Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » July 21st, 2012, 11:25 am

Yeh I hv the salt ready...I find this huge worm in the live rock :shock:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 12:00 pm

what color............... does it look similar to a millipede, just a pinkish/reddish color?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 21st, 2012, 1:32 pm

It looks more like an earthworm and it is pale pinkish

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 2:06 pm

nah, yuh safe still. Eventually the fish or shrimp you most likely will be putting in the tank will eat them.
Once you dont get a mantis shrimp in there...................... (thats the T-Rex of the sea) Its a funny shade of green/brown that looks like a praying mantis, but moves about like a centipede. It will eat EVERYTHING. If you hear clicking noises coming from your tank (mainly at night), its either 2 things, A mantis shrimp (Real bad)or its a pistol shrimp (good). I have one in my tank for nearly a year now so what i did was buy a prawn goby for him to pair up with. Once you find the goby, the shrimp is a couple inches next to it. Take your time in setting up the system.
Did you buy any Bacteria to start the process? Microbe-Lift, Nite Out works real good.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 21st, 2012, 3:18 pm

I know how the mantis looks and ive heard the big ones crack glass. I bought 16lbs of liverock so idk if there is any shrimp.I did not buy any bacteria because i am using live rock to cycle the tank.

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 21st, 2012, 4:49 pm

Does anyone have a number for Charran's Fish Farm in Cunupia? I did a search but i only got directions...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 5:00 pm

Reefplanet wrote:I know how the mantis looks and ive heard the big ones crack glass. I bought 16lbs of liverock so idk if there is any shrimp.I did not buy any bacteria because i am using live rock to cycle the tank.

OK.

Postby UML » July 21st, 2012, 6:34 pm

BAZZINGA wrote:Does anyone have a number for Charran's Fish Farm in Cunupia? I did a search but i only got directions...

295-9594

about the bacteria, personally i dont get caught up with the marketing hype....i just use common sense...bacteria is microscopic....u have 16lbs of live rock...imagine how much million, billions, trillions of bacteria living on and in the live rock. yes some will die from shock....but if one microscopic bacteria survives...it will multiply....and we know how they can do this well. so let it multiply naturally and cycle your tank....you not supposed to be in any rush anyway...it takes like a month to cycle or you cud speed it up if you get some bacteria from the filter pad of a cycled tank and squeeze the filter pad water into your tank. I didnt use the store bacteria because i try to use as little chemicals in my tank because i feel the system becomes dependent on it. I feel that if i used the bacteria i would have had to add more at intervals.

das just my thought...im no expert.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 6:40 pm

some of the corals in my tank..............taken today

1) rock anemone
2) frogspawn
3) rock anemone
4) rock anemone
5) Lobophyllia
6) mushrooms
7) spaghetti leather or rasta leather
8 green hairy mushrooms & green doughnut
IMG_0803.JPG
IMG_0800.JPG
IMG_0799.JPG
IMG_0798.JPG
IMG_0787.JPG
IMG_0404.JPG
IMG_0371.JPG
IMG_0332.JPG
Last edited by HondaB20B on August 19th, 2012, 9:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 7:23 pm

a few more

9) red lobophyllia
10) green ricordea mushrooms
11) green/brown zoas
12) green acans
13) green hairy mushrooms
14) frogspawn surrounded by multiple color zoas
15) red rock anemone with trachyphyllia
16) yellow tang with neon green polyp toadstool and zoas and GSP
IMG_0922.JPG
IMG_0920.JPG
IMG_0918.JPG
IMG_0915.JPG
IMG_0914.JPG
IMG_0871.JPG
IMG_0862.JPG
IMG_0853.JPG
Last edited by HondaB20B on August 19th, 2012, 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 7:27 pm

Lil bit more...................................Ey RORO, I'm back so you can check me.........(yuh PUNK)
IMG_0953.JPG
IMG_0971.JPG
IMG_0976.JPG

BAZZINGA

Postby BAZZINGA » July 21st, 2012, 7:51 pm

UML, thank you!

Honda... :shock: Dem corals! Gosh!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 7:58 pm

BAZZINGA, trust me..................... the pics dont do justice when it comes to color. I used an Ipad to take those shots. And thats not even half the corals

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 8:50 pm

JUST AH LIL MORE OF THE TANK..........................I'LL LEAVE EVERYONE WANTING MORE :D :D

Wife took these just now................. not putting a full shot of the tank yet............ENJOY :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
IMG_1029.JPG
IMG_1062.JPG
IMG_1053.JPG
IMG_1047.JPG
IMG_1044.JPG
IMG_1016.JPG
IMG_1010.JPG

Postby UML » July 21st, 2012, 10:52 pm

:shock: man have more stock than raj oui!! looking good

reef owners, was watching honda lights and thinking when do u run your lights?

when u home and could enjoy your tank at night? or

during daytime to imitate real sunlight and daytime?

i run mine during the day...but dont get to admire it at night :(

is there any benefit of running day vs night?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 21st, 2012, 11:52 pm

*Sunrise come on at 6:00AM & off at 10:00AM
*Deepwater blue actinic come on at 7:00AM & off at 10:30PM (over 300 LED's)
*8 - HO-T5's Super daylights (12,000K) come on at either 10:00, 11:00 or 12:00 noon (cycles during the week) and off at 8:30PM. On sat & sun it comes on earlier.............. the sunset lights comes on at 7:30PM (during the daylights) & off at 9:30PM
All my fish know all the lights and know when its time to find a spot to sleep....................This is the time the 5 Pajama cardinals get more active and start to hunt. The different shrimp start to forage for food all over the tank.
All the fish also know the powerhead modes...............................whenever the pump slows down (feed mode), they know its feeding time.

Postby UML » July 22nd, 2012, 9:38 am

HondaB20B wrote:*Sunrise come on at 6:00AM & off at 10:00AM
*Deepwater blue actinic come on at 7:00AM & off at 10:30PM (over 300 LED's)
*8 - HO-T5's Super daylights (12,000K) come on at either 10:00, 11:00 or 12:00 noon (cycles during the week) and off at 8:30PM. On sat & sun it comes on earlier.............. the sunset lights comes on at 7:30PM (during the daylights) & off at 9:30PM
All my fish know all the lights and know when its time to find a spot to sleep....................This is the time the 5 Pajama cardinals get more active and start to hunt. The different shrimp start to forage for food all over the tank.
All the fish also know the powerhead modes...............................whenever the pump slows down (feed mode), they know its feeding time.

:shock: u have that down to a science

i guess i confused cause my light doh have so much functions/features....i just run my lights from 10am to 4pm....das why i dont enjoy the tank...by evening it off......i was told by raj i only needed 6 hrs of light and not to exceed 8 hrs. i dont use my actinic bulbs because i dont want to give more than the recommended light.

i like how the pump slows down for feeding..dat wicked...i does cuss when i see my food going into the overflow box...so i feed little bit at a time and i have a "mad scientist" approach....where i stick a piece of a comb at the top of the over flow box to keep the food in the tank. :oops:

i saw an even better idea for feeding fish where the person opens a cap on his plumbing and drops the food inside and it shoots through the flow ports....the reason they did that was the tank was too tall and a hassle to get a ladder to climb up and feed the fish. will try to get the video for those who might be interested.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 22nd, 2012, 10:13 am

It took me about 2mths to know what my corals wanted when it comes to a amount (hrs) and intensity. Right now its ideal for them. My zoas in particular will go from 10 polyps on a plug when placed, and in one wk, its between 15-18 polyps. I have mushrooms (ricordeas and yumas) 4-5".
Right light and right coral food. My wife also knows the full science about the tank. She knows every fish, coral and invert by name in all my tanks.....Also the equipment. She also knows their behavior. So for feeding, if one does'nt make role-call, or is hiding.................she knows they are sick. I just have to teach her now how to acclimatize fish now.

Postby UML » July 22nd, 2012, 6:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:It took me about 2mths to know what my corals wanted when it comes to a amount (hrs) and intensity. Right now its ideal for them. My zoas in particular will go from 10 polyps on a plug when placed, and in one wk, its between 15-18 polyps. I have mushrooms (ricordeas and yumas) 4-5".
Right light and right coral food. My wife also knows the full science about the tank. She knows every fish, coral and invert by name in all my tanks.....Also the equipment. She also knows their behavior. So for feeding, if one does'nt make role-call, or is hiding.................she knows they are sick. I just have to teach her now how to acclimatize fish now.

u have ur aquarium and wife down to a science :mrgreen:

rookie

Postby rookie » July 22nd, 2012, 8:23 pm

:D ok tuners Aquarists here is the thing building a fish tank yes its big so its a fish tank i got all the stuff i need already all i need is some one to construct the tank :shock: (glass panes) :shock: and i need to know where in trini sells the best hoods an lighting ??? oh iam from the EAST

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 22nd, 2012, 9:27 pm

for those who might be interested, raj bought in some saltwater coral catfish.
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... pcatid=691

They about 1-1 1/4" long. Dont know price.
Also got in some engineer gobies - 2"

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 25th, 2012, 12:23 pm

So no one's talking again?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 25th, 2012, 2:47 pm

I have 2 8" red tail catfish and 2 9" black collard catfish to get rid off. PM if interested. Also one 9" Orange Koi.

tecpure

Postby tecpure » July 26th, 2012, 1:02 am

hi guys any one want to part of a aquarium fish and koi show please let me know

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 26th, 2012, 1:26 am

shots of individual corals...................
IMG_0890.JPG
IMG_1103.JPG
IMG_1131.JPG
IMG_1136.JPG
IMG_1112.JPG
IMG_1116.JPG
IMG_1115.JPG
IMG_1113.JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 26th, 2012, 1:27 am

More............
IMG_0877.JPG
IMG_0974.JPG
IMG_0916.JPG
IMG_0912.JPG
IMG_0875.JPG
IMG_0873.JPG
IMG_0804.JPG
IMG_0396.JPG

Postby UML » July 26th, 2012, 7:33 am

are those striped damsels at the bottom there?

if so, how many can I have in a tank? I currently have one :(

where can I get more? (if it safe to have)

how u call this coral? I have one and don't know the name of it

I really liked this coral when I saw the whole thing in raj's tank and told myself I jus had to get it...so glad I did :)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 26th, 2012, 8:51 am

UML wrote:Image

are those striped damsels at the bottom there?

if so, how many can I have in a tank? I currently have one :(

where can I get more? (if it safe to have)

how u call this coral? I have one and don't know the name of it

I really liked this coral when I saw the whole thing in raj's tank and told myself I jus had to get it...so glad I did :)

Damsels? Thats bumble bee snails.

Its a Brain Coral, (Favites spp.)

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 26th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Thats a honey cone brain coral... :shock: awesome tank man wow!!!! lol u really hv more stock than raj. Those zoas are everywhere in ur tank man! My first coral is certainly gonna be zoanthids. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » July 26th, 2012, 12:47 pm

do you make videos of your tank ..or like have a youtube account?