agricultural infrastructure on the former sugar lands.” In March this year, the EU disbursed €12.974.000 in sector budget support to the T&T Govt. The funding is part of a total allocation of €77.144 million that will be made available to the T&T Government to diversify the sugar industry. Sector budget support is a policy based instrument to deliver development assistance to eligible countries. Under the mechanism, funds are transferred to the national Treasury of the partner country to assist in the development of their strategic priorities and not to fund any specific project.

T&T Government has thus far already implemented a number of measures to benefit the farmers and workers, including:

TT$82 million in payments to more than 3,000 cane farmers;
 the issuance of agricultural leases to former Caroni employees;
 training in agricultural production;
 technical and agricultural training for 2,400 former employees of Caroni;
 regularisation of the status of farmers squatting on Caroni lands;
 compensation to 9,000 former employees of Caroni (1975) Ltd;
 purchase of pension annuities for former Caroni employees;
 construction of 492 km of access roads for 17 agricultural estates and 28 subdivisions and
 a new agricultural incentive programme for farmers.
The Government has indicated its plans to use future funding to, among others, increase domestic food production and decrease Trinidad and Tobago's dependency on food imports—a strategy that the EU fully supports.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/05/23 ... -producers

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 1st, 2016, 6:50 am

We vote for dat.

Were the suppliers to the "white folk" the individual cane farmers or Caroni 1975 a state agency?
If I cancel a contract with a company do I pay off the workers or the company/owners that I canceled the contract with?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 1st, 2016, 6:59 am

EmilioA wrote:

What does get me vex is people with internet access apparently not knowing how to use Google.

Can you buy a BMW for $37,000 ?

The total payment to the cane farmers is 130 million TTD divided by 3,481 cane farmers. Thats works out to $37,345.59 per person. The cane farmers didnt win the lottery.

Now separate from that issue the total EU grant is 75 million Euros. Which is about 523 million TTD. Where the rest of the money going (or went already) I dont know.

So I apparently learned to use google last night and look at what I found.

The European Commission never had any agreement to pay monetary compensation to Caroni (1975) Ltd sugar farmers, said Stelios Christopolous, Charge d’Affaires of the Delegation of the European Union in Trinidad and Tobago.

“We never had any indicator or any agreement for that matter with the previous government or this government that any money should be disbursed to farmers,” Christopolous said in an interview with Newsday yesterday.

“If the Government wants to give money to farmers, that has absolutely nothing with European Union funding. If the Government decides to give compensation directly to farmers, they can do it. This is not part of our agreement. It has never been.”

However the EC has already paid 12.2 million Euros of 77 million earmarked for TT to Government’s consolidated account for budgetary support as a result of the diversification of the sugar industry.

The support is given, he said, to support Government’s development policies and not a project.

“We are giving the money to Government to improve the land, to improve existing and build new infrastructure such as roads and irrigation. We agreed to the creation of residential zones and green buffer zones around the residential zones. We have evidence of those things happening. That is why we continue with the disbursements,” Christopolous said.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,140030.html Source ...

Which just backs up everything that I said ... Boy you should get vex with yuhself for not being able to use google ... and may I add that that was the first article that I found.
Allu just have a gimme gimme attitude ... forget infrastructure ... give me meh money so I could buy meh BM and meh house and to hell with the country.

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 7:04 am

Meanwhile fete and carnival continues and PNM taxes start from today.
These nags wont know the difference.

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2016, 7:13 am

The cools as well.

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 7:29 am

K74T wrote:The cools as well.

Nah dem does save money and invest

Postby K74T » February 1st, 2016, 8:08 am

in rum and wild meat

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 1st, 2016, 8:29 am

U mean spend the thief money on alco

Ironically..got new neighbors last two weeks and they haven't stopped liming and playing loud music every single day without fail.
Took the police to them sat and the had the audacity to say they are high in the UNC and those laws dint apply to them
Police made them mellow down tho.

Clearly they spending some well earned cash there on being drunk all the time right.

And to add the house was brought cash 2mil plus

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 8:37 am

jhonnieblue wrote:

Ironically..got new neighbors last two weeks and they haven't stopped liming and playing loud music every single day without fail.
Took the police to them sat and the had the audacity to say they are high in the UNC and those laws dint apply to them

Clearly they spending some well earned cash there on being drunk all the time right.

So you saying that your neighbours stole money and living it up.

Nice to see you took it to the cops, and your neighbours cooled down.

If your neighbours was PNM ppl then you may just have been a statistics on this morning news.

Postby S_2NR » February 1st, 2016, 8:58 am

jhonnieblue wrote:

Gulf view?

Postby Habit7 » February 1st, 2016, 8:59 am

Habit7 wrote:

We vote for dat.

Really?

Yes really!

And posting an article from 5 years ago is not relevant when I posted the most recent quote from Seukeran Tambie one week ago on the previous page.

jhonnieblue

What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby jhonnieblue » February 1st, 2016, 9:02 am

S_2NR wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:

Gulf view?

Maracas Valley

Actually seven years back had exactly same issue when a bunch of pnm people moved to the house next to it

Did the exact same thing and called police for disturbances

Postby S_2NR » February 1st, 2016, 9:09 am

And maracas Valley so nice and quiet. Friend have a similar problem in Gulf view with neighbour throwing parties. Lol

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 9:34 am

Habit7 wrote:

We vote for dat.

Really?

Yes really!

And posting an article from 5 years ago is not relevant when I posted the most recent quote from Seukeran Tambie one week ago on the previous page.

Tambie quote does not matter.

EU grant is for ex cane farmers, give these farmers their compensation money.

This is just racist. Rowley says on the platform farmers will get money.

Now your clown and PNM Prime. Munster Maxi Cuffie blocking it.

PNM needs to make up their minds and stop conning this nation .

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 1st, 2016, 4:09 pm

I glad the pm not giving them none! Pp tried to buy votes with money for agricultural development and it fail.

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2016, 5:06 pm

drchaos wrote:I glad the pm not giving them none! Pp tried to buy votes with money for agricultural development and it fail.

These are the ppl that know more about farming than anyone else. They were brought here for framing. Their entire family are most often employed in the family business.

PNM idea of framing is the failed Wallerfeild milk framers. They had abundance of lands with two cows and a duck on it.

They got free money, lands and access to tax free T- reg and framing vehicles.

It's was an epic failure as the wrong ppl who knew nothing about farming was given access to it .

Then again we had the Chaguaramas crop frame, which was another failure.

PNM type ppl know very little about farmer but they can name all the parts on an AK47.