UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2024, 7:06 am

paid_influencer wrote:all them who singing kamla is a loser, cannot win, etc, and repeating it ad infinitum. I think allyuh have a moral duty to stand down if you get proven wrong. at least acknowledge your words mean something and make some kinda gesture to reflect your wrongness.

but fellas here never wrong so idk. when proven wrong just move on like nothing happen. I doesn't do that.

and she WILL win in 2025
Not sure about the winning part

I have always her unc people voted for her and dissed the rest.

Its the same in pnm their people vote for a known liar and are happy with that.

Postby The_Honourable » July 26th, 2024, 11:53 pm

Vasant back in the fold

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 27th, 2024, 1:27 am

Welcome back my brother. UNC 2025

Postby paid_influencer » July 27th, 2024, 1:46 am

vasant joining the winning side

#allhandsondeck

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 27th, 2024, 7:10 pm

Good lord

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 27th, 2024, 7:33 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Good lord

With age comes wisdom

Postby eliteauto » July 27th, 2024, 10:08 pm

Vasant has already brokered a deal for a seat on the E-W corridor .

Postby mero » August 6th, 2024, 9:50 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/former-lge-candidate-quits-unc-claims-bad-treatment-at-budget-talks-6.2.2073910.a0daafe078?fbclid=IwY2xjawEfCQZleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHehc4VI1nMhAC8zCI9UJwfTPWb02ee-GDsIXk-GhkhpIKNJM30V9Ovwqgg_aem_RO9C4NugE2cig_sSkXx4eQ

Defeated UNC candidate for Arima Northeast in the Local Government elections, Jairzinho Rigsby, has resigned from the party, saying he was poorly treated at the recent budget consultations in Arima.

Rigsby has also taken issue with what he called the UNC’s ideologies.

Rigsby severed ties with the party in a July 24 resignation letter addressed to UNC general secretary Peter Kanhai.

He was the UNC’s Arima Northeast in the August 2023 LGE polls.

Initial results showed him tying with the PNM’s candidate Kim Garcia, each getting 623 votes. The PEP’s candidate received 81 votes. After subsequent recounts, reviews by the Election and Boundaries Commission and a UNC election petition concerning ballots, Garcia was eventually declared the winner in September 2023.

This year, Rigsby supported the United Patriots team led by Mayaro MP Rushton Paray, which unsuccessfully contested the party’s June 15 national executive elections. Rigsby had sought the post of North East Regional Representative but lost to UNC Star team candidate Khadijah Ameen.

On July 17, Rigsby was among speakers at the UNC’s Arima Budget consultations. He was notified by hosts that he had three minutes to give his presentation and was reminded of that when the time was up. Rigsby’s face was also not shown on camera.

In his resignation letter, Rigsby said, “My decision to leave has been an easy one in view of the modus operandi of the UNC. Moreover, I do so in the best traditions of integrity, fair-play, accountability, transparency and ethical behaviour.
Report Ad

“I have always advocated and offered solutions at constituency levels to improve the UNC brand along the East-West Corridor, most recently at the internal elections. “

He added, “Moreover, the party’s behaviour towards me at the recent concluded budget consultations leaves much to be desired especially when you were also present. I have always advocated for solutions that is future oriented in terms of constitutional reform, climate change mitigation, sound economic research, unemployment, research/development, educating the membership, Fintech solutions to address our forex and fuel issues and many more ideas that will build a better Trinidad and Tobago.”

Rigsby also highlighted his concerns about the beliefs of the UNC.

“Unfortunately, the ideology of the UNC and myself are at a crossroads, especially in terms of change, integrity, credibility and ethical behaviours. There is no embracing of ideas and creativity and the continuous suppression of free speech continues to go unabated. I cannot and will not be a part of such a toxic organisational culture.

“I would usually follow protocol and wish the party all the best in its future endeavours but in this instance, I feel compelled to refrain from such given the party’s treatment of myself while being a member of the party,” he stated.
Report Ad

Yesterday, in a telephone interview, Rigsby said his decision, “wasn’t now ... I’ve had concerns with the way the party has been going including if you’re not in agreement with them, you get talk thrown at you or be undermined. The reception I got at the budget consultation was the last straw. I noted a lot of negative body language towards me and when I was speaking people kept bawling ‘time, time’ reminding me of the speaking time. I intend to still put my ideas out to the public but can’t say yet if I’ll join a party.”

Kanhai and other UNC executive officials did not answer calls for comments on Rigsby’s resignation.

Last week, Cumuto Manzanilla MP Dr Rai Ragbir said he was blanked by the UNC from its budget talks.

Three of the four other MPs—who, like Ragbir, supported Paray’s United Patriots in the June executive elections—were also not expected to be featured at the party’s budget consultations in their constituencies.

At all other consultations held so far, the MPs for the respective areas have presided over the talks.

Postby mero » August 6th, 2024, 9:52 am

Shitong party

Postby zoom rader » August 6th, 2024, 10:12 am

mero wrote:Image
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/former-lge-candidate-quits-unc-claims-bad-treatment-at-budget-talks-6.2.2073910.a0daafe078?fbclid=IwY2xjawEfCQZleHRuA2FlbQIxMQABHehc4VI1nMhAC8zCI9UJwfTPWb02ee-GDsIXk-GhkhpIKNJM30V9Ovwqgg_aem_RO9C4NugE2cig_sSkXx4eQ

Defeated UNC candidate for Arima Northeast in the Local Government elections, Jairzinho Rigsby, has resigned from the party, saying he was poorly treated at the recent budget consultations in Arima.

Rigsby severed ties with the party in a July 24 resignation letter addressed to UNC general secretary Peter Kanhai.

Initial results showed him tying with the PNM’s candidate Kim Garcia, each getting 623 votes. The PEP’s candidate received 81 votes. After subsequent recounts, reviews by the Election and Boundaries Commission and a UNC election petition concerning ballots, Garcia was eventually declared the winner in September 2023.

This year, Rigsby supported the United Patriots team led by Mayaro MP Rushton Paray, which unsuccessfully contested the party’s June 15 national executive elections. Rigsby had sought the post of North East Regional Representative but lost to UNC Star team candidate Khadijah Ameen.

On July 17, Rigsby was among speakers at the UNC’s Arima Budget consultations. He was notified by hosts that he had three minutes to give his presentation and was reminded of that when the time was up. Rigsby’s face was also not shown on camera.

In his resignation letter, Rigsby said, “My decision to leave has been an easy one in view of the modus operandi of the UNC. Moreover, I do so in the best traditions of integrity, fair-play, accountability, transparency and ethical behaviour.
Report Ad

“I have always advocated and offered solutions at constituency levels to improve the UNC brand along the East-West Corridor, most recently at the internal elections. “

He added, “Moreover, the party’s behaviour towards me at the recent concluded budget consultations leaves much to be desired especially when you were also present. I have always advocated for solutions that is future oriented in terms of constitutional reform, climate change mitigation, sound economic research, unemployment, research/development, educating the membership, Fintech solutions to address our forex and fuel issues and many more ideas that will build a better Trinidad and Tobago.”

“Unfortunately, the ideology of the UNC and myself are at a crossroads, especially in terms of change, integrity, credibility and ethical behaviours. There is no embracing of ideas and creativity and the continuous suppression of free speech continues to go unabated. I cannot and will not be a part of such a toxic organisational culture.

“I would usually follow protocol and wish the party all the best in its future endeavours but in this instance, I feel compelled to refrain from such given the party’s treatment of myself while being a member of the party,” he stated.
Report Ad

Yesterday, in a telephone interview, Rigsby said his decision, “wasn’t now ... I’ve had concerns with the way the party has been going including if you’re not in agreement with them, you get talk thrown at you or be undermined. The reception I got at the budget consultation was the last straw. I noted a lot of negative body language towards me and when I was speaking people kept bawling ‘time, time’ reminding me of the speaking time. I intend to still put my ideas out to the public but can’t say yet if I’ll join a party.”

Kanhai and other UNC executive officials did not answer calls for comments on Rigsby’s resignation.

Last week, Cumuto Manzanilla MP Dr Rai Ragbir said he was blanked by the UNC from its budget talks.

Three of the four other MPs—who, like Ragbir, supported Paray’s United Patriots in the June executive elections—were also not expected to be featured at the party’s budget consultations in their constituencies.

At all other consultations held so far, the MPs for the respective areas have presided over the talks.
PNM operative

Kick PNM out

Postby The_Honourable » August 6th, 2024, 10:36 am

The Paray Effect

Anyone who supported Paray in the internals would be ostracized and forced out.

Postby mero » August 6th, 2024, 10:45 am

mero wrote:Image

Report Ad

Report Ad

PNM operative

Kick PNM out
I know Rigsby for almost 20 years. U talking sheit. Jazzy was always a groundsman for the ppl. Not surprised though, many comments from the diehards reflect your ignorant view

Postby mero » August 6th, 2024, 10:47 am

The_Honourable wrote:The Paray Effect

Anyone who supported Paray in the internals would be ostracized and forced out.
At this delicate stage?

Not like UNC is a strong stable party lead by a strong sober leader

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 6th, 2024, 10:59 am

So this make you resign. Jazzy always had a chip on his shoulder.

Postby The_Honourable » August 27th, 2024, 10:55 pm

Disenchanted UNC members form new party

An agreement has been struck to form “a new third party,” according to a post on a Facebook page titled United and Proud, which has, since its inception, been opposed to United National Congress leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar and her team.

The information came in an unsigned post on the page on Saturday.

And UNC Mayaro MP Rushton Paray, who led the United Patriots slate in UNC’s June executive elections, has, among comments about the post, said T&T’s ready for a fresh start and he wasn’t surprised “at the level of discussion on the table of many...”

The UaP page, described as a “community organisation” (allegedly run by an East businessperson) since inception a couple years ago, has been critical of Persad- Bissessar and the majority of her parliamentary team. That included the Star team she supported in UNC’s executive elections.

The site has carried information on Paray and his United Patriots slate which challenged the Star team, but information has been complimentary of MPs and others supporting Paray’s UP team.

Paray and the four UNC MPs supporting him were not part of UNC’s recent Budget consultations.

The post about a “new party” emerged after news that former UNC councillor Jason Ali had defected to the People’s National Movement (PNM). The site carried PNM’s official document on its nominees for nine constituencies, including Ali.

Titled “Unity in Diversity: A new political era is on the horizon,” the post stated, “As a result of the UNC leadership’s failure to unite the party following the internal elections, as well as the deliberate omission of MPs from UNC budget consultations, word of a new political era is on the horizon.

“At a convention held today among alienated young professionals, and members of other disaffected groups, an agreement has been struck to form a new third party. A constitution is being drafted, and a head office has been identified. A symbol has been selected that best represents the ethos of this new movement.”

The party’s abbreviated name is expected to be UPTT and a logo accompanied the post.

The statement added, “The common theme of all speakers was the need for a political movement to focus on earning the trust of the population, to be based soundly on good policy and not race, ethnicity, gender, or class, and, above all, to ensure that its representatives conduct themselves with absolute integrity in dealing with public affairs.

“If we consider that 30 per cent of the votes in the just concluded internal election were cast against the incumbent leader, and the leadership’s petty approach to unity, we can conclude that this move will be more detrimental to the party than a few people defecting to the PNM. Will this new entity have an impact on the electorate in 2025? Only time will tell.”

Paray was yesterday contacted by the T&T Guardian on the UaP and UPTT move, and whether he was affiliated with the post and the plan.

Paray said, “All I can say at this time, during the campaign of the United Patriots, I made it clear that our (the UNC) route to success at the polls hinge heavily on being open to dialogue with everyone (as I put it the good, the bad and the mad).

“The country is ready for a fresh start and I am not surprised at the level of discussion on the table of many! This can only auger well for the benefit of citizens.”

He added, “Interesting times ahead! I look forward to a front row ticket!”

Two of Paray’s UP slate mates recently resigned from the UNC—councillor Ali, now with the PNM, and Jairzinho Rigsby, whose political direction wasn’t given. Other UP MPs didn’t respond to queries on the UaP/UPTT post.

UNC officials said they had “no idea” who the U&P group was but found the name “curious”.

They added, “It’s election season—all kinda things will come out of the woodwork seeking their interest. UNC’s too busy with T&T’s interest for that.”

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/disench ... 56aac55abb

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2024, 11:01 pm

this sounding like a next club 88

Postby The_Honourable » August 27th, 2024, 11:22 pm

pugboy wrote:this sounding like a next club 88

or team unity :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 27th, 2024, 11:44 pm

pugboy wrote:this sounding like a next club 88

There's a clown car with room for an infinite number of clowns, each one juggling Schrödinger's cats while reciting Hamlet's soliloquy in Morse code. As the car approaches the event horizon of a black hole shaped like the Fibonacci sequence, the clowns begin dividing by zero and find themselves trapped in an Escher staircase made entirely of Pythagorean triples. Meanwhile, in the background, Shakespeare and Einstein play chess on a four-dimensional checkerboard, each move translating into a stanza of "The Waste Land" while the speed of light adjusts itself according to the square root of i. The clowns continue to honk their noses in perfect harmony with Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, as Don Quixote tilts at windmills that resemble fractals collapsing into infinity.

And that making more sense that UPTT.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2024, 6:35 am

Kpb showing classic signs of dementia. The pnm doh really need to campaign once she is at the helm

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2024, 7:33 am

years of ethanol taking a real toll now

self implosion

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2024, 9:51 am

pugboy wrote:years of ethanol taking a real toll now

self implosion

Postby The_Honourable » August 28th, 2024, 11:16 am

While i get Ali's point of being shunned after natex election, making this move proved kamla right

Jason switches sides

Councillor Jason Ali's crossover from the UNC to the PNM ignited tensions at the Siparia Regional Corporation's first statutory meeting. Ali, who challenged Mayor Doodnath Mayrhoo, for the Mayoral post just a year ago, faced a fierce tongue-lashing for his decision, which the UNC has labelled as a betrayal.

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2024, 12:27 pm

The_Honourable wrote:While i get Ali's point of being shunned after natex election, making this move proved kamla right

Jason switches sides

Councillor Jason Ali's crossover from the UNC to the PNM ignited tensions at the Siparia Regional Corporation's first statutory meeting. Ali, who challenged Mayor Doodnath Mayrhoo, for the Mayoral post just a year ago, faced a fierce tongue-lashing for his decision, which the UNC has labelled as a betrayal.

30 pieces of PNM

Postby mero » September 15th, 2024, 10:44 am

Kamla says no apology
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/kamla-says-no-apology/article_7dbf823e-723a-11ef-81f0-23d6ded5d6ab.html#google_vignette

There will be no retraction or apology from Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar over her “fake vaccine” comment.

In fact, the former prime minister intends to take Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh to task at the United National Congress (UNC) meeting on Monday.

On Thursday, Deyalsingh issued a release condemning Persad-Bissessar for saying at a UNC meeting on Monday that “fake vaccines” were distributed to hundreds of thousands of people during the Covid-19 pandemic and he called on her to retract her statements.

On the heels of this, Cumuto/Manzanilla MP Dr Rai Ragbir issued a release yesterday objecting to her comments and urged Persad-Bissessar to “reconsider the narrative being pushed”.

Persad-Bissessar told the Express she will address this issue on Monday.

However, she noted a quote from American author Jim Kwick who said “Don’t take criticism from someone you wouldn’t take advice from”.

Ragbir, a medical doctor, stated that while it is Persad-Bissessar’s right to criticise government policies, those criticisms must be grounded in facts, reason, and logic.

The development of effective health policy requires honesty and adherence to scientific truth, not political manoeuvring, he added.

Ragbir said the Covid-19 pandemic posed an unprecedented challenge globally.

“During this crisis, healthcare professionals and scientists worked tirelessly to develop vaccines that have proven to be effective in reducing transmission and saving lives,” he said.

He said the Covid-19 vaccines distributed to the people of Trinidad and Tobago were rigorously tested and certified as safe by international health organisations, including the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO).

“To question the safety of these vaccines without evidence is to undermine the collective effort of our frontline healthcare workers and experts who followed scientific protocols to protect our citizens. The data is clear—vaccination significantly reduced the number of severe Covid-19 cases and saved lives, especially among the most vulnerable,” he said.

Ragbir said focus must be on protecting public health, preparing for future challenges, and ensuring that citizens can trust the integrity of the information provided to them by those in positions of leadership.

He said, “The ongoing battle against disease, whether Covid-19 or any future pandemic, demands a unified response based on evidence, not unsubstantiated claims. Let us prioritise reason, scientific truth, and transparency in all matters related to healthcare.”

Ragbir’s colleague, former government minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, who is also a doctor, has defended Persad-Bissessar’s comments while pointing out that there were successful lawsuits against both Pfizer and Moderna with respect to the efficacy of the vaccine.

Asked about Gopeesingh’s position, Ragbir opted to not comment.

Is this your future Prime Minister?

*Applause from yellow jerseys

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 15th, 2024, 11:04 am

mero wrote:Kamla says no apology
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/kamla-says-no-apology/article_7dbf823e-723a-11ef-81f0-23d6ded5d6ab.html#google_vignette

There will be no retraction or apology from Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar over her “fake vaccine” comment.

In fact, the former prime minister intends to take Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh to task at the United National Congress (UNC) meeting on Monday.

On Thursday, Deyalsingh issued a release condemning Persad-Bissessar for saying at a UNC meeting on Monday that “fake vaccines” were distributed to hundreds of thousands of people during the Covid-19 pandemic and he called on her to retract her statements.

On the heels of this, Cumuto/Manzanilla MP Dr Rai Ragbir issued a release yesterday objecting to her comments and urged Persad-Bissessar to “reconsider the narrative being pushed”.

Persad-Bissessar told the Express she will address this issue on Monday.

However, she noted a quote from American author Jim Kwick who said “Don’t take criticism from someone you wouldn’t take advice from”.

Ragbir, a medical doctor, stated that while it is Persad-Bissessar’s right to criticise government policies, those criticisms must be grounded in facts, reason, and logic.

The development of effective health policy requires honesty and adherence to scientific truth, not political manoeuvring, he added.

Ragbir said the Covid-19 pandemic posed an unprecedented challenge globally.

“During this crisis, healthcare professionals and scientists worked tirelessly to develop vaccines that have proven to be effective in reducing transmission and saving lives,” he said.

He said the Covid-19 vaccines distributed to the people of Trinidad and Tobago were rigorously tested and certified as safe by international health organisations, including the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO).

“To question the safety of these vaccines without evidence is to undermine the collective effort of our frontline healthcare workers and experts who followed scientific protocols to protect our citizens. The data is clear—vaccination significantly reduced the number of severe Covid-19 cases and saved lives, especially among the most vulnerable,” he said.

Ragbir said focus must be on protecting public health, preparing for future challenges, and ensuring that citizens can trust the integrity of the information provided to them by those in positions of leadership.

He said, “The ongoing battle against disease, whether Covid-19 or any future pandemic, demands a unified response based on evidence, not unsubstantiated claims. Let us prioritise reason, scientific truth, and transparency in all matters related to healthcare.”

Ragbir’s colleague, former government minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, who is also a doctor, has defended Persad-Bissessar’s comments while pointing out that there were successful lawsuits against both Pfizer and Moderna with respect to the efficacy of the vaccine.

Asked about Gopeesingh’s position, Ragbir opted to not comment.

Is this your future Prime Minister?

*Applause from yellow jerseys

Whats wrong? Over 5000 citizens died from covid under PNM, you find that was a good job? You know how many cases they lose in court over covid restrictions they pull out of their arse?

Postby paid_influencer » September 15th, 2024, 11:22 am

them should apologise to we, imo

for all d chit they do

hinds especially

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 15th, 2024, 11:42 am

Let's hear what she has to say

wing

Postby wing » September 15th, 2024, 2:42 pm

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 15th, 2024, 2:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:them should apologise to we, imo

for all d chit they do

hinds especially

For real

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 15th, 2024, 2:51 pm

wing wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/editorials/irresponsible-covid-talk/article_7dc54900-72fb-11ef-ae64-b7535868a39d.html?utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social

Express calling out Kamla

Express who does be advertising KFC and Coca cola talking about endangering children lol