Postby playerskrew » July 21st, 2013, 8:50 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah, pretty easy
if you want instructions let me know

Yeh give us a lil recipe for it na.

playerskrew

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby playerskrew » July 28th, 2013, 1:40 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah, but if the coals burning full bore with flames you will get less smoke than if they were just glowing and white, so get the coals properly lit first then spread them out.
small pits are the best, little cleanup and fast cook
my shoebox pit is due for repairs soon.

next time you make noodles you should try the white flat ho fan rice noodles
wing sing and a lot of places have them
those are the real noodles
the yellow noodles they serve in the cheap restaurants here are junk

Do you steam your pork before BBQ ???

Postby meccalli » July 28th, 2013, 6:16 pm

idk why trinis like to do this steam thing with bbq here. Defeats the purpose of cooking on coals if you ask me.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 31st, 2013, 10:25 pm

meccalli wrote:idk why trinis like to do this steam thing with bbq here. Defeats the purpose of cooking on coals if you ask me.

Good Lawd if ever a post on trinituner needed a "Like" button, it's this one

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 1st, 2013, 10:48 am

As much as I hate it, it has its purpose, and that's for high volume, fast turnover bbq.

For a small lime where quality is key, I'll do the low and slow raw method.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2013, 11:23 am

read up on "umami" one of the taste senses

tomato is very high in umami, hence why
the simple act of browning/burning the bbq sauce is all that really matters for most people tastewise

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 5th, 2013, 11:48 am

image.jpg

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 20th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Pugboy wey the crispy skin pork recipe ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Jerk Pork

Okay, so I cheated by using a pre-bought Jerk Seasoning, but it was a GAWDDAMN good seasoning, dammit.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2013, 9:11 pm

Boy i have not gotten around to getting a piece of pork belly to do the whole procedure with pics.
Will soon though.

In the meanwhile i am presently making something i am sure nobody here knows about,
A pork type jerky popular in singapore and malaysia call bak kwa.
Had it many years ago when a singaporean room mate brought some back.

playerskrew wrote:Pugboy wey the crispy skin pork recipe ?
image.jpg

Postby K74T » August 20th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Big fan of jerk pork checking in, looking really good Vexxx Dogg 8)

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 20th, 2013, 9:16 pm

Never been to JA to sample the real deal, but I assumed the Grace is about as close to authentic as I could get. It's really awesome.
I tried it on chicken, pork, vegetables and each time it ROCKED, lol...

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2013, 9:32 pm

I like the grace also.

I've been to JA and tbh they use a lot less pepper than what we call jerk here.
Authentic jerk is really more like smoked than grilled.

Postby SR » August 20th, 2013, 9:38 pm

Make sure and let marinate overnight and therr is no nwed for bbq sauce on a proper seasoned jerk chicken

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 24th, 2013, 9:52 am

Doubles ????

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 24th, 2013, 11:17 am

I've yet to make the perfect doubles channa.
Frick the barra, I could eat a bowl of channa.

I understand that it's not chunkayed, but boiled down with a little curry added on top, but no chance to experiment with that just yet.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » August 24th, 2013, 11:39 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I've yet to make the perfect doubles channa.
Frick the barra, I could eat a bowl of channa.

I understand that it's not chunkayed, but boiled down with a little curry added on top, but no chance to experiment with that just yet.

Boil until soft. Then add some green seasoning and geera to taste. No curry. Lots of chive and shadow benni in d seasoning

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2013, 8:21 pm

Pork Belly acquired, looking to start prep Saturday night
20130830_183154.jpg

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 31st, 2013, 11:56 am

^^ nice

Racegod

Postby Racegod » August 31st, 2013, 11:22 pm

Buffalo wings easy...

Cut wings into sections, throw away the tip.

Season with salt, black pepper, and franks hot sauce. Dredge in plain white flour.
Foil line a baking tray and oil it good. Preheat oven to 400.
Place wings on tray and spray with oil.

Bake for 15 to 20 mins, then flip and bake for another 15 to 20 until done.

The sauce now.

Butter, Franks Hot Sauce, Worchestershire Sauce, Garlic, White Vinegar, Brown Sugar.

Optional: additional pepper or pepper sauce. BBQ sauce or ketchup to add another flavor profile.

Combine in a sauce pan over medium heat until well combined.

Toss wings in sauce until coated. If too wet place back into the oven to dry out a little.
Franks Hot Sauce cannot be replaced by regular pepper sauce. It can be found in Hi Lo most of the time. This wing recipe can be used as a base for most wing recipes. You can change the sauce type to make BBQ wings, sweet n sour wings, etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 1st, 2013, 7:49 am

Was tired last night, had a whole day of home projects running.
Quick and easy!

Black Mushroom Chicken

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2013, 8:18 am

Cripsy Pork Belly prep yesterday
Dunked them for 2 mins in a pot of boiling, this tightens up the skin.
20130831_191946.jpg

Skin has to be poked with a needle or ice pick plenty and then salted to take out the moisture. I did this twice, wiping off the wet salt.
20130831_192639.jpg

Seasoning, salt, 5 spice powder, bean sauce, garlic all rubbed on the underside,
I put some cuts in one direction also. Do not allow seasoning on skin as it will burn.
btw bean sauce is not black bean sauce.
20130831_193623.jpg

20130831_194342.jpg

Seasoned and left to dry in fridge overnight.
The skin should be as dry as possible, those creases might be a problem as they wont be as dry and oil will pool there.
20130831_213440.jpg

I am going to test out using my turbo oven with one of them and the other in regular oven.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 1st, 2013, 8:21 am

LUNCH@PUGBOYS!!!!!!!

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2013, 1:25 pm

I put one piece in the regular oven at 375f and the other in the turbo oven at 300f
20130901_103934.jpg

20130901_112405.jpg

I forgot to skewer the piece that went in the turbo oven
it should be skewered so that the skin is curved so no oil will collect
otherwise that area will stay soft and not crisp up.

There was no comparison with the turbo oven, after 40mins the turbo oven piece started to crisp up whilst the regular oven was barely cooking. Finished it as 350 for final crisp.

I ended up taking the piece from the oven and putting it in the turbo oven.
20130901_131217.jpg

Turbo oven plenty better, regular oven you run risk of burning easier.
20130901_131103.jpg

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 1st, 2013, 7:16 pm

^^ nice I will try this fuh sure.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 1st, 2013, 7:17 pm

Looks great. Will definitely try.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 2nd, 2013, 10:37 am

pugboy wrote:I put one piece in the regular oven at 375f and the other in the turbo oven at 300f
20130901_103934.jpg

20130901_112405.jpg

I forgot to skewer the piece that went in the turbo oven
it should be skewered so that the skin is curved so no oil will collect
otherwise that area will stay soft and not crisp up.

There was no comparison with the turbo oven, after 40mins the turbo oven piece started to crisp up whilst the regular oven was barely cooking. Finished it as 350 for final crisp.

I ended up taking the piece from the oven and putting it in the turbo oven.
20130901_131217.jpg

Turbo oven plenty better, regular oven you run risk of burning easier.

man u making my mouth water with that... awesome!

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 8th, 2013, 9:25 am

Roast pork today ?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 8th, 2013, 9:36 am

dat looking rell good

buh turbo oven is a clothes dryer?

playerskrew