PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2012, 6:31 am

mickey17 wrote:
HCCA wrote:saw some ppl saying that they replaced their xspc water block and got better results... is that true??

Well it's possible that different waterblocks provide better performance based on their design so it's true. However the stock waterblock the kits come with works just fine.

Only if you're into extreme overclocking then you should check out different parts, so far the stock one works very well.

I using an OCZ Hydroflow 2 block with my xspc kit on my AMD system and using the xspc block with my TT Kandalf parts on my Socket 1366 system.

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2012, 6:32 am

nervewrecker wrote:Whats a nice 5.1 or 3.1 soundcard for someone on a budget?

It will be nice if the software comes with eq, time alignment, highpass, bandpass &/ or low pass crossover frequencies as well.

I once had an onboard card with a dedicated sub out, menaing it was strictly bass that came through not fullrange & you have to use an external low pass filter with it.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » March 13th, 2012, 11:29 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2py6Z5q ... AAAAAAAAAA

so sad, it looks interesting, but i'm gonna get killed so many times, looking forward to the vertical gameplay though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 13th, 2012, 2:15 pm

^ extremely sexy!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 13th, 2012, 2:56 pm

Elyon wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2py6Z5q9wE&feature=context&context=G21d88caFOAAAAAAAAAA

so sad, it looks interesting, but i'm gonna get killed so many times, looking forward to the vertical gameplay though

*note to self* upgrade gpu

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 13th, 2012, 5:06 pm

^^ dual 7870 for me :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2012, 6:03 pm

mickey17 wrote:^^ dual 7870 for me :D

One of those supposed to be enuff seeing how they outperforming the 6970s dem.

Elyon

Postby Elyon » March 13th, 2012, 6:32 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
Elyon wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T2py6Z5q9wE&feature=context&context=G21d88caFOAAAAAAAAAA

*note to self* upgrade gpu

what gpu you got in your system master?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 13th, 2012, 8:21 pm

6870....eyefinity a lil harder to play on tho, will take some getting used to.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 13th, 2012, 8:26 pm

New battlefield weapons ina timin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uV1SbEuzFU

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 13th, 2012, 8:28 pm

HCCA wrote:
mickey17 wrote:^^ dual 7870 for me :D

One of those supposed to be enuff seeing how they outperforming the 6970s dem.

true true..

jinx1218

Postby jinx1218 » March 14th, 2012, 7:25 am

Hi All,
I'm looking for someone to teach iphone/ipad app development to teens for a vacation camp. Also looking for people with strong programming/game development background to teach (teens) at camps as well. If you or anyone you know may be interested inbox me for further information.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 14th, 2012, 10:35 am

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 14th, 2012, 10:40 am

crossfiring is silly nowadys the new gpu's have so much power that you don't need it plus crossfire never works as well as you would like

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 14th, 2012, 10:46 am

^^ I do not agree. Crossfire works WAYYY better than it used to!

Elyon

Postby Elyon » March 14th, 2012, 10:46 am

iM@st@1 wrote:New battlefield weapons ina timin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uV1SbEuzFU

Speaking of you know what i'd like to see introduced in bf, some better naval battles.

Imagine blowing up the aircraft carrier that has the above weapon...no doubt if said railgun was in bf3 it's piss off alot of ppl, myself included, worse yet if someone with an aimbot was using it.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 14th, 2012, 10:54 am

Chiney wrote:^^ I do not agree. Crossfire works WAYYY better than it used to!

on what? what is there that pushes 2 of the new cards? the last cards i had crossfired were my 5870 x6's there were serious issues in what i needed them for,
gaming was not a problem though but it seemed like overkill even for bf3 and crysis even in eyefinity 3.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 14th, 2012, 11:30 am

^^ within the 6800 and 6900 series, crossfirex has come a LONG way. the new board chipsets scale so much better now. you almost see a double up in performance, providing you have a good CPU to back those badboys, and yes, there are games/reasons to have 2 cards. running full AA and detail requires what more than 1 card can run.

eg. BF3

even if you set the game to ultra, the AA is set to x4 .. to max that out and get FULL detail you WILL need more video ram AND GPU power.

and with these new games coming out, those new cards releasing. the question of WHAT would be there to push 2 card is not really a question.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 14th, 2012, 12:45 pm

jm3 wrote:crossfiring is silly nowadys the new gpu's have so much power that you don't need it plus crossfire never works as well as you would like

True eh. Some games doh even support it well.

I find if you not getting double performance of one card (2 gpus crossfired) then it really doesn't make sense having them.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 14th, 2012, 1:17 pm

Old games do not support dual GPU well..all recent 2011+ games have extremely good support for dual GPU, even the driver release info says about it.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 15th, 2012, 5:33 pm

well i have had bad experiences with crossfire,
well not necessarily bad just disappointing. i'd rather just buy a sdingle 7970 and be done which is being ordered tonight (yay)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » March 15th, 2012, 6:37 pm

3 7970 on the way for my new system.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 15th, 2012, 6:42 pm

Check this, never think pink would look so sic
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 185&type=3

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 15th, 2012, 6:47 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Check this, never think pink would look so sic
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 185&type=3

That and the all red version real 'bright' looking.

They have a white/red version, they should make a black/red version.

Bison Mison

Postby Bison Mison » March 16th, 2012, 9:03 am

Started collecting parts for my phase change diy build. I hope to do a build log when i get every thing. Has anyone here attempted phase change?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 16th, 2012, 9:44 am

Bison Mison wrote:Started collecting parts for my phase change diy build. I hope to do a build log when i get every thing. Has anyone here attempted phase change?

Helped someone with that once. It is pretty easy once you follow the instructions..

Having ur CPU going 5.5ghz at a negative temp is amazing

Elyon

Postby Elyon » March 16th, 2012, 3:27 pm

Don't know if this is true, but if it is, it is impressive;

http://wccftech.com/nvidia-kepler-gefor ... s-hd-7970/

xaira

Postby xaira » March 16th, 2012, 8:57 pm

just saw those, the performance is slightly better than the 7970, but the power consumption numbers are lower which is crazy to me... nvidia finally did it, cudos to them, now just make something that beats the 7750 in performance per watt

Bison Mison

Postby Bison Mison » March 17th, 2012, 10:06 am

Chiney wrote:
Bison Mison wrote:Started collecting parts for my phase change diy build. I hope to do a build log when i get every thing. Has anyone here attempted phase change?

Helped someone with that once. It is pretty easy once you follow the instructions..

Having ur CPU going 5.5ghz at a negative temp is amazing

Yeh i looking to take a plunge into the sub zero cooling after having success with water cooling and seeing how great that was :lol: i gonna try a single stage build.A modeste 5.5ghz on a 2600k should be enough for my goals :)

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » March 17th, 2012, 10:43 am

not much difference in speed in ivy bridge as i hoped.. :(