Petrotrin refinery shut down

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby zoom rader » June 19th, 2024, 7:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:I think irony going over your head so I will stop.

But what did the Privy Council find "them" guilty of?

What is your source for the cost of the stadium?
Rowlee is a crook todo business with corrupt Indians that put trinidad at risk

Postby sMASH » June 19th, 2024, 8:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:I think irony going over your head so I will stop.

But what did the Privy Council find "them" guilty of?

What is your source for the cost of the stadium?
Rowlee is a crook todo business with corrupt Indians that put trinidad at risk
Trinidad done going down the hill already .
Dragon gas is is a promise to keep the Lefffff foot ritttttte foot community quiet .

Pnm in fire sale mode.

Only giving construction and renovation contract .

Find out how many send funds to Ghana

They might sell the botanic gardens jess now

This country crashing

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 20th, 2024, 1:28 pm

Not crashing but crashed we gone thru

Postby zoom rader » June 20th, 2024, 1:31 pm

PariaMan wrote:Not crashing but crashed we gone thru
Very sad state of affairs when a known PNM blogger Habit7 cant answer a question if a home invasion is a crime

Postby Habit7 » June 20th, 2024, 4:37 pm

sMASH wrote:This country crashing

Yet the govt bribed the directors of IMF to agree to post this rubbish

For the first time in a decade, Trinidad and Tobago is undergoing a gradual and sustained economic recovery. Real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is estimated to have further expanded by 2.1 percent in 2023, reflecting a strong performance of the non-energy sector. Inflation has declined sharply, mainly due to decelerating global food and imported goods prices. Banks’ credit to the private sector continues to expand and the financial sector appears sound and stable. The current account is estimated to remain in a surplus in 2023, and international reserve coverage is adequate at 8.3 months of prospective total imports. The fiscal deficit in FY2023 continued supporting the recovery and was better than budgeted, while public sector debt remained below the authorities’ soft debt target.

Economic growth is projected to gain momentum in 2024, supported by the non-energy and energy sectors, and inflation is projected to remain low. The current account surplus will narrow mainly due to a decline in energy prices and energy exports and is estimated at 5.7 percent of GDP in 2024. International reserve coverage is expected to remain adequate at 7.5 months of prospective total imports. External public buffers in the Heritage and Stabilization Fund are large at about 20 percent of GDP. The fiscal position is projected to remain adequate, reaching a deficit of 2.7 percent of GDP in FY2024. This reflects lower energy revenues, increased capital spending, and a higher wage bill—due to the long-standing public wage settlement with some unions.

https://www.imf.org/en/News/Articles/20 ... sult#_ftn2

Postby zoom rader » June 20th, 2024, 8:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:

For the first time in a decade, Trinidad and Tobago is undergoing a gradual and sustained economic recovery. Real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is estimated to have further expanded by 2.1 percent in 2023, reflecting a strong performance of the non-energy sector. Inflation has declined sharply, mainly due to decelerating global food and imported goods prices. Banks’ credit to the private sector continues to expand and the financial sector appears sound and stable. The current account is estimated to remain in a surplus in 2023, and international reserve coverage is adequate at 8.3 months of prospective total imports. The fiscal deficit in FY2023 continued supporting the recovery and was better than budgeted, while public sector debt remained below the authorities’ soft debt target.

Economic growth is projected to gain momentum in 2024, supported by the non-energy and energy sectors, and inflation is projected to remain low. The current account surplus will narrow mainly due to a decline in energy prices and energy exports and is estimated at 5.7 percent of GDP in 2024. International reserve coverage is expected to remain adequate at 7.5 months of prospective total imports. External public buffers in the Heritage and Stabilization Fund are large at about 20 percent of GDP. The fiscal position is projected to remain adequate, reaching a deficit of 2.7 percent of GDP in FY2024. This reflects lower energy revenues, increased capital spending, and a higher wage bill—due to the long-standing public wage settlement with some unions.

They produce very misleading articles taken from falsely produce PNM data.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2024, 8:34 am

Wow, IMF can surveil 126 countries but T&T can deceive them? Kudos to T&T.

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2024, 8:48 am

Habit7 wrote:Wow, IMF can surveil 126 countries but T&T can deceive them? Kudos to T&T.
IMF feeds off of data supplied by governments.

PNM has been known to produce false data

Now answer the question is a home invasion a crime?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2024, 7:37 pm

The_Honourable wrote:PM meets Indian businessman interested in Petrotrin refinery

Prime Minister Dr the Hon. Keith Rowley met with Mr. Naveen Jindal, Chairman of Jindal Steel and Power Limited at the Diplomatic Centre today (Monday 17th June 2024).

A statement from the Office of the Prime Minister notes that Jindal Steel and Power is one of India’s leading business houses, with a substantial presence in steel, mining, power and infrastructure.

Chairman Jindal’s visit today is a result of Prime Minister Rowley’s recent trip to India where he met with several business leaders and invited them to explore investment opportunities in Trinidad and Tobago.

Mr Jindal is interested in the potential of the Petrotrin refinery and this subject formed part of the discussions at today’s meeting.

Another delegation of Indian businessmen is expected to arrive in Trinidad next week.

Several Government Ministers were present at today’s meeting.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/pm-meets-indian- ... -refinery/
Indians are very corrupt

Most likely Rowlee was brought out again and or some minster are set to make deals

The man really before the courts for corruption yes :lol: He is really in the "steal" business

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2024, 8:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:

One day of sunshine means rainy season done.
OK... Makes sense why pnm wins.. Cause the Lefffff foot ritttttte foot community dumb no arse to belive thats a long term projection

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2024, 10:20 pm

sMASH wrote:One day of sunshine means rainy season done.
OK... Makes sense why pnm wins.. Cause the Lefffff foot ritttttte foot community dumb no arse to belive thats a long term projection

Do you mind sharing with us your long-term projection that is predicting the usual doom and gloom?

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2024, 10:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Do you mind sharing with us your long-term projection that is predicting the usual doom and gloom?
Exchange rate will be 4 to 1

Postby zoom rader » June 22nd, 2024, 7:37 am

Habit7 wrote:

Gas runs out in 7 to 10yrs

Pt lisas companies know this and are planning their exit. This is a fact.

Brain brain been going on for some yrs now, to get a job in Trinidad u need to be a PNM.

Graduates are leaving.

Exchange and lack of rate proves Trinidad is a shíťĥóľé

Citizens are over taxed and wages remain the same.

I can give u more but answer the questions is a home invasion a crime?

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2024, 10:11 am

Great, wonderful insight!

But to prove the accuracy of your predictions, since you all were on the forum and posting a lot during the closure of the refinery and COVID-19.

Quote all your posts from back then making the long-term forecast that our economy would be growing now.

Unless there is none and you always predict gloom and doom?

Postby zoom rader » June 22nd, 2024, 11:23 am

Habit7 wrote:Great, wonderful insight!

But to prove the accuracy of your predictions, since you all were on the forum and posting a lot during the closure of the refinery and COVID-19.

Quote all your posts from back then making the long-term forecast that our economy would be growing now.

COVID-19 is not an excuse

Trinidad is and will remain a śĥíťĥoʻľe under an pnm

Postby sMASH » June 22nd, 2024, 6:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:Great, wonderful insight!

U have an upturn from a global down turn... That's not growth, that's recovery

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2024, 7:04 pm

sMASH wrote:U have an upturn from a global down turn... That's not growth, that's recovery
Great insight! It's only a result from COVID. You certainly have a grasp of the economy.
Habit7 wrote:

For the first time in a decade, Trinidad and Tobago is undergoing a gradual and sustained economic recovery. Real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is estimated to have further expanded by 2.1 percent in 2023, reflecting a strong performance of the non-energy sector.

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2024, 8:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Brain brain been going on for some yrs now, to get a job in Trinidad u need to be a PNM.

Graduates are leaving.

We heard the same about oil many times. 10 years.

I am not sure about reserves and capacity as it's not my field but I do know of talk in point lisas. Haven't heard anything solid and from what I can gather is they cater for that time period.

Postby sMASH » June 22nd, 2024, 10:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:U have an upturn from a global down turn... That's not growth, that's recovery
Great insight! It's only a result from COVID. You certainly have a grasp of the economy.
Habit7 wrote:

For the first time in a decade, Trinidad and Tobago is undergoing a gradual and sustained economic recovery. Real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is estimated to have further expanded by 2.1 percent in 2023, reflecting a strong performance of the non-energy sector.
Me know nothing about the economy ?
Me and imburt
That why the same thing annand tell him.tk do in the pre action , he ended up doing ...lol

We knows nutten bout eekonomee

Postby zoom rader » June 23rd, 2024, 7:24 am

Habit7 wrote:

Graduates are leaving.

We heard the same about oil many times. 10 years.

I am not sure about reserves and capacity as it's not my field but I do know of talk in point lisas. Haven't heard anything solid and from what I can gather is they cater for that time period.
Trust me, one large scale operator has indicated that they are looking to wrap up in 7 year. They will be moving with plants abroad.

Re: Petrotrin Refinery Shut Down

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 9:25 am

All of sudden Trinidad have crude for refinery.

Corruption to the fullest,

make the refinery look as if its making a loss, say u have no cruel while wells are capped for a reason.

Kill off workers, prolong sale till the dust clears then bring in a corrupted Indian to give PNM kick backs.

How more stupid can Trinidad be

All yuh tuners never listen, take bull.

Some of u all lick Habit7 arsehole like wing & mero does

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2024, 9:42 am

zoom rader wrote:All of sudden Trinidad have crude for refinery.

According to who?

Postby nervewrecker » June 26th, 2024, 11:23 am

Habit7 wrote:

According to who?
Well we do have a lot of wells capped for a rainy day.....

Postby The_Honourable » June 26th, 2024, 11:33 am

Access to crude no major issue for restarting refinery, say energy experts

While energy experts agree that a Cabinet-appointed evaluation team should ensure that the next operator for the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery has the financial and technical resources to resume operations, access to crude oil should not be an issue.

Speaking at the People’s National Movement Sports and Family in San Fernando last Sunday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that the Cabinet will install a team to assess bids submitted in a month. He said the Government should be able to tell the country whether it has an operator for the old Petrotrin asset by the end of August.

He said they were looking at potential operators with crude oil that T&T did not have.

Former minister of energy and energy affairs Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan said T&T has to be very mindful when choosing the best bidder. She said the preferred bidder should have the requisite expertise to take the plants out of the mothballed state they were in for six years and make them operational in the shortest possible time.

Seepersad-Bachan said they must also have the requisite finances because resumption will be a capital-intensive project.

“It has been mothballed for six years. When the Government evaluates, it should not limit itself to only bidders that have equity in crude because we have seen success stories around the world about refineries that do not own crude. They have strategic partnerships around the world,” Seepersad-Bachan said.

She said research would show refineries had healthy margins in the last few years. When evaluating, she said, analyses cannot be on a short-term basis, as any one-year period cannot paint an accurate picture of a refinery.

During Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) President General Ancel Roget’s Labour Day speech, he said his organisation would not allow anyone to resume operation at the refinery without its involvement.

The OWTU’s Patriotic Energies and Technologies Company is one of the bidders for the refinery. However, Rowley rejected Roget’s demands, saying action on the refinery would not have anything to do with mischievous troublemakers who believe the Government will sit back and take nonsensical talk.

He said one union leader was singing calypso, sending word for him to say that the Government would not be allowed to dispose of the refinery without his and his friends’ permission.

“When you own your own refinery, the Government will not interfere with it. But the refinery owned by the people of Trinidad and Tobago, until you are in the Government or the prime minister, go and sing your calypso to your friends elsewhere and stop talking stupidness,” Rowley said.

Seepersad-Bachan said Roget and Patriotic must be treated separately, like every other bidder. She said the evaluation team must analyse bids to get the highest returns in the country’s interests. She said the resumption of the refinery was not just about dollars but about the employment opportunities and spin-off industries.

Seepersad-Bachan said Petrotrin had trained people for the industry, and after the closure, many went abroad. She is hopeful that the new operator can attract them to the refinery.

Meanwhile, Strategy and Energy Consultant at VSL Consultants, Gregory McGuire, said the preferred bidder should have access to capital to finance the refinery refurbishment and upgrades. He said the current state of the refinery would not be operable as there was always a need to upgrade plants to produce products more efficiently, more price-competitive, and better suited for the market.

He said the preferred bidder should have the technical capacity to recruit experienced and capable personnel.

“We do have in Trinidad and Tobago a whole cadre of experienced workers, and they can draw on that, but in terms of the new technologies available for refining, the preferred bidder ought to have that,” McGuire said.

His third criterion was access to export markets or a distribution network to get refined products out seamlessly.

Fourthly, they must have access to crude oil, which he says is always readily available. While Seepersad-Bachan believes the Government can also seek a partner for the refinery, McGuire says the refinery should be in the private sector’s hands.

“Governments in Trinidad and Tobago have had over 100 years to get the refinery right. Even if we were to go back to 1974, when we first acquired the Trintoc refinery, and later on, into the ‘80s, the Texaco refinery, we have had forty-something years-plus to get it right, and we have not succeeded in getting it right for a host of reasons.”

https://guardian.co.tt/news/access-to-c ... ff05c72386

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 12:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:

According to who?
Well we do have a lot of wells capped for a rainy day.....
Yes capped to stave petrotrin

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 12:19 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Access to crude no major issue for restarting refinery, say energy experts

While energy experts agree that a Cabinet-appointed evaluation team should ensure that the next operator for the Pointe-a-Pierre refinery has the financial and technical resources to resume operations, access to crude oil should not be an issue.

Speaking at the People’s National Movement Sports and Family in San Fernando last Sunday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced that the Cabinet will install a team to assess bids submitted in a month. He said the Government should be able to tell the country whether it has an operator for the old Petrotrin asset by the end of August.

He said they were looking at potential operators with crude oil that T&T did not have.

Former minister of energy and energy affairs Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan said T&T has to be very mindful when choosing the best bidder. She said the preferred bidder should have the requisite expertise to take the plants out of the mothballed state they were in for six years and make them operational in the shortest possible time.

Seepersad-Bachan said they must also have the requisite finances because resumption will be a capital-intensive project.

“It has been mothballed for six years. When the Government evaluates, it should not limit itself to only bidders that have equity in crude because we have seen success stories around the world about refineries that do not own crude. They have strategic partnerships around the world,” Seepersad-Bachan said.

She said research would show refineries had healthy margins in the last few years. When evaluating, she said, analyses cannot be on a short-term basis, as any one-year period cannot paint an accurate picture of a refinery.

During Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) President General Ancel Roget’s Labour Day speech, he said his organisation would not allow anyone to resume operation at the refinery without its involvement.

The OWTU’s Patriotic Energies and Technologies Company is one of the bidders for the refinery. However, Rowley rejected Roget’s demands, saying action on the refinery would not have anything to do with mischievous troublemakers who believe the Government will sit back and take nonsensical talk.

He said one union leader was singing calypso, sending word for him to say that the Government would not be allowed to dispose of the refinery without his and his friends’ permission.

“When you own your own refinery, the Government will not interfere with it. But the refinery owned by the people of Trinidad and Tobago, until you are in the Government or the prime minister, go and sing your calypso to your friends elsewhere and stop talking stupidness,” Rowley said.

Seepersad-Bachan said Roget and Patriotic must be treated separately, like every other bidder. She said the evaluation team must analyse bids to get the highest returns in the country’s interests. She said the resumption of the refinery was not just about dollars but about the employment opportunities and spin-off industries.

Seepersad-Bachan said Petrotrin had trained people for the industry, and after the closure, many went abroad. She is hopeful that the new operator can attract them to the refinery.

Meanwhile, Strategy and Energy Consultant at VSL Consultants, Gregory McGuire, said the preferred bidder should have access to capital to finance the refinery refurbishment and upgrades. He said the current state of the refinery would not be operable as there was always a need to upgrade plants to produce products more efficiently, more price-competitive, and better suited for the market.

He said the preferred bidder should have the technical capacity to recruit experienced and capable personnel.

“We do have in Trinidad and Tobago a whole cadre of experienced workers, and they can draw on that, but in terms of the new technologies available for refining, the preferred bidder ought to have that,” McGuire said.

His third criterion was access to export markets or a distribution network to get refined products out seamlessly.

Fourthly, they must have access to crude oil, which he says is always readily available. While Seepersad-Bachan believes the Government can also seek a partner for the refinery, McGuire says the refinery should be in the private sector’s hands.

“Governments in Trinidad and Tobago have had over 100 years to get the refinery right. Even if we were to go back to 1974, when we first acquired the Trintoc refinery, and later on, into the ‘80s, the Texaco refinery, we have had forty-something years-plus to get it right, and we have not succeeded in getting it right for a host of reasons.”

https://guardian.co.tt/news/access-to-c ... ff05c72386
Habit7 was asking

He pretends he does know

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2024, 12:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:

According to who?
So ZR is not reading beyond the headlines again. Because for several decades T&T has nowhere near the daily production of crude needed to run the refinery without imports. So whoever is buying the refinery must lock down their source of crude because we are hobbling along with 45k bpd while the refinery needs 140k bpd.

Trinidad DOESN'T have crude for the refinery.
The_Honourable wrote:

Postby sMASH » June 26th, 2024, 5:45 pm

I want them the restart it , eh.

But what new thing the Indian will do have the refinery profitable , that trinidad couldn't do?

I still thinking they gonna parts it up and ship it India ... That why Rowley wanna call election early...

Why Ghana or Nigeria didn't buy it for their crude fields ?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 6:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:

According to who?
So ZR is not reading beyond the headlines again. Because for several decades T&T has nowhere near the daily production of crude needed to run the refinery without imports. So whoever is buying the refinery must lock down their source of crude because we are hobbling along with 45k bpd while the refinery needs 140k bpd.

The_Honourable wrote:

Jack arse, PNM has been systematically capping highly productive wells since the 1980s.

They fed lies and bullśhit fake reports to idiots like you throughout the years.

Thoughtout the years the also held back on granting of oil exploration licenses. I am a shareholder in a few of these london LSE AIM companies that had terrible dealings with PNM.

Now all of sudden they have oil after they killed a viable oil industries to fed 1%

Remember i first broke the news on tuner that Petrotrin will be closed and sold off? Idiots like u tried to rip my head off. But time proved me right, and now I am proven right as always.

Keep drinking that bailiser juice, you only live off as what presented to you and know little of behind the scenes.

You and Redman I believe are the same persons cause you both think & present idiot articles while trying to gaslight tuners.

For the pass couple of weeks some high up tuners have made an idiot out of you where u cant even answer simple question but sit and beat around the bailiser.

wing

Postby wing » June 26th, 2024, 6:11 pm

Habit7 wrote:

According to who?

The_Honourable wrote:

Jack arse, PNM has been systematically capping highly productive wells since the 1980s.

They fed lies and bullśhit fake reports to idiots like you throughout the years.

Thoughtout the years the also held back on granting of oil exploration licenses. I am a shareholder in a few of these london LSE AIM companies that had terrible dealings with PNM.

Now all of sudden they have oil after they killed a viable oil industries to fed 1%

Remember i first broke the news on tuner that Petrotrin will be closed and sold off? Idiots like u tried to rip my head off. But time proved me right, and now I am proven right as always.

Keep drinking that bailiser juice, you only live off as what presented to you and know little of behind the scenes.

You and Redman I believe are the same persons cause you both think & present idiot articles while trying to gaslight tuners.

For the pass couple of weeks some high up tuners have made an idiot out of you where u cant even answer simple question but sit and beat around the bailiser.
when yuh have no answer, the best thing to do is throw mud

Pugboy called you out for being a kant and pedo. Now you can shut up and play with your animals.