3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2010, 10:38 pm

even ah plastic chair haz cyaractah.... me needs to try bettah

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » October 26th, 2010, 10:51 pm

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 27th, 2010, 12:29 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

pretty small space dey jed :|

Postby wagonrunner » October 27th, 2010, 12:37 pm

you'll hadda put your legs over his shoulder.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 27th, 2010, 12:42 pm

i may be small but i prefer the bigger side of things :|

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 27th, 2010, 9:44 pm

guys wats a good SLR to get, for a beginner but would be good enough to last till i get exp and able to understand the fundamentals etc
Also looking at room for replacement lens etc
Cannon or Nikon?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 27th, 2010, 10:41 pm

Nikon D40 or Canon Rebel Xs/i - discontinued but you can still get them new or lightly used for under 300USD.
Once you grasp the basics you'll enjoy it and you can get lenses that you can use on other bodies. My lenses cost more than my body.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 27th, 2010, 11:07 pm

im seeig the Canon EOS Rebel T1i
and Nikon D3100
any reviews on those?

Postby RBphoto » October 27th, 2010, 11:11 pm

Nikon D40 seriously outdated (I own one). D3100 is the best entry level Nikon camera. If you want a no regrets camera, go for the D7000, which should be top notch for the next five years. Of importance is the lens that you have. If you want a do it all lens, Nikon has the 18-300mm lens, which covers the range of focal lenghts that you will ever need. The only additional lens you will need is a fast prime, like the 35mm f/1.8 DX or the 50mm f/1.8 for low light situations. I don't know about canon budget DSLR's, but their 7D is their competitor to nikon's D7000. I hear the 60D is swell as well. I don't think canon has any lens that goes from 18-300, so you might have to go with a 18-200 EFS lens and a fast prime as well.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 28th, 2010, 7:41 am

D7000 is a lil bit out of the price range i looking at lol
but the d3100 seems to be good for a beginner like me
im looking for the lens you mentioned but im only seeing Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR , this is a good lens?
not to sound like a noob but whats a fast prime?

Postby MG Man » October 28th, 2010, 7:46 am

u need to invest in some good photography books
some good info here too
http://www.zorce.com/zforums/viewforum. ... ca08905d65

Postby RBphoto » October 28th, 2010, 1:34 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:D7000 is a lil bit out of the price range i looking at lol
but the d3100 seems to be good for a beginner like me
im looking for the lens you mentioned but im only seeing Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR , this is a good lens?
not to sound like a noob but whats a fast prime?

The optics in this lens are stellar for the low cost, and I personally own it. Because of the poor ergonomics and slow autofocus, making good pictures is a pain unless you are a little more experienced, and shooting action in dim light is impossible, which is why someone sold it to me. Because I don't shoot anything that moves, I like this lens. Focus distance of a long 6' means that you cannot get very close to your subject when zoomed to 200mm..... which sucks.

f/4-5.6G in the lens name tells you that it is a slow lens. So you zoom out, it goes from f/4 @55mm to even slower to f/5.6 @200mm (bigger the mumber, the less light it collects). Usually fixed focal lenght lens have faster f numbers of 2.8, 2,1.8 or 1.4-1.2 for more professional equipment, which allow shooting in darker situations.

A good starter lens is the kit lens, 18-55mm VR. It is an excellent lens, as you use wide lenses more than telephoto for most subjects.. The next lens you should get would be the 35mmf/1.8 DX. It has no zoom, but it gives you a "natural" perspective, similar to what you get from the human eye, and is a fast prime for use in low light conditions, which is actually most indoor events and portraits. You can decide what you want after those to suit your needs and budget thereafter.

I own the 18-55mm DX (non VR), the 35mm f/1.8 DX, and the 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR.

Best you buy a good book before you start to acquire more than basic gear...can save you some dollars.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 29th, 2010, 1:50 pm

Crossdrilled......

In your opinion.....why is the 35mm better than a 50mm both f/1.8?

Yeah Jonnie the 3100 is a good place to start, I have a D5000 and these entry level SLR's take great pictures. The 18-55 vr kit lens is fantastic and should keep you happy until you decide what you really want from a lens.

plex

Postby plex » October 30th, 2010, 8:54 am

plex

Postby plex » October 30th, 2010, 8:55 am

MG Man wrote:Image

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2010, 9:11 am

is that a matte black paint job or just the effect of the camera?

plex

Postby plex » October 30th, 2010, 9:11 am

sMASH wrote:is that a matte black paint job or just the effect of the camera?

The car is matte black..

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2010, 9:18 am

lovely, i'm gonna try dat,,, or pay some one to try that at

Postby MG Man » October 30th, 2010, 1:39 pm

Great shot, Plexorama!

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2010, 1:44 pm

better hope the NIkon D3100 is better than the D3000 which is real slow
even my D50 plenty faster and simpler to use

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2010, 11:30 am

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2010, 11:31 am

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2010, 11:39 am

just wanted to share
i purchased this lightsphere diffuser a couple months back and its the best diffuser i've ever used...tried the omni bounce before and its chalk and cheese compared to this

full review

http://www.steves-digicams.com/accessor ... phere.html

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 31st, 2010, 12:24 pm

^^ The lightsphere / gary fong diffuser is a great tool to bring when on a gig or when running around an event - esp. indoor events. It gives a short-range bare-bulb effect which radiates in all directions that helps to disperse harsh shadows which normally come from a direct flash.

I've got a smaller, sto-fen style diffuser on both my Nikon SB-600's, and they also work pretty well. I think it's best-used when indoors (esp with white walls and ceilings) so that the multi-directional beams from the "bare-bulb" can bounce off the interior walls and fill in the shadows created by the single flash (imagine a bare lightbulb in a room, with light coming from the walls to fill in the shadows caused by the single bulb).

The overall effect is a cleaner, brighter and more natural look as compared to direct-flash/onboard flash, and is even better than bouncing a flash off the ceiling (which creates shadows under the eyes, nose and chin - not always flattering).

Good job on the purchase dude - looking forward to seeing more applications of your new diffuser.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2010, 1:21 pm

ive used it outdoor with some great results as well......

Loaned it to narend when we covered the Yuma Band Launch

Postby RBphoto » October 31st, 2010, 8:50 pm

You shot those on slow synch?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 31st, 2010, 11:04 pm

Postby sMASH » November 1st, 2010, 9:07 am

big doggs barkin'

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 1st, 2010, 9:38 am

crossdrilled wrote:You shot those on slow synch?

which pictures??
if you're speaking about the halloween, then no....iso 400 shutter was like 1/125

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 2nd, 2010, 1:17 am