The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby S_2NR » August 30th, 2012, 8:42 am

I like to use my phone one handed alot of d times soo that's why i can't tolerate it.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 30th, 2012, 9:17 am

S_2NR wrote:I like to use my phone one handed alot of d times soo that's why i can't tolerate it.

True, the one hand use of the s3 is for about 90 percent of the actions. About ten percent require both hands to accomplish comfortably.

Postby pete » August 30th, 2012, 9:40 am

That's why variety is a good thing. Not everyone is the same. Some people like to use one hand, others prefer to have a big screen.

If you don't like the size of the s3 then you can choose something else.

Personally the iPhone screen its too small, my fingers too wide and typing on it its a PITA so I am happy to have the option of a bigger phone.

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2012, 12:11 am

Guys, a padna of mine just bought an S III and he wants to install apps like paypal. However he can't because it says it's not available for our region.
I was thinking Market Enabler and clear cache for play store before. But, I think ME requires root... what do you all advise? I don't want to root it for him unless absolutely necessary. Trying to avoid downloading the apk and allowing installing from unknown sources also.

(P.S. it feels better in the hand vs the S II but still feels too big.)

Oh, I think this "too big; not useable" has another dimension. If you are left handed vs right handed, results can also be varied.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 31st, 2012, 1:36 am

^that's one thing that always pissed me off about Android. the stupid region restrictions :S

dont know myself of any other way besides ME or downloading the apk from a 3rd party...

Postby r3iXmann » August 31st, 2012, 6:08 am

apks arent hard to find

just google '<appname> apk' and it comes up..either from a filesharing resource or a forum

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2012, 10:35 am

Yea reix ended up just using one from apktop but couldn't those be maliciously compiled and actually be used to steal data etc?

Postby S_2NR » August 31st, 2012, 11:20 am

M_2NR wrote:Yea reix ended up just using one from apktop but couldn't those be maliciously compiled and actually be used to steal data etc?

Yes. You can set permissions to always ask for permission for certain things. Like accessing info, contacts, etc. So if it's a one time thing, only authorize it for one use.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 31st, 2012, 11:23 am

M_2NR wrote:Guys, a padna of mine just bought an S III and he wants to install apps like paypal. However he can't because it says it's not available for our region.
I was thinking Market Enabler and clear cache for play store before. But, I think ME requires root... what do you all advise? I don't want to root it for him unless absolutely necessary. Trying to avoid downloading the apk and allowing installing from unknown sources also.

Oh, I think this "too big; not useable" has another dimension. If you are left handed vs right handed, results can also be varied.

M_2NR wrote:Yea reix ended up just using one from apktop but couldn't those be maliciously compiled and actually be used to steal data etc?

I don't use PayPal, but I just downloaded it and extracted the apk for you, so it's safer. And it's the latest version.

http://db.tt/Id18DEEv

achillies

Postby achillies » August 31st, 2012, 12:39 pm

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2012, 1:40 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Guys, a padna of mine just bought an S III and he wants to install apps like paypal. However he can't because it says it's not available for our region.

I don't use PayPal, but I just downloaded it and extracted the apk for you, so it's safer. And it's the latest version.

http://db.tt/Id18DEEv

thanks man and thanks the others!

_______

The number of android ICS Users doubled! ...To 15% :lol:
http://developer.android.com/about/dash ... index.html

casper

Postby casper » August 31st, 2012, 9:30 pm

I Sold my iPhone 4 yesterday and got an S3...screen size is big but after a few hours u won't even notice much of a change...the lighter weight is very welcoming though...and also the bigger screen too when watchin vids on YouTube etc...the s3's size is just right...the note is way too big to carry around as a cell phone IMO....I already have an iPad so,I don't need a phablet...Lolz

Android for phones and iOS for tabs

casper

Postby casper » August 31st, 2012, 9:37 pm

stev wrote:GameKlip Combines PS3 Controller with Android Phones: Poor Man’s PlayStation Phone

Unlike the messy controller situation in iOS, Android users have the benefit of workarounds for using controllers with their mobile device. One such solution is the Sixaxis Controller app, which pairs PS3 controllers with compatible Android devices. If you’re using the app, you might want to get the GameKlip as well.

Made by Ryan French, the GameKlip is simply a plastic mount that lets you connect a PS3 controller with an Android smartphone. The result is a semi-permanent, poor man’s portable gaming device.

8-)

Btw...that's not really a poor mans ps phone...an s3 and a ps3 control costs way more than even a ps vita

Postby Trini Hookah » August 31st, 2012, 9:48 pm

Xperia play ftw :|

achillies

Postby achillies » September 1st, 2012, 8:12 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Xperia play ftw :|

sony always makes good looking hardware, but they really fail when it comes to internal specs, their phones are already outdated hardware wise when they are released. and that is why that Xperia Play didn't do better, and is also why Samsung is doing so well

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 1st, 2012, 9:49 am

achillies wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Xperia play ftw :|

sony always makes good looking hardware, but they really fail when it comes to internal specs, their phones are already outdated hardware wise when they are released. and that is why that Xperia Play didn't do better, and is also why Samsung is doing so well

I have the play and I agree with you.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 1st, 2012, 9:51 am

Can't disagree with you there I guess, they even scrapped our official ics update and it was all downhill from there.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 5th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Motorola Event Live

sentraman

Postby sentraman » September 5th, 2012, 2:44 pm

well that was uneventful lol

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 5th, 2012, 3:14 pm

casper wrote:Android for phones and iOS for tabs

AGREED!!!!
I did the same thing

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 5th, 2012, 3:36 pm

can i unlock a digi S5360 to use a bmobile SIM?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 5th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Why compare the new moto to a two year old *platform* (iPhone 4S).

Aren't their competitors also Samsung, HTC, Nokia etc?
Not impressive when compared to the S3, even in looks the S2 and S3 blows it away.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 5th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Strauss wrote:Why compare the new moto to a two year old *platform* (iPhone 4S).

Not impressive when compared to the S3, even in looks the S2 and S3 blows it away.

It's not their fault the platform is 2 years old, it is currently the latest and the best Apple has to offer

No, Samsung etc are not their competitors in this light, it's just like Nokia taking all those shots at Android with their snarky little comments, not once did they make a comment about anything iOS, we all know which platform everyone is really gunning after, and the un-blinded eye would also be able to see why

That $99 price point for that Razr M is a great price point, for that price you can have great hardware, a 4.3 inch screen, ICS with JellyBean soon to follow, as opposed to buying the iPhone 4S which by Strauss' confession, is two years old

I am a bit uncomfortable with how close Motorola is to Verizon though
Last edited by achillies on September 5th, 2012, 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 5th, 2012, 6:02 pm

achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote:Why compare the new moto to a two year old *platform* (iPhone 4S).

It's not their fault the platform is 2 years old, it is currently the latest and the best Apple has to offer

No, Samsung etc are not their competitors in this light, it's just like Nokia taking all those shots at Android with their snarky little comments, not once did they make a comment about anything iOS, we all know which platform everyone is really gunning after, and the un-blinded eye would also be able to see why

There are a lot of vendors selling Windows PCs and they compete with each other and Apple as well as Linux PC vendors. Business is business. Even Microsoft competes with their vendors now.

If Apple were to die tomorrow, you think it's going to be all honky dory? The only real threat I see right now is Samsung (until a better iPhone). If Motorola doesn't focus on Samsung, Google will regret that purchase.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 5th, 2012, 6:19 pm

Strauss wrote:
achillies wrote:

There are a lot of vendors selling Windows PCs and they compete with each other and Apple as well as Linux PC vendors. Business is business. Even Microsoft competes with their vendors now.

If Apple were to die tomorrow, you think it's going to be all honky dory? The only real threat I see right now is Samsung (until a better iPhone). If Motorola doesn't focus on Samsung, Google will regret that purchase.

This isn't the PC market, comparisons are useless

Apple won't die tomorrow, it's never going to be honky dory, Samsung is the only threat Apple sees also, hence the lawsuits, I really don't know what Motorola has to do to bypass Sammy, but Google regretting the purchase, no one would ever really know that, but if you like, you can give yourself liberty to fashion a guess, but it is nothing more that that, a guess.

And, we all know which platform everyone is really gunning after

Postby M_2NR » September 5th, 2012, 9:01 pm

Oh geezus. Image :?:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 5th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Meanwhile... I'm still waiting on jelly bean for my s3.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 5th, 2012, 9:12 pm

If they PM other users like me wouldn't be able to see it, plus the discussion is related to android.

Side note: Google acquired Motorola for their patents.

Still waiting on Jelly Bean for my s3 too :cry:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 6th, 2012, 12:14 am

M_2NR wrote:Oh geezus. Image :?:

Just pointing out that Motorola and Samsung are not friends. The only thing they have in common is the OS they are running (like Windows PCs).

The king of the hill right now is Samsung. If Google is not taking this seriously, what is the real purpose of keeping Moto making phones?

It is an almost funny situation.
Motorola is owned by Google.
Motorola competes with Samsung and everyone else (phones + tabs)
Google provides OS for Samsung and everyone else (phones + tabs)
Google via Asus competes with Motorola, Samsung and everyone else (tabs)
Google via HTC competes with Samsung, Motorola and everyone else (phones)

Then I suppose there is only one real winner here. At the end of the day Google is generating income via ads and data collection.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » September 6th, 2012, 12:48 am

original_lollybob wrote:can i unlock a digi S5360 to use a bmobile SIM?

I can do it for you, PM me.

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Meanwhile... I'm still waiting on jelly bean for my s3.

ZeroOne wrote:If they PM other users like me wouldn't be able to see it, plus the discussion is related to android.

Side note: Google acquired Motorola for their patents.

Still waiting on Jelly Bean for my s3 too :cry:

I flashed a JB rom on mine. Works pretty good, should give it a try :)