Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2013, 10:52 pm

rfari wrote:
rfari wrote:so essentially issa battle over nomenclature that going on here? cus we cyar be tingin up over devices that share part of a name yet serve different purposes
you mean like the Galaxy S4 Zoom and the Galaxy Camera?

They took the same camera, added a phone but gave it a lower quality screen and slower processor and called it something else

And what the prices were like?
about US$100 difference; the Galaxy Camera is ~US$350 and the S4 Zoom is ~US$450

Postby Morpheus » September 27th, 2013, 11:11 pm

Amusing thread I must say.....:smile:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2013, 11:23 pm

Morpheus wrote:Amusing thread I must say.....:smile:
yes, rather.

Postby S_2NR » September 27th, 2013, 11:29 pm

src1983 wrote:It's only a matter of time before Samsung have a site like dell

Build your galaxy

You can already do this with the Moto X. I dont see whats wrong with giving customers more choice

Postby Morpheus » September 28th, 2013, 12:02 am

Morpheus wrote:Amusing thread I must say.....:smile:
yes, rather.

I can understand arguments from both sides. I'm kinda neutral. I like iphone. It was a groundbreaking device back then. But like in every industry, things eventually become standard and more widespread.

To each his own. And I do agree Samsung lil overkill the Galaxy line. Headache to compare specs to choose one. There are sooo many. Been there. But I won't "hate" on them for that. So be it.

Some like Samsung, some like Apple. Both making great devices.

2 things raised my interest recently. Apple to make iphones with larger screens. And Samsung to launch a new line of phones with "premium" materials(although I think this will cause them to eliminate the removable back cover/battery option). Both will satisfy customer grudges.

Good times ahead either way. This GS4 gotta rally me for at least 3 years though :geek:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2013, 12:17 am

S_2NR wrote:

Build your galaxy

You can already do this with the Moto X. I dont see whats wrong with giving customers more choice
customers seem to love it?
How are Moto X sales doing?

Nasdaq reports 100,000 Moto X are selling each week since it launched. Samsung S4 sold 2.5 million in its first week and iPhone 5 sold 5 million in its first weekend.

Postby S_2NR » September 28th, 2013, 12:45 am

interesting but i personally like it. you can make your phone truly yours. i wont buy one though but its a nice idea.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2013, 4:40 am

^
S_2NR wrote:

Build your galaxy

well then that's what's wrong with it: It costs considerably more to offer choice but it's bad business to have high operating cost and low sales figures. It is not sustainable.

Postby SR » September 28th, 2013, 6:00 am

real beatup in this thread boy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_DynaTAC

where it all began

Postby Morpheus » September 28th, 2013, 6:27 am

^^Talk about copying!

Postby ismithx » September 29th, 2013, 12:22 pm

sigh i guess it doesn't pay to be a fanboy. right now I'm on Xperia and loving it!

Postby Sky » September 29th, 2013, 12:30 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Is a Mitsubishi Lancer GL the same as a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV? That's the logic being put forward in this thread.

It's just fanboys hating on variety because deep down inside they wish they had a choice too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Sky wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Is a Mitsubishi Lancer GL the same as a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV? That's the logic being put forward in this thread.

It's just fanboys hating on variety because deep down inside they wish they had a choice too.
if that was true then sales for iPhones and iPads wouldn't be so high

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 12:37 pm

ismithx wrote:sigh i guess it doesn't pay to be a fanboy. right now I'm on Xperia and loving it!
what is unique to Xperia that you love? Give us a list:

Postby maj. tom » September 29th, 2013, 1:23 pm

SR wrote:real beatup in this thread boy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_DynaTAC

where it all began

Hello Moto!

Motorola Droid 5 will have wireless charging. Motorola will always be my 1st choice.

Postby ismithx » September 29th, 2013, 4:41 pm

ismithx wrote:sigh i guess it doesn't pay to be a fanboy. right now I'm on Xperia and loving it!

1. the design feels like a solid piece of tech. build close to nokia level.
2. Sony's android skin is almost stock yet it allows you a good amount of customization.
3. the hardware specs list for a budget phone like this is impressive (USB OTG, MHL, NFC, Snapdragon processor, 1GB ram)
4. the amount of preloaded softwares... is impressive.

you need to buy one for yourself.

Postby pioneer » September 29th, 2013, 6:46 pm

So wait, "customization" makes a phone good?

Lol kk

Postby Sky » September 29th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Sky wrote:

We already established that sales figures don't mean much.Yet you ride a number built by idiots to prove a point.

Thas like saying beats are flawless because of the sales figues.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 8:09 pm

ismithx wrote:

2. Sony's android skin is almost stock yet it allows you a good amount of customization.
3. the hardware specs list for a budget phone like this is impressive (USB OTG, MHL, NFC, Snapdragon processor, 1GB ram)

nothing there is really unique to that phone though

I have a Nexus S that I bought brand new from Google for US$199 and that a Snapdragon quad core with 2GB RAM. Nexus devices get the latest Android updates as soon as they come out. Running 4.3.3 since I got the phone August.

have you used the MHL or the NFC on your Xperia yet?

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2013, 8:15 pm

ismithx wrote:

I have a Nexus S that I bought brand new from Google for US$199 and that a Snapdragon quad core with 2GB RAM. Nexus devices get the latest Android updates as soon as they come out. Running 4.3.3 since I got the phone August.

So then the iphone has to be supplemented with the google phone? Nah man. Doh talk da talk duane

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 29th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Any "smartphones" can run a finite element analysis?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 8:30 pm

Sky wrote:
Sky wrote:

We already established that sales figures don't mean much.Yet you ride a number built by idiots to prove a point.

if beats can keep those figures up for 6 years on a single product line then yes! And get people to line up to buy their new product and sell 9 million units in 3 days 6 years after launch. Beats hasn't done that. Please don't confuse growing sales figures, happy customers and strong user base with marketing trickery mixed with thievery and a celebrity.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 8:33 pm

rfari wrote:
ismithx wrote:

So then the iphone has to be supplemented with the google phone? Nah man. Doh talk da talk duane
what?

nope I don't even have a sim card in the Nexus 4. I bought it to test Jelly Bean when developing for the TriniTuner Mobile App for Android. I was using a Nexus S to do that before.

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2013, 10:00 pm

rfari wrote:
ismithx wrote:

what?

nope I don't even have a sim card in the Nexus 4. I bought it to test Jelly Bean when developing for the TriniTuner Mobile App for Android. I was using a Nexus S to do that before.

Is no scn unno. Meem go tell nobody tht ur iphone cyar do de wuk

Postby Sky » September 29th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Sky wrote:
Sky wrote:

if beats can keep those figures up for 6 years on a single product line then yes! And get people to line up to buy their new product and sell 9 million units in 3 days 6 years after launch. Beats hasn't done that. Please don't confuse growing sales figures, happy customers and strong user base with marketing trickery mixed with thievery and a celebrity.

We already went through this unno. 30% hipsters, 20% old people who want a simple phone, 30% teenagers who buy it just to be part of the crowd and 20% Duanes. that 20% does not include the fanboy part of you eh. I talking about full functionality people.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Sky wrote:We already went through this unno. 30% hipsters, 20% old people who want a simple phone, 30% teenagers who buy it just to be part of the crowd and 20% Duanes. that 20% does not include the fanboy part of you eh. I talking about full functionality people.
if one product can appeal to such a large and diverse market over and over again for years and sell 9 million units in 3 days on its latest model update then it clearly is spectacular!

Postby Sky » September 29th, 2013, 11:11 pm

Oh jesus. Social appeal means nothing for credit.
The teens and hipsters buy it for the same reason they buy beats.
And same crap on android side. Geeks buy it to say they 1337 and hardly touch the settings.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 29th, 2013, 11:19 pm

^ what are you really attempting to say?

sales means nothing
figures means nothing
fans mean nothing
loyal users means nothing
consistency over 6 years for one product means nothing
usability means nothing
eco system means nothing
brand equity means nothing

so then what do you think really matters?
Blackberry?

Postby pioneer » September 29th, 2013, 11:20 pm

LMAO  

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 30th, 2013, 12:10 am

BTW Sky
Swisha wrote:BOOM!