The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

JJ16

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby JJ16 » September 14th, 2012, 9:44 am

Just a quick question please, i notice its a pretty LONG thread...so just wanted to get a quick feedback before i read most of it...

Of the users here, who switched from the iphone 4S to the Samsung S3.(not iphone 4...the 4S).. which one would u recommend over the other and why?

Im thinking of getting a S3, so i'd appreciate any feedback via post or PM so that i wont have 2 "sift" though the thread and disrupt the current topic.

Thanks alot ppl!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 14th, 2012, 10:58 am

I bought the S3 when it now come out in the US was a 32 GB , I already had my iPhone 4S 64 on Digicel so I said why not get a good phone for Bmoible got the phone downloaded a few apps but did not find the touch to be responsive like the 4S so sold it the next day.

I have been using all Samsung, apple and Nokia phones from the starting of this phone revolution my choice at the end of the day will be the iPhone. It have everything you need a app world full of all the tops apps the software is great , really fast!!!

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Stephon. wrote:
casper wrote:i downloaded soundhound last night for my S3 (AMAZING APP!!!!!) :shock:

and also the N64 emulator...got mario 64, mario kart 64 and zelda ocarina of time so far....games running smoooooooooooth.... :D

Wtf? I never even knew you could do that. I need to try this when I get home, I'm jealous!

yessss buddy....go on google play and look for N64 emulator...the icon looks like a nintendo 64 control....when u download it it has instructions on how to get the roms for it...basically all u gotta do is go to www.freeroms.com and click on the N64 section and u get the list to every single N64 game u possibly want...i rel beast d ocarina of time last night...when i dun that i gonna download the majora's mask :D

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 12:36 pm

Stephon...check it out

:D :D :D

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 14th, 2012, 12:40 pm

Well I see ICS came out for the SIIs that bmobile had on sale recently. Upgraded and to be honest, for some reason I find it not as smooth as with Gingerbread... but that's coud be cause i'm not used to it yet.

skulls

Postby skulls » September 14th, 2012, 12:44 pm

I'm using avast

Postby Stephon. » September 14th, 2012, 12:54 pm

casper wrote:Stephon...check it out

:D :D :D

Lol thanks I was wondering how the controls worked :lol:

Postby pete » September 14th, 2012, 1:02 pm

MISHI wrote:Well I see ICS came out for the SIIs that bmobile had on sale recently. Upgraded and to be honest, for some reason I find it not as smooth as with Gingerbread... but that's coud be cause i'm not used to it yet.

I'm still hoping for ICS for the Note I got from Digicel :(

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 14th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Soooo ammm it have any other emulators besides N64......

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 2:23 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Soooo ammm it have any other emulators besides N64......

yes it does...it has Game Boy Advance, SNES, playstation 1, MAME and NEO GEO :D

i just really focused on the N64 one cuz i kinda obssessed with Zelda games nah boi :oops:

achillies

Postby achillies » September 14th, 2012, 2:39 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Ok well simple thing is let's say I leave one webpage open and switch to send a text or a whatsapp message.. And then check my Facebook and go back to the Page, it requires a reload of the browser. (any browser, stock, chrome, dolphin.. Basically everything except opera because opera seems to store all the pages in a cache.

Opera itself reloads but keeps the pages open.) Or if I were sending a whatsapp message and needed to copy and paste info from about 2 or 3 webpages, I go to the webpages and switch back to Whatsapp and it would return to the same conversation but the text I had previously written is most of the time lost (since jellbean test builds the text isn't lost anymore though)

Or if I was on Facebook, check a whatsapp message, and return to Facebook, the app would reload and I'd lose where on my homepage I was.

While switching between apps also, let's say twitter Tapatalk and Whatsapp.. If I leave Tapatalk and go to twitter refresh my feeds check a few Whatsapp messages and then go back to Tapatalk, the forum or post I was on reloads and then if I were to again switch back to Whatsapp there would be a ~1 second loading time where there's a black screen until the previous conversation reopens. It isn't smooth and instantaneous.

I based these examples on the most common apps I switch between, but it's generally like this for all apps). If I minimize a game like temple run for let's say 5 mins and go back to it, the entire app needs to be reloaded.

With 1gb of ram I don't think that should be necessary. The iPhone 4 keeps an app in memory till it runs out of memory, then that app is killed and the others are held but this doesn't actually seem to hold anything in memory for too long. I know iOS uses saved states as well and Android has 'true' multitasking but it doesn't feel too true anymore. Gingerbread devices feel to have better multitasking (from what I recall from my s2, idk if memory serves me wrong).

It doesn't seem like a fault with the phone in the least, but just horrible memory management and I dunno why this bothers no one except me. Sorry for the long post but I just wanted to demonstrate my examples clearly.

Personally, I think you have a problem with your personal setup, could be a stupidly written app that's messing stuff up for you, I got someone with the full version of Screen Cast to make a video and upload it to youtube for me, he did this on a Galaxy S 2, look at the video when it goes live, there is no instance of apps being closed in the background, losing of text that he entered and stuff like that, multitasking is one of the strengths of android, if it were not working, especially on the SGS3, the fallout would have been well known

P.S the Facebook app on Android is a piece of sheit

If there is something more specific that you would like to try, just say

Postby Stephon. » September 14th, 2012, 2:59 pm

Oop!

Postby stev » September 14th, 2012, 3:24 pm

hey guys, a co worker developed this simple app to list the movies that are showing in trinidad and tobago. its neat and doesnt consume much resources. he is working on upgrading it to allow u to book / purchase tickets via the app but iMax / movietowne not cooperating at the moment. there is also a version for the blackberry and the iphone version is coming out soon.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... G50bWciXQ..

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 3:30 pm

^^^d man doing something great from right here in trinidad to share with the world and stoopid local establishments dont wanna give him d time of day...SMFH!!!!

skulls

Postby skulls » September 14th, 2012, 4:01 pm

Samsung Galaxy SII I9100 Secret Codes
*#06# = IMEI Number.
*#1234# = Firmware Version.
*#2222# = H/W Version.
*#8999*8376263# = All Versions Together.
*#8999*8378# = Test Menu.
*#4777*8665# = GPSR Tool.
*#8999*523# = LCD Brightness.
*#8999*377# = Error Menu.
*#8999*327# = EEP Menu.
*#8999*667# = Debug Mode.
*#92782# = PhoneModel. (Wap)
#*5737425# = JAVA Mode.
*#2255# = Call List.
*#232337# = Bluetooth MAC Adress.
*#5282837# = Java Version.
#*4773# = Incremental Redundancy.
#*7752# = 8 PSK uplink capability bit.
#*7785# = Reset wakeup & RTK timer cariables/variables.
#*7200# = Tone Generator Mute.
#*3888# = BLUETOOTH Test mode.
#*7828# = Task screen.
#*#8377466# = S/W Version & H/W Version.
#*2562# = Restarts Phone.
#*2565# = No Blocking? General Defense.
#*3353# = General Defense, Code Erased.
#*3837# = Phone Hangs on White screen.
#*3849# = Restarts Phone.
#*3851# = Restarts Phone.
#*3876# = Restarts Phone.
#*7222# = Operation Typ: (Class C GSM)
#*7224# = !!! ERROR !!!
#*7252# = Operation Typ: (Class B GPRS)
#*7271# = CMD: (Not Available)
#*7274# = CMD: (Not Available)
#*7337# = Restarts Phone. (Resets Wap Settings)
#*2787# = CRTP ON/OFF.
#*2886# = AutoAnswer ON/OFF.
#*3737# = L1 AFC.
#*5133# = L1 HO Data.
#*7288# = GPRS Detached/Attached.
#*7287# = GPRS Attached.
#*7666# = White Screen.
#*7693# = Sleep Deactivate/Activate.
#*7284# = L1 HO Data.
#*2256# = Calibration info? (For CMD set DEBUGAUTONOMY in cihard.opt)
#*2286# = Databattery.
#*2527# = GPRS switching set to (Class 4, 8, 9, 10)
#*2679# = Copycat feature Activa/Deactivate.
#*3940# = External looptest 9600 bps.
#*4263# = Handsfree mode Activate/Deactivate.
#*4700# = Please use function 2637.
#*7352# = BVMC Reg value (LOW_SWTOFF, NOMINAL_SWTOFF)
#*2558# = Time ON.
#*3370# = Same as 4700.
#*3941# = External looptest 115200 bps
#*5176# = L1 Sleep.
#*7462# = SIM Phase.
#*7983# = Voltage/Freq.
#*7986# = Voltage.
#*8466# = Old Time.
#*2255# = Call Failed.
#*5187# = L1C2G trace Activate/Deactivate.
#*5376# = DELETE ALL SMS!!!!.
#*6837# = Official Software Version: (0003000016000702)
#*7524# = KCGPRS: (FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 07)
#*7562# = LOCI GPRS: (FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FE FF 01)
#*2337# = Permanent Registration Beep.
#*2474# = Charging Duration.
#*2834# = Audio Path. (Handsfree)
#*3270# = DCS Support Activate/Deactivate.
#*3282# = Data Activate/Deactivate.
#*3476# = EGSM Activate/Deactivate.
#*3676# = FORMAT FLASH VOLUME!!!
#*4760# = GSM Activate/Deactivate.
#*4864# = White Screen.
#*5171# = L1P1.
#*5172# = L1P2.
#*5173# = L1P3.
#*7326# = Accessory.
#*7683# = Sleep variable.
#*8465# = Time in L1.
#*2252# = Current CAL.
#*2836# = AVDDSS Management Activate/Deactivate.
#*3877# = Dump of SPY trace.
#*7728# = RSAV.
#*2677# = Same as 4700.
#*3728# = Time 2 Decod.
#*3725# = B4 last off.
#*7372# = Resetting the time to DPB variables.
#*7732# = Packet flow context bit Activate/Deactivate.
#*6833# = New uplink establishment Activate/Deactivate.
#*3273# = EGPRS multislot. (Class 4, 8, 9, 10)
#*7722# = RLC bitmap compression Activate/Deactivate.
#*2351# = Blinks 1347E201 in RED.
#*4472# = Hysteresis of serving cell: 3 dB
#*2775# = Switch to 2 inner speaker.
#*9270# = Force WBS.
#*7878# = FirstStartup. (0=NO, 1=YES)
#*3757# = DSL UART speed set to. (LOW, HIGH)
#*8726# = Switches USBACM to Normal.
#*8724# = Switches USBACM to Generator mode.
#*8727# = Switches USBACM to Slink mode.
#*8725# = Switches USBACM to Loop-back mode.
#*3838# = Blinks 3D030300 in RED.
#*2077# = GPRS Switch.
#*2027# = GPRS Switch.
#*0227# = GPRS Switch.
#*0277# = GPRS Switch.
#*8370# = Tfs4.0 Test 0.
#*8371# = Tfs4.0 Test 1.
#*8372# = Tfs4.0 Test 2.
#*8373# = Tfs4.0 Test 3.
#*8374# = Tfs4.0 Test 4.
#*8375# = Tfs4.0 Test 5.
#*8376# = Tfs4.0 Test 6.
#*8377# = Tfs4.0 Test 7.
#*8378# = Tfs4.0 Test 8.
#*8379# = Tfs4.0 Test 9.
#*7878# = FirstStartup. (0=NO, 1=YES)
#*3838# = Blinks 3D030300 in RED.
#*2077# = GPRS Switch.
#*2027# = GPRS Switch.
#*0227# = GPRS Switch.
#*0277# = GPRS Switch.
#*22671# = AMR REC START.
#*22672# = Stop AMR REC. (File name: /a/multimedia/sounds/voice list/ENGMODE.amr)
#*22673# = Pause REC.
#*22674# = Resume REC.
#*22675# = AMR Playback.
#*22676# = AMR Stop Play.
#*22677# = Pause Play.
#*22678# = Resume Play.
#*77261# = PCM Rec Req.
#*77262# = Stop PCM Rec.
#*77263# = PCM Playback.
#*77264# = PCM Stop Play.
#*22679# = AMR Get Time.
*#8999*364# = Watchdog ON/OFF.
*#8999*427# = WATCHDOG signal route setup.
*2767*226372# = Camera Reset. (deletes photos)
*2767*3855# = E2P Full Reset.
*2767*2878# = E2P Custom Reset.
*2767*927# = E2P Wap Reset.
*2767*226372# = E2P Camera Reset.
*2767*688# = Reset Mobile TV.
#7263867# = RAM Dump. (On or Off)
*#0*# = testing sensors and other stuff (thanks karfeef)
*#0011# = ServiceMode/Debug/Basic Information (thanks Croak)

Samsung mobile sound code.
Samsung phones.
Dial *#6984125*#
Test menu dial *#9072641*# (You need this one i think.)
Click 5 Audio – 2 AP volume config

Tune Headset volume:
*#9072641*# – 2 EAR config – 3 Ringtone volume – Stap 6 tune it to 10
Tune movie volume:
*#9072641*# – 3 SPK config – 3 Ringtone volume – Stap 6 tune it to 10

casper

Postby casper » September 14th, 2012, 4:04 pm

whoaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!....thanks

aye anyone knows how to do the wireless charging thing??

i wanna try it

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 14th, 2012, 4:40 pm

stev wrote:hey guys, a co worker developed this simple app to list the movies that are showing in trinidad and tobago. its neat and doesnt consume much resources. he is working on upgrading it to allow u to book / purchase tickets via the app but iMax / movietowne not cooperating at the moment. there is also a version for the blackberry and the iphone version is coming out soon.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... G50bWciXQ..

This app can actually go international.......maybe he can liaise with cinemas outside TT.

achillies excellent vid.....I don't have any of those problems on 2 different S3's with different software loads, so Johnathan definitely has a configuration problem.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » September 14th, 2012, 8:27 pm

You guys should use this with the apps/emulators etc, much better.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rch_result

nova 3, MC3 etc are really good with it.

Postby M_2NR » September 14th, 2012, 9:07 pm

ZeroOne wrote:This app can actually go international.......maybe he can liaise with cinemas outside TT.

There are TONS of these on both platforms. Stev tell yuh padna thanks! Its about time something like this came to our shores.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 14th, 2012, 10:15 pm

I does use the TriniBerry one :(

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... triniberry

Still gave him a DL though

Postby stev » September 14th, 2012, 11:44 pm

i agree it can go international...but he wants to keep it local...there are other apps that does the same thing for international cinemas but he wanted it customized for trinidad and tobago only.

not sure what will be in his new updates but i will keep u guys informed. he doesnt want to load it with unnecessary functions that wud turn it into bloatware. lol

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2012, 11:55 pm

triniberry ftw

Postby stev » September 15th, 2012, 12:00 am

S_2NR wrote:triniberry ftw

wtf is triniberry?

i dont trust anything with 'berry' at the end :lol:

Postby S_2NR » September 15th, 2012, 12:02 am

what berry have to do with anything? :lol:
it was originally made for blackberry, thats why the berry is there.

check it out >>> http://www.triniberry.com/d/

it has a doubles man directory too. :drinking:

Postby stev » September 15th, 2012, 12:04 am

orhor...i know that doubles app...but i doh know who does actually use that....that site cool though.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 15th, 2012, 8:07 am

I got the impression that it is completely web based, was not expecting to DL any apps.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 15th, 2012, 9:42 am

well after all the leaks of the iPhone 5 and eventually being kind of a letdown, the leaks for the next Nexus have been scarce (surprisingly).

but i honestly hope that the rumours are true and the next Nexus will come in flavours from Sony, Samsung and LG. would have liked HTC to be in there as well.

imo, this is an even better approach for Android domination. give consumers the choice of a Google supported phone from a manufacturer of their choice without all the stupid Android skins!

*crosses fingers for a Sony Xperia Nexus*

Postby M_2NR » September 15th, 2012, 1:11 pm

Swisha wrote:*crosses fingers for a Sony Xperia Nexus*

doe hype me eh. :lol: You know what it will be to have an android Sony phone that will get updates timely and hopefully have proper specs to run android (because unlike iOS and wp yuh still need some alright specs to work android, doe beat up fandroids, ulyuh know this)
That will be epic! I've waited over 4 years for this.

Postby Stephon. » September 15th, 2012, 4:09 pm

Omg I am stuck on this one level and keep dying at the same spot.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 15th, 2012, 5:04 pm

Stephon. wrote:Omg I am stuck on this one level and keep dying at the same spot.

Lol level Ninja Turtles and Kirby on my end