The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 2:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Rovin wrote:^^^ dise true

look at very recently with Louise lee sing ...
Don't bother with elite , he full ah 5hit.

Don't know he hope to fool with that BS

So you're anti-PNM but saying that multiple non-PNM parties equals a PNM victory, so you're saying is better yuh vote PNM and done then?
Me saying people have a right to offer themselves, me saying I respect and endorse that right is BS and I'm full of 5hit. You saying people offering themselves is a lost cause because of the PNM, you blaming PNM voters for other parties losing is straight up brilliance though
Zoom pro-PNM oui

Only when we have free thinkers in TT then a third party is an option .

As it stands PNM will win if there are 2 different parties and PNM in one district .

If however PNM is up against a Non UNC only party ( 1 to 1) then its possible depending on that district that the Non PNM party may win.

Again contradictory logic, what defines a "free thinker" in your book? We have a 2 party system here, many are expressing discord with BOTH parties, yet you link any other party as being in favor of one the PNM when it comes to votes, ok lets say that is correct, maybe this election favors the PNM but we see an emergence of a third option that can build it's strength leading up to 2025, let's say that party can usurp the UNC and become the next viable candidate then, should that option not occur now because it's inconvenient to the UNC? In a 1 to 1 fight now do you favor the UNC's chances in the upcoming election? Will those chances be significantly affected by the PF? So what of the PEP, COP, Independents like Errol Fabien, NNV, NJAC, MSJ etc? Should they all fold or not contests and hold their hand until we get some more "free thinkers" ?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 26th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Kinna saw this argument with Trevor Noah a few nights ago. He was referring to John Bolton int he aftermath of his book and who said he definitely will not vote for Trump nor will be vote for Biden. He will look for a 3rd party.
Noah was kinna vex that Bolton would vote for a 3rd party. ZR = Trevor Noah

Postby mero » June 26th, 2020, 2:10 pm

eliteauto wrote:

So you're anti-PNM but saying that multiple non-PNM parties equals a PNM victory, so you're saying is better yuh vote PNM and done then?
Me saying people have a right to offer themselves, me saying I respect and endorse that right is BS and I'm full of 5hit. You saying people offering themselves is a lost cause because of the PNM, you blaming PNM voters for other parties losing is straight up brilliance though
Zoom pro-PNM oui

As it stands PNM will win if there are 2 different parties and PNM in one district .

If however PNM is up against a Non UNC only party ( 1 to 1) then its possible depending on that district that the Non PNM party may win.

Again contradictory logic, what defines a "free thinker" in your book? We have a 2 party system here, many are expressing discord with BOTH parties, yet you link any other party as being in favor of one the PNM when it comes to votes, ok lets say that is correct, maybe this election favors the PNM but we see an emergence of a third option that can build it's strength leading up to 2025, let's say that party can usurp the UNC and become the next viable candidate then, should that option not occur now because it's inconvenient to the UNC? In a 1 to 1 fight now do you favor the UNC's chances in the upcoming election? Will those chances be significantly affected by the PF? So what of the PEP, COP, Independents like Errol Fabien, NNV, NJAC, MSJ etc? Should they all fold or not contests and hold their hand until we get some more "free thinkers" ?
You self lol , you really asking for too much here from zoom.

Let's see zr's "free thinker" response or watch him bob and weave and cater for his not so free thinking audience.

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 3:29 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Zoom pro-PNM oui

Many expressing discord is a myth.

The PNM ppl pretend they are expressing discord is all fake. Those that are propagating these myths are creating the fence sitters and the non voters. Non voters always favor the PNM.

UNC has more folk that will quicker change and vote for a third party knowing fully well that PNM will win. They would rather bite the bullet than let UNC win. Same as PNM ppl rather eat grass than not vote PNM.

You can't say the same with PNM ppl, they will never vote outside PNM, they may not vote but they will never cast a vote for a non PNM party especially an injun who is in a perceive indo party.

As for Error Fabien, he just an undercover PNM agent to split votes in favor of PNM. Same as Baka, they are just there to soak up those afros who are on the verge of a free mind.

Trinidad is not ready for a third party as there are little free thinkers in PNM .
You can't have 3 parties running in a district, it's not going to work at this stage.

Elite you saying 2025 knowing fully well that you want PNM to continue as is while you full your pockets with contract after contract.

You will fool the rest of clowns on tuner with that .

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 3:37 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Kinna saw this argument with Trevor Noah a few nights ago. He was referring to John Bolton int he aftermath of his book and who said he definitely will not vote for Trump nor will be vote for Biden. He will look for a 3rd party.
Noah was kinna vex that Bolton would vote for a 3rd party. ZR = Trevor Noah
Nah, I have no white blood in me

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 4:45 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Zoom pro-PNM oui

Many expressing discord is a myth.

The PNM ppl pretend they are expressing discord is all fake. Those that are propagating these myths are creating the fence sitters and the non voters. Non voters always favor the PNM.

UNC has more folk that will quicker change and vote for a third party knowing fully well that PNM will win. They would rather bite the bullet than let UNC win. Same as PNM ppl rather eat grass than not vote PNM.

You can't say the same with PNM ppl, they will never vote outside PNM, they may not vote but they will never cast a vote for a non PNM party especially an injun who is in a perceive indo party.

As for Error Fabien, he just an undercover PNM agent to split votes in favor of PNM. Same as Baka, they are just there to soak up those afros who are on the verge of a free mind.

Trinidad is not ready for a third party as there are little free thinkers in PNM .
You can't have 3 parties running in a district, it's not going to work at this stage.

Elite you saying 2025 knowing fully well that you want PNM to continue as is while you full your pockets with contract after contract.

You will fool the rest of clowns on tuner with that .

I have no contracts, never had, you take chain up from a man and run with it, I'm a taxi-driver buddy and proudly so. Based on your post everyone is a PNM, things like election results, polling data, demographics are all irrelevant. You could try to ascribe any motive you want to my posts, you reek of desperation and Elite cannot and does not influence the election results so what I "want" is irrelevant. You claim that a third party requires free thinkers from the PNM in fact one can conclude that any non-PNM party that wins does so when the PNM voters gives a bly. So the PNM (me according to you) is all for democracy and welcomes competing parties but you think all other parties are agents of the PNM. Based on your posts you seem to endorse the PNM.

Zoom is Brian Manning orr?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 5:30 pm

^^^ this 2x4 banana republic is not ready for a third party to fight among the two larger to ever win a seat. Those parties that are not PNM funded may have good intentions but they cannot make an impact without an accomadation with a non major party. PNM has already said they win and loose alone.

Voting for a third party when the two major parties are also in that district is a waste.

If a third party serious then they need to focus on hard core PNM ghettos districts and Bago where the other major non PNM party is nor welcome.

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2020, 6:25 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ this 2x4 banana republic is not ready for a third party to fight among the two larger to ever win a seat. Those parties that are not PNM funded may have good intentions but they cannot make an impact without an accomadation with a non major party. PNM has already said they win and loose alone.

Voting for a third party when the two major parties are also in that district is a waste.

If a third party serious then they need to focus on hard core PNM ghettos districts and Bago where the other major non PNM party is nor welcome. What about UNC ghettos? Should they focus there as well?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 6:33 pm

bluefete wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ this 2x4 banana republic is not ready for a third party to fight among the two larger to ever win a seat. Those parties that are not PNM funded may have good intentions but they cannot make an impact without an accomadation with a non major party. PNM has already said they win and loose alone.

If a third party serious then they need to focus on hard core PNM ghettos districts and Bago where the other major non PNM party is nor welcome. What about UNC ghettos? Should they focus there as well?
Non PNM ppl will quicker vote for other parties if they not happy with their former party.

Not sure if UNC ghettos exist.

Postby Rovin » June 26th, 2020, 6:45 pm

UNC ghettos u say ? :shock:

which part these located bhai ?

... :lol:

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Rovin wrote:UNC ghettos u say ? :shock:

which part these located bhai ?

I want to know myself

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 8:09 pm

If a third party serious then they need to focus on hard core PNM ghettos districts and Bago where the other major non PNM party is nor welcome.

Agreed, and this is why I say let them run, in this short time they might not win a seat but they might make an impact, you have to start somewhere. Build traction in the GE, get on the ground during the term, run for LGE and THA and build, COP had that option but chose to amalgamate (back) into the UNC. If an accommodation is required let these parties enter that with a secure base built by ground work not some pick-up-side with nothing but a base of oppose the PNM. The UNC has stated they will be going it alone win, lose or draw, they have also stated they are not contesting the Tobago seats so they are not a national party, so maybe the other parties can consolidate and become a viable option come 2025

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2020, 8:15 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Agreed, and this is why I say let them run, in this short time they might not win a seat but they might make an impact, you have to start somewhere. Build traction in the GE, get on the ground during the term, run for LGE and THA and build, COP had that option but chose to amalgamate (back) into the UNC. If an accommodation is required let these parties enter that with a secure base built by ground work not some pick-up-side with nothing but a base of oppose the PNM. The UNC has stated they will be going it alone win, lose or draw, they have also stated they are not contesting the Tobago seats so they are not a national party, so maybe the other parties can consolidate and become a viable option come 2025
Oh grom another 5 years of PNM.

I going bago and live yes

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2020, 8:33 pm

I agree yes, it seems like financing for tourism projects is WAY easier to get in Tobago, what Tobago wants Tobago gets oui

Postby The_Honourable » June 26th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Problem with 3rd parties also is that most times they want to fight for all the seats knowing fully well they not winning all if any. Focus in a niche area and branch out.

ILP did it right by focusing on Chaguanas West back in 2013. They jumped the gun for 2015 elections and lost.

Watson Duke and the PDP doing the right thing which is focus on Tobago. They won two of the twelve seats in the THA elections. By actually winning seats, Tobagonians now see PDP as viable. Now PDP gunning for the 2 electoral seats in Tobago. If they win both, PDP can now consider going after seats in Trinidad next time around.

PEP should focus on one of the Diego Martin seats instead of fighting for the full 41. Phillip is thinking about going against Imbert.

Patriotic Front should also go after one seat instead of 41. Mikaela herself can go after Siparia, San Fernando West or Couva North.

COP should... well lol...

Postby De Dragon » June 26th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Rovin wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Hubert Volney had endorsed Terrence Deyalsingh for the St.Joseph constituency, he's quoted as saying that the UNC isn't an option.

Jerlean John has been announced as the candidate for La Horquetta-Talparo for the UNC

Cleopatra Borel's POS South candidacy seems up in the air atm

It emerged Borel has dual citizen ship. Seemed we went down this road as recently as Le Hunte and previous to that Gypsy and Chaitan.
How does this still come up as an issue after the fact when its known you cannot run as a dual citizen?
Does one forgot they hold a second passport?

i feel poo nm selectors used this as a lame excuse to not choose she cause she didnt seem to get pos voters approval

me em kno why d residents beatin up cause like some1 in history said even if u put ah crappo in certain areas they go still vote fuh pnm ...

She was asked if she won, would she take Burkie to President's House and said "no" :| All of a sudden it is realized that she has dual citizenship, and she's out? Two things strike me here, unsavoury supporters, unsure of her commitment to perpetuate said unsavouriness, spoked her wheel. Otherwise it is pure incompetence for a candidate to reach so far and have to be pulled. Le hunte was just two years ago mind you.

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2020, 10:05 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Problem with 3rd parties also is that most times they want to fight for all the seats knowing fully well they not winning all if any. Focus in a niche area and branch out.

ILP did it right by focusing on Chaguanas West back in 2013. They jumped the gun for 2015 elections and lost.

Watson Duke and the PDP doing the right thing which is focus on Tobago. They won two of the twelve seats in the THA elections. By actually winning seats, Tobagonians now see PDP as viable. Now PDP gunning for the 2 electoral seats in Tobago. If they win both, PDP can now consider going after seats in Trinidad next time around.

PEP should focus on one of the Diego Martin seats instead of fighting for the full 41. Phillip is thinking about going against Imbert.

Patriotic Front should also go after one seat instead of 41. Mikaela herself can go after Siparia, San Fernando West or Couva North.

this is the truth.

San Fernando West kinda sketchy for Mikela. That Sobers fella is a very strong candidate. And the seat itself now bordering on being a PNM safe seat. Couva North would be a good choice for her, both for historical and practical reasons.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » June 27th, 2020, 4:21 am

The_Honourable wrote:Problem with 3rd parties also is that most times they want to fight for all the seats knowing fully well they not winning all if any. Focus in a niche area and branch out.

This is accurate, the problem for those parties is also being able to sustain its financial health during this kind of growth and branching out which could go beyond 2 plus terms. Big financiers not waiting that long, they want immediate returns. It’s an uphill climb for a third force, most burnout even if they get a little foothole here or there

Postby Rovin » June 27th, 2020, 11:12 am

great point on contesting a few cause we all damn well know u jes cyra come een d dance jesso & expect to win 21-22 seats to from any new govt ..... or feel well if we party win 1 or 2 seats we go tell d in coming govt what we want dem to do

at least MSJ have a few brain cells to realise this though one must see thru their disguise in trying to split d votes in d 4 areas to keep d poo nm in power .... tell MSJ to hdmc :fist:

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 11:51 am

Rovin wrote:

great point on contesting a few cause we all damn well know u jes cyra come een d dance jesso & expect to win 21-22 seats to from any new govt ..... or feel well if we party win 1 or 2 seats we go tell d in coming govt what we want dem to do

at least MSJ have a few brain cells to realise this though one must see thru their disguise in trying to split d votes in d 4 areas to keep d poo nm in power .... tell MSJ to hdmc :fist:
But you have elite going on a rant that other parties are not national parties.

Third parties have to be smart and focus on districts where they can make an impact.

Some parties know very well that they can never pull the black vote so they opt out.

Postby eliteauto » June 27th, 2020, 12:14 pm

I went on a rant? I said other parties are not national parties? ZR you eh fedup resort to lying in an attempt to sway persons? All my posts are there for all to see, I said the UNC is not contesting all 41 seats they are deliberately not contesting the Tobago seats, seeing as they are the current opposition party and the best contestant for for a change in Gov't in the GE their failure to do so makes them not a national party. Further the UNC says it's going it alone so is it they plan to win 21 of 39 seats? If they plan on a post election accommodation with a Tobago party then they are being disingenuous atm and should announce that now. That "third parties should be smart" is a cop out from those worried about losing their base, it's the same people who will find any reason other than themselves to blame their losses on, ironically it's the same people who despise when the PNM does the same thing. Two sides of the same coin, the issues are only an issue when the other side does it. Bring on the third parties

BTW 90% of the votes in T&T are "Black" votes DBU

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 12:52 pm

eliteauto wrote:I went on a rant? I said other parties are not national parties? ZR you eh fedup resort to lying in an attempt to sway persons? All my posts are there for all to see, I said the UNC is not contesting all 41 seats they are deliberately not contesting the Tobago seats, seeing as they are the current opposition party and the best contestant for for a change in Gov't in the GE their failure to do so makes them not a national party. Further the UNC says it's going it alone so is it they plan to win 21 of 39 seats? If they plan on a post election accommodation with a Tobago party then they are being disingenuous atm and should announce that now. That "third parties should be smart" is a cop out from those worried about losing their base, it's the same people who will find any reason other than themselves to blame their losses on, ironically it's the same people who despise when the PNM does the same thing. Two sides of the same coin, the issues are only an issue when the other side does it. Bring on the third parties

BTW 90% of the votes in T&T are "Black" votes DBU

Makes no sense for non PNM lesser parties to ever put 41 candidates up.

Trini not ready for a third party unless the Afro mind is freed from backwardness of PNM thinking

Tobago is a different boat as they are not people to vote for a perceived non Afro party.

Postby The_Honourable » June 27th, 2020, 2:43 pm

NACTA: UNC facing pressure in marginals

THE Opposition United National Congress (UNC) is facing pressure in some marginal constituencies it must win or retain to win this year's general election, according to the findings of a North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA) poll.

The UNC is losing ground to the People's National Movement (PNM) in Toco/Sangre Grande, and while gaining ground in Tunapuna, the Opposition party still has an uphill battle to remove incumbent PNM MP Esmond Forde, according to the NACTA poll which was released on Saturday. The poll was conducted by Dr Vishnu Bisram and comprised 164 respondents of Toco/Grande from last Sunday, and of 216 respondents in Tunapuna over the last two weeks. The respondents surveyed generally reflect the demographics of the constituencies and only data from likely voters are included in the findings.

The poll showed the UNC has moved from an upswing of a tie against the unpopular incumbent Toco/Sangre Grande MP Glenda Jennings-Smith, in a February poll, to a downswing, trailing, by ten per cent just a day ago. Some 75 per cent of voters in Toco/Sangre said they have never heard of UNC candidate Nabila Greene. They could not give her a favourable or unfavourable rating.

PNM candidate Roger Munroe, an alderman at the Sangre Grande Regional Corporation, is known by 90 per cent of the voters as his family runs a large business enterprise in Too/Sangre Grande. In Toco/Sangre Grande, the PNM leads UNC 42 to 32 per cent with six per cent of voters supporting the minor parties. A fifth of the voters are still undecided with many saying they are not dismissing minor parties.

In Tunapuna, Forde remains the favourite against UNC challenger David Nakhid. While Nakhid has been gaining momentum because of his celebrity status as a former national footballer, NATCA said Forde is praised for being the best MP, perhaps in the constituency’s history, and nationally during the current parliamentary term. Forde is also praised by voters for attending to constituents' issues and interacting with them.

Some dissatisfaction in Tunapuna has caused the UNC to close an 11 per cent deficit in February to only seven per cent now, since Nakhid was announced as its candidate. The PNM leads the UNC 47 to 40 per cent in Tunapuna with minor parties polling two per cent, 11 per cent of respondents undecided or refusing to disclose voter preference.The poll also showed the UNC is under pressure in Barataria/San Juan and Pointe-a-Pierre which it currently holds.

The poll showed UNC supporters are concerned about "the bleeding in support in the East-West Corridor." They are calling on the UNC's leadership to stem this trend and buttress the party's chances, through the "selection of national high profile and eminent candidates in St Augustine and Cumuto/Manzanilla and elsewhere that borders key marginal seats."

PNM and UNC voters support changes made by their parties to replace unpopular MPs in their election line-ups. UNC leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar is commended for bringing in newer faces and youths but supporters feel the party needs to retain some of its "experienced stalwarts" in its line-up.

NATCA predicted the general election date will not be beyond September 7, the fifth anniversary of the PNM's 2015 election victory. NATCA also said the Prime Minister may want to call early elections to take advantage of favourable ratings for the handling of low covid19 infections.

The poll also said while Persad-Bissessar's challenge cannot be underrated, her fate could "very well depend on the selection of candidates in so-called ‘safe’ seats." NACTA said with the exception of UNC deputy leader Jearlean John, who was announced on June 25 as the UNC La Horquetta/Talparo candidate, the UNC candidates contesting other marginal seats "are neophytes with no political experience."

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/06/27/nacta- ... marginals/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 27th, 2020, 5:00 pm

UNC will face pressure in marginals this shouldn't be a surprise. Although NACTA has sometimes been WAY OFF, last time they said UNC winning by a massive margin and PNM instead by a land slide.

I don't believe UNC will win because it is the same party that was voted out, however same was said about PNM. The same manning party came back and took the election from UNC easy easy so anything could happen.

I just don't see it happening the same way UNC doesn't have that kind of luck like PNM, anytime the UNC wins an election it is because of people saw possibility of huge change and they voted for it this happened once in Panday time and once in the Kamla Feminist Movement.

Although PNM feminists always against Indian women for some reason.

I remember I used to work with a PNM Driver and this man used bad talk Kamla when I tell you bad talk eh, then one day I asked him why he hate she so much what she do she help the country just like PNM and any other party he revealed that he hates she because she is a WOMAN after going through what he ex wife put he through.

This was a bit shocking, he said the only thing he hates more than a Hindu in this world is a Woman, he say he will never bull a woman again.

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 5:39 pm

A poll conducted around 200 people is a poll?

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 5:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:UNC will face pressure in marginals this shouldn't be a surprise. Although NACTA has sometimes been WAY OFF, last time they said UNC winning by a massive margin and PNM instead by a land slide.

I don't believe UNC will win because it is the same party that was voted out, however same was said about PNM. The same manning party came back and took the election from UNC easy easy so anything could happen.

I just don't see it happening the same way UNC doesn't have that kind of luck like PNM, anytime the UNC wins an election it is because of people saw possibility of huge change and they voted for it this happened once in Panday time and once in the Kamla Feminist Movement.

Although PNM feminists always against Indian women for some reason.

I remember I used to work with a PNM Driver and this man used bad talk Kamla when I tell you bad talk eh, then one day I asked him why he hate she so much what she do she help the country just like PNM and any other party he revealed that he hates she because she is a WOMAN after going through what he ex wife put he through.

This was a bit shocking, he said the only thing he hates more than a Hindu in this world is a Woman, he say he will never bull a woman again.
Man gone MGTOW and blames UNC

Postby SR » June 27th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Political bloggers on social media making this election to be real nasty

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 8:41 pm

^^^ post and let's see these clowns

Postby Redman » June 28th, 2020, 7:39 am

SR wrote:Political bloggers on social media making this election to be real nasty

It’s been nasty, and will get worse ...both parties need to convince people to hold their nose and vote.

And the winner needs to convince the more discerning swing vote ...to vote for them despite heaps of reasons not to.

It will get more extreme once the date call.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 8:14 am

Redman wrote:
SR wrote:Political bloggers on social media making this election to be real nasty

It’s been nasty, and will get worse ...both parties need to convince people to hold their nose and vote.

And the winner needs to convince the more discerning swing vote ...to vote for them despite heaps of reasons not to.

It will get more extreme once the date call.
swing vote is myth and always goes to PNM