.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 9:48 am

humbleservant wrote:
Has any other government had an AG fired for witness tampering and blatant abuse of public office? So disappointing for a developed country in 2015 to have people we hold in high esteem to be nothing better than dog sheit. How should this reflect on the UNC?

What about Lifesport and Anil Roberts?

Sorry, but UNC can try to fool some of the people some of the time, but they cant fool all the people all the time...

didn't she fire everyone who was caught in scandals?

doesn't it reflect positively that she fire everyone who screwed up?

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 9:57 am

She fires everyone who screwed up when the evidence reaches the public domain and she HAS to.

She doesn't fire people because they did sheit.

And what about sweeping everything under the carpet afterwards and ignoring it like it never happened.

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2015, 10:00 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
humbleservant wrote:
Has any other government had an AG fired for witness tampering and blatant abuse of public office? So disappointing for a developed country in 2015 to have people we hold in high esteem to be nothing better than dog sheit. How should this reflect on the UNC?

What about Lifesport and Anil Roberts?

Sorry, but UNC can try to fool some of the people some of the time, but they cant fool all the people all the time...

didn't she fire everyone who was caught in scandals?

doesn't it reflect positively that she fire everyone who screwed up?

no firing them isnt enuff.....politicians hadda make a jail for them wrong doings

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 10:03 am

Well its in the police hands to send them to jail not so?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2015, 10:24 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Well its in the police hands to send them to jail not so?

Its in the politicians hands to strengthen the legislative means by which the Police can arrest.
If corruption is hard to detect and then prosecute, viable laws can be bought forward via Parliament to make it easier e.g. FIU regulations.

Yunno what is interesting though..take a look back at the UNC's 2010 manifesto Here are some of what was promised -
Fixed Election Dates for national and local elections
A right of Recall for non performing parliamentary representatives
Checks and Balances to safeguard against the abuse of power
Integrity in public life
Containment and eradication of corruption

They promised it they supposed to deliver on it not pass the buck!!

Postby Redman » May 26th, 2015, 11:06 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:You have to admit that they've done more for trinidad than the pnm did.

This is a subjective POV that is impossible to substantiate.

So Prove it.

IMHO
The problems I have center around the reaction to the scandals and the self dealing that is prevalent.

Its great that she fired all involved-but what then.

So whats to say that she eh get her cut from LifeSport or the Fire truck snow job??....for example.

Firing admits that there is a problem.....nothing on recouping the stolen money or sanctioning those who were involved

As the incumbent they have offered themselves for scrutiny that goes beyond the box drain,pave road, and PNM do it level.If they expect a second bite of the apple they have to do better.

IMHO they havent made the grade

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 11:14 am

you have to be realistic

all those people who were fired were her friends and colleagues before. only if the pnm wins then they will be locked up or even investigated. i doubt they will be locked up though, politicians protect each other.

and being realistic, while we on the outside fighting down this party and that, politicians on both sides regularly drink together,lime together, play golf together, their wives spend weekends abroad together shopping and drinking and living merrily.

if a PNM government locks up a corrupt UNC politician(or vice versa), then the flood gates will open, heads will roll on both sides. There is honour amongst (political) thieves.

that same pave road and box drain and highway that you say is not enough, that self giving them a next 5 years.

4x4

Postby 4x4 » May 26th, 2015, 11:17 am

There is no way to prove false evidence. All those who are trying to go beyond that are wasting time. There can be no further investigations. The key issue here is how Rowley and Kamla are handling themselves, not in the past but now. Take an example of the gatherings over the weekend. The PNM choose to have a teenaged girl dressed up in yellow with a Vodka bottle in hand pretending to be drunk. The PP chose to present a young man (about 12) dressed in a suit who was able to deliver a speech. You choose the future you want and the party you want to lead. What do you want for your children which is really the only thing that matters.

Postby rfari » May 26th, 2015, 11:18 am

Watch and learn uml and tricia

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 11:18 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you have to be realistic

all those people who were fired were her friends and colleagues before. only if the pnm wins then they will be locked up or even investigated. i doubt they will be locked up though, politicians protect each other.

and being realistic, while we on the outside fighting down this party and that, politicians on both sides regularly drink together,lime together, play golf together, their wives spend weekends abroad together shopping and drinking and living merrily.

if a PNM government locks up a corrupt UNC politician(or vice versa), then the flood gates will open, heads will roll on both sides. There is honour amongst (political) thieves.

that same pave road and box drain and highway that you say is not enough, that self giving them a next 5 years.

This theory remains to be proven....

Postby Redman » May 26th, 2015, 11:26 am

you have to be realistic

No
Realistic in your context is justifying the prevention of prosecution of a crime due to personal relationships.It was wrong under the PNM and its wrong now.

and being realistic, while we on the outside fighting down this party and that, politicians on both sides regularly drink together,lime together, play golf together, their wives spend weekends abroad together shopping and drinking and living merrily. if a PNM government locks up a corrupt UNC politician(or vice versa), then the flood gates will open, heads will roll on both sides. There is honour amongst (political) thieves.

Ive seen this personally.
Here we are with 2 seperate COEs indicating that different govts stole 66% of the petro dollars and we are yet to witness any real sanctions.
But that is WRONG that you and others choose to accept it as realistic cant be an excuse not to hold politicians to an account

I say so because of the numbers-not cuz I feel so.
I think the crowds that will be swayed by that rum and roti politics are largely the same as the ones showing up in the meetings.

EBC numbers indicate that it is the swing voters aka undecideds that win the election.

The till ah ded crew gets them to the post.The swing gets them past the post.

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 11:34 am

i not justifying it. it is wrong.

but that is the reality.

you or i cannot change it.

the people who CAN change it are the ones benefitting from it, so it will not be changed.

Postby DFC » May 26th, 2015, 12:04 pm

anyways. according to the poll above.

262 ppl voted.

76 voted PNM (29%)

120 voted People's Partnership (46%)

8 for ILP (3%)

58- Neither/ Abstain - (22%)

Major Victory for Kamla!

Postby rfari » May 26th, 2015, 12:09 pm

DFC wrote:anyways. according to the poll above.

262 ppl voted.

76 voted PNM (29%)

120 voted People's Partnership (46%)

8 for ILP (3%)

58- Neither/ Abstain - (22%)

Major Victory for Kamla!

This.
Dear diary,
Short neck tell me to pick up meh package in Rienzi later. Feels excited. Can't wait. Bye for now

xoxoxo

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2015, 12:16 pm

toyota2nr wrote:I would love everyone to explain how PNM cab even be considered a choice. What can the PNM do to improve the quality of life inT&T?

Crime is still high.

No economic diversification.

no major public transportation improvements.

this UNC govt hasn't done much more than Manning did. I think the major issue is corruption and perception of corruption.

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2015, 12:32 pm

Redman wrote:
Daran wrote:Habit7, again it was not just me who was abused it was the entire class.

Secondly no first world country has corporal punishment allowed in schools and your assertion of having a backup plan is a bit odd? For me , the majority of teachers never beat and most controlled the class quite well. Beating or instiling fear is not the way to get kids to behave. Do you have a child?

Also crowds don't win elections, but they do have the effect of swaying the undecided.

Look at UNC in 2007, before their rally everyone count them out and said COP would be the one competing against PNM. That huge mid center rally changed everything and UNC under Panday, got 200k votes.

So crowds, like polls, do have influence.

I disagree.

If some one is undecided-there are specific reasons that have liitle to do with how other people think.

Or else they wouldnt be undecided at this point.

For me -I guess I would fall in the undecided class..there are issues that are unresolved in my mind as to the incumbents performance...at many levels.

The solution to that is information.

The vast majority of the people that attend these rallies are already supporters.

The balance are there to listen to what is communicated -not count people.

Floating voters don't exist...ent? 90 percent of people vote on race alone.....people need to stop thinking Trinbago political culture just like the USA or UK or Germany. it ent so.

Postby desifemlove » May 26th, 2015, 12:34 pm

Hyperion wrote:http://news.yahoo.com/ex-leader-guyana-charged-inciting-racial-hatred-221450819.html

Ex-leader of Guyana charged with inciting racial hatred
GEORGETOWN, Guyana (AP) — A former president of Guyana was released on bail after formally being charged Monday with inciting racial hatred ahead of general elections.

Bharrat Jagdeo was not required to enter a plea at the Monday court hearing before a magistrate in the southeastern Berbice region of the South American country. He led Guyana from 1999 to 2011.

The accusations against Jagdeo are linked to comments he allegedly made during campaigning for the political party he once led ahead of May 11 general elections.

The former president allegedly said Afro-Guyanese opposition activists were "beating drums" while urging citizens to throw out "Indo Trini" members of the People's Progressive Party dominated by people of Indian descent, like Jagdeo.

Opposition lawyer Christopher Ram pursued the case against Jagdeo, who is due back in court in June for preliminary hearings.

A multiethnic coalition led by retired army general David Granger defeated incumbent President Donald Ramotar and his People's Progressive Party in the vote earlier this month in Guyana, a country of nearly 750,000 made up mainly of people of Indian and African descent.

Granger, who formally took power in recent days and installed his Cabinet, has pledged to end racial divisions that have long marked politics in the small country on the north shoulder of South America.

eh? he best hope he doh lose he wuk for the UN.

4x4

Postby 4x4 » May 26th, 2015, 12:38 pm

I walk around a lot more freely in my community than I did 5 years ago. My kids are now allowed to play in the park that has been built and I actually walk in the night after work. I didn't do those things 5 year ago. I now take 20mins to reach home on evenings from POS. Used to take 2 hours. 5 years ago. There are a lot more opportunities now in other sectors especially in construction, farming and small business development. I am actually going to startup a tilapia pond for when I retire. Opportunities and changes are there for those who want to see and learn.

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 1:14 pm

This Government real real push farming. Subsidy and allowances like hell.

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 1:49 pm

Why the government push farming... because they HAVE to, not because they like farmers, but because Trinidad imports 80% of food.

And thank Jack Warner for helping solve some of the highway mess.

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Lol. Okay apparently everything they do they had too. All them things pnm had to do they still didn't do it though.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2015, 2:05 pm

4x4 wrote:I walk around a lot more freely in my community than I did 5 years ago. My kids are now allowed to play in the park that has been built and I actually walk in the night after work. I didn't do those things 5 year ago. I now take 20mins to reach home on evenings from POS. Used to take 2 hours. 5 years ago. There are a lot more opportunities now in other sectors especially in construction, farming and small business development. I am actually going to startup a tilapia pond for when I retire. Opportunities and changes are there for those who want to see and learn.

You have the PNM to thank for building the Interchange by Nestle(package 1 and 2 were done by 2010) and starting construction on the Aranguez overpass(2009) for your shorter commute time!! Also they were the ones who widened Wrightson Road in preparing for Summit and CHOGM.

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 2:11 pm

Found this in some old archives.

The PNM actually performed slightly better in the agricultural sector, meeting five out the nine specific measures listed. Most of these had to do with the setting up of the megafarms though only three of the promised 16 farms started production in late 2009. In food security, the PNM only implemented three of its 18 promised measures, all of them again connected to the megafarms. However, the manifesto, also, promised, "The new farming community of large and small farms will increase the level of food production and contribute to the attainment of food security and export surpluses." In fact, food prices stayed high until the global recession stopped inflation here, and the 2010 manifesto merely repeats the 2007 one's promises and lists the same set of initiatives—access roads, YAPA, Grow Box—that the Government is still embarking on three years later. The latter had also listed the establishment of a Prices Advisory Council, a Consumer Advisory Board and incentives for new farms.

4x4

Postby 4x4 » May 26th, 2015, 2:46 pm

Just theoretical. Lets say we starting from last week else we will keep going back in the past and we can go back to 45 years ago when a teacher was sexually involved with a student in Tobago. Lets forget all that. Which party is presenting a road map for the country. Which leader is presenting tangible policies going forward. I have heard a lot from PP but I have heard nothing from PNM. Why is that. I think the PNM has lacked in its plan to present the country with a viable alternative and for that they may find the electorate moving in another direction.

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 2:59 pm

So what is the road map for UNC? Continue to depend on oil/naural gas.

I propose legalising cannabis and planting thousands of acres of hemp;

- creation of industry (hemp makes hundreds of products)
- creation of jobs
-less crime
- increased government revenues

4x4

Postby 4x4 » May 26th, 2015, 3:16 pm

I agree with you humbleservant. I am sure that will happen in the future. Hemp and ganga never kill nobody. Once it is monitored and managed and have policies on usage etc. More damage done by cigarettes and alcohol. Although alco good for you in moderation. Yet all the monies go to WITCO. Still cant understand why cigarettes are not banned. But those are huge international issues with economic and financial repercussions. Ever walked into a pharmacy and see a million different kind of drugs? Does the human body really need all that? But big pharmaceutical companies are making huge profits and financing governments and at the same time also doing good by providing remedies for those who need it and jobs.

Postby UML » May 26th, 2015, 3:22 pm

Did the PNMites notice that in the last 2 days we got 3 new votes?

I guess the undecided have decided after viewing Constantine Park.

*expects multiple new PNM accounts to pop up to vote :|

ah hear even Manning rise from the political cememtary....even he anticpating the cutarse dat cmoing. Kafra Kambon start he racial politicking as well.

If they were unsuccessful in the last 5 years what make them feel they will be successful in the next 4 months? :roll:

clearly they think the citizens are stupid. :shock:

humbleservant

Postby humbleservant » May 26th, 2015, 3:27 pm

UML wrote:Did the PNMites notice that in the last 2 days we got 3 new votes?

I guess the undecided have decided after viewing Constantine Park.

*expects multiple new PNM accounts to pop up to vote :|

ah hear even Manning rise from the political cememtary....even he anticpating the cutarse dat cmoing. Kafra Kambon start he racial politicking as well.

If they were unsuccessful in the last 5 years what make them feel they will be successful in the next 4 months? :roll:

clearly they think the citizens are stupid. :shock:

What about Jaishima Leladharsingh .... Don't point fingers because you have three more pointing back at you when you point one.

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2015, 3:29 pm

that was a PNM sleeper cell...keep up nah

Postby bluefete » May 26th, 2015, 3:31 pm

UML wrote:Image

UML: Let me spin this for you. BTW - that is one nasty post.

However, who is to say that the PP did not pay this woman or man to make this post to make the PNM look bad.

Logically, does it have to be a PNM supporter who posted this garbage?

The PP government has shown that it is not above using counter-counter espionage / spin to push its racial agenda.