Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 15th, 2009, 12:20 pm

yeah thas the idel thing quarry stones... but TriniVdub, how deep is it?
it looking small from here & you breeding cichlids in there too?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 15th, 2009, 12:30 pm

^^^na wasn't intentional, it started off with only 2 or 3 cichlids and now they just multiplying. Had a similiar problem when we first got the koi, in the bag had 2 guppies after a couple months they were literally thousands of those lil suckers running around, eventually had to drain the entire pond to get rid of all of them (tossed them in a river).

As for the depth its in layers kinda like steps, on the left side of the pond where the two plants are located in the pic is about 1.5 ft, then from there it drops down to almost 4ft in depth, then back up to another ft or so.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 15th, 2009, 12:34 pm

orr great good dept man... but hear nah.... i'd really like whenever you end up with alot of guppies on your havnd again keep me in mind please i'd like them for feeders... or to even breed over self... thanks. but nice going there you got...wish i had the yard to do something like that...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 15th, 2009, 2:07 pm

if i had only known sooner u woulda have enough guppies to last u a two years :shock: :lol: ...serious talk eh . But i doubt i'll ever have any guppies again as i cleaned out the pond of all them thoroughly. But if i do i'll hit u up

Zim

Postby Zim » June 15th, 2009, 2:11 pm

Nice collection guys, saw some really impressive setups here. Doe laugh at mine eh :oops:

chris600

Postby chris600 » June 15th, 2009, 2:12 pm

TriniVdub.......hoss again da pond rellll sweet, ah does get jealous wen ah come an c it here u know :D

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 16th, 2009, 9:31 am

zim wa yuh worryin about? all yuh need is some more plants.... i may sell mines not too sure, have some tetras, but not sure wat ah wanna do as yet with that tank.... i may re-do it but with the same stuff or something not too sure....
thanks TriniVdub...keep me in mind,,,,,

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 16th, 2009, 9:54 am

zim yuh have real plenti potential tho... yuh could do plenti more with tha...but everything comes in due time...

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » June 16th, 2009, 11:31 am

chris600 wrote:any one have an idea how to care for local turtles....these are the wild ones that are found in rivers and ponds,also what we call "koskorob".....emptied a pond 2 do sum cleaning and i didnt wanna cook them so im keepin them in a barrel,but the turtle on a hunger strike o sumtin, right now i feedin them koi sticks..(tetra pond) buh d turtle dont wanna nibble it self :? ...tried chicken ..(cooked and raw)...nuthin....any suggestions??? :roll:

talk to Turtleboy on the Forum about that.

Postby tr1ad » June 16th, 2009, 11:36 am

Zim, dais river guppy or whabeen

Zim

Postby Zim » June 16th, 2009, 12:33 pm

djblademan wrote:zim wa yuh worryin about? all yuh need is some more plants.... i may sell mines not too sure, have some tetras, but not sure wat ah wanna do as yet with that tank.... i may re-do it but with the same stuff or something not too sure....
Thx bro, much appreciated. I catching hell to find good tetras & plants tho :( Ok, update me when yuh decide yo :D

djblademan wrote:zim yuh have real plenti potential tho... yuh could do plenti more with tha...but everything comes in due time...

thanks bro. Agreed, holding strain fuh the while :D

Triad, neither :)

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 16th, 2009, 12:58 pm

buh zim wa tetras yuh want so... i only have a few serpaes & red eyes & couple neons & they are nice tho & ah think a few black neons as well....

wa kind you looking for?

Zim

Postby Zim » June 16th, 2009, 3:31 pm

djblademan wrote:buh zim wa tetras yuh want so... i only have a few serpaes & red eyes & couple neons & they are nice tho & ah think a few black neons as well....

wa kind you looking for?

Ok, here's the "list :lol: :

Rumy Nose
Hatchet fish (dunno if the are tetras or not)
Neons (let me know what u asking for them)
Congo Tetras

What are serapes?

Let me know yuh location and pricing, we'll work something out :D

Postby zoom rader » June 22nd, 2009, 6:30 pm

Ok Koi lovers, I have four large kois for sale sizes are from 16" to 20". Tri, red/black and white/red.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 22nd, 2009, 9:24 pm

Zim, i hav a bucktooth tetra if yuh interested....

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » June 23rd, 2009, 10:17 am

zoom rader wrote:Ok Koi lovers, I have four large kois for sale sizes are from 16" to 20". Tri, red/black and white/red.

some pics would be welcome.

Zim

Postby Zim » June 23rd, 2009, 10:37 am

ryan99tt wrote:Zim, i hav a bucktooth tetra if yuh interested....
PM price (an pic if possible)

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » June 23rd, 2009, 10:53 am

I have a fish question. i have a couple gold fish in a tank 28" * 11" and the water keeps getting brownish after 2 weeks..... i have a normal filtration system with sponge filter, colored stones at the bottom and two fake plants. the tank get a lil glare in the morning, no direct sunlight.

can someone please tell me y the water gets dirty so quickly? i also use the chemical to detoxify the amonia in the water ...

thanks....

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » June 23rd, 2009, 12:14 pm

water gets dirty cuz goldfish are generally very messy fish... their bioload is very high... possibly too high for the sponge filter you have... I'm assuming by sponge filter you are referring to a corner filter (filter floss in a box with some charcoal underneath)...

what i'd recommend is either you get a bigger tank and better filtration or if your wallet does not permit it just upgrade your filtration to a hang on back filter or something...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 23rd, 2009, 12:30 pm

& do yuh reg water cahnge....more weekly than every two weeks... every 4 days if yuh could....

Fellas i still hadda sell off my severums... anybody interested?
& my whole setup with the tank filter & stuff...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 23rd, 2009, 12:36 pm

Rodn3y the best thing is to do what joashmgn said, either upgrade ur filtration system, then your aquarium size. Or if u don't feel like spending the money right now just clean out ur filter every other day. But believe me that gets very tiring after awhile.

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » June 23rd, 2009, 1:05 pm

oh yeah... how cud i forget water changes... its better to do small water changes more frequently than to do large water changes rarely... this ensures that the water chemistry doesn't fluctuate too much... sooo... i think our recommendation would be to

Up your WC schedule... remember this doesn't mean change more water each time!..

Upgrade your filtration system... as TriniVdub said, cleaning it often will be a mofo...

Monitor how much you're feeding them because uneaten food will also contribute to the "brown water" problem you're having... Clear the tank of any uneaten food 5 minutes after feeding...

Also... you could look into purchasing a gravel vacuum that you would use when you are doing your water changes... An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure... the gravel vacuum is about 10 pounds of prevention!..

And ultimately you'd either want to upgrade your tank size or reduce the number of goldfish you've got cuz the above steps do not fix the actual issue... they will just arrest it before it becomes a problem...

anything else I left out guys???

wireless

tetra

Postby wireless » June 23rd, 2009, 3:55 pm

Zim wrote:
djblademan wrote:zim wa yuh worryin about? all yuh need is some more plants.... i may sell mines not too sure, have some tetras, but not sure wat ah wanna do as yet with that tank.... i may re-do it but with the same stuff or something not too sure....
Thx bro, much appreciated. I catching hell to find good tetras & plants tho :( Ok, update me when yuh decide yo :D

djblademan wrote:zim yuh have real plenti potential tho... yuh could do plenti more with tha...but everything comes in due time...

check fishy bizzness dinsely they have a variety of tetras and plants

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » June 23rd, 2009, 11:12 pm

ok will look into the "hang on the back system" i usually use a hose and suck out 1/3 of the water from the bottom of the tank every Saturday and then fill it back up.

i now start to keep fish... hope to get a bigger tank soon with 3 stage filtration system... nyways tanks for the replys.....

Zim

Re: tetra

Postby Zim » June 23rd, 2009, 11:28 pm

wireless wrote:
Zim wrote:

check fishy bizzness dinsely they have a variety of tetras and plants
:lol: :lol: Abourt 90%of my curent fish came from him. Very good place & great businessman. Last time I went he hardly had tho. I'll try to make a pass up there soon, right now transportation is an issue :oops:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 26th, 2009, 11:02 pm

yea fish peeps....went chai's today an got sum peacock bass....saw dat dey had sum huge clown knife fish too....other dan dat nuttin much...o an sum plecos....

djblademan

Postby djblademan » June 27th, 2009, 9:31 pm

Chais really sissappointed me last week... not to sure i'll share the expirenece, if you guy ask well i would but they realy let me down, esp Donna!

by the way Ryantt i have the Jack Dempsey for you still eh it by meh padnah i UWi there, dropped it today.
The package i had up, sold today...i basically spent whole day settin up the entire thing for him... it looks ok till the water is settled & stuff, for the mean while Fisherrs.... I have these up for sale & need to sell them asap!:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=253233

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 27th, 2009, 9:59 pm

djblademan, wat chai's do u so badd dred?

Postby UML » June 27th, 2009, 11:30 pm

allyuh doh find when u go Chai..dey not very helpful....that they does move like u is a burden to them and that they usually give u the smallest fish in the tank????

i try not to buy there...prefer paying more and getting better service

:wink:

Postby UML » June 27th, 2009, 11:35 pm

WTG. small clown knife fish and blackghosts

where can i get these guys?