The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » August 24th, 2012, 11:18 am

But Strauss. Yuh miss what I mean. My point wasn't about about carrier updates alone. I find that whole issue ridiculous - that updates rely on manufacturer _and_ carrier.

I'm talking about the whole "openness" to install/root/flash etc. basically what u said in the end. To me that is what android is about.

What I don't get is why someone will not want to buy an android device because of that. It's not wp7, you can get an updated and possibly better OS by custom fws.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 24th, 2012, 12:15 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:Bmobile has a special on the S3 going on right now.

PREPAID$3,499.00
POSTPAID$2,999.00

nice prices .

although i am on digicel, these prices are

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 24th, 2012, 12:29 pm

Thanks Struass.

@M_2NR

Simple not everyone is like us who root/flash, believe it or not a lot of people prefer stock instead of experimenting with their phone.

Also as you well know, rooting and other means of modifying is done at the users risk......*someone say brick*

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 24th, 2012, 1:34 pm

M_2NR wrote:But Strauss. Yuh miss what I mean. My point wasn't about about carrier updates alone. I find that whole issue ridiculous - that updates rely on manufacturer _and_ carrier.

I'm talking about the whole "openness" to install/root/flash etc. basically what u said in the end. To me that is what android is about.

What I don't get is why someone will not want to buy an android device because of that. It's not wp7, you can get an updated and possibly better OS by custom fws.

Ah I see your point better.

But remember the *average* user will never ever do that to their phone. And yes I blame the manufacturer+carrier for sticking the average user.

It's the same with iOS. The *average* user will not jailbreak their device and have access to way more content. (Think about this: the apps for Android and iOS are about the same in quantity, but if you add jailbroken apps, iOS apps quantity will dwarf Android apps market/s).

You and I will do strange things to our devices. We have no fear because we are way above the average user technologically. And we will do what we can to make the Android or iOS device fit our needs. Will the Joe off the street do the same?

Heck people are still stuck on 2.3. Hardly anyone has ICS by Google's admission. But you and I will. The average person will not even think about what OS version they are getting; they want a phone. And then average *tech* person will be concerned more about their device (OS version/specs) but may not go through custom installs still.

Look around guys. A lot of us on Trinituner are real geeks. Don't judge everyone else by our super high standards, and don't berate them.

Postby M_2NR » August 24th, 2012, 3:40 pm

I understand that side of the coin too. But there are also those who don't care about updates and don't realize the full potential of their device (i forgot to mention that) and that buying into android because of an update or lack thereof is silly. I eh trying to berate anyone :lol: @ standards. I'm pretty n00b in these things honestly. I may come across as being techie but fact is, android was built on openness, modding and customizing. It's something no one can hide from.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 25th, 2012, 5:01 pm

does ne one know the correct settings for mms on an htc one x android?...tried the one on bmobile's website as seen here....

http://www.bmobile.co.tt/support/handset-settings/

...and not working, also called the help desk and they also told me to follow this and if i ehh get through to bring in the handset...lol...ne suggestions?

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2012, 7:03 pm

ppl still use mms? :shock:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 25th, 2012, 11:22 pm

i hope our Galaxy s3's are allowed to easily upgrade to Jelly Bean when it launches on Aug. 29th!
Digicel?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 26th, 2012, 12:08 am

What roms you guys using on your s3's?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 26th, 2012, 12:09 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:What roms you guys using on your s3's?

i am using what it came with...i ent that adventurous yet.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 26th, 2012, 12:13 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:

Lol you should try it, it's fun customizing your device to your liking and not feeling restricted. Not as hard as it seems.

My Tapatalk isn't giving notifications for TriniTuner but is giving notifications fine for XDA. This happening to anyone else?

Btw anyone ever unlocked a Galaxy Y? :/

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 26th, 2012, 1:51 am

x2 :lol:

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 26th, 2012, 11:22 am

stock but rooted.. waiting for jelly bean then will most likely update from the stock jelly bean to cyanogenmod or something

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2012, 11:28 am

wheelbarrow wrote:

x2 :lol:

once u follow instructions ull be good.
ull be amazed what ur phone can do when u get custom roms.

if u get a soft brick, u can buy a usb jig on amazon. happened to me when i started with my first galaxy s :oops:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 26th, 2012, 3:11 pm

I'm using Omega V13, switched from stock because it had better features like getting rid of some annoying bloatware, fixes the auto brightness sensitivity as well as removed text messages from ur call log (which i hated having there), silent camera, disabled increasing ringtone etc.

You guys should try it (there is also a JB version if you feeling adventurous)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1663656

guess_wh0

Postby guess_wh0 » August 26th, 2012, 5:33 pm

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 26th, 2012, 7:39 pm

Currently none, on stock since I bought it, aint find a custom rom i like yet

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 26th, 2012, 9:14 pm

Stock.

I was adventurous with the S2 waiting for Jelly Bean to flash, want to see the difference between stock ICS and stock JB.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2012, 9:20 pm

S3 Owners, any reviews? is that size phone tolerable with fitting in pants pockets?
any pros and cons with the device so far?
tempted to buy it for 3K from bmobile.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 26th, 2012, 9:40 pm

My s3 is from digicel. The phone, married to 4G and does Really well with mobile data.

Anyway, it is very quick and loads apps quite quickly and smoothly.

It fits quite well in the pants pocket. The size tolerance would depend on what phone you previously used.
I used an s2 and the s3 is not much larger in feel but so much more screen real estate.
The camera was most important for me. It takes pictures very very very quickly and they're quite clear. If you've taken photos with the blackberry or other phones with the annoying lag between photos taken you would be blown away. Even faster than the s2 camera.

What other questions do you have?

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2012, 9:43 pm

well im coming from a bb bold.
how is battery life? moderate and heavy use?
what abt that eye tracking feature where the phone locks itself when u look away? does it work well?
if ur on stock and saying its that fast, i could imagine on cyanogenmod or another custom rom. :shock:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 26th, 2012, 9:48 pm

Well the battery life is pretty good. I get a day's use out of it. I may not be good about that sector because I have a car charger and I charge up every night.

I haven't tried the smart stay feature on a continous basis but from what I tried... Not sure it works that well.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 27th, 2012, 6:15 am

I as well had an s2 before so the while the s3 does look big in reality it isn't that big. One of my friends didn't want to get the s3 because it was "too big" but quickly changed their mind after seeing mine.

Although its lightening fast on stock ICS the biggest advantage for me is the screen size. I love big screens. The 8MP camera is awesome, i wanted to buy a regular point and shoot camera but Ive scrapped that since I got the s2 last year. The white looks better than the blue.

I get approx 5-7 days of battery life out of mine, thats with some wifi usage everyday and average phone use, but im not on mobile data so probably thats why my battery doesn't drain down too fast. Even so you can turn on/off mobile data from the notification bar.

Haven't used the smart stay feature.

Heres a pic taken with the s3

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 27th, 2012, 9:43 am

Captainzaak wrote:

I'm using Omega V13, switched from stock because it had better features like getting rid of some annoying bloatware, fixes the auto brightness sensitivity as well as removed text messages from ur call log (which i hated having there), silent camera, disabled increasing ringtone etc.

You guys should try it (there is also a JB version if you feeling adventurous)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1663656

I'm on Criskelo right now but was looking for a change, this looks pretty decent. Gonna try this weekend =)

S_2NR wrote:S3 Owners, any reviews? is that size phone tolerable with fitting in pants pockets?
any pros and cons with the device so far?
tempted to buy it for 3K from bmobile.

Don't make the size an issue until having used the phone. Trust me, it's more than usable and portable at this size. My jeans are fairly fitted and it slips easily in my pockets even with a bulky case like the OtterBox Commuter.

I haven't found any cons besides the screen.. Compared to my HTC One X, the quality itself seems to be on par.. But the brightness is incomparable. The HTC One X's screen is MUCH MUCH brighter and since it's brighter tends to look a bit sharper. But that's naturally an issue with AMOLED screens. That being said, the brightness isn't that horrible since I never turn it more than half way up, just being picky.

The battery life, I get 12 hours of average usage.. At max.. But that's with a lot of calls and data use. So that isn't bad. I'm considering purchasing an extended battery. (has anyone here bought an extended battery yet?)

It's fairly smooth on ICS, but I just think the ram management is horrible.. Apps have to reload a bit too much for my liking.. My 4S does..or used to do, as a matter of fact, a better job of keeping apps "open" (saved state) than the S3, and animations aren't as.. Subtle.. And silky smooth as they should be at times (but this issue as well as the ram is hopefully going to be fixed with project butter and JellyBean).

Oh also the home button is a bit irregular to press if you have large thumbs, but you get used to it. That's about it, my $. 02.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 27th, 2012, 9:55 am

ZeroOne wrote:Heres a pic taken with the s3

Doesn't it just blow your mind how far we've come?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 27th, 2012, 10:12 am

ne one came across this app...

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... luaWRhZCJd

...installed it on my one x and only getting the following error message

"please enter a keyword, business name or heading"

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 27th, 2012, 10:26 am

Mine wukkin good..
uploadfromtaptalk1346077539103.jpg

Postby stev » August 27th, 2012, 12:14 pm

Postby pete » August 27th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Dice player now has pop up video like the video player on the S3.

It's cool but I think I would probably run out of shows too fast if I used it.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 27th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:My Tapatalk isn't giving notifications for TriniTuner but is giving notifications fine for XDA. This happening to anyone else?

I have so much issues with Tapatalk and this forum (only this forum out of the 5 I use) I don't even bother to use Tapatalk to browse here anymore