DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Re: DAILY CRIME REPORTS THREAD ...

Postby maj. tom » September 19th, 2022, 8:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:So he is part of a legal WhatsApp group which was sending child porn to each other.
Or it could possibly have one pedophile in the group who send whatever child porn pics he have in the chat . On purpose or mistakenly.

I in a couple local chats and people does send some firetruck up sheit. I turn off my automatic downloads a while now.

Imagine in a traffic spotters chat , men sending dick pics or vids with muslim executions

All this will be fairly easy to prove by the Defense, but that is not their claim. Innocent until proven guilty at the trial in December. We should give the speculation here a rest until then. Next thing the bigshot lawyer in Miami send Duane a letter.

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 8:35 am

but we need to know what is/how safe and kosher when using whatsapp

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 8:38 am

Allyuh doesn't know na. Just connecting to a public "wifi" is enuff for a malicious person to install files and hide files on your phone without you knowing.

Postby maj. tom » September 19th, 2022, 9:05 am

US agent: Many child porn images on accused’s phone.

Adil Mohammed, former vice-president of information technology at SM Jaleel Company Ltd, is facing ten charges in the United States for possession of material showing children engaging in “sexual performance”.

Documents obtained from the Eleventh Judicial Circuit Court for Miami-Dade County, Florida, revealed that Mohammed was arrested at 10.15 p.m. on August 6, at Miami International Airport.

“On Saturday, August 6, 2022, Agent A. Rimola #CAR23604 of Customs and Border Patrol contacted Miami-Dade police department airport district, Sergeant Victor Evans, A3051/ID 4624, to inform him of an incident involving a passenger possessing child sexual abuse material. Sergeant Evans contacted the Miami-Dade shift commander, Lieutenant Moreira, Unit COM30/ID 4637.

“At 1800 hours (6 p.m.) Lieutenant Moreira contacted Sergeant Robert Phillips, HQ 260/ID 4920, of the Miami-Dade police department Internet Crimes Against the Children Unit.” The document went on to outline that upon arrival at the airport, the officers were informed by Agent Rimola that two cellular phones — an Apple iPhone and a Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra — were found on Mohammed.

Also in his possession was a carry-on bag containing a Dell laptop, an Apple iPad and at least three Universal Serial Bus (USB) devices. After browsing the devices, Agent Rimola allegedly found the child sexual abuse material.

“Within multiple albums located on the Samsung Galaxy S20 Ultra are many files containing pornographic images and videos. Agent Rimola selected an album that contained more than 7,000 media files. Agent A. Rimola reviewed multiple files which, according to Agent A. Rimola, contained child sexual abuse material,” the documents stated.

It went on to add that the videos contained sexual acts involving prepubescent children.

Mohammed was questioned by the officers and arrested later that night at the airport.

He faces ten charges of: “Sexual Performance by a child/possession — 827.071 (5) FEL 3D.”

Mohammed was taken before the Miami court on August 7.

He is being represented by attorney Mark Eiglarsh.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/us-agent-many-child-porn-images-on-accused-s-phone/article_1b224846-3817-11ed-88af-97a98a0b6f3b.html

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2022, 9:07 am

hover11 wrote:So lemme get this straight , his lawyers good but is a dotish defense. You telling me he didn't know what was on HIS phone he had no prior knowledge of that and a judge supposed to run with that? Alright lewwe go with we believe him, so you mean to say you never went through your pics and ask how these strange pics ended up here? You just left them there? Didn't question how it appeared on your phone numerous times? Ignorance is no excuse he will get shafted.

I have auto download (on wifi) enabled on Whatapp and periodically when I go through vids and photo albums I am always surprised by what is there. If you are on several high traffic groups and you do not keep up in real time to the on-goings media files will slip through.

To me a bigger issue is curating who and what groups you are in.
I was in one school old boy's group that I left b/c it devolved into a porn fest and several others just bc I felt they did not add any significant value.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 9:07 am

Well hard luck dey mohammed.

Yuh guilty mc

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 9:14 am

boy that is always the issue, esp when you on groups where it have trini living abroad and they always want to feel they sending local pics of crap

I was in one school old boy's group that I left b/c it devolved into a porn fest and several others just bc I felt they did not add any significant value.

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 9:15 am

hover11 wrote:So lemme get this straight , his lawyers good but is a dotish defense. You telling me he didn't know what was on HIS phone he had no prior knowledge of that and a judge supposed to run with that? Alright lewwe go with we believe him, so you mean to say you never went through your pics and ask how these strange pics ended up here? You just left them there? Didn't question how it appeared on your phone numerous times? Ignorance is no excuse he will get shafted.

I have auto download (on wifi) enabled on Whatapp and periodically when I go through vids and photo albums I am always surprised by what is there. If you are on several high traffic groups and you do not keep up in real time to the on-goings media files will slip through.

Dizz,

Let's be real a judge is going to ask so you not aware of what groups you joined. Then look at his background, man has high level certification in IT field so ignorance of the policies and processes of a simple app such as Whatsapp is not plausible. Better he just take the guilty verdict and throw himself at the mercy of the court because they will buss his throat.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2022, 9:20 am

I'm not defending him yunno. I believe he is on specific groups specifically for the content he had on his devices and for that the wood chipper is the cure.

But I'm also saying it is quite feasible to not know what files are on your phone.

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 10:15 am

so you saying you could be part of very large chat groups with high traffic and dont check the messages or look periodically to see what pics passing and nobody objects either to the pics being sent ?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2022, 10:20 am

pugboy wrote:so you saying you could be part of very large chat groups with high traffic and dont check the messages or look periodically to see what pics passing and nobody objects either to the pics being sent ?

That is possible. Trinis have a high tolerance for low brow behaviour bounding on the illegal and immoral.
The various local nude leaks that happen every so often is a good example. A crime is committed there but how much ppl actually pull up their bretherens?

It's best to stay out of questionable groups and as we see now, also speak up if you stay in them cuz you can easily get into legal issues.

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 10:40 am

pugboy wrote:so you saying you could be part of very large chat groups with high traffic and dont check the messages or look periodically to see what pics passing and nobody objects either to the pics being sent ?

That is possible. Trinis have a high tolerance for low brow behaviour bounding on the illegal and immoral.
The various local nude leaks that happen every so often is a good example. A crime is committed there but how much ppl actually pull up their bretherens?

It's best to stay out of questionable groups and as we see now, also speak up if you stay in them cuz you can easily get into legal issues.
Dizz,

Here is a different scenario but related nonetheless....picture a taxi driver he is the owner of the car and works taxi on weekends...no problem he making his side hustle, one evening he picked up a passenger who requested to use his trunk to place groceries inside it....however the "groceries" in question was Cocaine packets. When he dropped the passenger off , the passenger took the bags in the trunk but unbeknownst to him he forgot a packet in the taxi driver's car. Now weeks pass, the taxi driver hasn't inspected his car or cleaned it but one morning he late for work and is caught in a road block and the officer requests him to open his trunk and to the taxi driver's surprise he find the packet of cocaine....what you think happens from there. Is the same thing he can't use the excuse he didn't know , that is his car just like this was the VPs phone. These images were on his phone all this time and he getting up everyday, using his phone everyday and had no clue what was on there. People have to be more responsible of their possessions. You have a duty to check your phone and see if anything strange is on it. Just like the taxi driver had a duty to check his trunk.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 19th, 2022, 11:04 am

hover11 wrote:

Dizz,

Here is a different scenario but related nonetheless....picture a taxi driver he is the owner of the car and works taxi on weekends...no problem he making his side hustle, one evening he picked up a passenger who requested to use his trunk to place groceries inside it....however the "groceries" in question was Cocaine packets. When he dropped the passenger off , the passenger took the bags in the trunk but unbeknownst to him he forgot a packet in the taxi driver's car. Now weeks pass, the taxi driver hasn't inspected his car or cleaned it but one morning he late for work and is caught in a road block and the officer requests him to open his trunk and to the taxi driver's surprise he find the packet of cocaine....what you think happens from there. Is the same thing he can't use the excuse he didn't know , that is his car just like this was the VPs phone. These images were on his phone all this time and he getting up everyday, using his phone everyday and had no clue what was on there. People have to be more responsible of their possessions. You have a duty to check your phone and see if anything strange is on it. Just like the taxi driver had a duty to check his trunk.

Good analogy. But the big question is what prompted the US authorities to search his phone in the first place? Was it just purely a random search, or was his name on a watchlist of some sort?

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 11:05 am

^yes but not 7000 pics accidentally left on phone

anytime i in a line waiting, eg at bank or something i use that time to clear out junk on phone

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 11:17 am

antlind wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Dizz,

Good analogy. But the big question is what prompted the US authorities to search his phone in the first place? Was it just purely a random search, or was his name on a watchlist of some sort?
Probably a tip off, imagine I was reading an article where a guy went to drop off his laptop to service at Best Buy and while they were working on it they stumbled upon a folder of child porn. In a matter of hours he was arrested.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2022, 11:32 am

Chances are that search was not random and he was likely flagged or being monitored for this kind of activity.

I didn't read details but was it a consensual type search (which they can ask, but you can refuse to comply (see eff.org))
Or if they came with a warrant, that says something else.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 11:33 am

Could be a tip off or could be a random check.

Boarder patrol goes through your phone and devices these days if they decide they doing a thorough search on you.

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 11:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Chances are that search was not random and he was likely flagged or being monitored for this kind of activity.

I didn't read details but was it a consensual type search (which they can ask, but you can refuse to comply (see eff.org))
Bear in mind with that consenual search, that if you refuse while it is within your right, that will hamper your chances of obtaining a visa when it is time to renew

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2022, 11:52 am

It's a matter of choosing your battles and doh dead on a hill for dotishness.

I have the EFF stickers as part of my sticker bombed laptop, but I also have nothing to hide. I always comply with law enforcement and border patrol. They've never asked, and if they did I'll give them access.

https://www.eff.org/files/2018/07/17/co ... b-1280.png

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 1:16 pm

every single bit of social media/internet searching is tracked
so you don’t think the cops there don’t have access to that ?

you would be surprised how social media tracks and keeps you fed a steady stream to keep you on the hook

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2022, 1:31 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:It's a matter of choosing your battles and doh dead on a hill for dotishness.

I have the EFF stickers as part of my sticker bombed laptop, but I also have nothing to hide. I always comply with law enforcement and border patrol. They've never asked, and if they did I'll give them access.

https://www.eff.org/files/2018/07/17/co ... b-1280.png

as far as i know, at CBP you have no right to privacy or any thing like that

one of my cousins who works for DOD in ny warns all his friends and family to travel with a empty laptop and burner/new/disposable phones when coming to USA because you never know what random stupidness the CBP will find on your device and you can get tied up for it

he advises to log in to your PC remotely using the empty/new laptop and using a burner phone for safety

i`m sure many of us have vids on our phones from whatsapp chats with people Gun/Drugs/Hoes party/ people getting murdered

you might think you see it and delete it but it still somewhere floating around on your phone

your contact list and who you have saved on your phone could be another issue

[url]Customs officers are legally allowed to search travelers' personal electronics without a warrant — whether they're visitors or American citizens.
A Harvard student said he was recently denied entry to the US after officers questioned him about his religion and then searched his phone and laptop and found that his friends had written anti-American social-media posts.
Rights groups have sued the US government over the practice, arguing that officers should be required to obtain a warrant before such an invasive search.
Travelers can refuse access to their devices, but customs officers are not obligated to allow someone into the country.
For now, lawyers recommend that travelers carry burner phones, encrypt their devices, or simply not bring electronics at all.[/url]

https://www.businessinsider.com/can-us- ... ort-2017-2

eKeith

Postby eKeith » September 19th, 2022, 3:50 pm

Thanks for the info

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2022, 5:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i`m sure many of us have vids on our phones from whatsapp chats with people Gun/Drugs/Hoes party/ people getting murdered

Postby pugboy » September 19th, 2022, 5:09 pm

once its not the list of main federal crimes you safe

- child porn, prostitution, human trafficking
- isis alquaida terrorism
- drug trafficking, money laundering
- threats to uncle sam national security

paid_influencer wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i`m sure many of us have vids on our phones from whatsapp chats with people Gun/Drugs/Hoes party/ people getting murdered

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2022, 5:13 pm

hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Chances are that search was not random and he was likely flagged or being monitored for this kind of activity.

Bear in mind with that consenual search, that if you refuse while it is within your right, that will hamper your chances of obtaining a visa when it is time to renew

true, and also visa doesn't give you a right to entry. the same customs occifer that want to check your phone is the one who decides that.

EFF say you have a right to your privacy but no right to enter the US. If you are a foreign visitor and refuse the devices search, they can deny you entry and send you back trinidad.

Postby hover11 » September 19th, 2022, 5:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:

true, and also visa doesn't give you a right to entry. the same customs occifer that want to check your phone is the one who decides that.

EFF say you have a right to your privacy but no right to enter the US. If you are a foreign visitor and refuse the devices search, they can deny you entry and send you back trinidad.
There is a reason that when renewing your visa they ask about social media details , remember they always know more than you think they have knowledge of. They simply want you to confirm what they already know about you.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 19th, 2022, 5:40 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: You forget with the kinda bomb Snowden drop, they already know all they need to know about you.

Postby paid_influencer » September 19th, 2022, 5:44 pm

hover11 wrote:There is a reason that when renewing your visa they ask about social media details , remember they always know more than you think they have knowledge of. They simply want you to confirm what they already know about you.

i don't think this is true. they have an interviewing technique that puts people on a back foot with unexpected questions and it gives off that vibe. but the occifer is not omniscient.

Postby maj. tom » September 19th, 2022, 5:44 pm

Praise be to the Patriot Act 2001.

Postby K74T » September 19th, 2022, 6:32 pm

Security guard killed, two critical in robbery at Pennywise Plaza

by Radhica De Silva

A security officer is dead and two more critical after they managed to foil a robbery outside Pennywise Super Centre in La Romaine this afternoon.

The officers from Allied Security went to pick up cash at Pennywise and were accosted by the gunmen who opened fire killing one guard on the spot.

That guard has been identified as Jeffrey Peters.

The two other security officers returned fire, but a female officer was shot in the head.

One of the robbers was also shot and he dropped his gun as he fled.

Police are still on the scene.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/security-guard-killed-two-critical-in-robbery-at-pennywise-plaza-6.2.1547578.e2374276d3