Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 1:38 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Where in trinidad has clean safe water?

about 10miles off Toco. Or on the North side of Tobago

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 1:47 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:i running a seaclone on my FOWLR 75gal and it works ok. Its on a timer and runs from 7pm to 9am cause it scares the fish during the day. Too much damn fine bubbles. Its running nearly 2 yrs with no probs. small bioload though. On my big tank, I running a 250 gal skimmer....... no fine bubbles whatsoever because of the bio-pin wheel. I not even running extra baffles in my sump. its 25" tall with a 11"X12" footprint. it pulls real gunk out of my tank and has been running nonstop 11+mths now. Guess that what keeps my water clean. I feed my fish about 10-15 times a day..............real heavy too. garlic Pellets, freeze dried mysis, krill & plankton, frozen mysis, nori. A bottle of freeze dried Plankton (1oz - 28 grams) lasts me about under 2 wks. also feed them krill and mysis which is high protein. So you have to be skimming allot.
Also the more LR you have, the better filtration you get cause it helps absorb stuff
you want your nitrates to go to zero?......................................run bio-pellets or do vodka dosing or even both like me. allot of people recently started dosing vinegar with great results.

if i get a biopellet reactor will the nitrates drop to zero?

how often will I have to do partial water changes?

can i put a biopellet reactor on a freshwater tank to control nitrates as well?

i know nothing about the vodka dosing? wah brand, amount, how often?

my whole thing is i trying to make my tank easy to maintain....less work and effort for me....i already find i does have to top off my water too often (every 2 days) so i want less work. Hence the reason I trying to avoid the water changes so often.

water change and top-off is two different things. Get a auto-top off unit that does it for you. But you still have to do water changes. FOWLR you can get away with water changes, Full Reef, you have to be on your game. Especially if you have some good corals. If you going SPS, you have to have pristine water and you must be dosing Cal/Alk often or get a calcium reactor

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 6:34 pm

Does anyone have freshwater shrimp..not crayfish SHRIMP like this http://www.guppylodge.com/red%20cherry% ... mp%201.jpg
always wanted but i could never find. :(

link

Postby link » August 1st, 2012, 6:48 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Does anyone have freshwater shrimp..not crayfish SHRIMP like this http://www.guppylodge.com/red%20cherry% ... mp%201.jpg
always wanted but i could never find. :(

all the Petrotrin dams in Fyzabad have...just walk with a net & pass it through the grass & u will get dozens...
used to use them for bait
rgds

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 7:06 pm

that is prawn
I wanted shrimp small shrimp that people normally use in their planted tanks for algae control and cleaners. Stress on "SHRIMP" :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 7:23 pm

cant remember where i saw them but its either the petshop in grand bazzar or pethopboys or natures world in sando i saw them............... cant remember

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 7:25 pm

saw them by chais also about 2-3 mths ago. Selling them as feeders

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 1st, 2012, 7:27 pm

Awww, so nobody has in their tank :( ..ugh gotta go look for some

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2012, 7:43 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Awww, so nobody has in their tank :( ..ugh gotta go look for some

why you so eager to get them.............. you have allot of freshwater fish?

illusion

Postby illusion » August 1st, 2012, 11:30 pm

guys any advise on LED lights for fresh water plants

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » August 2nd, 2012, 12:12 pm

Yeh i hv freshwater fish and a planted tank and i always wanted shrimp.

rookie

Postby rookie » August 2nd, 2012, 8:04 pm

Where in trinidad can i get LED Lights and a HOOD to buy to fit my fish tank its about 4ft long 20 inches in width.

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 2nd, 2012, 8:25 pm

yes guys the Aquarium Fish Association Of Trinidad and Tobago Aquarium Fish & Koi show will be on the 23 th and 24 th of August 2012 all are welcome if anyone want to be part of the show please feel free to let me know

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2012, 8:44 pm

tecpure wrote:yes guys the Aquarium Fish Association Of Trinidad and Tobago Aquarium Fish & Koi show will be on the 23 th and 24 th of August 2012 all are welcome if anyone want to be part of the show please feel free to let me know

but you aint give a location? You having anyone set up a saltwater display?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » August 2nd, 2012, 9:30 pm

rookie wrote:Where in trinidad can i get LED Lights and a HOOD to buy to fit my fish tank its about 4ft long 20 inches in width.

I not sure if its led or not but check south beach aquariums in grand bazaar, I called today they have one for 9 something

663-0836

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 2nd, 2012, 9:36 pm

HONDA B2OB LOCATION OF THE SHOW WILL BE GULF CITY MALL SAN FERNANDO GUYS FROM FROM AQUARIUNS & PONDS SERVICES WILL BE DOING THE SALTWATER DISPLAY

Postby UML » August 2nd, 2012, 9:41 pm

hondab20b u ready to put them out of business?!! :lol: :lol:

u have my vote....wah u say bout a lil stiff competition for them :mrgreen:

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 2nd, 2012, 10:01 pm

UML THE AQUARIUM &KOI FISH SHOW IS NOT ABOUT COMPETITION OR PUTING ANYONE OUT OF BUSINESS

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2012, 10:03 pm

tecpure wrote:HONDA B2OB LOCATION OF THE SHOW WILL BE GULF CITY MALL SAN FERNANDO GUYS FROM FROM AQUARIUNS & PONDS SERVICES WILL BE DOING THE SALTWATER DISPLAY

who are they and where they from

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2012, 10:07 pm

UML wrote:hondab20b u ready to put them out of business?!! :lol: :lol:

u have my vote....wah u say bout a lil stiff competition for them :mrgreen:

Nah, not me nah.......................

On another note, the petshop it had in "TWIN WALLS" by Gulf City, Anyone ever see any of there setups the did? Heard the setting up a few tanks well in the Gulf area

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 2nd, 2012, 10:37 pm

HONDAB2OB THE NAME OF THE COMPANY IS TECPURE PONDS &AQUARIUM SERVICES FROM CHAGUANAS ALSO THERE WILL BE MANY MORE

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2012, 11:00 pm

hope there will be interesting tanks, both fresh and salt.

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 2nd, 2012, 11:07 pm

YES HONDA B2OB IT WILL BE INTERESTING BUT IT WILL ONLY BE JUST FISH

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2012, 11:33 pm

you ever started up the 8" salt?

link

Postby link » August 2nd, 2012, 11:59 pm

tecpure wrote:YES HONDA B2OB IT WILL BE INTERESTING BUT IT WILL ONLY BE JUST FISH

will it be possible to purchase fish from the exhibits (or from a 'stock' for that purpose) ???

tecpure

Postby tecpure » August 3rd, 2012, 12:09 am

THERE WILL NO SALE OF THE FISH YOU CAN PURCHASE
THE FISHES AFTER THE EXHIBITS

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 3rd, 2012, 5:49 am

Hold that...............dont want to show you the full tank shot yet
DSC04250 - Copy.JPG

LucaG

Postby LucaG » August 3rd, 2012, 8:38 am

Saltwater Aquarium for sale with live rock, sand, fish, lighting, skimmer, phosban reactor, power head, hang on/internal overflow box.

Fish:
Purple Tang
Royal gramma
3 x Chromis
2 x Black Clownfish
Bubble tip anemone
Two frags of Pulsing Xeina

Equipment:
Aquarium - 25" Wide x 25" Deep x 25" High - Its a square tank. - $4000
Sump Tank - 20" Wide x 12" Deep x 15" High - $125
Coralife T5 Quad Lamp Fixture with Lunar Aqualight Led 30" T 5 - $2500
Aqua Lifter Pump with hang on bracket - $185
Phosban Aquarium Phosphate Reactor 150 with Top Quality Phosban (1 lb) - $700
Seaclone 150 Protein Skimmer - $300
Koralia Evolution Water Pump 1050gph - $350
E.S.V. B-Ionic 2 Part Calcium Buffer (2 x 1 Gallon Bottles) - $ 400

Coming with built in stand and cabinet

Price of Equipment (fish not included in price) -$8560 TTD

Contact Nicholas @ 472-8645

LucaG

Postby LucaG » August 3rd, 2012, 8:42 am

Saltwater Aquarium and Fish for sale
Fish Tank 2.JPG
Fish Tank.JPG

Postby foss » August 3rd, 2012, 9:58 am

new pump :)