Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2012, 3:55 pm

AllTrac wrote:btw, this weekend I made some chicken burgers using some grounded up chicken breast i tore up in the magic bullet. Added one egg to it,, cut up some mushrooms, green pepper, jalapenos, onion and garlic, dashed some seasoning in there. Mixed it all up and fried it in 2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Was extremely fulling without the guilt.

trac....were the burgers tender?...
cause i've tried using minced chicken a few times to make burgers and they all failed...they were really hard!!

my next attempt would have been to add some thigh or leg meat into the mix

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 28th, 2012, 6:46 pm

^^^you use the egg in the mix? that helps keep it moist..

btw Trac you better start packaging and ting bwoy..... Tracburger....

1UZFE and Trini Hookah I honestly don't know how y'all could go without the meat.....because I don't do the flour, rice, pasta, it's really hard to get that full feeling with just beans or cheese on my cabbage or lettuce....

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 28th, 2012, 6:51 pm

I promised Trac i'd post but I forgot you can get alot of nice healthy breads from Peche Patisserie, wide variety and Khalil is very conscious of what he puts into his products, I believe Trac tried em out over the weekend :) They're in Picton Street Woodbrook, and also in Lange Park

Postby Trini Hookah » May 28th, 2012, 6:56 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:1UZFE and Trini Hookah I honestly don't know how y'all could go without the meat.....because I don't do the flour, rice, pasta, it's really hard to get that full feeling with just beans or cheese on my cabbage or lettuce....

A purge of sorts Vega, you really feel the difference during and after meng.

Postby AllTrac » May 28th, 2012, 8:10 pm

Rampy, that is a fact, when you cut out all those chemicals from your body your skin clears up, ives seen it with my skin also. Try cutting out the gluten and hydrogenated oils from your diet for one month (white rice, roti, flour, pasty, pastries) and tell me if you notice a vast improvement in your skin health and overrall alertness and responsiveness. I definitely have, going in 3 months now without it, wont go back. The last "bad" thing i drink in my diet was coke zero, im slowly phasing it out, cant continue to add phosphoric acid to my body, i use to drink it pretty often, was killing myself slowly.

X, the egg helps, i also bought this Marinara sauce in xtra foods, its kindda pricey at $35 but it helped with adding a nice taste and making the burger moist. Remember i dont eat bread so i just had the burger, added the sauce on top of it, cut up some tomato slices and some lettuce, plus frying it in the olive oil didnt dry it out.
But check out the marinara sauce, its from Walden farms, no carbs, no sugar, no calories, no fat, no gluten, no cholesterol and it tasted really good with the burger. Good stuff.

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2012, 10:30 pm

2 of the best items u could buy
the hand held blender works well for drinks with little clean up as i can blend it in the same glass i drinking it in

and the scale lets u know what the 37g of sugar in a coke or the 42g in a fruta looks like in addition to other things

Postby 1UZFE » May 29th, 2012, 7:04 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:1UZFE and Trini Hookah I honestly don't know how y'all could go without the meat.....because I don't do the flour, rice, pasta, it's really hard to get that full feeling with just beans or cheese on my cabbage or lettuce....

A purge of sorts Vega, you really feel the difference during and after meng.

^^^this!!!
@Vega at times its seems to be difficult but u get use to it after a while. What supprised me the most was the change in body odour (not that i use to smell bad) and the change in you whole digestive system also i get less acid reflux. I will indulge in a piece of fish at times but the no "meat" really makes you feel better physically...
Vega u can try adding the Kiss whole grain bread (one with the flakes on top)to your diet to full u up. This has some wheat and fiber which also aids in weight loss. I usually have two slices of whole grain bread with some low sugar jelly and an apple or a banana for breakfast.

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2012, 8:54 am

One day on that no meat thing....
Sorry but I'm a meat mouth

I'm looking for an interval training routine - for cardio mainly
I'm currently just getting back into the gym,the initial goal being to get in the habit of exercising.
3days a week.
I begin with clean and press and a squat press(barbell behind the neck) for a total of 10 sets and then a circuit of chest,shoulders,back,biceps triceps
Repeat 3 times with Light weight.

The intervals I want to do on the off days,to get the cardio going.

Thanks

Later

icefox

Postby icefox » May 29th, 2012, 2:37 pm

Hey peeps quick question, wen thirsty during d day, Wat do u all recomend drinking is juice like minute maid an fruita good 2 drink or are d sugared up like soft drink, I drink more Dan enough water but at times u need something wit taste, or u recommend carrying around a protein shake

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 29th, 2012, 4:02 pm

icefox wrote:Hey peeps quick question, wen thirsty during d day, Wat do u all recomend drinking is juice like minute maid an fruita good 2 drink or are d sugared up like soft drink, I drink more Dan enough water but at times u need something wit taste, or u recommend carrying around a protein shake

I'm not sure what's readily available in Trinidad, but you can try organically/freshly squeezed juices. Check out some health food stores in the area that may have these readily available:

http://trinichow.com/category/retailers ... od-stores/

If you have to go to your local mart or supermarket, check the sugar content. Remember, 4.2 grams of sugar = ~16 calories. The more grams of sugar in your juice per serving size, the more calories you're racking up. Check those nutritional labels!

As for me, to "spice" up my water, I add squeezed lemons to make lemon water. I live on this daily. Lemons are also a great alkalinizing fruit. Your body will thank you.

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2012, 4:42 pm

if you want to do interval training
you can't beat the electronic gym bikes
not the spinn class ones

the modern ones can tell you how much watts/horsepower
you putting out so you can know what level to do your intervals at and know exactly how much calories you are burning and they also have built in heart rate monitors

best thing about bikes too is you can ride until you ready to collapse but once off the bike its normal, no knee or leg muscles hurting like in running

Redman wrote:One day on that no meat thing....
Sorry but I'm a meat mouth

I'm looking for an interval training routine - for cardio mainly
I'm currently just getting back into the gym,the initial goal being to get in the habit of exercising.
3days a week.
I begin with clean and press and a squat press(barbell behind the neck) for a total of 10 sets and then a circuit of chest,shoulders,back,biceps triceps
Repeat 3 times with Light weight.

The intervals I want to do on the off days,to get the cardio going.

Thanks

Later

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 29th, 2012, 4:50 pm

For those bread lovers looking for a healthier option :D :

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 29th, 2012, 6:56 pm

1UZFE and Trini Hookah, I just came off of a no meat fast from mid March (for a puja).....yes I do not dispute the feeling of lightness etc that you both state....and to be honest I find myself, having just broken my fast a couple days ago, not really wanting the quantity of meat that I ate pre-puja fast....but I still need to have a little bit of something like one half of a boiled egg or a bit of tuna or a strip or two of chicken breast (NOT a breast or two eh...a piece of the breast) with every meal.....however my meals are not that many and a meal time would be often substituted with a very small handful of a seed mixture....I don't do breakfast because I don't feel hungry until 10 am or so....and then I have some of my unsweetened green tea/chai tea & coffee mixture with water.....that curbs the appetite and I keep moving to keep the burn going....

Some may say that I doing crap but the sheit is working for me......

Postby AllTrac » May 29th, 2012, 7:07 pm

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 29th, 2012, 7:12 pm

^^^you bun de ting fuh meh?

Postby AllTrac » May 29th, 2012, 7:17 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^you bun de ting fuh meh?

just 4 more to burn, is 12 all together, i hadda go out and get a fresh pack of blanks, doing a copy for others also

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 29th, 2012, 7:19 pm

^^^dais meh darlin'.....let me know when yuh ready and I'll organise up yuh blanks for you.....

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 29th, 2012, 8:44 pm

vasha veggie patties have gluten in it, got a brand called donald lee (I think) from pricefart...

Postby AllTrac » May 29th, 2012, 9:10 pm

Soundwave wrote:vasha veggie patties have gluten in it, got a brand called donald lee (I think) from pricefart...

price?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 29th, 2012, 9:25 pm

$110 if I remember correctly, 12 in the container, excellent stuff...

Postby Trini Hookah » May 29th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Just downed some Low-Fat Unsweetened yogurt Gf got me to make smoothies, but me with my fass self wanted to try it :sick:

$22 for 4 cups.

icefox

Postby icefox » May 29th, 2012, 9:54 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
icefox wrote:Hey peeps quick question, wen thirsty during d day, Wat do u all recomend drinking is juice like minute maid an fruita good 2 drink or are d sugared up like soft drink, I drink more Dan enough water but at times u need something wit taste, or u recommend carrying around a protein shake

I'm not sure what's readily available in Trinidad, but you can try organically/freshly squeezed juices. Check out some health food stores in the area that may have these readily available:

http://trinichow.com/category/retailers ... od-stores/

If you have to go to your local mart or supermarket, check the sugar content. Remember, 4.2 grams of sugar = ~16 calories. The more grams of sugar in your juice per serving size, the more calories you're racking up. Check those nutritional labels!

As for me, to "spice" up my water, I add squeezed lemons to make lemon water. I live on this daily. Lemons are also a great alkalinizing fruit. Your body will thank you.

Hey tanks man, I passing by most of dese places on a daily basis an ain't even realize its all rite under my nose

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 30th, 2012, 1:44 am

Soundwave wrote:$110 if I remember correctly, 12 in the container, excellent stuff...

almost.....it's around $130 for 14 HUGE patties.....one patty can easily serve two sandwiches.....and the patties are really good.....survived my no meat/puja fasting using these.....

DonLee Farms

oh and the container makes a nice storage box for lego when yuh done.....

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 30th, 2012, 7:43 am

yah, that's the stuff, they are huge, and quite tasty...

icefox

Postby icefox » May 30th, 2012, 11:22 am

is dere a limit to how much protein shake u can drink during a 24 hr period

Postby AllTrac » May 30th, 2012, 11:35 am

icefox wrote:is dere a limit to how much protein shake u can drink during a 24 hr period

how much are you drinking per day? what are your goals? to lose weight or are you trying to build muscle? if you are trying to do both, then forget it, try losing the weight first then see what you are working with then start a muscle building program.

I use my protein shake as a post workout drink within an hour right after, as the milk plus banana has loads of carbs then there is the insulin spike, once i use it then my body uses up the carbs instantly and it doesnt spike my insulin to go into fat storage mode.

Other time when i use it as a mean replace men or as a mid morning snack/meal i make it with just warm water and 1table spoon of peanut butter, dont want the additional carbs and sugars from the milk and banana.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2012, 12:03 pm

drink too much and you will evacuate the building

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 30th, 2012, 12:30 pm

if you're training to put on muscle/size then you'll have to multiply your weight x 1.5g...example if you weigh 155, then the total amount of protein per day, spaced out into 6 meals would be around 233g of protein split into 6 meals would be around 39g per meal...if it's maintainence then i'd do my bodyweight divided by 6..

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 30th, 2012, 12:34 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
Soundwave wrote:$110 if I remember correctly, 12 in the container, excellent stuff...

almost.....it's around $130 for 14 HUGE patties.....one patty can easily serve two sandwiches.....and the patties are really good.....survived my no meat/puja fasting using these.....

DonLee Farms

oh and the container makes a nice storage box for lego when yuh done.....

These r incredibly yum for vege patties!

Postby AllTrac » May 30th, 2012, 12:57 pm

nice, will try this and if its as tasty as you guys say ill make it my wednesday meal