The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » November 6th, 2010, 9:58 am

Bezman wrote:
M_2NR wrote:hoss.. no eh... no.. :| yuh not n00b.

then happy times with redsn0w are on the way

gl bud and remember.. turn on yuh whatsapp :|

lol i turn on what's app and i feel like i have a blackberry with all the messages, i good ;)

talking about BB, i might just have to jump over :cry: thanks to digicel.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » November 6th, 2010, 10:18 am

where do you guys get free games to install on an ipod touch 3rd generation? only on itunes? im new to this so thats why im asking, thanks.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 7th, 2010, 9:45 am

You can now watch live TV streams for free on your iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad.

FimOn is a free, high-quality TV streaming service that is broadcasting live streams from 25 popular channels including CNN, Bloomberg, NBC, BBC and ITV. Some channels are available in HD.

The best thing about FilmOn is that it does not need an app, you can watch the live TV streams on your iPhone’s mobile Safari browser.

As one would expect, the TV networks are not happy about this free streaming service and has filed a lawsuit against FilmOn.

But BTIG Research notes that:

FilmOn is backed by billionaire Alki David, who believes he is legally operating within existing US copyright law and plans to spend heavily to win his legal battle with the networks.

You can checkout a hands-on with FilmOn on the iPad below:

The quality of the live TV video streams is pretty good with very little lag. To check it out, go to filmon.com on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch.

You can also watch the live TV streams on your computer but need to download software for it.

The service is currently free but FilmOn plans to charge for it in the future. (Damn)

------

The iPhone developer and hacker behind Sn0wbreeze has confirmed that Cydia has started saving SHSH Blobs of iOS 4.2 betas for the next untethered jailbreak on the final version of iOS 4.2.

Now as to why this is important? Geohot’s Limera1n uses a userland exploit from Comex to make an untethered jailbreak for all iOS 4.1 devices. While Apple cant patch the original hardware based Limera1n exploit, the userland exploit though has been patched in the final version of iOS 4.2 firmware.

The next update to Limera1n based iOS 4.2 jailbreak tool will require SHSH blobs for iOS 4.1 for an untethered jailbreak on iOS 4.2. So if you don’t save your SHSH blobs now, you will get tethered jailbreak on iOS 4.2, NOT untethered.

Since Apple hasn’t released iOS 4.2 to public yet, now is the time to save your SHSH blobs to make sure you get an untethered jailbreak once iOS 4.2 is out. Once the public version of iOS 4.2 is released, Apple will stop signing the old firmware, making it impossible for you to save blobs for iOS 4.1.

Postby M_2NR » November 7th, 2010, 12:55 pm

BACKUP YOUR BLOBS NOW!!!! WITH TINY UMBRELLA

http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/

Sully

Postby Sully » November 7th, 2010, 1:00 pm

BlitzMekenzie wrote:where do you guys get free games to install on an ipod touch 3rd generation? only on itunes? im new to this so thats why im asking, thanks.

apptrackr.org

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 7th, 2010, 1:06 pm

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » November 7th, 2010, 9:50 pm

and after you download the game how do you upload it unto the ipoed touch using itunes?? cuz when i sync it nothing comes up..i dont have any games folder or anything like that so i dont know where its gone? well if anyone knows how to put the game unto the pod let me know thanks.

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » November 7th, 2010, 11:45 pm

do you have to jail break the pod to put games on it?? or can it be done without doing that?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 8th, 2010, 8:02 am

The device will have to be jailbroken.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 8th, 2010, 10:22 am

------

Thanks to a new tweak available in the Cydia store called Parallax, you can now enable scrolling/panoramic wallpapers on your jailbroken iPhone.

If you are unaware of what panoramic wallpapers are, they are simply pictures that will scroll as you change pages on your springboard. This is a great feature if you have a wide shot of a family or group or for amazing nature photos.

Unfortunately iPhone 3G/iPod touch G2 (2008) owners are warned to not install this tweak as the developer has said it is fairly memory intensive and could cause those devices to run slower. If you have an iPhone 3GS or an iPhone 4 you can hit up the Cydia store and download Parallax for $1.49.

Check out a video of this tweak in action!

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » November 8th, 2010, 12:26 pm

Guys don't know if this was covered before but, the caller id on my 3gs doesn't always work. sometimes i just get the phone no. or "+1" preceeding the no. instead of the contact's name even though i have that contact saved to my phone.
Eg: "868685****" or "+1868685****"
Jailbroken:4.0.1
Unlocked:ultrasnow
Can anyone shed some light?

Sully

Postby Sully » November 8th, 2010, 1:13 pm

Look for Caller ID Fix in Cydia. That should solve your problem.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 8th, 2010, 1:33 pm

^^^ what he said

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2010, 5:31 pm

i think all new iPhone ppl should have a read..

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/a-beginners-guide-to-an-iphone/

not sure if bez or srasc ever did one for mytriniphone

BTW "trial" version of parallax not working on 3GS and the facetime hack for 3GS on my phone it says waiting for activation :(

see here:
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12661

psychosandre

Postby psychosandre » November 8th, 2010, 5:31 pm

guys can anyone help me out please ,just bought a 3g iphone second hand well it real damanged ,but working ordered the parts to fix it already ,my question is the guy i bought it from told me he had cydia on it cant find it no where on the phone ,do you guys know where i can carry the phone so they can put cydia and some games on for me please ,where they not going to bust my head with price ,called a place in gulfcity they say it going to cost me 500 just so they will put cydia ,so if u guys no of any where else let me kno please thanks guys ,pm with any info

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » November 8th, 2010, 10:55 pm

psychosandre wrote:guys can anyone help me out please ,just bought a 3g iphone second hand well it real damanged ,but working ordered the parts to fix it already ,my question is the guy i bought it from told me he had cydia on it cant find it no where on the phone ,do you guys know where i can carry the phone so they can put cydia and some games on for me please ,where they not going to bust my head with price ,called a place in gulfcity they say it going to cost me 500 just so they will put cydia ,so if u guys no of any where else let me kno please thanks guys ,pm with any info

What firmware?

Just Jailbreak it over again and Cydia will appear

Then go into cydia and add this repo.

http://cydia.hackulo.us

after it updates and adds the repo you can the add installuos.

Also based on your firmware you need to install the app sync.

Then when installed you can go to installuos and download the apps you want....

Its a basic of what you can do

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 9th, 2010, 4:38 pm

ok so i've been away from the iphone scene for a while but i got an iphone4 to unlock today.

gonna read up the tutorials on iclarified but jus wanna confirm if it's safe to upgrade and unlock.

it's running 4.0.2 (8A400) on bb 01.59.00. so can i upgrade to 4.1 and unlock?

Postby M_2NR » November 9th, 2010, 4:48 pm

dont upgrade to virgin 4.1 using itunes alone.

you gotta use tinyumbrella backup SHSH start tss server run itunes... shift+Restore the 4.1 then error out on 1003/4 and then use tu to kick it out of recovery. tss server must be running throughout but not when u saving the shsh's.

there are guides outlining these steps as well. Do it now too! Apple might be releasing 4.2 soon.

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=12136
basically this...^^^

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 9th, 2010, 5:02 pm

cool thanx. do i leave the sim card in for this? and is it safe to use the latest itunes 10.0.1?

damn jailbreaking and unlocking sure got a whole lot more complicated from when i had my 3G on 3.x!

Postby M_2NR » November 9th, 2010, 5:35 pm

it shouldnt matter. I had a ATT sim in the iphone 4 when i did it. And yea use that itunes self.

not really though... i used pwnagetool on my new bootrom 3GS. and for those not relying on an unlock coulda just use virgin 4.1 and then greenpoison.

OHHH i forgot when u done that.. run green poison to jailbreak and get ultrasnow to unlock.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 9th, 2010, 6:30 pm

ok just got done upgrading, jailbreaking and unlocking. was straightforward enough.

now jus to cut the sim card. do i need to have a sim cutter to do this?

Postby M_2NR » November 9th, 2010, 7:18 pm

u can cut it on your own but be warned it is not easy.. i told the person who got the i4 to get one.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 9th, 2010, 7:35 pm

gonna try it with an old sim first using this tutorial http://goo.gl/Cr2B

btw, is a caller id fix needed for iOS 4? searched on cydia for it but couldnt find it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 9th, 2010, 9:38 pm

mitch, yea. You'd have to install it via iFile though since its apparently no longer in Cydia. Odd, I know.

------

Apple is planning to release Mac OS X 10.6.5 and iTunes 10.1 tomorrow and iOS 4.2 on Friday, according to a MacStories source.

An inside source at AT&T told MacStories that Apple is planning to release iOS 4.2, a major OS update for iPhones, iPods and iPads, on Friday November 12th at 10 AM PST. We also learned that updates to iTunes and Mac OS X will be released sometime tomorrow — iTunes will be reaching version 10.10.0 (simply called iTunes 10.1) and Mac OS X will jump to the long-awaited 10.6.5 version.

iOS 4.2 was reportedly delayed from its originally planned October 26th release date because of a Japanese character bug.

------

John Gruber from Daring Fireball examines Apple's pricing advantage with the iPad and why this is not the case with Macs vs. PCs.

PCs, especially historically, were compared based on technical specs. An awful lot of PCs have been sold to people who never even looked at the enclosure — only the specs. That’s not how the game is played in consumer electronics. Nobody knows what kind of CPU they have in their phones. (Where by “nobody”, I mean “no regular people”.) Apple doesn’t even publish CPU specs for iOS devices, nor publish how much RAM they contain.

With computers, again, it’s fair to say that the typical Mac costs more than the typical Windows PC. That’s not true for mobile devices, which means Apple gets to compete mostly on factors like design, user experience, and branding. In short, the nascent mobile computing market has much more in common with the traditional consumer electronics market than it does with the PC industry, and that works very much in Apple’s favor.

Postby M_2NR » November 9th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Apparently ispazio isnt a default repo anymore.. try adding it. If not, i posted a link to it from my blog, modblog101.wordpress.com

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 10th, 2010, 8:40 am

iOS 4.2, at least from what information we have so far, is slated for release this Friday and it’s going to be a significant update for iPad (not so much for iPhone / iPod touch, though). And of course, there’s going to be a jailbreak to accompany the new iOS version. Here’s all you need to know.

NEWS FEATURES / UPDATES FOR IPAD IN IOS 4.2
    Multitasking
    Folders
    AirPrint (print mail/photos/web pages directly to printer on WiFi network) and AirPlay (stream media to Apple TV / AirPlay speakers)
    Game Center
    Unified inbox, threading and ability to open attachments with third party apps for Mail app
    New search and find ability in Safari
    UI Tweaks: volume control and brightness control straight from task switcher

NEW FEATURES / UPDATES FOR IPHONE & IPOD TOUCH IN IOS 4.
    YouTube (ability to thumbs up / down videos)
    FaceTime link in Messages app
    Ability to restrict installing and deletion of apps as well features of other apps.
    UI tweaks: volume control from task switcher
    iPhone 3G performance improvements
    JAILBREAK AND UNLOCK FOR IOS 4.2

Here a few things you should know about iOS 4.2’s upcoming jailbreak and unlock before you make any move:
    You need to save iOS 4.1 SHSH blobs to Cydia if you want untethered iOS 4.2 jailbreak.
    The untethered-ness of iOS 4.2 jailbreak will be of the userland nature i.e. it works on non-vital code and can be easily patched by Apple.
    If you rely on carrier unlock, stay in a galaxy far, far away from this (sorry, but I just had to make that Star Wars reference) until updated PwnageTool / Sn0wbreeze comes out.
    The jailbreak will support all iOS devices and all firmwares capable of being jailbroken.

iPhone Dev Team wrote:By all accounts, we’re within a few days of Apple’s official public release of Firmware 4.2.

Here’s what you need to know:
    Thanks to geohot’s limera1n exploit, and our original pwnage2 exploit, and @pod2g’s ipod2g-MC exploit, absolutely all devices at all iOS firmware versions are capable of being jailbroken.

The untethered jailbreak of those very latest FWs and latest devices depends on @comex hacks. His hacks so far extend only to 4.1 and 4.2beta3. He’s working on a way to extend it to 4.2 and beyond. Just wait for him to work out his method.

iPhone 3G and 3GS unlockers will be covered by our upcoming unlock. Stay away from any updates to Apple FW until our official release and you’ll be okay. Just stay away from all Apple IPSWs

iPhone4 unlockers are not left out in the cold. @sherif_hashim has found some very promising avenues to pursue. Those will be explored as soon as possible after all the 4.2 madness.

What does this mean to you?
    If you’re an unlocker, just stay where you are. Please, just stay where you are. Any mistakes you make now may be permanent.

If you only care about the jailbreak and you’re absolutely sure you have your personalized 4.1 SHSH hashes, feel free to experiment but keep in mind that any mistakes you make may result in your losing pictures or notes or bookmarks that you’d rather keep. Honestly unless you love living on the bleeding edge, it’s better to just wait for official updates from Cydia/redsn0w/PwnageTool.

Don’t buy or donate to any unlock or jailbreak scammers. Every legitimate solution you will find for unlocks or jailbreaks will be offered without an extended hand. That’s how the iPhone jailbreak/unlock community has succeeded. It’s about freedom to do what you want with your $300 device — not about donations, egos, tweets, or “interviews.”

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2010, 4:26 pm

thanks to iphone in canada for this...

http://www.iphoneincanada.ca/how-to/how-to-setup-hotspot-shield-free-vpn-for-iphone/

been looking to try this a while but by setting up an adhoc of my pc that uses HSS.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 10th, 2010, 9:22 pm

It's definitely a good time to be an iPhone or an Android smartphone. Gartner is reporting that while the iPhone's total smartphone market share fell slightly from 17.1 percent to 16.7 percent (while still selling more total units than RIM) and Android's jumped from 3.5 percent to 25.5 percent in the past year, BlackBerry has seen a decline from 20.7 percent to 14.8 percent and Symbian from 44.6 percent to 36.6 percent. Windows Mobile's share has been sliced by more than half, from 7.9 percent down to just 2.8 percent of the market. In terms of total worldwide mobile sales, Apple's share is up to 3.2 percent from 2.3 percent this time last year, with 13,484,400 units sold in Q3 2010. Analysts project Apple to sell 36 million iPhones worldwide for the year, followed by 100 million by the end of 2011.

------

The Loop reports that popular ratings and reviews magazine Consumer Reports has released its latest ratings of notebook computers, and Apple's new 11-inch and 13-inch MacBook Air models have topped their respective categories.

The 11-inch MacBook Air scored 67 points out of a possible 100, easily outdistancing the second-place Toshiba Satellite and its 51-point score.
The 11-inch model received a "very good" rating for ergonomics and display, a "good" rating for performance and "fair" ratings for versatility and speakers. Consumer Reports also found the MacBook Air had battery life of 6.25 hours. The Toshiba's battery life came in at 5.5 hours of battery life.

The 13-inch model faced stiffer competition, but still managed to finish on top of its category with a score of 78, two points better than the Toshiba Portege.
The 13-inch MacBook Air scored "very good" for performance, ergonomics, and display. It also scored "good" for speakers, "fair" for versatility and had 7.5 hours of battery life.

Despite some reports of display issues with the new MacBook Air, the notebook does seem to be proving relatively popular, generating significant buzz and demand appearing to force Apple to bump shipping estimates for the entry-level 11-inch model slightly to 1-3 business days/

------

As expected, Apple released Mac OS 10.6.5 today.

The 10.6.5 Update is recommended for all users running Mac OS X Snow Leopard and includes general operating system fixes that enhance the stability, compatibility, and security of your Mac, including fixes that:

improve reliability with Microsoft Exchange servers

address performance of some image-processing operations in iPhoto and Aperture

address stability and performance of graphics applications and games

resolve a delay between print jobs

address a printing issue for some HP printers connected to an AirPort Extreme

resolve an issue when dragging contacts from Address Book to iCal

address an issue where dragging an item from a stack causes the Dock to not automatically hide

resolve an issue with Wikipedia information not displaying correctly in Dictionary

improve performance of MainStage on certain Mac systems

resolve spacing issues with OpenType fonts

improve reliability with some Bluetooth braille displays

resolve a VoiceOver issue when browsing some web sites with Safari 5

For detailed information on this update, please visit this website: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4250.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 11th, 2010, 9:45 pm

iPhoneHellas has on good authority that iOS 4.2 will not be coming tomorrow but instead will be launching Tuesday November 16th. The site is known to have solid sources with knowledge of iOS release dates so this November 16th date is probably the actual date. Then again, iOS 4.2 may very well still launch tomorrow.

:(

------

Twitter on Thursday announced a social networking partnership with Apple's Ping music service, making it easier for people to share music discoveries with their friends.

Starting Thursday, Twitter and Ping offered friends the ability to put Ping activity, song previews and links to purchase and download music from Apple's iTunes Store in posts made on Twitter.com. Can also link their Twitter account to find Ping users among their Twitter friends.

Once the accounts are linked, any "Post," "Like," "Review," or anything else shared on Ping is automatically sent to Twitter followers as well. The content will also include playable song previews and links to purchase and download music through the iTunes Store.

Song or album details are also available by clicking a Ping link in Twitter, with information displayed in the details pane on the right side. From the details pane, users can listen to song previews from the iTunes Preview website, right in their browser without launching the iTunes application.

iTunes song previews are available on Twitter.com in all 23 countries where the iTunes Store sells music.

The announcement Thursday is a successful marriage between the two social networking services, unlike Apple's apparent falling out with Facebook. Apple and Facebook were said to have been in talks for 18 months to form a partnership for the launch of Ping in September. But those details fell apart at the last minute.

Apple Chief Executive Steve Jobs commented on the matter, and said Ping lacked Facebook integration because the website demanded "onerous terms." He indicated that the two parties talked about a variety of partnership opportunities, but could not come to a deal.

After talks with Facebook fell apart, Apple included a "Facebook connect" login interface for Ping, without a deal in place. Facebook responded by blocking API access to Ping.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 12th, 2010, 8:32 pm

FunkySpaceMonkey has published some prerelease screenshots of Cydia for iOS 4.2.

You'll notice some improvements especially in the iPad version of Cydia which now supports both portrait and landscape modes. The iPad version utilizes UIPopovers to present the different views as you are installing a package and the manage tab has also been replaced by two separate tabs. One for sources and one for installed packages.

Changes to the iPhone version are limited with only the "Who Are You" screen getting a facelift.

------

Apple has just released iTunes 10.1 which is required to update your iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch to iOS 4.2. They also advertise the ability to “Use AirPlay to instantly and wirelessly stream videos from iTunes to the all-new Apple TV”. We’re assuming that is from a Computer running iTunes at the moment, though we’re not yet able to do so. Perhaps an AppleTV update is coming shortly.

------

Rockstar Games today announced that their lovely and *very kid friendly* Grand Theft Auto trilogy is finally makes its way to the Mac. The trilogy includes San Andreas (personal favorite), GTA III, and Vice City. This is what the company behind that game has to say:

“The Grand Theft Auto series has been one of the most highly demanded titles by the Mac community. The availability of this incredible franchise on the Mac underscores TransGaming’s role in transforming the overall Mac gaming market,” commented Vikas Gupta, President & CEO of TransGaming, in the press release. “These games will be widely available and will be a great catalyst to the increasing popularity of gaming on the Mac.”

The trilogy will be released in stores on November 22nd but you can already pre-order it at Amazon. It will make a great holiday gift for the folks who are “M for mature.”