Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Rayden6 » April 7th, 2025, 4:50 pm

Did this TAX sign into Law from the President during that time

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2025, 9:04 am

I haven't paid as yet but mainly because I still am yet to receive a valuation.

Postby 88sins » April 10th, 2025, 4:35 am

sMASH wrote:I saw unc promising to cancel property tax.
I wonder of all the pro property tax people would come out and protest IN SUPPORT of property tax?

They, made the exact same promise prior to the last time they got elected.
See how that worked out?

Postby The_Honourable » May 3rd, 2025, 8:50 pm

No More Property Tax:

Minister of Finance Davendranath Tancoo says people who have already paid monies for Property Tax will be refunded.

He said citizens would not be "penalised" for following the law.…

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2025, 8:56 pm

i protested a rental value which was twice what it should be and got back a new valuation which was exactly the samr

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 3rd, 2025, 9:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:No More Property Tax:

Minister of Finance Davendranath Tancoo says people who have already paid monies for Property Tax will be refunded.

He said citizens would not be "penalised" for following the law.…

Kamla not sticking at alllllll.

Postby SR » May 3rd, 2025, 9:38 pm

Awaits formal confirmation on this

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2025, 9:44 pm

They should leave it voluntary so those who want to contribute , can pay.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 3rd, 2025, 10:21 pm

Until they go in the parliament and confirm that, I'd believe it.

death365

Postby death365 » May 4th, 2025, 7:18 am

The shortest version of why this happening is that local elections are coming back up soon.

They more or less clean sweep trinidad (84% of Trinidad seats) and can use that momentum to make sure local elections are to there advantage.

Postby zoom rader » May 4th, 2025, 7:32 am

That house tax was a scam for PNM to operate a slush fund.

When Kameal said in Parliament they will take ur money paid and give to a pnm area, I knew that was a scam

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 16th, 2025, 6:35 am

If you paid property taxes, don't expect it to return.

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2025, 7:04 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If you paid property taxes, don't expect it to return.
They stupid too bad....free money for the state

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2025, 9:08 am

I still say make it voluntary , for the patriots and dem...
Will u show ur a patriot with ur dollars ?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 16th, 2025, 11:57 am

Question:
Repealing would mash up the whole thing, or would it revert to L&B Tax which was a couple dollars for the year

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2025, 12:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Question:
Repealing would mash up the whole thing, or would it revert to L&B Tax which was a couple dollars for the year
It would revert to land and building tax that was already in existence

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2025, 12:45 pm

the old tax is ridiculous
it should be increased to something reasonable

Postby bluefete » May 16th, 2025, 12:48 pm

pugboy wrote:the old tax is ridiculous
it should be increased to something reasonable

I agree. But can you imagine both PNM and UNC gave up 16 years of L&B tax collections. Hundreds of millions down the drain.

Postby j.o.e » May 16th, 2025, 2:37 pm

Had no problem paying my tax but if you repeal it give me back my mc money. Don’t throw Tancoo under the bus.

Postby mero » May 16th, 2025, 2:50 pm

No src overturn as expected. No property tax refund as expected. Blank left right and centre from CARICOM

Inb4 kamla say she never tell allyuh about FUL and 10% backpay.

But hey, at least we scrapping demerit points for the miscreants to run wild with no fear of consequences and road fatalities to go up.

Under d bus for tancoo

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2025, 2:57 pm

No sympathy for those people who were glad to give up their hard earned money because of threats from a runaway government

Take bull

Postby hover11 » May 16th, 2025, 3:08 pm

j.o.e wrote:Had no problem paying my tax but if you repeal it give me back my mc money. Don’t throw Tancoo under the bus.
Thats not happening but hear what because you were so enthusiastic to pay take them to court for your refund...

Postby j.o.e » May 16th, 2025, 3:11 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Had no problem paying my tax but if you repeal it give me back my mc money. Don’t throw Tancoo under the bus.
Thats not happening but hear what because you were so enthusiastic to pay take them to court for your refund...

I am a responsible citizen. I own a couple rental properties and the tax was so small I didn’t find it unreasonable to pay. But if it’s scrapped it should be refunded or applied as a credit to land and building taxes if that’s what we’re going back to.
It’s only fair

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2025, 3:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:

I am a responsible citizen. I own a couple rental properties and the tax was so small I didn’t find it unreasonable to pay. But if it’s scrapped it should be refunded or applied as a credit to land and building taxes if that’s what we’re going back to.
It’s only fair
Think about like a visa application.

Ur participation was appreciated ,
gratefully , balisier house

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2025, 3:59 pm

It was legal and people paid.

Some did not and it has been repealed.

Do not see people have a legal leg to stand on

Count your losses and grow a backbone in the meantime

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2025, 4:05 pm

We spend $500,000,000 on a rapid rail feasibility study , and pnm repealed it... No refund.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 16th, 2025, 4:16 pm

While it's good to be a responsible citizen, we must stand up to unjust laws and conscientiously object