*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 16 cycles » April 23rd, 2010, 8:34 am

russel - my pops looking for one of those oppos...pm location and price you got it for pls?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » April 23rd, 2010, 8:45 am

ru$$ell wrote:
RapToR wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:i probably just made the best or worst decision ever,passed up a PS3 for a OPPO BDP-83,probably the best disc player out right now

:P

worst decision eva

3D blu-ray players are out and more models will be out later this year

should of gotten a ps3

probably not,i was being sarcastic :lol:

had a ps3 fail on me already though,and wanted something with SACD playback,the old ps3's do,the new slim one's dont

3d blu ray player will come in time when i upgrade projector in the HT room to 3d as well

the new ps3 slim runs much cooler

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2010, 8:52 am

Why is it that picture quality on my Samsung 56" plasma is nowhere as sharp as lets say a 36" or 42" no matter how much i adjust the picture quality?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » April 23rd, 2010, 8:56 am

sharkman121 wrote:Why is it that picture quality on my Samsung 56" plasma is nowhere as sharp as lets say a 36" or 42" no matter how much i adjust the picture quality?

which series samsung you got

Postby crazybalhead » April 23rd, 2010, 8:57 am

sharkman121 wrote:Why is it that picture quality on my Samsung 56" plasma is nowhere as sharp as lets say a 36" or 42" no matter how much i adjust the picture quality?

Because at the same resolution a smaller TV will always look sharper

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 23rd, 2010, 9:01 am

16 cycles wrote:russel - my pops looking for one of those oppos...pm location and price you got it for pls?

bought it online,should run you around $4100 or so

Postby sharkman121 » April 23rd, 2010, 9:07 am

crazybalhead wrote:

Because at the same resolution a smaller TV will always look sharper

Yea i kinda thought so... It sux though
cant remember the series offhand.

Wouldve been mind blowing if i was able to get that kinda of clarity on that big of a screen.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 23rd, 2010, 9:22 am

question for you home theater peeps but first here are the stats:
i have a 720p projector and a 1080p tv.
looking to run pc, xbox 360 (HDMI), bluray player (HDMI) and DirecTV HD (HDMI).
i am going to use a receiver (probably the onkyo 608) to link all pieces.

my question is: how can i get 720p to the projector without manually switching the HDMI cable from the tv to the projector? the onkyo receiver would upscale all analog feeds to digital HDMI via the HDMI out but would that also apply for the component video out?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 23rd, 2010, 10:11 am

ado15mk3 wrote:question for you home theater peeps but first here are the stats:

my question is: how can i get 720p to the projector without manually switching the HDMI cable from the tv to the projector? the onkyo receiver would upscale all analog feeds to digital HDMI via the HDMI out but would that also apply for the component video out?

simple,just get a HDMI Splitter box

http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2

or if budget allows,get yourself a Receiver that does dual HDMI outs,like the Pioneer VSX-23TXH

as for the upscaling,it should do it from Component to HDMI,minus audio of course.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 23rd, 2010, 10:20 am

Thanks man.
i see circuit zone has the pioneer VSX-23TXH for $6600 i think
but the reason i like the onkyo is that it has HDMI 1.4a which can handle 3d signals
so i might just get the splitter box.

Would there be any loss in picture quality with the splitter box?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » April 23rd, 2010, 11:11 am

anybody down here selling the NEW Onkyo Amps?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 23rd, 2010, 2:39 pm

i think radioshack has some

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2010, 5:20 pm

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG @ ru$$ell and his OPPO

a PS3 cannot compete with the quality of an OPPO, that is true videophile stuff there.
Of course to appreciate it you need one hell of a home theater setup.

The OPPO may very well get a firmware upgrade to offer 3D as they have done FW upgrades in the past. OPPO is on another level completely.

ado15mk3 wrote:question for you home theater peeps but first here are the stats:

Some receivers have multiple HDMI out. The Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH has 5 HDMI in and 2 HDMI out and operates 3 zones. You can choose which source to pull from and which output you want to use. If you dont plan on getting such an elaborate receiver then the HDMI switch that ru$$ell suggested will work but its "mango tree mechanics" IMO.

keep in mind that your source will send a signal to the receiver and the receiver will send it to the screen regardless of the resolution. i.e. if you have a 1080p source your 720projector will show it at 720, so stating the res in your question is not necessary as it is really not a factor in this case.

also check the receiver. Most modern receivers will not upscale signals they receiver from their HDMI input. They will only upscale analog inputs. The concept is that if you have HDMI plugged into the receiver then that signal is HS and does not need upscaling. Your TV on the other hand may take a 720p signal and upscale it to 1080p, but that is up to your TV.

Depending on the upscaler in your receiver (Anchor Bay, Faroudja etc) it may be better to use that rather than let your TV try to upscale anything as more often the receiver will have a better upscaler.

as far as I know component video will support HD, at least 720p, however I am not sure if the receiver will upscale and output to its analog out. Depends on the receiver.

long story short, if you want all that functionality then buy a receiver that can do it and more so that you can add to your system without having to change the receiver. Remember, your receiver is the heart of your system. especially if you want it 3D ready as that will require HDMI 1.4 with multiple outs

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 23rd, 2010, 5:27 pm

ok update

the Onkyo 608 that you are looking at has 2 zones and a faroudja upscaler
but it is lacking a video out in the 2nd zone

I am not sure about the switchers if they too have to be HDMI 1.4 compatible

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 23rd, 2010, 10:35 pm

^still waiting to see pics of your subtle ht setup :|

drop the effing H-Bomb :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2010, 12:59 pm

^ but I showed you it already - is nutting special.

give us some feedback on that OPPO!!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 25th, 2010, 3:10 pm

^one pic with a bomboclart shelfthingy (which was very impressive) isnt enough :(

do you believe this thing is still in da box? patiently waiting on my center channel

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 2nd, 2010, 10:20 pm

I just connected my Sony Bravia to my DVD and it is not clear / fuzzy and only black and white. The DVD works for all other TVs.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 2nd, 2010, 10:29 pm

TTT

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 2nd, 2010, 11:10 pm

ru$$ell wrote:^one pic with a bomboclart shelfthingy (which was very impressive) isnt enough :(

do you believe this thing is still in da box? patiently waiting on my center channel

when you ready for blu-ray movies check meh

discounts when buying a 5pcs or more

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

:arrow:

Postby sharkman121 » May 3rd, 2010, 12:03 am

jus bought one of these..:wink:

Hauppauge hd pvr

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2010, 12:44 am

^ nice - but you using component?

TheOne wrote:I just connected my Sony Bravia to my DVD and it is not clear / fuzzy and only black and white. The DVD works for all other TVs.

what kind of DVD player is it and how are you connecting it?

Postby sharkman121 » May 3rd, 2010, 1:04 am

Its a Hauppauge HD PVR... (google it)

it connects from ps3 to hdtv to pvr with a usb cable to yr laptop so u can record directly.

software comes with it also so u can edit videos using sony vega 9

Yeh, this does not have an hdmi input, it uses component cables.

I asked this same question when i bought it, because i run my ps3 using hdmi but it is able to record, burn and upload movies from live tv and gameplay from my ps3 in full HD.

480p
720p
1080i
1080p

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2010, 2:07 am

^ I know what it is - I just didn't realise it didn't have HDMI input

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » May 3rd, 2010, 4:03 am

sharkman121 wrote:jus bought one of these..:wink:

Hauppauge hd pvr

:cry: i jealous you now ..i want one!! but i might get the astro a40 headset instead.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 3rd, 2010, 7:12 am

RapToR wrote:
ru$$ell wrote:^one pic with a bomboclart shelfthingy (which was very impressive) isnt enough :(

when you ready for blu-ray movies check meh

discounts when buying a 5pcs or more

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

:arrow:

for sure,your prices are the bombdiggidy :D

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 3rd, 2010, 12:00 pm

TheOne wrote:I just connected my Sony Bravia to my DVD and it is not clear / fuzzy and only black and white. The DVD works for all other TVs.

Its an average toshiba DVD player and I'm using the composite(red, white and yellow) cables to connect it to the TV.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 3rd, 2010, 12:06 pm

TheOne wrote:

Its an average toshiba DVD player and I'm using the composite(red, white and yellow) cables to connect it to the TV.

you need to use an HDMI cable

i had this problem already

buy a blu-ray player

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2010, 12:27 pm

TheOne wrote:

well from what you are saying it seems the composite video (yellow) input on your TV is faulty.

try another device with composite video out, such as FLOW digital cable box, game console or another DVD player and see if that works. Also try different cables.

if you get the same problem then it's the TV's composite video input. :idea:

TheOne

Postby TheOne » May 3rd, 2010, 12:48 pm

TheOne wrote:

well from what you are saying it seems the composite video (yellow) input on your TV is faulty.

try another device with composite video out, such as FLOW digital cable box, game console or another DVD player and see if that works. Also try different cables.

if you get the same problem then it's the TV's composite video input. :idea:

I just tried hooking up a ps2 to TV and the same problem occurs it gives the same image for both DVD viewing and ps2 gaming...So it should be that the yellow input is faulty...

thanks guys..help is appreciated...and I'm glad I'm still under warranty...:d