Re: Soo KFC raise again

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2018, 11:55 am

That cnc3 vid bess

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2018, 12:02 pm

I have a packet of spicy marinade in my fridge for those who hurting. As far as my tastebuds are concerned, it's simply cayenne, white pepper, garlic powder and msg (visible crystals).

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 26th, 2018, 12:09 pm

meccalli wrote:I have a packet of spicy marinade in my fridge for those who hurting. As far as my tastebuds are concerned, it's simply cayenne, white pepper, garlic powder and msg (visible crystals).

AKA eleven herbs and spices...lol

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2018, 12:13 pm

Miktay wrote:
meccalli wrote:I have a packet of spicy marinade in my fridge for those who hurting. As far as my tastebuds are concerned, it's simply cayenne, white pepper, garlic powder and msg (visible crystals).

AKA eleven herbs and spices...lol

I think that's really for original, but I'm confident through my experiments. All original is just salt, msg, black and white pepper. ALOT of pepper (telicherry variety). McCormick usually uses that variety of black peppercorn in their black pepper grinders.

Postby Ben_spanna » April 26th, 2018, 12:16 pm

Thug life! no one really cares

Postby Gem_in_i » April 26th, 2018, 12:17 pm

steverandolph wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:$20 bbq in debe for it wii

Go strong fadda. It cheap but how people could eat that is a miracle. Last time I bought there the
chicken and pork was fresh with no seasoning at all. Tasted like they put it on the coal and just burn it and just dip it in bbq sauce after. I work for my money so I prefer to buy a quality/tasty product because I careful what I put in my mouth

Their quality really dropped from when they started. It taste exactly like that, burn chicken dipped in sauce. I stopped buying.
But I did buy the sweet potato fries to try it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2018, 12:48 pm

I does season the flour and egg batter with

Cayenne pepper
Chilli powder
All purpose seasoning
Paprika
Black pepper
Shadown and garlic well blended

Taste good enough for me...Fried in canola oil

Postby hydroep » April 26th, 2018, 12:52 pm

You can also do a quasi "chinese style" fry in a wok with minimal oil and still get that crispy texture, just be extra careful as it can burn very easily.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 26th, 2018, 2:45 pm

You guys should try using an air fryer to fry stuff. Uses no oil. Your cholesterol level will thank you.

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2018, 4:28 pm

hydroep wrote:You can also do a quasi "chinese style" fry in a wok with minimal oil and still get that crispy texture, just be extra careful as it can burn very easily.

Doesn't work as well for things that are battered or coated in flour, chinese chicken gets it outer crisp due to a vinegar/maltose solution which is fan dried onto the skin to wick away moisture, when they pour hot oil over it, it instantly goes glassy and crisp.

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2018, 4:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I does season the flour

I prefer to brine or inject, you can just poke holes in the chicken and soak in the brine. Putting seasoning into the flour tends to want to burn or taint the oil. Commercial outlets tend to use machines to do it for them ( saline injectors.)
If you have a thermometer that would be best thing for those who like to fry, maintaining a steady temp and avoiding both large swings in both directions is key. Properly fried foods barely absorb oil.

"Fry some more" Good Eats episode is a great watch on the topic.

Postby redmanjp » April 26th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Did I just see on CNC3 ah woman say her chile crying because kfc increase?

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 26th, 2018, 7:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:Did I just see on CNC3 ah woman say her chile crying because kfc increase?

i t
w a s
a
m e m e

It's not that deep fam

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2018, 8:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:Did I just see on CNC3 ah woman say her chile crying because kfc increase?

Them women were at balisier house when pnm loss

Postby redmanjp » April 26th, 2018, 10:05 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

i t
w a s
a
m e m e

It's not that deep fam

I had only seen the 3 second preview at that time, saw the whole meme after

But in truth some ppl go be sad still

Soo KFC raise again

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2018, 10:17 pm

Sufferers affected.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » April 27th, 2018, 1:40 am

Them have REL competition, even more now as they raise prices. It have cheaper alternatives all over with a $20 box of food. I does buy from T&T Chicken Hut (i does pay $80 for 10 pieces, good to put down for the week ) & Japs (D's/Darryl's opposite Puna market) have cheap food. Tuesdays does have a piece of thigh & fries for $10. Just now KFC go reach fine dining restaurant status yes.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 27th, 2018, 3:12 am

KFC is an inelastic good in Trinidad.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2018, 5:23 am

hit the nail on the head,

KFC = alcohol = cigarettes = ganja

it is also alleged by the facebook vid to be the pnm supporter food of choice

it appears they make facebook take down the vid

Daran wrote:KFC is an inelastic good in Trinidad.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 27th, 2018, 5:27 am

QuietGiant wrote:Them have REL competition, even more now as they raise prices. It have cheaper alternatives all over with a $20 box of food. I does buy from T&T Chicken Hut (i does pay $80 for 10 pieces, good to put down for the week ) & Japs (D's/Darryl's opposite Puna market) have cheap food. Tuesdays does have a piece of thigh & fries for $10. Just now KFC go reach fine dining restaurant status yes.

so them 10 piece is Local Chicken or that dutty Tyson frozen dump chicken? Post back if it is local produced chicken. KFC use Arawak chicken. A lot of places offering chicken meals for $20 but using cheap tyson chicken, roti shops, bbq places,chinee food etc.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » April 27th, 2018, 6:19 am

I might aswell put up alittle more and dine in a restaurant

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2018, 6:52 am

Several food joints in trini feeding people with that tyson crap...one of the main reasons why I cook my own...chicken leg looking like pork leg

Postby hydroep » April 27th, 2018, 7:34 am

Back in the day me Mudda used to make something called lentil logs/patties. It was basically boiled lentils mashed into a paste with seasonings and a binder added. Shape, fry and voilà: tasty meat substitute.

Preparation time was the killer though...:|

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2018, 8:44 am

Some vegeie burger patties are mashed lentils.

Shortie

Postby Shortie » April 27th, 2018, 9:27 am

screwbash wrote:
QuietGiant wrote:Them have REL competition, even more now as they raise prices. It have cheaper alternatives all over with a $20 box of food. I does buy from T&T Chicken Hut (i does pay $80 for 10 pieces, good to put down for the week ) & Japs (D's/Darryl's opposite Puna market) have cheap food. Tuesdays does have a piece of thigh & fries for $10. Just now KFC go reach fine dining restaurant status yes.

so them 10 piece is Local Chicken or that dutty Tyson frozen dump chicken? Post back if it is local produced chicken. KFC use Arawak chicken. A lot of places offering chicken meals for $20 but using cheap tyson chicken, roti shops, bbq places,chinee food etc.

T & T Chicken Hut is 100% Local Chicken they purchase from Arawak. KFC Chicken is not all Arawak they Import some of their Chicken.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2018, 9:32 am

All chinese restaurants use tyson...royal castle is local...kfc probably 50 -50...

I doh see how people still running down japs

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » April 30th, 2018, 9:30 pm

screwbash wrote:

Nah, T&T Chicken Hut is 100% local chicken from Arawak, they also have they local farm links that's why they never run out. Same with Japs. I know the tyson cases you talking about, we try it once or twice from PriceSmart as it was cheap and it taste really artificial, like bland plastic meat with real skin.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » April 30th, 2018, 9:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All chinese restaurants use tyson...royal castle is local...kfc probably 50 -50...

I doh see how people still running down japs

I don't know if Japs itself still running under that name but they rename to Darryl's/D's & they open a branch opposite tunapuna market. They food cheap & tasty, can't go wrong there.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 1st, 2018, 5:23 am

QuietGiant wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Nah, T&T Chicken Hut is 100% local chicken from Arawak, they also have they local farm links that's why they never run out. Same with Japs. I know the tyson cases you talking about, we try it once or twice from PriceSmart as it was cheap and it taste really artificial, like bland plastic meat with real skin.

all over u seeing the tyson while box trown out in the garbage, mostly at chinee resturant. I will have to try back TT Chicken hut, the only time i buy there was the one in charlieville and i get sick same evening but it could be just coincidence. Most ah dem muslim owned business does support muslim owned arawak and sm jaleel. daz y yuh go only get arawak chicken and chubby/oasis.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2018, 6:05 am

yeah tt chicken is family to a big chicken magnate or something like that
japs went downhill a long time ago