Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Buh say wha is sweet tnt wee, this already oldnews

Postby X2 » February 17th, 2012, 10:22 pm

The contractors you speak of are who are owed for housing by the HDC right? Well I too was there protesting with them

Don't figure you know the whole story because you've read one chapter.

I don't dine on fowl. I asked about local gas sales, not where we oil going. I would hazard a guess that the vast majority of gas sold is locally produced, but if you dunno, someone does. Either way, Chavez will gladly sell us cheap gas... and remember there is always foreign investment on home soil. But that's not the point, cuz no one is looking to take down petrotrin... it's a massive contributor to our economy. Increasing the salaries of employees with it's recent history and current financial status is not logical. Call it what you want (just don't call it an internal bailout), money shelling while many people go unpaid for their work already completed... no increase requested. But gas cheap and people happy... diversification be damned ! :D

villain

Postby villain » February 17th, 2012, 10:56 pm

MadCrix wrote:
man let them gripe all they want...they want to be the only ones who can afford ah evo (as a toy) or want to have things and see other people struggling to feel good about themselves...i happy with what i get ,to hell them,they could bump they mouth from now till Jesus come again...lol

now see yute man you take a direct stab at me there so lemme clear that up for you.
the fact that i own an evo seems to bother you, but maybe unlike you i worked my ass off at school, studied and did well, i specialised in my field, whilst working for a measly 3000 a month for several years. i paid for all my schooling myself. so maybe, just maybe what i reap is what i sow for many year before.

so instead of pointing fingers and lookign at me, get qualified and specialised and you go get where you want to go.

Disclaimer: not all petrotrin workers are like this eh one of my best friends is a petrotrin worker

this free for all mentality you all have is ridiculous wee

well i taking a stab back at you...you were lumping all petrotrin workers in your sentences(before yuh backpeddle in the end)...see how stupid it sounds...i went to utt and uwi...but decided that i rather work than be a forever student...so tone take down yuh high and mighty "im more educated than you argument"...i see many people present facts for you,but no matter what they say,it seems you have a chip on your shoulder....
facts...everybody else getting upgrades in there salary...petrotrin workers deserve their own too
why you dont complain and nit grit about the other companies that have their huge bonuses that is given to their employees

petrotrin owed the workers money from since 2008 and up to now refuse to pay it

it is the mangers and upper management that sinking petrotrin into the ground with their gross mismanagement and disregard for legally binding agreements....

you can gripe, complain all you want petrotrin made an agreement, because they thought that the company would never make so much profit and when its time to honor it, they backpeddling....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2012, 11:12 pm

breds i never said i high and mighty. so catch yuhself

my points are teh strike for more money is flawed

i woudl support you 100% if you were striking for

1: monies owed due to profit sharing
2: a performance appraisal system that is implemented and fair which would be tied to bonuses. you must work in order to get your bonus.
3: analysis of management salaries to be in keeping with state companies.

now that is a reason to strike. striking to get more money whilst you know that the above 3 reasons will make the company more profitable sets you up for a flawed sense of happiness

i out not wasting my time in this thread anymore.. for the record i work in a state enterprise so i eh see an upgrade in salary since 2007 salary assesment.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 18th, 2012, 6:15 am

pioneer wrote:where can i sign up to be a laborer?

pios yuh looking to do some BullWukk? :mrgreen:

Postby De Dragon » February 18th, 2012, 6:41 am

NXTREME wrote:
pioneer wrote:where can i sign up to be a laborer?

pios yuh looking to do some BullWukk? :mrgreen:

Wey! He too delicate fuh labourin' wukk! He go hadda be ah checka, or ah safety person(notice me eh say man eh!).

neilsingh100

TCL Strike

Postby neilsingh100 » February 28th, 2012, 12:22 am

Just when you thought Petrotrin workers were overpaid.
This company had to restructure its bonds and making a loss.
TCL_Salaries.png

Re: TCL Strike

Postby RBphoto » February 28th, 2012, 7:11 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Just when you thought Petrotrin workers were overpaid.
This company had to restructure its bonds and making a loss.
TCL_Salaries.png

The rates for egineers are just slightly higher than APETT rates and not overly excessive. Those are not high at all. I believe that the general labourer pay is higher because of the more hazardous environment.

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 28th, 2012, 7:28 am

wdmc...i wah be a confidential secretary...

Postby Damien » February 28th, 2012, 8:42 am

the rates kinda high in tcl but the environment and conditions is not easy, tcl is overstaffed office wise, also i think there is only one general labourer eh

villain

Postby villain » February 28th, 2012, 11:43 am

and notice tcl striking and nobody come out to say ohhh they destabilizing the country and blah blah... ent look a general labourer getting more than a level 1 engineer at petrotrin....but from the time petro want more money people come out from the shadows..."oh they overpaid..blah blah blah.." lol

Postby pete » February 28th, 2012, 4:24 pm

But.. they're NOT destabilizing the country! Petrotrin threatens to go on strike and EVERYONE rushes to the gas station causing traffic and strain on the existing fuel delivery system. They know this and use it to their advantage.

Cement is hardly as critical as gasoline and diesel.

villain

Postby villain » February 28th, 2012, 11:05 pm

aye petrotrin never tell people to go rush for gas....look in the north, nobody doh study that...lines normal from start to finish...is only in south, when people see their needle move from f they running to the gas station...although i admit it does help alot when there is a strike,but that is not where the real problem is....when the plants shut down,it costs near millions a day in losses,then it takes a while to start back up these plants...

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 29th, 2012, 7:34 am

^^But wasn't 75% or more of the refinery already down prior to the shutdown? For FCCU upgrade or whatnot?

Plus the company had already purchased some supplies of foreign gasoline to supply the local market, since most of it's gasoline producing plants were down?

Anyway, that's a dead issue now.

TCL salaries = :shock:

Postby RBphoto » February 29th, 2012, 7:54 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:wdmc...i wah be a confidential secretary...

You won't get that bhai..................

That is how much you need to pay a woman to keep her mouth shut.

Postby 1UZFE » February 29th, 2012, 7:56 am

crossdrilled wrote:

Probably how much to keep her legs open :twisted:

Postby RBphoto » February 29th, 2012, 8:01 am

1UZFE wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

Probably how much to keep her legs open :twisted:

I am sure that would cost less :|

Postby Team Loco » February 29th, 2012, 8:35 am

TCL strike is like monkey see monkey do. What a waste

Postby RBphoto » February 29th, 2012, 9:26 am

Team Loco wrote:TCL strike is like monkey see monkey do. What a waste

Not really. It is called striking while the iron is hot. When there is oportunity to make a change, you need to take advantage of it. The current labour climate favours the unions. It would not be proudent of them to let their current advantage go without a fight for the most they can get out of management.

Postby Redman » February 29th, 2012, 9:23 pm

I believe the day that the unions became OVERTLY involved in politics was the beginning of the end.
We now have the unions exacting their pound of flesh and I have to ask whether they are representing the workers in their substantive fight or whether they grinding their political axe.
We the population will never know

In the busines Express today an article mentioned that Petrotrin produces 30 barrels per employee while other comparative compaies are producing 300 barrels per employee.

So in Trinidad we raising salaries of the workers that are 10% as productive as workers in other countries.

Sweet too bad yes.

Later

Postby sMASH » March 1st, 2012, 7:39 am

as de dragon rightly said, the companies need to ENFORCE a comprehensive assessment program for each individual employees, to determine the value for salary.

if yuh stickin u get noting, if u perform u get ur dues.

probably, a pay matrix for industrial workers could be formulated by govt or industrial court in conjunction with the unions and companies.

this pay matrix would have the different jobs with the different duties/responsibilities compared to the risks, and u could see what pay bracket the worker should fall into. there would be different matrices for varying duration of tenures. this would be reviewed every 5/6yrs to make adjustments due to cost of living, inflation etc.
a company could pay a worker more than what the matrix suggests, but it should not pay less, just like the minimum wage set out by the govt. (this is just minimum wage concept but with stratification according to type of work, longevity of tenure, risk)

this is so that workers can know when they are being underpaid compared to the industrial norm, or when they are being paid well so that they should realize that industrial action is unwarranted and unfair.

but if a company cannot afford to pay according to the matrix they would not need to. if the matter reaches the level of the industrial court, they simply need present a compelling enough case, with the relevant accounting.
at this level, if they see that the top cats are siphoning too much money in the form of gross bonuses and ridiculous salaries like the car companies in america or locally like clico, then the industrial court would have to buss dem up. probably a special accounting auditing special unit could be set up.

villain

Postby villain » March 1st, 2012, 9:13 am

all well and fine,but the industrial courts take too long to make any sort of decision....hence why unions and employees prefer to strike to get an immediate response....could you imagine having to wait 5-7 years fro a judgement on an issue?...all this time the company might close down,you get fired,you dead....and you get nothing....i believe if this issue is addressed,you mightn't see some much protests or strikes...

Postby noshownogo » March 1st, 2012, 9:18 am

Performance Reviews for all Government workers and Unionized members, watch how man go jump off bandwagon when they realise they have to prove their worth.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » March 5th, 2012, 9:31 am

is petrotrin on strike again?
Passed there this morning and saw protesters at the gates

Postby RBphoto » March 5th, 2012, 10:15 am

Redman wrote:I believe the day that the unions became OVERTLY involved in politics was the beginning of the end.

Not really.

Well, they don't know how to manage it well enough. They want to pull out now and break from the partnership... probably a good thing. They were supposed to use their position to lobby better conditions for the workers, better HSSE laws, increase minimum wage, bring laws to combat discrimination and unfair work practices. They are myopic and can only see their position as money tree shakers. Their all or nothing approach is not how politics works.

Petrotrin ah beat up this morning. OWTU out in force by the refinery gate on the highway. One settafracking traffic this morning :x

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 5th, 2012, 10:59 am

Update on petrotrin?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » March 5th, 2012, 11:52 am

supposedly it's now a contractor strike at petrotrin

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 5th, 2012, 11:55 am

Tks man

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » March 5th, 2012, 2:19 pm

yup saw them this morning, seems to be a contractor working for samsungg.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » March 5th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Dae Sung employees (local) striking. They are a Korean company that works for Samsung.