Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2010, 7:31 pm

using HTC Hero last few days with Villainrom
Android is better than over hyped iphone

Postby janfar » October 13th, 2010, 4:15 am

So i will be passing thru NYC in 2 weeks... which is the best unit I can pick up there... I aint too versed in the Android thing as yet, but I will get there...

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 13th, 2010, 10:10 am

sigh........

hope it na already posted

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 13th, 2010, 8:08 pm

janfar wrote:So i will be passing thru NYC in 2 weeks... which is the best unit I can pick up there... I aint too versed in the Android thing as yet, but I will get there...

best option right now is one of the Samsung Galaxy S phones.

the HTC Desire HD and the Droid 2 World edition coming out soon though

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » October 13th, 2010, 11:58 pm

So i did some mods to my phone to see how long i can get the battery to last without a toll on performance.

So far a day has passed and the battery is still over 90% this is with texting, work calls and browsing xda-developers.

I'll report how long it lasts and post a screenshot of the battery usage if i don't decide to flash it soon, as two new Froyo firmwares came out today(very close to final release).

Postby janfar » October 14th, 2010, 2:47 am

mitch... but ent that coming out end of first quarter next year. I was looking at the HD2 or the Aria...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 14th, 2010, 6:52 am

janfar wrote:mitch... but ent that coming out end of first quarter next year. I was looking at the HD2 or the Aria...

the Desire HD will be available in Europe sometime this month. not sure about its availability in the states.

and not sure about when we'll see the Droid 2 WE either since no official announcement was made yet.

the HD2? that's a WinMo phone. unless ur planning to flash Android onto it?

the Aria is a good choice too but i suggested the Galaxy S phones as they're more recent and is probably more likely to get Android OS updates than the Aria...

Postby pugboy » October 14th, 2010, 7:33 am

anybody know where I can get another usb cable for my htc hero ?
it appears to be hard to find locally, it is similar to miniusb but only one corner is rounded

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » October 14th, 2010, 3:38 pm

nah iz the normal one you need unless u mean headphones. for usb to pc the regular mini usb will fit the curved port.

hai guyz i jus started messin with droid on meh tp2 dual boot with win mo 6.5, Far from a noob with smartphones was on a bb flex fuh d longest while tho.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 16th, 2010, 2:13 pm

Full Angry Birds Game Now Available on Android for Free

It's been a thorn in any Android user's side, but finally the full Angry Birds game is now available on Android phones for free

Although it's free to the Android user, the guys at Rovio won't be living off baked beans and cup-a-soup you'll be pleased to know, as it's ad-supported. That's not a big problem to you guys, is it? Extra Angry Birds levels in exchange for a few adverts?

UPDATE 1: Angry Birds Tears It Up On Android with 1 Million Downloads In One Day

Android users were able to get their first crack at the addictive Angry Birds game this weekend and they're just as crazy for the game as their iPhone counterparts. How crazy? One million downloads in a day crazy. Free helps.

UPDATE 2: Another Million Angry Birds Downloads on Android Means Two Million are Now "Killing Pigs"

After one million downloads in just the first day of release on Android, Rovio has just tweeted that Angry Birds has now racked up two million downloads. Get it for free in the Android Market or on GetJar, now.
Last edited by Swisha on October 18th, 2010, 8:46 am, edited 2 times in total.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » October 16th, 2010, 2:50 pm

k so i jes reset a dext and now it askin fuh sim card while at the same time showing i have vmail (sim is in phone) and i cant access any menu or icons except to call 911

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » October 16th, 2010, 11:57 pm

hey guys, can any of you all point me to the right direction as to how to convert the hd2 from a winmo to an android cuz this phone gives alot of trouble...

I checked out XDA developers but can't seem to understand the material in there and do all know which android firmware seems to run the smoothest as in getting all the features in the phone to work? thanks

yuriart10

Re:

Postby yuriart10 » October 17th, 2010, 1:22 am

mitch wrote:well i think Android deserves it's own official thread :lol:
(Nexus One ftw :twisted: )

to start it off, check out this demo:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bOGmnnGpoqg&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

http://gizmodo.com/5472134/if-android-w ... -look-like

I also think so.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » October 17th, 2010, 4:27 am

Sounds like a carrier lock issue.

bigga514 wrote:k so i jes reset a dext and now it askin fuh sim card while at the same time showing i have vmail (sim is in phone) and i cant access any menu or icons except to call 911

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » October 18th, 2010, 1:47 am

Wolfie wrote:Sounds like a carrier lock issue.

bigga514 wrote:k so i jes reset a dext and now it askin fuh sim card while at the same time showing i have vmail (sim is in phone) and i cant access any menu or icons except to call 911

yer that self the sim wasn't allowed on network(not even roaming).

@acmilan11 its just a simple .cab file you put on your sd card run winmobile as normal use file explorer to go to sd card find android.cab install then once complete and you do a battery pull go back to winmo and look for the android app. it wont replace winmo but its nice to have encase winmo custom roms aren't doing it for u, i have the droid boot-loader on my tp2 but i prefer a custom rom all things considered doing the droid on winmobile hack described here.

im on xda same name pm me if u need a hand there.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2010, 8:48 am

HTC Goes Off-Piste With Forest Green Gratia Android Phone

Have you ever seen an Android like this before? Unfortunately it's only destined for Europe, and while the specs aren't quite as high as HTC's recent Androids, it's running Froyo and comes in three delicious colors.

Really, it's no contest though—that forest green is just too nice for words. I'd love to see them roll that colorway out across some of their other models, like the Desire range, if possible.

The Gratia has a 3.2-inch 320 x 480 display, and will include a 600Mhz processor, 512MB ROM and 384MB RAM, and has a 5MP camera on the back, with a VGA cam lurking on the front there. It's got all the usual features too, such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, a g-sensor, digital compass, proximity sensor, ambient light sensor, and microSD card slot. It weighs 115 grams, and measures 103.8 x 57.7 x 11.7 mm. It'll be on sale in November, across Europe.

http://goo.gl/U9fg

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2010, 6:56 pm

Gingerbread Leak: Android's Excellent New Skin Job Will Add Video Chat and Wi-Fi Calling Too

Some of the first concrete details about Android 3.0 Gingerbread are pretty goddamn exciting. It's a smoother, faster, better Android—potentially with built-in video chat and Google Voice Wi-Fi calling.

Here's what Phandroid details, alongside the worst leaked picture in history. Imagine a lot of the aesthetic and UI improvements in Android 2.2, taken to the next level:

• Most of the icons are redesigned and cleaner.
• The notifications bar is more grey, with a look not unlike TouchWiz's taskbar.
• The whole interface looks more unified with green becoming the most prominent color. The included Google apps will feel more integrated with the OS as well.
• Lists now bounce when you hit the bottom or top, like iOS or Windows Phone, but with an orange glow at the boundary too.
• They're working on implementing video chat using the same protocols as Google Talk, though it might not make it into Gingerbread. (This would be great, because it'd be a legit competitor to FaceTime, especially since it'd cross the desktop boundary.)
• They're also working on VoIP calls to Google Voice over cellular data and Wi-Fi

This is all pretty much exactly what Android needs to be competitive with iOS and Windows Phone 7, though we'd sure like to see the launch of some the features Google demod at I/O as well, like Google Music. Fortunately, there's likely more to be seen. Check out Phandriod's full account. [Exclusive] First Android Gingerbread Details

http://goo.gl/e9Yx

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » October 18th, 2010, 7:36 pm

awesome i need more gingerbread infos :D

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 20th, 2010, 12:06 am

Yahoo Messenger With Video Calling Plucked From Leaked Android ROM

Not content to wait until it went official, an industrious Android user carved Yahoo's forthcoming Yahoo Messenger app out of a MyTouch ROM that leaked yesterday. It can do video calling over WiFi and 3G no sweat.

http://goo.gl/4ajf

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 20th, 2010, 12:08 am

Google's Andy Rubin Takes a Pop at Steve Jobs on Twitter in Nerd Language

Android head Andy Rubin must've been pretty riled up by Steve Jobs' comments yesterday about the openness of Android, because he finally sent his first tweet, which you can see above. What does it mean? Why, it's Android.

TechCrunch has confirmed with a few various people that it is actually Andy Rubin's Twitter account, and while he's only following one account (fellow Googler @Rie_R), he quickly amassed the followers, jumping from around 100 to over 2,000 in just four hours after sending the tweet.

http://goo.gl/NLjA

achillies

Google's new youtube app

Postby achillies » October 20th, 2010, 8:47 pm

hey any of your guys download the new youtube app, it hawt

achillies

Postby achillies » October 20th, 2010, 8:49 pm

tr1ad wrote:any of you all use pingchat?

i have the pingchat installed, but i find it 's too slow, i love the WhatsApp, its alot better than the pinchat imho

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » October 22nd, 2010, 11:37 am

I haven't had the chance to test out the new Vlingo In Car app because i was too busy messing around with my kernel and firmware.

Anyway i gave it a go and it's pretty amazing.

An excellent feature of this app is that you don't have to touch the phone ever, instead you can speak the wake up phrase and then tell the phone to call, text, whatever. You can tell that the phone woke up from the red eye icon in the top right hand side of the screen.

The built in TTS engine is in my opinion better than Pico TTS (which is already pretty good).

Safereader is also there to announce any incoming calls, notifications, messages, emails etc.

If you have a BT headset,deck or other hands-free device this app is a must have companion for driving.

It even turns itself on automatically when it detects a successful BT pair.

screen.jpg
screen.jpg (18.94 KiB) Viewed 4109 times

chart.png
chart.png (908 Bytes) Viewed 4109 times

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:36 pm

the Gingerbread Man cometh!

Google catches giant Gingerbread man, mounts on front lawn (video)

Cupcake, donut, eclair, froyo. That's not just a list of Android iterations, it's also an inventory of all the giant decorations (along with a large green robot) that cover the GooglePlex lawn. And today marks the introduction of a large gingerbread man. Historically, such tasty statues have been in honor of its related milestone's completion, so we're wagering that Android 3.0 (or is it 2.3?) will be officially unveiled in the very short future.

http://goo.gl/1vhI

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:40 pm

Winamp comes to Android, one of our childhood dreams is realized

Here's a blast from the past: Winamp, that mainstay media player of college dorms and LAN parties since time immemorial (er, 1997 or so) has made the leap from PC to handset with the release of Winamp for Android. This bad boy is available for Android 2.1 and up, and features a playback widget for the Android desktop and Last.fm integration. But that ain't all! If you install Winamp 5.59 beta on your PC, you can sync and manage your libraries via USB or WiFI. Pretty sweet! We only have one questions, really: will it still whip the llama's ass? Check out the QR code after the break (or search the Android Market) for the mobile app. Winamp 5.59 beta is available in the Winamp forums (More Coverage link, below).

Winamp Blog

http://goo.gl/7r7N

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:43 pm

Acer's Liquid Metal spotted in the wild, chilling with two mystery friends

The last we heard about Acer's Liquid Metal smartphone, an Android 2.2 unit with a 3.6-inch display and a lovely aluminum exterior, it was getting ready for a UK launch at the end of October. There's just a little over a week left to meet that date, and all we have to show are some decidedly unofficial photos from Droid Sans. The first pic, above, shows off a very smudged up looking Liquid Metal (or what is said to be a Liquid Metal at least), but after that are photos of two mystery devices. The first of those (pictured below) has the same... distinctively lengthy form factor of the GW990, while the other device is a tablet that we've not laid eyes on before. It looks to be running Android 2.2 (or later) and is said to be "big enough to shift the iPad." We're not sure exactly how to parse that bit of auto-translation, but maybe it's a coded reference to JT Wang's prediction of doom for the iPad's market share.

http://goo.gl/qEb5

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:45 pm

Sony considers incorporating Android into more (as yet unnamed) products

At a Google TV press event in Tokyo recently, Sony TV division head Yoshihisa Ishida told reporters that the company is, indeed, "thinking about using Android in more consumer electronics products." Of course, he didn't say exactly which products, although we do have it on good authority that Sony Ericsson has an Android 3.0 mobile gaming platform in the works -- which probably explains why the PlayStation division is on the lookout for Android developers as well. We'd contact Ishida directly, but our sources tell us he is too busy watching re-runs of Friends on Netflix to take the call.

http://goo.gl/ZgVj

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:50 pm

Samsung Galaxy Player 50 shown off in lengthy ad, already on sale in France

We got a pretty good look at Samsung's Android-based Galaxy Player 50 at IFA last month, but those looking for even more can now get a pretty thorough overview of the device courtesy of a new Samsung ad that runs a full two minutes and forty seconds. What's more, Samsung Hub is reporting that at least one retailer in France is already selling the device, which is basically a Samsung Galaxy phone without the phone. That means you'll get Android 2.1, a decent 3.2-inch screen, a 2 megapixel camera, built-in WiFi and GPS, 8 or 16GB of storage, and a microSD card slot for expansion. Head on past the break for the video, and look for the phone to officially hit other retailers in Europe later this month (still no word on a release over here, unfortunately).

http://goo.gl/hwWy

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2010, 9:53 pm

Barnes & Noble prepping new Nook with full color touchscreen?

Yeah, the Nook already has one color screen, but its primary display is depressingly monochrome. Now there's word on the street, from a reliable source of CNET's, that Barnes & Noble will be bringing a full-color, Android-based, touchscreen Nook to its event next Tuesday. That sure sounds a whole lot like a full fledged Android tablet, which would be quite a departure for Barnes & Noble -- sure, the Nook is Android-based, but it hardly acts like it currently. Still, there's a smell of Android tablets in the air, and it wouldn't be horribly surprising to see B&N move in this direction. CNET's tipster says the device will be called the Nook Color, and retail for $249. That's pretty low for a 7-inch touchscreen LCD device, but perhaps (hopefully) B&N has its eye on an alternative tech like Mirasol or Pixel Qi? Either way, the existing Nook will apparently continue to be sold as a lower-end version, so e-ink aficionados have no need to throw their hands up in despair just yet. Stay tuned!

http://goo.gl/apem