Believe it or not, they are working on it:Mmoney607 wrote:hover11 wrote:Boi,Mmoney607 wrote:redmanjp wrote:Mmoney607 wrote:redmanjp wrote:Anyone who says 97% survival rate should think about this - it's not 97% RECOVERY rate
30% of people who recover from the covid infection itself including mild cases have Long Covid- caused by micro clots
https://thehill.com/changing-america/well-being/medical-advances/588443-south-african-scientist-thinks-she-may-haveSouth African scientist thinks she may have solved the mystery of long COVID-19, which afflicts 100M people
A recent study by Resia Pretorius and her team at Stellenbosch University in South Africa suggests that long COVID-19 may be triggered by microclots.
By
Brooke Migdon | Jan. 5, 2022
Story at a glance
A scientist in South Africa has found a link between microclots and long COVID-19, which she says is an important step in better understanding the affliction from which 100 million people are suffering.
The scientist, Resia Pretorius, and her team over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients.
The Department of Human and Health Services in June released new guidelines characterizing some symptoms of long COVID-19 as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.
“A recent study in my lab revealed that there is significant microclot formation in the blood of both acute COVID-19 and long COVID patients,” Resia Pretorius, head of the science department at Stellenbosch University in South Africa, wrote Wednesday in an op-ed.
Pretorius writes that healthy bodies are typically able to efficiently break down blood clots through a process called fibrinolysis. But, when looking at blood from long COVID-19 patients, “persistent microclots are resistant to the body’s own fibrinolytic processes.”
Pretorius’ team in an analysis over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients, which may be preventing the breakdown of clots.
Because of that, cells in the body’s tissues may not be getting enough oxygen to sustain regular bodily functions, a condition known as cellular hypoxia.
“Widespread hypoxia may be central to the numerous reported debilitating symptoms” of long COVID-19, Pretorius writes.
As many as 100 million people globally have or have had long COVID-19, according to a study by researchers at the University of Michigan in November.
A patient is diagnosed with long COVID-19 when the effects of a COVID-19 infection persist for more than four weeks, according to the Mayo Clinic. While older people and people with serious medical conditions are the most likely to experience long COVID-19, many young and healthy people have reported feeling unwell for weeks or even months after their initial COVID-19 diagnosis.
Symptoms of long COVID-19 vary between cases, but primarily include fatigue, brain fog, muscle or joint pain, shortness of breath, sleep difficulties and depression or anxiety.
The Department of Health and Human Services in June released new guidance in which some symptoms of long COVID-19 could qualify as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.
In December, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission issued an update to its own guidance, which now considers an individual who has contracted COVID-19 disabled if any of their symptoms “substantially limits one or more major life activities.”
How we stopping that?
Like this vaccine is the cure for everything
Don't you understand this vaccine is the answer to everything, mankind has finally stumbled opon the elixir of life
Well that's what I saying, if they make this one so easy, then they could cure other things easy too
You dreamt that the allergic reaction occured.hover11 wrote:Wrong ,adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Duane,Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:hover11 wrote:Times,timelapse wrote:Why waste your money and his time if you don't care about his professional opinion?hover11 wrote:Why? That's his opinion and he is entitled to such, similarly there are doctors out there who are against and pro such. His opinion on vaccination doesn't change my perspective on such regardless what his perspective isj.o.e wrote:
Next time you go to the doctor which should be soon since you go every 3 months lol.
Ask him his opinion on vaccination
Your logic not logicing
I trust my doctor to advise me based on his medical background. This covid 19 vaccine is new and controversial, doctors are split regarding such, I can meet a doctor who spent years in med school saying he is for and I can also find another doctor who spent the equivalent years in med school who would be against. That's the thing with doctors or ppl in expertise Mechanics, lawyers, physicians etc, if I don't like what I hear from one I am entitled to seek a second opinion from another
Your doctor is against Covid vaccines?
To answer your question , my doctor is on the fence , he said if ppl wish to take it that is their choice, he took his vaccine but is not advising others to take it due to seeing the negative effects his own daughter experienced shortly after having her first dose of pfizer (anaphylactic shock)
Doctor is vaxxed.
Doctor's daughter is vaxxed.
Doctor IS NOT on the fence.
Would you send your child to complete her vaccine regime if she suffered severe complications after the first dose? So no daughter is NOT vaxxed, he said will stay home if she has too and not to long after the minister of education allowed all form 5s to continue vaxxed and unvaxxed
hover11 wrote:But what about taking away ppl bread and butter for the good of humanity, I wonder if ppl really understand what they asking for, ppl not being Paid and simply home, police on leave, protective services staff levels diminished....criminals don't need to be vaccinated to do crime so let's see what happens
hover11 wrote:oh you didn't get the memo we not mandated where I work to have any covid shot as we are not classed as public servants but carry on selling out ppl I guess that 15th January deadline doesn't apply to usPhone Surgeon wrote:hover dont go in the people work with fake exemption letter and fake vaccine card eh
someone will sell yuh out
Try harder
Because of that modern medicine that ppl are lasting longer , opens another problem...ever heard of aging populations? Where we cant sustain old ppl , more retirees than there are working class , pure economics bro may be hard to understand but elderly add nothing to the economy and are actually a drain on such ....carry onj.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:95 Percent of Americans Killed by COVID-19 Were 50 or Olderj.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Duane,Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:hover11 wrote:I still have a 97 percent survival rate ....in my book that's an A+, I will risk itKenjo wrote:redmanjp wrote:it's still 30% overall risk and a 3% risk of death from covid. vs a less than 0.01% chance of any serious adverse reactions from the vaccine.
Imagine this maths mathsing so much and people in here brain can’t understand the maths
You do realise when you quote the 97% survival rate based on the statistics you have to take into consideration it is at 97% nationally because 47% of the population is vaccinated
Mortality rate still stands for a healthy person it is not a life threatening virus , the odds are still in my favor, I choose those odds. Fun fact do you know hepatitis kills over 1 million ppl a year, yet we here studying a virus that to the MAJORITY is nothing more than a cold
You have a serious problem with maths and numbers bro.
Covid killed more that 5 times that last year also Hep B has a vaccine…. None for C
Compare apples with apples please
Thanks.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/feeds.aarp ... f_amp=true
No I actually understand maths pretty well, again I say the odds are in young healthy persons favor ...
So if a virus killing people over 50 that’s fine ? In these modern times with longer life expectancy ? Something really wrong with you yes.
Why because I speaking as an economist , please adnj tell me economically what do Elderly add to the economy.... I'll waitadnj wrote:Hoover's off his meds now.
You really should try to read about what you post before challenging others.hover11 wrote:Why because I speaking as an economist , please adnj tell me economically what do Elderly add to the economy.... I'll waitadnj wrote:Hoover's off his meds now.
While you come up with a half baked response ...
I'll leave this here
An aging population and slower labour force growth affect economies in many ways—the growth of GDP slows, working-age people pay more to support the elderly, and public budgets strain under the burden of the higher total cost of health and retirement programmes for old people.
https://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/fa ... 03/lee.htm
Some consumption may come through net support (support received minus support given) from younger family members. The elderly in east Asia get more support from their families than they give. But in much of the rest of Asia (including Japan and Korea), Europe, and the Americas, older people on average give more to their younger family members than they receive.
The most recent report released in September 2020 (using data collected in 2019) shows the median U.S. household net worth is $121,700 — but it’s more than double that for people ages 65 to 74.
According to the Fed data, the median net worth for Americans in their late 60s and early 70s is $266,400. The average (or mean) net worth for this age bracket is $1,217,700, but since averages tend to skew higher due to high net worth households, the median is a much more representational amount.
https://www.cnbc.com/select/average-net ... -65-to-74/
RIP ENGLISH....learn to join words and form proper sentences. Stop frothing, take a deep breath, gather your thoughts and come againbamfo_dennis wrote:4am postings for hover playing a brat... he want daddy to break he pookie bone tonite with all this brat lying again.
Ummm sure adnj trinidad economy is booming , it's booming so well that I can't even get 200 US in a bank on a given day. Inflation is high and the value of the dollar is at an all time low , it's booming so well that investors are leaving our shores but by all means this economy is robustadnj wrote:Looks like Hoover's economist personality to got the light and has taken over.
Trinidad is not currently in a depression Hoover. You might be depressed but not Trinidad. A good economist would know that.
hover11 wrote:The depressive economy hadda thrive....
hover11 wrote:Ummm sure adnj trinidad economy is booming , it's booming so well that I can't even get 200 US in a bank on a given day. Inflation is high and the value of the dollar is at an all time low , it's booming so well that investors are leaving our shores but by all means this economy is robustadnj wrote:Looks like Hoover's economist personality to got the light and has taken over.
Trinidad is not currently in a depression Hoover. You might be depressed but not Trinidad. A good economist would know that.
A secondary school student who now writing for CXC knows this economy has tanked
You not making any sense you could have million us in an account, you cannot withdraw what you require due to constraints, you ever heard theory does not always reflect the practical, you do know the government is buffering alot for citizens which skews the data. Every single state organization is making a loss but carry on...adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:The depressive economy hadda thrive....hover11 wrote:Ummm sure adnj trinidad economy is booming , it's booming so well that I can't even get 200 US in a bank on a given day. Inflation is high and the value of the dollar is at an all time low , it's booming so well that investors are leaving our shores but by all means this economy is robustadnj wrote:Looks like Hoover's economist personality to got the light and has taken over.
A secondary school student who now writing for CXC knows this economy has tanked
There is no evidence that agrees.
And you should already have a USD account.
Deflection instead of admitting you don't know shite about economicsadnj wrote:Hoover is my union rep.
Hoover works on my floor.
Hoover says we need to be vaccinated.
Hoover says we don't need to be vaccinated.
Hoover was my union rep.
hover11 wrote:You not making any sense you could have million us in an account, you cannot withdraw what you require due to constraints, you ever heard theory does not always reflect the practical, you do know the government is buffering alot for citizens which skews the data. Every single state organization is making a loss but carry on...adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:The depressive economy hadda thrive....hover11 wrote:Ummm sure adnj trinidad economy is booming , it's booming so well that I can't even get 200 US in a bank on a given day. Inflation is high and the value of the dollar is at an all time low , it's booming so well that investors are leaving our shores but by all means this economy is robustadnj wrote:Looks like Hoover's economist personality to got the light and has taken over.
There is no evidence that agrees.
And you should already have a USD account.
bamfo_dennis wrote:4am postings for hover playing a brat... he want daddy to break he pookie bone tonite with all this brat lying again.
pugboy wrote:it’s quite hard to make quantitative judgements now as many of those persons are in various states of waning vaccine effectiveness
but 0micron has certainly popped up after the pre summer peak of jabbing in those countries
one must ask if the 6month booster timeframe implies protection is minimal at 6months or just off peak
Redman wrote:pugboy wrote:it’s quite hard to make quantitative judgements now as many of those persons are in various states of waning vaccine effectiveness
but 0micron has certainly popped up after the pre summer peak of jabbing in those countries
one must ask if the 6month booster timeframe implies protection is minimal at 6months or just off peak
2 Doses and a booster are about less effective against Omicron...the number I saw was 40% - but there are sites that say 75%
We need to wear better masks
Cloth masks won’t cut it against omicron.
By Ellen Ioanes Jan 8, 2022, 4:28pm EST
The rapid spread of the omicron variant means that many medical and public health experts are urging Americans to adopt better masking protocols to protect themselves and others from the spread of Covid-19.
Masking best practices have changed since the beginning of the pandemic, and confusion still abounds about which mask to wear and in what circumstances. However, medical experts are in agreement: Masks are a crucial component in stopping the spread of all variants of Covid-19, and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)-approved N95 respirator is still the most effective mask on the market.
Although a simple cloth mask is better than no face covering at all, superior options are now widely available — much more so than in March 2020, when Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance about whether masking was even necessary for Covid-19 prevention vacillated.
And since the omicron variant appears to be far more transmissible than previous variants, masking is a critical tool in helping prevent the spread, particularly in areas where Covid-19 cases are high.
Here’s what to know about masking and omicron.
How mask usage should change with omicron
Mask-wearing guidance has changed a lot over the course of the pandemic, and omicron presents more changes — as well as more opportunity for confusion. With the high transmissibility of the omicron variant, experts say, masking is particularly important. Omicron is estimated to be about 2.7 to 3.7 times more infectious among inoculated people than the delta variant, which rapidly became the world’s dominant strain last summer. While many people are experiencing milder cases with omicron, cases are increasing precipitously, even in highly vaccinated areas. Its ability to dodge antibodies created by the available Covid-19 vaccines means that additional prevention measures — like masks — are now back in the spotlight.
As Abraar Karan, an infectious diseases doctor at Stanford University, explained to New York magazine in December, cloth masks and face coverings don’t filter aerosols — the particles through which the coronavirus spreads — particularly well; they can escape from an infected person and easily be inhaled if both parties are wearing cloth face coverings.
That means surgical masks and N95 masks are the way to go in 2022, as a recent Wall Street Journal graphic illustrates.
N95 respirators in particular are much better at blocking these particles, according to Karan, due to the filter’s structure and the electrostatic charge that attracts and traps the tiny aerosol particles. Just as critically, the filter’s fit over the wearer’s mouth and nose is far better than a cloth mask or face covering, which can leave large gaps on the sides — giving infectious particles ample opportunity to escape.
How can you get the right mask?
The N95 has been the gold standard for masks since the start of the pandemic, and they provide the most protection against Covid-19, including the omicron variant. Now that they’re no longer in critically short supply, they’re also the best option for day-to-day use.
As Karan explained, the N95’s complex, irregular webbing allows for superior filtration which traps 95 percent of aerosol particles — hence the “95” in N95. KN95s similarly filter out 95 percent of particles; the K denotes that they are manufactured to meet China’s mask standards.
When used in a medical setting, N95s are generally single-use, but for average people in lower-risk settings, they can be reused a limited number of times.
N95 availability was scattershot at best in the beginning of the pandemic, even for health care workers. Now, nearly two years later, high-quality options are much more readily available.
Cost is still a potential barrier, however, as N95s generally cost a dollar or two per disposable mask, and counterfeit respirators pose an additional problem, as Anne Miller, executive director of the nonprofit Project N95, explained to US News and World Report in December. Nonetheless, Miller said, there are some failsafe ways to ensure that the model you are purchasing was manufactured by a reputable company and has passed NIOSH filtration tests.
Specifically, N95 masks should have a TC number; TC, followed by a series of five total numbers, then a lot number. KN95 respirators operate under a similar protocol; all models should have GB 2626-2019, followed by a space, then KN95, printed on them if they are produced by a reputable company. According to Miller, lack of a brand name on a mask or a claim on the mask’s packaging that it’s FDA-approved or registered with the FDA are major warning signs; those claims are essentially meaningless.
However, high-quality respirators that have been tested for fit and efficacy are available, and doing a few basic tests on masks yourself can help you weed out ineffective models. For one, as the Strategist reported last month, you shouldn’t be able to see light through the mask when you hold it up to a light source, nor should you be able to blow out a flame when wearing the mask. And in terms of fit, the sides should collapse when you breathe in, showing that your mask has an effective seal. If air escapes around the sides of the mask, you need a tighter fit, since aerosols can still flow in or out of the barrier.
If you can’t find an N95 or KN95, a surgical mask is quite effective as well, given its multiple layers and irregular weave, which is better at intercepting particles than the regular, uniform weave of cloth masks. Surgical masks aren’t quite as effective as N95 respirators, but they use the same filtration mechanism. Fit is also crucial, since surgical masks don’t have the same structure as N95 masks and don’t mold as well to the nose and mouth area. However, fit can be improved by knotting or twisting the side loops before placing them over your ears for a closer fit.
Despite still-existing barriers like cost and confusing messaging, it’s easier now in 2022 to buy an effective N95 or KN95 respirator that’s comfortable and fits your face. And in combination with Covid-19 vaccines and boosters, which provide strong protection against severe Covid-19, a good quality, well-fitting mask is one of the best steps you can take to protect yourself as case numbers continue to surge in the US.
adnj wrote:Redman wrote:pugboy wrote:it’s quite hard to make quantitative judgements now as many of those persons are in various states of waning vaccine effectiveness
2 Doses and a booster are about less effective against Omicron...the number I saw was 40% - but there are sites that say 75%
The results are dependent on:
1. The vaccine used
2. The time between all doses
3. Infection prior to all doses
4. Breakthrough infection prior to booster
Apparently, some people confuse the legal definition of immunity with the medical definition of immunity.Redman wrote:adnj wrote:Redman wrote:pugboy wrote:it’s quite hard to make quantitative judgements now as many of those persons are in various states of waning vaccine effectiveness
The results are dependent on:
1. The vaccine used
2. The time between all doses
3. Infection prior to all doses
4. Breakthrough infection prior to booster
Probably why the CDC changed their definitions of the words vaccine and vaccinations-removing that pesky word immunity.