Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » July 26th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Thats a honey cone brain coral... :shock: awesome tank man wow!!!! lol u really hv more stock than raj. Those zoas are everywhere in ur tank man! My first coral is certainly gonna be zoanthids. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

yeah rite.......................
Any time Raj bringing in corals and fish he knows what i interested in so he usually keep them for me. That how come i knew about the Australian corals. Most times i send him an email on what i want. Wether it be fish, corals or inverts Some of the corals i have shown are corals from his big reef tank upstairs that he frags occasionally. The fish even are fish that he only brings /or gets accasionally.
Check out this marine fighter (beta).................. i have him about 5 mths now.
IMG_1157.JPG
IMG_1150.JPG

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 26th, 2012, 3:24 pm

There are marine betas!! Is that a male?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 26th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Yup, he is reefsafe when it comes to corals..............but not around small inverts and fish. Real colorful fish (black, white, yellow, purple and red) Swims around more than the freshwater kind also

Postby UML » July 26th, 2012, 10:08 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:Image

are those striped damsels at the bottom there?

if so, how many can I have in a tank? I currently have one :(

where can I get more? (if it safe to have)

how u call this coral? I have one and don't know the name of it

I really liked this coral when I saw the whole thing in raj's tank and told myself I jus had to get it...so glad I did :)

Damsels? Thats bumble bee snails.

Its a Brain Coral, (Favites spp.)

WTF!!! :shock:

where d ass u get that from? sweet....I wantttttttt!!!!!

Islander Imports

Postby Islander Imports » July 27th, 2012, 4:31 am

yo tuners need a little bit of advice. I purchased some sand from a pool supply place thinking it would be pool filter sand. Apparently it's Silica sand , I need to know if this would be safe for us, substrate would be about 2 inches deep on average, thank you.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 27th, 2012, 7:07 am

Islander Imports wrote:yo tuners need a little bit of advice. I purchased some sand from a pool supply place thinking it would be pool filter sand. Apparently it's Silica sand , I need to know if this would be safe for us, substrate would be about 2 inches deep on average, thank you.

Salt or fresh....................I know for saltwater use the silica feeds your tank with unwanted nutrients whereby the diatoms feed on it. You get this unsightly outbreak over everything that wont go for mths. Cant say for fresh.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 27th, 2012, 7:16 am

If Raj could only get these................................... :) :)

Imagine the frootloops zoas are 60US for 3 polyps............. :shock:
zoospink3.jpg
zoospink3.jpg (21.18 KiB) Viewed 2077 times
Zoos_ Eye_of_Jupiter.jpg
Zoos_ Eye_of_Jupiter.jpg (44.14 KiB) Viewed 2077 times
jawbreakerzoas100.jpg
jawbreakerzoas100.jpg (33.27 KiB) Viewed 2077 times
JapaneseFruitLoops.jpg
JapaneseFruitLoops.jpg (42.35 KiB) Viewed 2077 times

link

Postby link » July 27th, 2012, 9:30 am

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... ntent=html
£20,000 worth of fish stolen from Bradford shop

Copyright © Thinkstock. Picture posed by 'models'.

Hundreds of goldfish and Koi worth an estimated £20,000 were stolen last Tuesday (July 17) during a break-in at a shop in Bradford.

It's thought that the thieves gained entry to the Newlyn Pets store on Whitehall Road in Wyke, after disabling a sensor on a burglar alarm.

Over 460 Koi and 30 Chinese goldfish were taken in the raid, including a 75cm/30" Koi valued at £10,000, which had belonged to the owner of the shop for over 20 years. The goldfish are valued at between £30 and £300 each.

Gary Smith, chairman of the Professional Koi Dealers Association told Bradford Telegraph that he thought the fish would have been stolen to order, rather than to sell on the open market.

He said: "The fish may have a high value attached to them but they are only worth what someone will pay for them.

"The fact that they have been stolen will reduce their value. Most Koi dealers wouldn’t buy in secondhand Koi because of the risk of infection."

Police have appealed for witnesses and information from anyone who may have been offered the fish for sale or who knows where they might be.

Anyone with information is asked to call Spen Neighbourhood Policing team on 101 or Crimestoppers on 0800 555111.

The owner of Newlyn Pets did not wish to comment.

Islander Imports

Postby Islander Imports » July 27th, 2012, 10:12 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Islander Imports wrote:yo tuners need a little bit of advice. I purchased some sand from a pool supply place thinking it would be pool filter sand. Apparently it's Silica sand , I need to know if this would be safe for us, substrate would be about 2 inches deep on average, thank you.

Salt or fresh....................I know for saltwater use the silica feeds your tank with unwanted nutrients whereby the diatoms feed on it. You get this unsightly outbreak over everything that wont go for mths. Cant say for fresh.

It's for a freshwater tank.

And really impressive tank man, hopefully I'll take the plunge into salt water in the next couple years.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 27th, 2012, 11:46 am

I found a crab in the live rock today :shock: :D , its brownish grey..don't think that would be good for a reef might put it in the sump. Honda, you don't have sand as your substrate....about the silica sand, i am going tobago and well there is free sand on the beach lol but idk :? ......and if i could get some seaweed to put in the sump hmmm......

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 27th, 2012, 11:52 am

I tried to take a pic of the crab but he was under the live rock and it was to dark

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 27th, 2012, 6:22 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I found a crab in the live rock today :shock: :D , its brownish grey..don't think that would be good for a reef might put it in the sump. Honda, you don't have sand as your substrate....about the silica sand, i am going tobago and well there is free sand on the beach lol but idk :? ......and if i could get some seaweed to put in the sump hmmm......

If the crab has black tips on the gundy, its one of or local black tip reef crabs............. catch it and really put it in the sump or throw it away. It will eat your fish, coral and inverts. I had one some mths back that started to pick off my snails and coral. How i ended up finding him is one night, when all my lights were off, i usually shine a light to check that everyone is ok and i saw my big 5" brain coral wedged under a rock and this 1" crab munching on it. I stalked him for about 5 nights until i caught him and i have him in the skimmer section of my sump right now. Imagine i had seen him about 3mths before and thought he was no threat and later died..............boy was i wrong :twisted: :twisted:
I have allot of live rock (over 300lbs) so something that small can real hide in the rockworks. Of the 11mths+ that the tank running, i have a pistol shrimp that ive only seen 3 times...........I hear him every night though.
I do have sand in my tank, its just not the fine grade sand that raj selling now. Both the fine and course sand have its advantages and dis-advantages. Dont put Seaweed in your sump or tank

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 27th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I tried to take a pic of the crab but he was under the live rock and it was to dark

you have it real easy.........................take the rock out and take him out. 20lbsof LR is easy to deal with. Better you catch him now than put allot more LR in only to have to catch him after. And trust me........ when you set up LR and decide to move it to fix something, YOU NEVER NEVER GET IT BACK HOW IT WAS................. IF IT WAS ONLY EASY AS LEGO :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 28th, 2012, 12:15 pm

hahahahhaha...imma take him out today. I was thinking about the stocks that i am putting in the tank, i wana get a pair of clowns, 2 chormis, 1 goby and a wrasse

Postby timelapse » July 28th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Islander Imports wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

It's for a freshwater tank.

And really impressive tank man, hopefully I'll take the plunge into salt water in the next couple years.

I am using pool filter sand that I bought locally.You are right, it is crushed silica sand. Some problems to look out for:

Because of how small the grains are,it traps anaerobic bacteria beneath it sometimes.Unless youe have fish that dig( I have horsehead loaches in one tank, and peacock cichlids in the other) either mix it with some porous substrate, or do not cross a centimeter of depth with it anywhere.

Another thing is that it needs to be cycled properly before you use it.The local stuff has a disgusting slimy algae that comes with it.

plant roots do not hold well in it and it stifles some plant roots.

Java moss will grow in it and looks good for about a week or so, then it gets ugly.I superglue my java moss to coconut shell fragments and just bury it partially.

when you initially wash it, a sifter might be too big. I fill it in stockings to rinse it.

In my experience i found that blue rams do not like it. Im guessing that it reflects light a little too good.

Cheers

Postby UML » July 28th, 2012, 10:44 pm

who is the authorized dealer for API products in Trinidad?

Where can I get a Nitrate test kit? Other than Nu-image.

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 10:19 am

i have started doing regular water changes but my nitrates seem still high or unchanged. any advice on lowering it? I have lost some life in my tank :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 11:25 am

*what do you consider high.
*loss of life you say............snails, fish other inverts? Were they left in to decay?
*You said you did a water change, what %? Depending on how much you change in your total volume, you may not see a change one time in nitrates.
*how often do you feed
*What types of food do you feed
*do you use any liquid food or other product

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 3:25 pm

HondaB20B wrote:*what do you consider high.
*loss of life you say............snails, fish other inverts? Were they left in to decay?
*You said you did a water change, what %? Depending on how much you change in your total volume, you may not see a change one time in nitrates.
*how often do you feed
*What types of food do you feed
*do you use any liquid food or other product

well it orange since i started
i lose a pulsing xenia and my donut coral have dead kinda shrivel up and i seeing piece of the underneath...the xenia was small and it decay or something eat it i eh sure cause it just disappear one day
i eh sure percent nah...i assume it mussee 10% (2 pig tail bucket) every 2 days...didnt see no change...stopped for a week and did another 2 bucket
feed 2 times a day...as much as they eat in a minute
mysis shrimp and pellets
no other food

tank 48x18x18

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 3:38 pm

*orange is what reading.............
*10% might not be any big change you might see in a color chart. todays orange might not look like tomorrows. When you doing it next time, take a sample just before you change water, then take sample 1hr after and check the 2 samples one time. put the vials side by side
*whats your Cal & Alk readings? Corals die when this not up. (especially xenias)
*you possibly burn all your corals also because you never mixed your water and left it for the required 24hrs
*whats your temp.
*Whats your salinity and PH. Corals die when this not up.
*What you using to check salinity................. anytime you going into reef heavy, buy a refractometer

This is mine right now:

Cal - 440
Alk - 9's
Salinity - 1.026 (always steady and spot on)
Temp - 78F (steady)
PH - 8.2-8.4 (Digital)
Ammonia - 0
Nitrates - undetectable
Nitrites - 0
Phosphates - undetectable

I change out 50-60gal of water every 2wks and top up with bacteria every water change.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 29th, 2012, 5:06 pm

how much stock u have in your tank and how much live rock?

Is tobago beach sand saft for a reef, you know since it is calcium carbonate and not silica based?
I took out the crab yesterday don't know which part in the sump to put it.... :?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 5:32 pm

Reefplanet wrote:how much stock u have in your tank and how much live rock?

Is tobago beach sand saft for a reef, you know since it is calcium carbonate and not silica based?
I took out the crab yesterday don't know which part in the sump to put it.... :?

DT - 200gal+ - 0ver 300lbs LR
sump/refuge - 60gal - 0 LR
Fish - 25 (3/4" - 6")

I dont know what to tell you about the sand. I never took the chance. I know people who did and got mixed results..............good & bad
Last edited by HondaB20B on July 29th, 2012, 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 29th, 2012, 5:39 pm

I am up to the challenge oh and lol i was actually asking UML no offense :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I am up to the challenge oh and lol i was actually asking UML no offense :D

or ok..................... :lol:

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 8:10 pm

HondaB20B wrote:*orange is what reading.............
*10% might not be any big change you might see in a color chart. todays orange might not look like tomorrows. When you doing it next time, take a sample just before you change water, then take sample 1hr after and check the 2 samples one time. put the vials side by side
*whats your Cal & Alk readings? Corals die when this not up. (especially xenias)
*you possibly burn all your corals also because you never mixed your water and left it for the required 24hrs
*whats your temp.
*Whats your salinity and PH. Corals die when this not up.
*What you using to check salinity................. anytime you going into reef heavy, buy a refractometer

This is mine right now:

Cal - 440
Alk - 9's
Salinity - 1.026 (always steady and spot on)
Temp - 78F (steady)
PH - 8.2-8.4 (Digital)
Ammonia - 0
Nitrates - undetectable
Nitrites - 0
Phosphates - undetectable

I change out 50-60gal of water every 2wks and top up with bacteria every water change.

The main reason for this problem is because i made a noob mistake...i set up the tank since march and never did water changes :|

when flour more than water I start to do water changes...das like 2 weeks ago when someone mentioned water changes in this thread.

So.....
Nitrate is 40 ppm
Salinity is 1.022
pH is 8.2 ppm
Nitrite is 0 ppm

I dont have Cal and Alk readings :oops: I was undecided on which test kit to buy because I was uncertain which type of tank i was going to have.....bought the test kit a year before starting my tank...so i have a API marine (fish only) test kit and not a reef kit :oops:

yea i dont mix the water 24hrs in advance....i just mix and throw in the sump....i thinking even when i topping off with clean water...it might shock my bacteria in my sump...but so far so good...cause only my nitrates outta control.
temp is between 77/78 varies on hot or cold days
Using a Hydrometer to test salinity

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:how much stock u have in your tank and how much live rock?

DT - 200gal+ - 0ver 300lbs LR
sump/refuge - 60gal - 0 LR
Fish - 25 (3/4" - 6")

I dont know what to tell you about the sand. I never took the chance. I know people who did and got mixed results..............good & bad

Tank 67 gallons
Sump 23 gallons

I doh know how much live rock I have nah....i never weigh it...my guess is 80lbs
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 10:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby sharkman121 » July 29th, 2012, 8:21 pm

Its a wonder my fish and coral still alive and healthy, havent done a water change for the year. :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 8:30 pm

A FOWLR tank you can get away with no water changes. I have one that i aint change water in nearly a year. My tubs outside, one of them i aint change in ove a year.
A reef tank with allot of corals you have to change often.................. to me thats how i get so much growth

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 9:14 pm

how important is vacuuming sand?

hondab20b with all dat coral u have...do u vacuum? or have space to vacuum?

i was trying to gauge raj display tank to figure if he does vacuum....but it so congested and the sand dirty so i guessing he doesnt

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 29th, 2012, 10:08 pm

UML wrote:how important is vacuuming sand?

hondab20b with all dat coral u have...do u vacuum? or have space to vacuum?

i was trying to gauge raj display tank to figure if he does vacuum....but it so congested and the sand dirty so i guessing he doesnt

nah, i dont do that again.................... that used to take me over 2 hrs just to do that every 2 wks. instead i have fighting conch and other snails that that keep the sandbed areated. the snails bury themselves. My serpent star also helps with the detrius. My sand is not the cleanest but i have no problems. Lots of corals and anemones on the sand bed. They say its not good to interfer with a deep sand bed

Postby UML » July 29th, 2012, 10:21 pm

will these things help lower my nitrates?

what will u recommend for me to get for my sand?