Re: Taste of Carnival 2022

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2022, 8:55 am

What a highly educated and productive looking set of people

Postby Dizzy28 » April 1st, 2022, 9:02 am

Trini twitter already has ppl looking for the best loans to take for the events soon and leading up to next year.
In the short term the vibes is Josies Jamishness and some IC event thing that occupying ppl's mind.

Postby Les Bain » April 1st, 2022, 9:13 am

The wise shall live off the revellers.

Postby matr1x » April 1st, 2022, 9:27 am

MaxPower wrote:Blasted hooligans

You mean like the venes who spread deh meow at the drop of a hat?

Postby mero » April 1st, 2022, 9:42 am

OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?

My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.

Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?

Postby timelapse » April 1st, 2022, 10:59 am

mero wrote:OK so what's the beef with carnival and those who choose to partake?

My observations are most of them who cry to "ban carnival" are social outcast edgelords who also too ashamed of themselves to consider being seen in public with a shirt off.

Whats the difference with choosing to partake in mas or doing anything else for the same or lesser satisfaction with the same money?
If carnival folks were responsible in their activities, no problem.

My issues:
Increased thefts/robberies to fund the activities of some.

Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.

Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.

Wastage of plastics and other non-renewable materials.

Littering.I don't need to explain this.

Increased alcohol related deaths on the roadways.

Thats just some.

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2022, 11:06 am

The salinity is palatable

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2022, 11:11 am

There was a study done a few years ago that stated Soca music creates angry people. Pre run up to Carnival has a lot of crime cause kwame need them tickets for fete.

Carnival causes unwanted births, too many kwames been created and are unproductive when grown up. No father figure in households.

Carnival creates bad spending habits and useless loans.

Drunk idiots and driving increased.

Little girls learning to wine before they lean the alphabet.

Kaiso tents instilling and promoting the red government and racist Kaisos towards people that look like kumar Sanu.

Lead up to Carnival is very unproductive for workers and school kids. A week of school is wasted.

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2022, 11:12 am

eliteauto wrote:The salinity is palatable
How so?

List the pros of Carnival

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 1:24 pm

How so?

No problem with people spending thousands on a jockey shorts and a bra with some feathers and beads. Less of a problem with dotishly putting yourself in actual debt to do it, because if the sheer kantery of a decision escapes the borrower, well.....
Imagine your money being wasted on a non returning investment year after year and when you question it, you're called salty :lol:

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 1:37 pm

How so?

No problem with people spending thousands on a jockey shorts and a bra with some feathers and beads. Less of a problem with dotishly putting yourself in actual debt to do it, because if the sheer kantery of a decision escapes the borrower, well.....
Imagine your money being wasted on a non returning investment year after year and when you question it, you're called salty
I have continously asked why can't the private sector raise funds for carnival why is it always the burden of the government (taxpayers ) to sink millions every year in a money pit for what.....culture? How that making any sense

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 1:38 pm

hover11 wrote:
How so?

Imagine your money being wasted on a non returning investment year after year and when you question it, you're called salty
I have continously asked why can't the private sector raise funds for carnival why is it always the burden of the government (taxpayers ) to sink millions every year in a money pit for what.....culture? How that making any sense

De Cultyah, yuh hadda keep de Cultyah alive :roll:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 2nd, 2022, 1:45 pm

timelapse wrote:

My issues:

Government spending my money to promote something that does not benefit the populace.
Increased illegitimate children and abandonment of such children by their fathers, perpetuating the poverty trap.

Perception of foreign investment in the country.Outside of the country, we are mostly known for carnival and cricket.We don't market our investment opportunities as aggressively that would potentially boost local production.

Thats just some.

By this logic we should ban everything fun and convert to a Sharia law system.

Try again edgelords

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 2nd, 2022, 1:47 pm

How so?

Imagine your money being wasted on a non returning investment year after year and when you question it, you're called salty :lol:

People pay for the experience, something you clearly don't understand and appreciate. Do you even pay to travel dude? Or do you see that as a waste of money too?

Plus it's not just the costume, it's the alcohol, food, DJs, trucks, security etc.

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 1:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

People pay for the experience, something you clearly don't understand and appreciate. Do you even pay to travel dude? Or do you see that as a waste of money too?

Plus it's not just the costume, it's the alcohol, food, DJs, trucks, security etc.
They paying for the experience, that money going into the government pockets or the private sector? We could have the mother of all carnivals and still have another consecutive defecit budget, some changes hadda be made, we have deficit budgets after deficit budget but we basically wasting money every year with carnival being a non priority

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 2nd, 2022, 2:00 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

They paying for the experience, that money going into the government pockets or the private sector? We could have the mother of all carnivals and still have another consecutive defecit budget, some changes hadda be made, we have deficit budgets after deficit budget but we basically wasting money every year with carnival being a non priority

The money spent on carnival is small money, but the ROI is significant. There's an entire industry around carnival keeping many employed, there's lots of forex to be earned as well. Not to mention we have a pretty decent music industry because of soca. There's so many intangible benefits that carnival provides, not to even mention that as a party experience it is one of the best in the world.

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 2:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

The money spent on carnival is small money, but the ROI is significant. There's an entire industry around carnival keeping many employed, there's lots of forex to be earned as well. Not to mention we have a pretty decent music industry because of soca. There's so many intangible benefits that carnival provides, not to even mention that as a party experience it is one of the best in the world.
You speak of intangible benefits right now we want dollars and cents. No one can say what our ROI in that regard is.We just spending.

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 2:10 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

[b]No problem with people spending thousands on a jockey shorts and a bra with some feathers and beads. Less of a problem with dotishly putting yourself in actual debt to do it, because if the sheer kantery of a decision escapes the borrower, well.....
[/b]

Maybe you should re-read this part :roll:
Yes, I travel, BUT I don't go into debt, nor expect anyone to pay for my "experience" :roll:

Postby j.o.e » April 2nd, 2022, 2:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

[b]No problem with people spending thousands on a jockey shorts and a bra with some feathers and beads. Less of a problem with dotishly putting yourself in actual debt to do it, because if the sheer kantery of a decision escapes the borrower, well.....
[/b]

Yes, I travel, BUT I don't go into debt, nor expect anyone to pay for my "experience" :roll:

You pay to travel but some go into debt to travel. Should people berate you for traveling? It’s the same logic. People will spend money as they see fit whether they have it or not. Let people enjoy things.

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 2:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:

My issues:

Thats just some.

Try again edgelords
Have your promiscuous fun,just don't take tax money to do it

Postby hover11 » April 2nd, 2022, 2:58 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:

My issues:

Thats just some.

Try again edgelords
Simple as it gets

Postby A172 » April 2nd, 2022, 3:05 pm

tuner ole talk forum full of losers who always studying wah other ppl doing

ppl who doh even know they exist

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 3:30 pm

A172 wrote:

Lemme ask a question.Does silence bother noise?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 2nd, 2022, 3:40 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
timelapse wrote:

My issues:

Thats just some.

Try again edgelords
Simple as it gets

Promiscuousity is irrelevant to the discussion, people are free to do what they want and they don't need carnival for that.

The tax money that is spent keeps the industry afloat providing thousands upon thousands of jobs. That money doesn't leave the economy, it cycles around earning VAT and other taxes for the government. Not to mention the 30k returning trinis who are spending an average of 10k, Carnival is probably very profitable and is a big boost to our creative industry.

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 3:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
How so?

[/b]

You pay to travel but some go into debt to travel. Should people berate you for traveling? It’s the same logic. People will spend money as they see fit whether they have it or not. Let people enjoy things.

Again, if you READ what I actually posted, you'd see I have no problem with people spending their money on Carnival, however when the taxpayer has to foot the bill, then it is a problem. The great myth about Carnival cost vs return is that it simply is a balm for the masses which is unprofitable. Simple.
Also positing people going into debt to wine and jam for 2 days for an "experience?" :?

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2022, 3:49 pm

timelapse wrote:
A172 wrote:

Lemme ask a question.Does silence bother noise?

Empty vessels who feel they reach. Always expert on whose suffering etc, but in the same bad breath talking about people talking about people :roll:

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » April 2nd, 2022, 3:52 pm

A172 wrote:

that is just zoom rader and his alter egos.

Postby The_Honourable » April 2nd, 2022, 4:28 pm

In the camp where i'll be getting away for sure. Not in the mood for music trucks parking up on my street to "test".

Probably will go toco or mayaro. Maybe i'll put those caribbean miles that i gained over the pandemic to good use and go up the islands. Accepting suggestions for getaways.