The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 18th, 2020, 6:12 am

Looks like the stories about Ganga et al trying to undermine Kams were true then. Look Devant showing up more than ever

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 6:29 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Looks like the stories about Ganga et al trying to undermine Kams were true then. Look Devant showing up more than ever

Devant is a klunt trying to do a makeover that will NEVER work. Talk about a true snake.

I will never forget his stink words that Muslims in T&T should be killed. That was just before Kamla brought him into the Cabinet. I will never, ever forget that.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 18th, 2020, 6:32 am

Man just talking the truth and not being a sheep

Lef him!

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 6:36 am

PariaMan wrote:Man just talking the truth and not being a sheep

Lef him!

So you agree with his statement from years ago? Do you even know what I wrote about?????????????????????????????????

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2020, 6:37 am

[flash=][/flash]
matr1x wrote:Fresh elections. That's the only solution.

In the absence of any evidence of fraud....suspicion and allegations are not enough...you will get your fresh elections in 2025

Until then...hold your breath

eitech

Postby eitech » August 18th, 2020, 6:38 am

I guess is no more woman power

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2020, 7:15 am

Lef him!

Like a stopped clock...it’s right twice a day,but only for a minute.

Devant has a history of selective honesty...alongside outright deception.
That is the truth

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 8:15 am

Redman wrote:

Lef him!

Like a stopped clock...it’s right twice a day,but only for a minute.

Devant has a history of selective honesty...alongside outright deception.
That is the truth

Thank you. So damn dishonest.

I just found this:

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... ba9d991638

Devant mum on Rowley's 'bigotry talk'
by

Fri Jul 01 2011
Rhonda Krystal Rambally

Newly-appointed Transport Minister Devant Maharaj refused to comment on Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley's denunciation of him as a Cabinet Minister. During a People's National Movement public meeting in Couva on Wednesday night, Rowley reminded the crowd of alleged remarks of bigotry against Muslims made by Maharaj several years ago.

Rowley said: "I want to ask all Muslims in Trinidad and Tobago, how do you feel that the Prime Minister voluntarily picks up and puts into Cabinet a man who has his own views about Muslims in Trinidad?" Contacted yesterday, Maharaj said: "I don't take Dr Rowley seriously and will not make any comments." He said he wished Rowley best of luck in his political career. Unaware and surprised to hear Rowley was in Couva, Maharaj said: "Then he should contest the Couva seat."

Asked if he felt the comments he made in 2004 would negatively affect him, Maharaj added: "When I start to perform, call me back." Maharaj was a public relations officer at the National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB) at the time.

The issue was taken to court in 2005 by the NLCB, challenging the decision by the Statutory Authorities Service Commission not to prefer a charge of misconduct against Maharaj over the alleged remarks.

According to the facts, as stated in the judgement handed down by puisne judge Nolan Bereaux in the High Court in June 2006, on September 3 2004 the NLCB held an official dinner to honour president and chief executive officer of the Tennessee Lottery Education Corporation Rebecca Paul.

Five days later, acting secretary to the board, Noel Maloney, reported that during the dinner Maharaj had made derogatory remarks about people of Muslim religion and their holy books.

Page three of the judgement stated: "Mr Maharaj's comments allegedly included "All Muslims were terrorists" and "All Muslims in Pakistan and other countries should be executed even if it meant wiping out whole nations and the rest of them should then move to Saudi Arabia." Maharaj had denied making those statements and the notice of motion was dismissed. The court ordered NLCB to pay the commission and Maharaj's costs.

Postby matr1x » August 18th, 2020, 8:37 am

Redman wrote:[flash=][/flash]

In the absence of any evidence of fraud....suspicion and allegations are not enough...you will get your fresh elections in 2025

If you are after the caroni bridge, under pnm rule, you doomed

Postby j.o.e » August 18th, 2020, 8:54 am

matr1x wrote:

All is well in sando. Stay strong ..... don’t beat up.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » August 18th, 2020, 9:08 am

j.o.e wrote:
matr1x wrote:

after the caroni brdge does not need people from above the caroni bridge

we will be just fine

after the caroni bridge needs to secede to realize their true greatness :drinking:

remember the caroni bridge

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2020, 9:24 am

Lou Screuz wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
matr1x wrote:

after the caroni brdge does not need people from above the caroni bridge

we will be just fine

after the caroni bridge needs to secede to realize their true greatness :drinking:

remember the caroni bridge

LOL

matrix -south of the Caroni bridge is the part of the country that produces.

North just administrates.......

What do we do with the extreme idiots in South?-we send them North to become politicians.....so they fit in.

Postby The_Honourable » August 18th, 2020, 11:16 am

Scapegoats and Demons

- by Mariano Browne

Like the conductor of an orchestra, leaders are responsible for the timing, tone, and tempo of the organisations. Timing is about syncronising the various members of the teams to meet the quality objective. Tone refers to the effect produced by a harmonic combination of the notes produced by the team. Tempo is the speed at which the notes are performed. This is also true of political parties, particularly when they are in campaign mode.

Winning an election is about getting votes and politicians employ different strategies to increase their popularity. Many messaging techniques are deployed to manipulate voters, even when it is against the voter’s self-interest. These techniques include the use of negative language to create divisions, appealing to national sentiment, creating, or portraying “others” as enemies. Emotive language plays on and amplifies fear and ignorance. The 2020 platform contributions and election advertising on traditional media (print, radio, television) displayed all these techniques. These messages were amplified by supporters in social media. It needed no Cambridge Analytica.

In the 2010 election Mr. Manning was branded as a spendthrift wasting the country’s patrimony and selling out the country’s interest to Chinese contractors and a “white foreigner”. Both the UNC’ and the PNM’s current political leader used this technique then. Dr. Rowley simultaneously campaigned for his seat and for the overthrow of Mr. Manning calling for a post-election court martial. He endorsed and bolstered the UNC’s branding of the PNM and Mr. Manning with focused attacks on UDeCOTT based on his parliamentary statements that “country was going to hell in a handbasket under the PNM” and “corruption was ten times worse under the PNM than under the UNC”.

It is noteworthy that despite the allegations, all contractors, Chinese and others, continue to be used by PNM and UNC administrations alike.

The 2020 campaign started in 2015 and continued non-stop. The UNC was negatively branded as being corrupt, profligate in spending, the poster child for poor governance, who would raid and rape the treasury and carry the country to the IMF. Given the racial composition of both parties, messages are quickly associated with racial stereotyping. Some would argue that this is the “truth”. The difficulty with this “truth” is that it is unsupported by evidence. Why would any administration not prosecute theft by the previous administration in a criminal court within its five-year term?

Nothing can embolden politicians as much as a righteous war against an evil enemy. This is reflected in the emotive language “rape, terror, plunder, abuse, rob” etc. Politicians understand that when enemies are on the horizon, supporters tend to put animosities aside and coalesce. Enemies serve a useful purpose as they allow a politician to play the role of “victim”, thereby marginalising or delegitimizing the message of the “other”.

The press is a useful enemy to have as it allows politicians to undermine any valid criticism as it comes from “the enemy” and is therefore “fake news”. This helps politicians to retain control of the narrative and facilitate the politician’s claim that the voter’s interest is being conscientiously represented.

Nothing appeals like nationalism and any attempt to hurt national interest. Political power rests on the willingness of people to accept government’s authority and legitimacy. The more politicians can convince people to blindly support the government, the more powerful and legitimate the message. Hence the appeal to nationalism by portraying the UNC as wanting the US to impose sanctions on T&T.

No political party in TT can win an election solely with the support one tribe. That is why the PNM positioned itself as a “national” movement and why Dr Williams in in the “Perspectives for a New Society” in 1971 referred to the dispossessed “Indian and Negro masses”. Indeed, the PNM was never been positioned as a “black party”.

However, because of the racial bias in the composition of the main political parties, carelessly drafted speeches are quickly interpreted along racial lines. Whatever the intent, referring to Dr Rowley as a “blank” man was simply stupid. It required no imagination to interpret “blank” as “black” offending and galvanising the other tribe in the process. Dr. Rowley is thin-skinned on these matters and enjoys playing the victim. His response was entirely predictable and has continued to sour the post-election atmosphere.

The timing, tone and tempo of the election campaign were discordant. When negative emotions are harnessed for political ends, they take on a life of their own. The old evolutionary trait of cooperation with insiders and hostility to outsiders was adequate when all that mattered was the survival of the tribe. TT is a diverse, multi-ethnic society and its institutions need to reflect cooperation, not confrontation.

The current economic challenges will hurt the young and those at the middle and the bottom, the vulnerable. The conversation and mood in the election aftermath have become more ugly containing nothing that will either unify the country or address the coming storm. What is required is statesmanship that appeals to the national interest. Both political leaders failed TT this week and gave the commissioner of police the opportunity to begin his 2025 campaign.

Source: Sunday Guardian - 16th August 2020

Postby K74T » August 18th, 2020, 1:51 pm

KAMLA CONCEDES

Kamla Persad-Bissessar, SC
Political Leader of the United National Congress

Post-Election Address

Tuesday 18th August 2020

After some days of reflection and monitoring of the progress of the election recount process, I am satisfied that the people have spoken and that Dr. Rowley and his party shall form the new Government of Trinidad and Tobago.

I congratulate them and wish them the best.

I know that many of you are feeling a sense of disappointment with the election result.

I, too, am disappointed with the election and I accept full responsibility for the result.

I share the grave concerns expressed by many about the election irregularities and the need to strengthen the integrity of the electoral process.

We remain deeply concerned, especially since the release of correspondence relating to Trinidad and Tobago’s request for independent election observers raise more questions than answers.

I am proud of all our 39 candidates and their teams for their continued dedication to service to the people of Trinidad and Tobago.

I say a heartfelt thank you to Team UNC and the 309,000 plus citizens who voted for us.

Personally, I am disappointed with the results but note that the UNC was able to achieve gains in three of the key marginal seats, which may have given us a chance at that majority, but those gains were insufficient.

What the results have shown us is that once again our nation is deeply divided on which Party should be running the affairs of Trinidad and Tobago.

These divisions are being reflected in a lot of the bitter chatter on social media and across the country.

This cannot be good for our country.

Many people may not remember that I first contested National Elections as a candidate for the National Alliance for Reconstruction, which still remains the only party to have been able to achieve an overwhelming mandate drawn from the widest possible representation of Trinidad and Tobago.

I have therefore always been one seeking to unite our country in trying to bring out its best.

In subsequent years, I saw the UNC and the People’s Partnership as the vehicle for recapturing that unity by appealing to a wide cross - section of the country. We had that opportunity in 2010.

Unfortunately, the country has drifted far away from those ideals of unity.

I am not prepared to fan the flames of hate.

We recognize that we operate in an adversarial political system but now is the time for reconciliation and healing among our people.

We are one nation.

We are one people.

The election is over and now, it is back to the harsh reality of working to put bread on the table and being our brother’s keeper.

I call on all political parties and interests to resolve immediately that we will not let our beloved Nation’s longstanding tradition of harmony, tolerance, and unity be jeopardised by expressions of hate, divisiveness, and fear-mongering.

We must respect each other’s political choices without invoking and inciting race to divide our people.

I call on all citizens of good conscience to reject hate.

I call on all our leaders across national and local government, public and private organizations, places of worship and NGO’s to raise our voices in national unity and confidently affirm:

“Here every creed and race find an equal place.”

On a more personal note, I have given the last 25 years of my life in dedicated service to my country.

In this election, I invested in the youth of this nation. We have a parliamentary team that is full of young, brilliant and creative minds.

It is my duty to facilitate the development and transformation that must take place in the UNC with an eye on the future to ensure that the baton for leadership is passed into strong and capable hands at the appropriate time.

Some observers have been raising questions about my political future and, some are keen to see me exit the political landscape.

This is understandable as I have myself queried whether I should resign. This is not an easy job.

You must accept responsibility for mistakes made whether you were aware of them or not, whether you had any control over them or not. And yes, some of them you make on your own – I lay no claim to infallibility. I accept full responsibility.

Having consulted with my colleagues, it is clear that running away is not an option at this point in time.

The UNC must have a degree of stability as it consolidates and unites during the period of transition, growth and transformation.

I have reflected long and hard and have come to the conclusion that in the immediate future I have a key role to play in helping our country heal and move forward, especially with a group of young new vibrant MPs entering the House of Representatives.

The members of the UNC elected me overwhelmingly as their Leader three times in the past ten years; tens of thousands of citizens voted for the party I lead in this year’s general election.

Until such a time as our party chooses otherwise, I will remain their faithful champion and servant.

It has already been explained that the UNC will hold scheduled Elections for a Political Leader.

After careful thought, prayer and reflection I have decided to commit myself to the Leadership of the Party in and outside of Parliament until the internal elections.

There will be no more opportunity to “Blame Kamla” and I shall not allow myself to be portrayed as an obstructionist - as an excuse for the Government not moving forward.

As the year evolves, our Party will decide on ways that we can contribute to moving this country forward and during this period, the members of the Party will determine the appropriate Leadership to move us forward.

The Government shall need to prepare itself for a fresh approach to Opposition politics.

We will support when we genuinely believe it is good for all of our people and we will fight arrogance and injustice with the same determination.

An additional 5% swing in only two seats could easily have seen a different outcome. This razor thin margin reinforces that whoever won needs to approach governance with humility rather than arrogance and partisanship.

The narrow margin reinforces the divisions within our country and the challenges to moving forward.

We cannot continue like this. All of our 1.3 million countrymen and women deserve better.

As we continue to press for ways to devolve governance to Regional Corporations, we must also once again revisit our national electoral structure and explore ways to be more inclusive.

These are some of the goals that will define my legacy.

It is often said that a strong government needs an even stronger opposition.

This is certainly true for our beloved country as we face unprecedented challenges that calls for a constructive partnership between government and opposition where the public interest is of paramount concern.

I therefore pledge to lead one of the strongest opposition forces in our political history with safety, accountability, transparency and equality as our priorities.

If I can bring meaningful change to the way we live and govern ourselves, it will be far more fulfilling than simply holding the highest office in the land.

The twilight of my Political career will be grounded in the same reasoning for entering Politics in 1987 - focused on uniting our country, where every creed and race can aspire to find an equal place.

These are the values on which our beloved Nation was created. These are the values we teach our children. These are the values that must carry Trinidad and Tobago forward.

I have always told you, and do not think for one moment because the results have not gone in the manner we wanted, that this will change, “You will have many leaders, but you will never have a leader who loves you as much as I do.”

I thank each and every supporter our great party and every voter who has stood with us to defend our democracy.

I thank everyone who has supported me over the years.

I ask you, hand in hand, we have a responsibility as a people to protect our nation and our future.

Let us do so as a united people.

Let us not allow ourselves to be divided and remember that our strength remains in our unity.

I say to all, life goes on, tomorrow you still have the chance to make the most of your day and we must not allow this loss to deter us.

Let us continue to put God in front and walk behind.

May God bless you and may God bless our beloved Trinidad and Tobago.

Tuesday 18th August 2020
-END-

Postby MaxPower » August 18th, 2020, 1:55 pm

^ steups.

Always singing the same speech.

The people want to do it together, just not with her.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2020, 1:56 pm

So this thread can be closed now??

eitech

Postby eitech » August 18th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Finally.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 18th, 2020, 2:05 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So this thread can be closed now??

I say so

Mods???

Postby maj. tom » August 18th, 2020, 2:17 pm

Before the thread closes, i just want to say that i have a feeling that everything Mr. Panday had said about this woman as true. And how a lot of people keep saying things like she pressured by people around her, as if she is some saint leader and manipulated by everyone else. That can't be true. This election, the choices available for voters and the recount episode reveals much more about the true ruthless and selfish character of one of our politicians, one that could have been written by our historians as one of the best leaders this country had ever seen. But instead it has exposed a lot more to the public, and a lot more about fanatic support for those who crave power. Kamla why?

Historians, you have such a wealth of information and public opinions available for research that are documented on Trinituner.
Last edited by maj. tom on August 18th, 2020, 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » August 18th, 2020, 2:18 pm

20200818_141715.jpeg

He has also noted that there will be changes made to the cabinet.

death365

Postby death365 » August 18th, 2020, 2:32 pm

wonder who the new minister of education will be? Hazel >>> ?

just a nasty rumor i heard

Postby K74T » August 18th, 2020, 2:44 pm

Nah

Postby The_Honourable » August 18th, 2020, 2:46 pm

PNM host media conference - 18th August 2020

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2020, 2:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:Before the thread closes, i just want to say that i have a feeling that everything Mr. Panday had said about this woman as true. And how a lot of people keep saying things like she pressured by people around her, as if she is some saint leader and manipulated by everyone else. That can't be true. This election, the choices available for voters and the recount episode reveals much more about the true ruthless and selfish character of one of our politicians, one that could have been written by our historians as one of the best leaders this country had ever seen. But instead it has exposed a lot more to the public, and a lot more about fanatic support for those who crave power. Kamla why?

Historians, you have such a wealth of information and public opinions available for research that are documented on Trinituner.

How any one can place KPB in the top list of leaders has more to do with it being a SHORT list-and not her stewardship of our economy and Govt 2010-2015

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2020, 3:09 pm

So basically Rowley kicked off Blame Kamla 2020-2025 today

VII

Postby VII » August 18th, 2020, 3:48 pm

Thank you.

maj. tom wrote:Before the thread closes, i just want to say that i have a feeling that everything Mr. Panday had said about this woman as true. And how a lot of people keep saying things like she pressured by people around her, as if she is some saint leader and manipulated by everyone else. That can't be true. This election, the choices available for voters and the recount episode reveals much more about the true ruthless and selfish character of one of our politicians, one that could have been written by our historians as one of the best leaders this country had ever seen. But instead it has exposed a lot more to the public, and a lot more about fanatic support for those who crave power. Kamla why?

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2020, 4:08 pm

death365 wrote:wonder who the new minister of education will be? Hazel >>> ?

just a nasty rumor i heard

Nyan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby De Dragon » August 18th, 2020, 4:30 pm

abducted wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This Covid is an entire mess thanks to PNM.

UNC warned PNM from the start and they failed to take out measures.

They lied all the way to elections on Covid and lay blame on UNC .

Elections should have been postponed due to go covid. I am sure we now see a further spike.

Trinis are very stupid people and very very guilable.

The PNM had put everyones lives at risk

Hello Zoom,

Covid is an entire mess due to the irresponsibility of Trinis.
Had PNM taken action when it was brought up in parliament we would not been seeing this mess.

Stop defending the PNM, they made a total mess.

Stupid country filled with stupid people

Grow up, you have to bring your stupid political talk into every topic, every country in the world is dealing with this, the government closed schools and shut down the country early, we were doing well, the opposition wanted bars to reopen, opposition called to reopen borders, opposition opened their mouth just to oppose and feel like they were relevant, said sunlight could kill cover, where has reopening bars and letting people back home led us? The political ranting is more sickening than this virus.
Other countries took the precautions very early and are at ease now.

This country was warned very early and did nothing.

However you look at it, it is a political mess.

Why was cases kept on hush?

Why all this sudden increase?

Elections in covid was a total mess it was ill conceived.

Face the facts, your health and family are at risk cause the last government failed to take actions in the very earlies.

Why the UNC didn't contact CARPHA and show that cases are being hushed? The sudden increase is due to community spread because the opposition pushed for bars to reopen and nationals to return, elections in covid is total mess? but the UNC holding back progress by calling for a recount, grow up and stop blindly supporting one side over the other, you always talking about being in the rum shop, stay home, it's safer there.

I love how you, and many like you believe that bars and returning citizens are solely responsible for Covid-19. It is political because BOTH parties chose to make it that way. In fact, your insistence on mentioning bars and returning citizens sounds very much like the stock PNM reply. Why aren't the bars closed and ALL flights not mandated to direct people straight to quarantine then? is it because it was one side advocating it that the other side saw it as a measure how not doing it(at the time)was a measure of their "success"

Postby matr1x » August 18th, 2020, 4:45 pm

Spread your legs. The end of Trinidad begins again. I hope all the red, live to regret the choice.

Postby MaxPower » August 18th, 2020, 4:54 pm

matr1x wrote:Spread your legs. The end of Trinidad begins again. I hope all the red, live to regret the choice.

Slim,

Clearly 5 years is not enough for all the red to regret.

Maybe another 5-10 years again or more.

But for now, the red party is the happy party.