Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » March 24th, 2017, 12:19 am

Property tax to be rolled out in the next 2 weeks:

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 24th, 2017, 1:39 am

fcuk u dumbert i not paying none
you cannot even evict people squatting in gobernmant houses. what u going to do if i doh pay it

ok guess i will pay it

speedist

Postby speedist » March 24th, 2017, 1:49 am

So basically after years of slaving to finish pay off my mortgage, I now have to pay tax for living in my own damn house?!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 24th, 2017, 4:28 am

ah wonder if these ministers will state the rental value of their property and show the size of their house.
patiently waiting to see mine. patiently waiting to see business places in the city

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2017, 6:08 am

if u pay a tax for a property for using some piece of land, then u are entitled to use such land. can't move u... u already payed the tax, the accepted it.

so dont buy, squat

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 24th, 2017, 7:53 am

RASC wrote:This will add a significant amount of liquidity to the market. MUCH needed!

Will they be instituting legislation to charge owners of derelict empty/over grown lots?
Can't wait for that one to be inacted:)

You ever see the expensive crappy roads we have to deal with?

Plus they don't last more than 5 years, I sorry but I done with more taxes

Government need to start look at themselves and how they waste rather than charge citizens for the shortfall

Postby RASC » March 24th, 2017, 7:55 am

Oh damn... Sounds like alot of Y'all will have to SELL this land to get away from this evilous regime...damn. The Horror!

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2017, 7:55 am

any idea when the new property tax would be implemented ?
2018 ?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2017, 7:56 am

all the stupid govt know how to do is tax the population without addressing any shortfalls due to their own mismanagement of resources

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 24th, 2017, 8:44 am

I going live in the forest like Ras Shorty I....

4kin4kar

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 4kin4kar » March 24th, 2017, 8:59 am

dude2014 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
dude2014 wrote:Some body has to pay for the infrastructure, such as roads, electricity, schools, security, hospitals and it comes in the form of taxes. Property taxes, VAT, PAYE, Health surcharge, etc and the infamous NIS, scheme and more scheme.

Trust me when I tell you patos had it worked out and I have the book to prove it. Local Govt had a rate and taxes dept that had completed an exercise to implement same. After spending millions of dollars it was abondon for the Revenue Authority. That was true Local Government reform as they would have retained some of it for roads construction, maintenance, recreation grounds, garbage collection, etc. ....

Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes.

Taxes are required but a property tax isn't. There is no reason for it and we'll have bobol in the local and national levels.

Justify the reason/s for not charging a property tax. How in any body's name other than god's are we going to pay all the people at the Ministry of legal affairs who maintain the Land Registry, the persons at the Warden Offices?

Do you have land? Rest comfortably when I tell you in the absence of such, I can scheme you out of land and other assets.

Actually you do not have to pay tax. We will declare you Persona Non Grata who will be grateful for an ID card so you can pay for all the free services you will be enjoying such as roads, hospitals, schools which the rest of us who are paying taxes is entitled to do so because we paid all the taxes we are lawfully required to do.

With regards the bobol what I posted previously "Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes" I am to ask what are you doing presently to prevent BOBOL.

It is not about the big fish, but the small ones like me who are peeling away at their scales to keep them in check. Decide what type of fish you want to be. If you choose wisely I will follow ...........

I have no problem paying taxes invluding property tax but will the money be used to improve our lives and country or for corruption? We already pay so much taxes for vehicles in this country and look at the condition of the roads, public transportation and road infrastructure. Health, security and transit should be the first three things any government should deal with but if they do how will their friends who own these security companies, private medical institutions make money?

Nanlal trace.jpg

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 24th, 2017, 9:06 am

What kinna tax they planning on taxing here anyway? $5000 a year per acre? Tax wont be more than a $250.

But jed. Allyuh see is autopilot pnm on right? When they need money they just create a tax. Real failures that think they bright. Our educational institutions have been failing us for a long time. So failed are we that we consider the failures that made their way into government positions intelligent.

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 24th, 2017, 9:07 am

RASC wrote:Oh damn... Sounds like alot of Y'all will have to SELL this land to get away from this evilous regime...damn. The Horror!

Don't know bout the rest, but I can afford my taxes, but for the amount I pay there is no value for money.

I fed up of paying for crap, so junior Sammy et al could drive Bentley and have security while I have to slow down to go over wavy roads. Have to watch my back every day. Pay for "commissions of enquiry". Watch sour pan in government office. BIR closing half day in south etc.

car

Postby car » March 24th, 2017, 9:42 am

pugboy wrote:any idea when the new property tax would be implemented ?
2018 ?

I know an inside source. He said July/August this year.

src1983

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby src1983 » March 24th, 2017, 10:22 am

Nanlal trace.jpg

A contractor getting a cool 15M and USD access to fix that, and after 6 months it mash up.

But car spotters will have a new Bentley to look at #ballers

Miktay

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Miktay » March 24th, 2017, 2:04 pm

dude2014 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
dude2014 wrote:Some body has to pay for the infrastructure, such as roads, electricity, schools, security, hospitals and it comes in the form of taxes. Property taxes, VAT, PAYE, Health surcharge, etc and the infamous NIS, scheme and more scheme.

Trust me when I tell you patos had it worked out and I have the book to prove it. Local Govt had a rate and taxes dept that had completed an exercise to implement same. After spending millions of dollars it was abondon for the Revenue Authority. That was true Local Government reform as they would have retained some of it for roads construction, maintenance, recreation grounds, garbage collection, etc. ....

Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes.

Taxes are required but a property tax isn't. There is no reason for it and we'll have bobol in the local and national levels.

Justify the reason/s for not charging a property tax. How in any body's name other than god's are we going to pay all the people at the Ministry of legal affairs who maintain the Land Registry, the persons at the Warden Offices?

Do you have land? Rest comfortably when I tell you in the absence of such, I can scheme you out of land and other assets.

Actually you do not have to pay tax. We will declare you Persona Non Grata who will be grateful for an ID card so you can pay for all the free services you will be enjoying such as roads, hospitals, schools which the rest of us who are paying taxes is entitled to do so because we paid all the taxes we are lawfully required to do.

With regards the bobol what I posted previously "Property taxes is a necessity. However with poor appreciation for its purpose and the normal mismanagement it is seen as a monster. Just check our relatives in England and the US, they pay Poll tax or property taxes" I am to ask what are you doing presently to prevent BOBOL.

It is not about the big fish, but the small ones like me who are peeling away at their scales to keep them in check. Decide what type of fish you want to be. If you choose wisely I will follow ...........

When iz the last time you went in the Min of Legal Affairs? In mass confusion inside that place. Them ppl dont know they rass fm they elbow.

Talk to five people and u will get five different answers to ur question.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 24th, 2017, 4:57 pm

I doh mind paying the tax...but yuh see d part where men coming to put a value to my house to try n buss meh head...we go have some words there..

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 24th, 2017, 5:21 pm

BTW I'm new to this but how are they going to evaluate your land and house...also wtf we paying so much taxes and not one thing we getting good...always something with the public sector

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2017, 5:38 pm

they could realistically cover all areas in that time ?

car wrote:
pugboy wrote:any idea when the new property tax would be implemented ?
2018 ?

I know an inside source. He said July/August this year.

car

Postby car » March 24th, 2017, 6:30 pm

The inside source said that they going to be using the 2009 rates for now. He also said that we can refuse to pay by writing a letter and stating the reasons.
I have yet to get more information on this.
He said it is our right to refuse and the govt believes not much people know that we can do this. If they get enough refusals they will have to look at alternatives.
I will see if I can get more info on this as I'm not to clear on it.

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2017, 6:30 pm

last year, some firm said from manning's time, the assessment exercise would be 5 years. and culvert invert said by this year february they would have been implementing the tax, far less for assessing. he as to use the old schemes, and calculate rent on that, and charge that, until the joe public/temp agency assessor pass by ur house.

Postby Dave » March 24th, 2017, 6:39 pm

3% of the annual rental value less an allowance

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 24th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Big or medium Dollars house $25,000 TT per month

Tax calculation $25,000 x 12 = $300,000 x 3% = $9,000. per year or $750.00 per month .

Seems reasonable but its another tax and what are we getting for paying it ? Improved what ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 24th, 2017, 7:58 pm

you are forgetting the 10% they minus after the annual rental value is calculated...the 3% is then taken from that figure

so it is going to be : $25,000x 12 =$300,000
10% of $300,000= $30,000
$300,000-$30,000=$270,000

then 3% of that figure

well I read that today

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 24th, 2017, 8:21 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you are forgetting the 10% they minus after the annual rental value is calculated...the 3% is then taken from that figure

10% of $300,000= $30,000

then 3% of that figure

well I read that today

At the same time people probably done living pay check to pay check how is this gonna happen

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2017, 8:44 pm

assessing ur property as rent is a shoddy principle in the first place.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » March 24th, 2017, 9:23 pm

So yuh buy the land, yuh build/ buy the house on it, pay the stamp duty etc and whatever legal fees attached to transaction and hadda pay property tax too ???? Why the hell bother to buy anything in the first place ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 24th, 2017, 9:34 pm

with the implementation of this tax....every forking thing in Trinidad going up...no businessman is going to incur this cost...food, rent, building materials etc etc...all going up...

next year people dead(in the voice of Bounty Killer)

car

Postby car » March 24th, 2017, 9:43 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:you are forgetting the 10% they minus after the annual rental value is calculated...the 3% is then taken from that figure

10% of $300,000= $30,000

then 3% of that figure

well I read that today

As you mention the 10%
They will not be removing the 10% since they will be using the 2009 rates. I just remembered that.

Postby meccalli » March 24th, 2017, 9:50 pm

I don't have a problem with property tax, but our utility bills are lower than this..