The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

Re: The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 12:44 pm

Yeah got the calculations wrong about the size, but the factors influencing and present in UAE is very different than T&T.

And inasmuch as you are using Dubai as a yardstick for where T&T is supposed to be, other countries use T&T as a yardstick of where they are supposed.

PNM hasnt done all that they could have done, but DLP, NAR, UNC, PP or ILP haven't proved to be better alternatives.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah got the calculations wrong about the size, but the factors influencing and present in UAE is very different than T&T.

And inasmuch as you are using Dubai as a yardstick for where T&T is supposed to be, other countries use T&T as a yardstick of where they are supposed.

PNM hasnt done all that they could have done, but DLP, NAR, UNC, PP or ILP haven't proved to be better alternatives.

Neither the DLP nor has ILP had political reign unlike the PNM, NAR, UNC and PP.

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 12:48 pm

UNC didn't even have reign like the PNM.

Tobagonians voted for a party/person who openly expressed racist and hateful remarks.

Now we supposed to look up to them? lol

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 12:52 pm

pioneer wrote:UNC didn't even have reign like the PNM.

Tobagonians voted for a party/person who openly expressed racist and hateful remarks.

same one fold up inna hospital after getting a stroke, how ironic he depending on indo doctors to save his worthless life

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 12:55 pm

kjaglal76 wrote:

same one fold up inna hospital after getting a stroke, how ironic he depending on indo doctors to save his worthless life

Wha dey say bout karma?

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Neither the DLP nor has ILP had political reign unlike the PNM, NAR, UNC and PP.
Well according some books pois showed me, the DLP had a heavy racist agenda that had mostly to deal with governing only for Hindu Indo-trinis. They mostly disbanded and went into the SDMS.
The ILP leader entering into electoral politics without even carrying out elections in his own party, he said he would pay $6.8 million for the firetruck again and maintains a foreign convict/locally accused person on his campaign ballot. ILP would not improve the governing of this country.

In the most recent 20yrs of T&T, PNM got 11yrs in power UNC got 9yrs.
pioneer wrote:Tobagonians voted for a party/person who openly expressed racist and hateful remarks.
In which elections 2010 or 2013?

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Habit7 wrote:ILP would not improve the governing of this country.

speculation, how u arrive at this

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 1:07 pm

How much more are you gonna twist the figures?

By saying in the most recent 3 years unc got 3 and pnm got 0?

Did u learn that trick from balisier house?

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 1:12 pm

I cyar even imagine how this country would have been if the pp was in charge during pnm's stints.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 1:17 pm

pioneer wrote:How much more are you gonna twist the figures?

Well I am trying to be as contemporary as possible because I see that you're not that accurate with current affairs. So anything prior to 20yrs would obviously mean that you're talking from an uninformed position.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Neither the DLP nor has ILP had political reign unlike the PNM, NAR, UNC and PP.
Well according some books pois showed me, the DLP had a heavy racist agenda that had mostly to deal with governing only for Hindu Indo-trinis. They mostly disbanded and went into the SDMS.
The ILP leader entering into electoral politics without even carrying out elections in his own party, he said he would pay $6.8 million for the firetruck again and maintains a foreign convict/locally accused person on his campaign ballot. ILP would not improve the governing of this country.

In the most recent 20yrs of T&T, PNM got 11yrs in power UNC got 9yrs.
pioneer wrote:Tobagonians voted for a party/person who openly expressed racist and hateful remarks.
In which elections 2010 or 2013?

Racist agenda or not though the fact remains the DLP only ever won the federal elections and never a Trinidad General or assembly election. Therefore to say they are not a better alternative to the PNM would be mere speculation based on opinion as you cannot based it on their non period of rule.

By the same regards there are many books and articles calling the equivalent period PNM racists. Who do we believe?

grad

Postby grad » October 8th, 2013, 1:21 pm

point noted wrt the calculations. if we even look at singapore:
land - 700 vs 5000 for TT
population - 4x TT
GDP - 60 000 vs 20 000 for TT

singapore doesnt even have an oil or gas industry to bank on, yet they use the resources they have effectively. dubai does, and have made major investments in tourism to sustain their income long after oil money has finished, and even now to prevent the total dependence on oil and gas. have we seen any investment into anything else when our oil goes?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2013, 1:25 pm

grad wrote:point noted wrt the calculations. if we even look at singapore:
land - 700 vs 5000 for TT
population - 4x TT
GDP - 60 000 vs 20 000 for TT

singapore doesnt even have an oil or gas industry to bank on, yet they use the resources they have effectively. dubai does, and have made major investments in tourism to sustain their income long after oil money has finished, and even now to prevent the total dependence on oil and gas. have we seen any investment into anything else when our oil goes?

Biggest mistake I believe Trinis make is trying to compare ourselves to Singapore. They had an autocratic leader leading a country where the majority race had a bigger majority than ours (70% Han Chinese as opposed to us whose two main groups were always within a few percentage points of each other). Their ability to pass laws we wouldn't even be able to wrap our minds around allowed them to flourish.

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 1:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Well I am trying to be as contemporary as possible because I see that you're not that accurate with current affairs. So anything prior to 20yrs would obviously mean that you're talking from an uninformed position.

Aw haw...so yuh sayin lewwe doh talk bout de failures of de pnm

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 1:32 pm

Well as you said it comes down to opinion. I can cite the sources that informs mine, I hope you could cite the sources that informs yours.

But after independance, DLP struggled to keep itself together even to be a formidable Opposition party. The leader went to England to work/study and tried to run the party from there (1960's technology not deterring him). There were accusations of assassinations and backbiting from within the party.

I think my opinion is grounded.

Dizzy28 wrote:Biggest mistake I believe Trinis make is trying to compare ourselves to Singapore. They had an autocratic leader leading a country where the majority race had a bigger majority than ours (70% Han Chinese as opposed to us whose two main groups were always within a few percentage points of each other). Their ability to pass laws we wouldn't even be able to wrap our minds around allowed them to flourish.

So true, just the other day I heard the COP leader doing this.

If you think PNM is bad, then Singapore's PAP is PNM^2. It is what any democratic leader would want without having a dictatorship. In Singapore there is no need for corruption. The PM and MP just pay themselves some of the highest government salaries in the world. They are in governance since 1959 uninterrupted and any opposition is victimised.

PNM or any other local party can only dream of having that power.

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Aw haw...so yuh sayin lewwe doh talk bout de failures of de pnm

You could, but dont do like earlier and say that the "Mr. Big" comment was in relation to kidnapping, and not the POS bombings.

grad

Postby grad » October 8th, 2013, 1:45 pm

its not really a matter of comparing, but wanting a better standard of life.

The PNM (they always say the PNM built this country) claim their biggest achievements include building road networks, schools, health care facilities and oil and gas development. the first three are responsibility of any government, and the last one is what would occur in ANY oil and gas dependent economy. so what have you done? what do you have to show? do we export any automobiles, food, products of any worth to our GDP? have we really taken advantage of tourism or trade? have we spent our income since our independence in 1962 and seen developments in a real transportation network, or making port of spain the business capital of the Caribbean or even detection and prosecution of crime? all that is development, not just big tall buildings, but a meaning to the big tall buildings

Postby Habit7 » October 8th, 2013, 1:58 pm

Is Trinidad the Capital of the Caribbean?
May 30, 2013 | 7:55 am |
By Michael W Edghill
CJ Contributor

On Tuesday, United States Vice President Joe Biden met with CARICOM leaders in Port of Spain as part of a regional tour with scheduled stops in Colombia and Brazil.

Perhaps even more intriguing is the fact that the Vice President of the United States is not the most notable diplomatic visit of the week, as the President of China, Xi Jinping, will be making a scheduled visit beginning on May 31.

That two of the great world powers would make such high profile appearances in Trinidad when traveling to the region makes one wonder if Trinidad has become the de facto capital of the Caribbean.

While it may be argued that Trinidad ends up hosting these events on behalf of the other Caribbean states simply due to its infrastructure that other nations in the region may not have, credit must be given to the government of Trinidad and Tobago for investing in building and modernizing these facilities. Those improvements have allowed Port of Spain not only to play host to these current high-profile guests, but to play a pivotal role in hosting the 2009 Summit of the Americas.

Hosting foreign dignitaries for meetings with Caribbean leaders is not the only role that Trinidad plays in the region.

Since its creation in 2001, Port of Spain has housed the Caribbean Court of Justice, which was established to replace appeals to the British Privy Council. The Trinidadian capital also hosts the headquarters for the Secretariat of the 25-member Association of Caribbean States.

Of course, these facts in isolation do not point to an assumption of regional leadership on the part of Trinidad and Tobago. Taken collectively though, they signal a trend in the recognition of the weight and influence that Trinidad has in the region.

Much of that influence can be attributed to the relative financial stability of Trinidad when compared with its neighbors in the Caribbean.

While Jamaica struggles to get its financial house in order and many other Caribbean nations are over reliant on tourism dollars and remittances to support their economies, the energy sector foundation of the Trinidadian economy has helped the nation to avoid some of the financial pitfalls of its regional neighbors.

It has even led Trinidad to be a lender nation to other CARICOM states through programmes such as the Petroleum Fund.

It is widely known that the United States and Canada serve as the destination for many Caribbean nationals in search of better economic opportunities. What may not be as well-known is that Trinidad also serves as a destination for other members of the regional diaspora who seek better job opportunities.

Emigration to Trinidad can also be easier for many other nationals of CARICOM states through the freedom of movement clause in the revised Treaty of Chagauramas.

The influence of Trinidad and Tobago can also be seen in the evolution of state owned Caribbean Airlines, which acquired Air Jamaica in 2011 and continues to aggressively compete with LIAT. That competition, Trinidad -owned Caribbean Airlines versus LIAT; owned by several other Caribbean states; provides a small window into the dynamic of Trinidad and Tobago and the other Caribbean states.

Again, in isolation, each one of the preceding facts do not necessarily signal a de facto recognition of Trinidad & Tobago as the political capital of the Caribbean.

Taken collectively, however, one can see that the influence that Trinidad has wielded regionally over the last decade or so is being recognized internationally by those who wish to, for whatever reason, create a stronger economic and political bond with the Caribbean.

One need look no further than the recent interest shown by both the United States and China.

Michael W Edghill, a Caribbean Journal contributor, teaches courses in US Government & in Latin America & the Caribbean in Fort Worth, Texas. He has been published by the Yale Journal of International Affairs, Diplomatic Courier, the Trinidad Guardian, and others.

Follow Michael Edghill on Twitter: @MichaelWEdghill

http://www.caribjournal.com/2013/05/30/ ... caribbean/

Postby Dizzy28 » October 8th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well as you said it comes down to opinion. I can cite the sources that informs mine, I hope you could cite the sources that informs yours.

But after independance, DLP struggled to keep itself together even to be a formidable Opposition party. The leader went to England to work/study and tried to run the party from there (1960's technology not deterring him). There were accusations of assassinations and backbiting from within the party.

I think my opinion is grounded.

Dizzy28 wrote:Biggest mistake I believe Trinis make is trying to compare ourselves to Singapore. They had an autocratic leader leading a country where the majority race had a bigger majority than ours (70% Han Chinese as opposed to us whose two main groups were always within a few percentage points of each other). Their ability to pass laws we wouldn't even be able to wrap our minds around allowed them to flourish.

So true, just the other day I heard the COP leader doing this.

If you think PNM is bad, then Singapore's PAP is PNM^2. It is what any democratic leader would want without having a dictatorship. In Singapore there is no need for corruption. The PM and MP just pay themselves some of the highest government salaries in the world. They are in governance since 1959 uninterrupted and any opposition is victimised.

PNM or any other local party can only dream of having that power.

The PAP did introduce the concept of non elected MPs to counteract their monopoly in Parliament though.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 8th, 2013, 2:42 pm

just to interject about NAR

under NAR i had water in the pipe 24/7 and my road got paved.

previous years, pnm would come, lay down gravel and say they comin back to pave over the layer of gravel. it would never happen and the gravel would wash way in year time then the would come and lay gravel again. they did that for years and years. when NAR reach road get pave smooth no problem.

dont diss Robbie. he was a damn good Prime Minister who they didnt want to give a chance to show his brilliance over they dunceehead whiskey on a sunday politics. enter the coup, embarrassing him by making him pull his pants down and then rewarding him with presidential status.

if i was he tho, i let them shoot meh in the parliament. i know they wasnt going to get away from the commission of enquiry with that. a lil weakness on his part but besides that imho.. one of the best honest Prime Ministers ive experienced in this country to my knowledge.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 3:20 pm

You should know by now that ppl dont buy into PNM as before. You defend PNM day in day out with spin.

Do tell us what you think PNM should have done to stay into power.

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2013, 3:25 pm

^^make rowlie de leader

Even though patos say he out of control or whatever

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 3:53 pm

Pnm needed that cleansing in 2010. Matter fact im hoping that ilp has a strong showing this lge to pull the pp base even more

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 4:00 pm

rfari wrote:Pnm needed that cleansing in 2010. Matter fact im hoping that ilp has a strong showing this lge to pull the pp base even more

PNM has lost by land slides 3 times now and one should think that they would have understood how to stay in power. But nah them want to fall in the same nasty habits as before. They still doing it and Tobago was a perfect example. With Rowlie as leader its only going to get expanded and even worst.

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 4:04 pm

rfari wrote:Pnm needed that cleansing in 2010. Matter fact im hoping that ilp has a strong showing this lge to pull the pp base even more

PNM has lost by land slides 3 times now and one should think that they would have understood how to stay in power. But nah them want to fall in the same nasty habits as before. They still doing it and Tobago was a perfect example. With Rowlie as leader its only going to get expanded and even worst.

Yeah. Growley is the bogey man. Right right...

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 4:08 pm

rfari wrote:

The PNM is downright racist party and Rowlie protrays that image.
I said in 5 years from now, PNM Tobago racist indo statement
will be just a rumor as Petrosingh

Postby eliteauto » October 8th, 2013, 4:10 pm

what/where does Keith Rowley portray a racist image, give specific examples

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » October 8th, 2013, 4:15 pm

avoiding nagar for years

Postby rfari » October 8th, 2013, 4:15 pm

rfari wrote:

We dealt with this already. Twice. Unless u have new evidence to bring to the table, lets not waste my time.

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2013, 4:17 pm

rfari wrote:

We dealt with this already. Twice. Unless u have new evidence to bring to the table, lets not waste my time.

SEE HERE, u was juss writing SEA at de time
TT — An energy success story
Friday, November 14 2003

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO will share its energy success story at two important conferences in Houston, Texas, due to be held shortly, and this will encourage further foreign investment in the local energy sector. Addressing yesterday’s post-Cabinet news conference at Whitehall, Energy Minister Eric Williams said he will present papers at conferences being held by the Centre for Business Intelligence (CBI) and the International Quality Productivity Centre (IQPC) respectively. Williams said the CBI conference was the group’s Third Annual Latin American Oil and Gas Conference. Williams said he will tell “the conference and its particpants how TT has created a win-win situation for energy investments.

As a country we are the site of, if not the largest, the second largest amount of foreign direct investment in our Hemisphere and we are being asked to share our winning formula with the rest of not just the industry but other countries in our region,” he stated. At the IQPC conference, Williams said he will “give a paper on just how important LNG from TT is to the US market.” The Minister reminded journalists that currently TT is the world’s fifth largest LNG exporter and the number one supplier of LNG into the US. “Last year our market share was of the order of 66 percent, which is about two-thirds of the LNG exports into the US,” he said. Williams added that TT’s strategic importance to the US was underlined by the visit to TT of US Energy Department Asst Secretary Vicki Bailey.

“In essence, the win-win formula that we believe has worked for us here in TT has to do essentially with our very good understanding and development with what is called the gas-value chain,” the Minister said. Williams revealed that when word spread that he will be speaking at these conferences, “a number of companies that are doing business with us or would like to do business with us, have requested that we visit with them.” Consequently, Williams said he will be visiting with BHP Biliton, Paragon Engineering Inc and El Paso Corporation while in Houston. He disclosed that El Paso has expressed interest in the Caribbean Gas Pipeline Project and “also has shareholding in at least one LNG re-gasification terminal. So it is important that we keep contacts of that nature,” he stressed. The Minister said a steering committee is being formed to have natural gas from Venezuela monetised in TT and revealed that Venezuelan service companies are interested in undertaking joint ventures with their TT counterparts on both sides of the TT-Venezuela maritime border.

Williams described an alleged “Petrotrin Hit List” as nothing but “fictional literature.” Acting PM Joan Yuille-Williams said although the list was fictious “it seems that it is not going away at all.” She said it was interesting that the person who made the allegations never supplied evidence to back up his claims when requested to do so by Petrotrin executive chairman Malcolm Jones and left the task to his lawyer. Williams lamented that efforts to ensure Petrotrin’s survival were painted in such negative terms and reiterated Government’s commitment to the company. He said PM Patrick Manning’s earlier description of Petrotrin as “Petrosingh” did not prove there is “ethnic cleansing” at Petrotrin, there are no plans to privatise the company and Government is still looking for a strategic partner for Petrotrin.

PNM Word games, Recalcitrant minority, cattleshed, Petrosingh, Calcutta Ship... and it will continue under de new PNM. Nothing has changed under PNM