The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » August 22nd, 2012, 12:40 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Any way to access republic bank online using an android browser? Scotia and fcb are easily usable but the Java script on republic does not run on android. Any ideas?

I tried it on chrome and android built in browser but it did not work for Republic bank online.

try dolphin browser or dolphin HD

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 22nd, 2012, 4:23 pm

stev wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Any way to access republic bank online using an android browser? Scotia and fcb are easily usable but the Java script on republic does not run on android. Any ideas?

I tried it on chrome and android built in browser but it did not work for Republic bank online.

try dolphin browser or dolphin HD

Nope, dolphin did not work either.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 22nd, 2012, 4:28 pm

I tell ya Republic online will NOT work with ANY mobile phone. They will update the site in time.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 22nd, 2012, 4:29 pm

sentraman wrote:I tell ya Republic online will NOT work with ANY mobile phone. They will update the site in time.

Tele banker woi!

sentraman

Postby sentraman » August 22nd, 2012, 4:36 pm

^^lmao.. When they update to mobile banking all will be good.

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2012, 4:44 pm

Where can I get the original Samsung headphones that comes with the SII locally. Lost my cousins own and need to buy a new pair for him and all over trying to sell me knock offs.

It has the control on the headphones to adjust the volume on the phone and about 3 earbud sizes

Postby stev » August 22nd, 2012, 4:44 pm

ent first citizen have a banking app?

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2012, 9:31 pm

Soooo ... I'm giving up my iPad to get an android tablet, I decided on the Note 10.1 and the Asus Transformer Infinity

The transformer is around 70 dollars more for the 32 gig (including the keyboard)

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (32GB, Deep Grey)
$549.99

ASUS TF700T-B1-GR 10.1-Inch Tablet (Gray)
$488.00
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700T Mobile Docking - Amethyst Gray (TF700T-DOCK-GR)
$132.39

But the note with that digital pen is a kind of a turn on tbh.
Apparently the Note 10.1 cannot handle flash whereas the Asus can, the asus can take more than one SD card (i think) one in the keyboard and another in the tablet itself.

The Note 10.1 has 2 GB ram which is twice as much as the Asus has, they both have quad core processors 1.4GHz The camera on the Asus is better in the back and can record 1080p video (not that I would hold a big brick in my hand to record video but im just sayin) I wish I could demo these two tablets on my own before making a choice lol

On the fence right now

Lisa is ugly

Leaning toward the Note 10.1 tho, even if the Asus has the better hardware

Stillll looking for them samsung earbuds tho

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 22nd, 2012, 9:34 pm

I would go with the Note.

1. Wider development community
2. Quicker access to Android updates (JB and KLp etc)

Stephon. wrote:Soooo ... I'm giving up my iPad to get an android tablet, I decided on the Note 10.1 and the Asus Transformer Infinity

The transformer is around 70 dollars more for the 32 gig (including the keyboard)

$549.99

$488.00
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700T Mobile Docking - Amethyst Gray (TF700T-DOCK-GR)
$132.39

Apparently the Note 10.1 cannot handle flash whereas the Asus can, the asus can take more than one SD card (i think) one in the keyboard and another in the tablet itself.

The Note 10.1 has 2 GB ram which is twice as much as the Asus has, they both have quad core processors 1.4GHz The camera on the Asus is better in the back and can record 1080p video (not that I would hold a big brick in my hand to record video but im just sayin) I wish I could demo these two tablets on my own before making a choice lol

On the fence right now

Lisa is ugly

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 22nd, 2012, 9:44 pm

funny how the same ppl who used to bash Android and only drink the Apple kool-aid always end up in this thread at one point or the other :lol:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 22nd, 2012, 9:53 pm

Swisha wrote:funny how the same ppl who used to bash Android and only drink the Apple kool-aid always end up in this thread at one point or the other :lol:

Well let's just say..I can switch OS..i like different things about android, WP8 and IOS.....but you see football. Doh tell meh nutting if it eh spell A-R-S-E-N-A-L!

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2012, 9:58 pm

Swisha wrote:funny how the same ppl who used to bash Android and only drink the Apple kool-aid always end up in this thread at one point or the other :lol:

Ways who get dat :lol: call names na :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

:lol: please tell me u sold that 4S?

I actually don't like android as a phone device still though. It still lacks the umf that iOS has.

Postby Greypatch » August 23rd, 2012, 12:08 am

This nexus on jelly bean sweet too bad

Postby S_2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 12:41 am

Greypatch wrote:This nexus on jelly bean sweet too bad

Nexus 7?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 23rd, 2012, 9:50 am

LOL.
Except me. I was ALWAYS here, cuz well... I depend on Google's myriad of services on my iPhone and Macs.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » August 23rd, 2012, 11:32 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I would go with the Note.

1. Wider development community
2. Quicker access to Android updates (JB and KLp etc)

Stephon. wrote:Soooo ... I'm giving up my iPad to get an android tablet, I decided on the Note 10.1 and the Asus Transformer Infinity

$549.99

$488.00
$132.39

On the fence right now

Lisa is ugly

we in the same boat bro, im a designer and the S pen will be useful. However i need to research the export format options of the stuff you create on the tablet to see if its compatible with my graphic programs.

But the Asus is calling my name!

Postby Greypatch » August 23rd, 2012, 1:16 pm

the phone dan.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 23rd, 2012, 6:47 pm

Anyone here has a kindle fire? any reviews

i pondering if to buy one for just online browsing and such
they are priced at 1400$ Bnib

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 23rd, 2012, 9:44 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Anyone here has a kindle fire? any reviews

i would hold off on buying a Kindle at this time too. new models expected to be announced soon...

Amazon holding press event on September 6th: new Kindles on the way?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:26 pm

Honestly I wouldn't recommend it. I have one, and the touch screen is VERY laggy in my opinion. Also, the available apps are limited, unless of course you jailbreak it. Even in general use it has some noticeable lag.

If you going for an android tablet at that $199 price point, I'd say go with the Google Nexus 7.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:40 pm

dredman1 wrote:

Honestly I wouldn't recommend it. I have one, and the touch screen is VERY laggy in my opinion. Also, the available apps are limited, unless of course you jailbreak it. Even in general use it has some noticeable lag.

If you going for an android tablet at that $199 price point, I'd say go with the Google Nexus 7.

Yes go with the nexus 7. But you should wait to see what amazon is delivering as they are going to vastly improve the Kindle fire. Don't buy the current one yet at all.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 24th, 2012, 7:55 am

am i correct in thinking that all laptops have dlna support built in? I have a Dell XPS L702X if it matters. my firewall is disabled and network disc and file sharing enabled on my laptop, but when i go to enable DLNA on my Samsung S3, the whole list is greyed out, I can't even turn on file sharing and i don't know why.. anyone can help?

Postby pete » August 24th, 2012, 8:08 am

Install allshare on the laptop.

I'm having a problem with my note and I can't see the files shared in allshare on my pc. Works fine on my S2 and my Galaxy Player but with the Note, only thing showing up in the list is the windows media player server on the PC but no files show up when I open that.

I can browse the shared movies on the S2 and play them fine, just not working with the PC. The note unfortunately is on Gingerbread and no OTA update available (one of the Digi phones) so I guess that may be the problem. Isn't such a big deal, more of a little nuisance.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 24th, 2012, 8:31 am

Hold off all buying anything now unless you REALLY NEED something.
Everyone has an update before the Xmas season.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 24th, 2012, 8:41 am

Bmobile has a special on the S3 going on right now.

PREPAID$3,499.00
POSTPAID$2,999.00

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 24th, 2012, 10:27 am

What model of the S3 they have?

Based on experiences posted here wrt updates on the S2 ill hold off from recommending this.

Postby M_2NR » August 24th, 2012, 10:53 am

I honestly don't get it. Why hold off from buying in on android if u can't/won't do your own modifications/custom updates. I mean. Isn't that what android OS is about? :|
Is best ulyuh buy an iOS device and not worry about updates.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 24th, 2012, 11:05 am

M_2NR wrote:I honestly don't get it. Why hold off from buying in on android if u can't/won't do your own modifications/custom updates. I mean. Isn't that what android OS is about? :|

NO.

That is NOT what Android is about.

And is why Google is trying to get everyone moving in the opposite direction from what you assume to be the Android way of life.

The openess of Android is allowing the user to install, modify and use their device any way they choose — "modifications/custom updates". But not having the millions and millions of regular users at the mercy of their carriers for updates that their devices are more than capable of running, thereby forcing users to have to do their own modification/custom updates. That is the key difference there.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 24th, 2012, 11:12 am

Captainzaak wrote:Bmobile has a special on the S3 going on right now.

PREPAID$3,499.00
POSTPAID$2,999.00

nice prices .