Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

BRZ

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby BRZ » May 8th, 2016, 10:37 am

Well a pickup truck with its light tray in the rear is a weapon going down the highway at high speeds, so I think the speed limit of 65 km is ideal for all of those "T" vehicles.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 8th, 2016, 4:22 pm

clearly you dont drive a pickup

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 8th, 2016, 4:25 pm

So if you have a Subaru impreza station wagon or Hyundai Tucson registered with T plates does it apply

Postby pete » May 8th, 2016, 5:33 pm

If the MGW is over 2540kg then yes.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2016, 6:10 pm

Sooooo .... 3/4 of the drivers in Canada on a well known highway break the speed limit, sometimes as much as 30 KPH above the speed limits and yet they have one of the Lowest road fatality rates in the world ... at 6 deaths per 100,000 people. The civil engineers in Canada would have decided that their roads were built to handle 100 kph.

Even Trinidad is below the world average(17.4) at 14.1 deaths per 100,000 people. So we not winning any prizes here folks.

Yes ... another day in Trinidad where people believe that breaking the speed limit gives you a "permit to kill".
Sometimes I feel I was born in the wrong country ...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2016, 6:31 pm

sentraman wrote:clearly you dont drive a pickup

I did have a Navara for a year and yes those thing are no where near as safe as SUV's or cars at highway speeds.
The suspension is designed for load, and without any weight it is very bouncy. Vehicle started bouncing on a patch of rough tarmac just before couva and almost lost control had I not been paying attention and had a little less experience on the road. Drove over that same patch with a jetta, tiguan, legacy, crv and an xtrail and never experienced that. After that started driving much slower in the pick-up.

The next problem is they are rear wheel driven unless you put it in 4x4 mode. Rear wheel drive vehicles are more unstable and especially since these pick-up do not have ESC and other active electronic stability aids and a higher center of gravity.
Had a cousin who was driving his company ranger and was rear ended on the highway. Car fish tailed, spun out of control and flipped on the highway and he was doing between 90 and 100 kph.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 8th, 2016, 6:51 pm

As a precious navara owner can easily say it was the most unstable van at high speeds. I don't agree with the 65 tho. It can do the 80 and be stable but def not the crazy speeds I see some people driving at

Postby pete » May 8th, 2016, 7:27 pm

The dmax I have is very stable at 80. Used to drive at 90 before the guns were implemented. Did a trial drive from POS to Chaguaramas today at 65/50 and it wasn't so bad. Took under an hour. How it will affect work would be seen this week I guess.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2016, 9:00 pm

Went on the rivulet again today at 50 . I cause rel traffic lol. I felt so bad I had to temporarily park on the side of rd. No main rivulet. .. to let all of them take over.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 9:16 pm

aaron17 wrote:Went on the rivulet again today at 50 . I cause rel traffic lol. I felt so bad I had to temporarily park on the side of rd. No main rivulet. .. to let all of them take over.

Btw 50 on Jetta speedo is actually less than 50 in real life. Might really be doing 45.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2016, 9:17 pm

Hmm really

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 9:28 pm

Yeah same with 80. Check it in waze if you want. Set cruise control to 80 and see what corresponding speed waze shows.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 8th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Is it me alone or aaron17 rel annoying?

Anyway, Allergic is right. Almost all cars' speedometers are slightly overestimated, stock. Well from my experience.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 8th, 2016, 9:58 pm

Had my first drive under the radar gun threat on the highway today, and it was painful. It was saddening to know all the potential my vehicle holds, yet I cannot unleash it. Lol but seriously it was really a bit difficult. To be constantly darting my eyes from the speedo to the roadway to the shoulders on both sides trying to not go over the 80kph stipulation. All so I don't get a ticket for going slightly over the limit. Isn't there a threshold? So we ONLY have to maintain an absolute limit of 80? I am one who can't agree with the 120kph petition floating about, but I do agree that there is need for a minute adjustment: maybe the authorities can increase and maintain a threshold of say 80-90kilos per hour? 90 seems reasonable enough. What you people think?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 10:13 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Is it me alone or aaron17 rel annoying?

Anyway, Allergic is right. Almost all cars' speedometers are slightly overestimated, stock. Well from my experience.

More recent vehicles yeah. Noticed in older ones that the speedo reads exact so people best needs to check theirs.

Postby nervewrecker » May 8th, 2016, 10:18 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:As a precious navara owner can easily say it was the most unstable van at high speeds. I don't agree with the 65 tho. It can do the 80 and be stable but def not the crazy speeds I see some people driving at

I feel the D22 frontier is. But it does 80km/h fine.

Postby j.o.e » May 8th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Not you alone

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2016, 10:22 pm

Yeah that Jetta he driving deserves better ... :lol:

Postby Spitfir3 » May 8th, 2016, 10:54 pm

viedcht wrote:Had my first drive under the radar gun threat on the highway today, and it was painful. It was saddening to know all the potential my vehicle holds, yet I cannot unleash it. Lol but seriously it was really a bit difficult. To be constantly darting my eyes from the speedo to the roadway to the shoulders on both sides trying to not go over the 80kph stipulation. All so I don't get a ticket for going slightly over the limit. Isn't there a threshold? So we ONLY have to maintain an absolute limit of 80? I am one who can't agree with the 120kph petition floating about, but I do agree that there is need for a minute adjustment: maybe the authorities can increase and maintain a threshold of say 80-90kilos per hour? 90 seems reasonable enough. What you people think?

having a threshold between 80-90 that way people would have a bit more leeway makes too much sense so it ain't going to happen, unless yuh car tuned to the beat of the speedgun is shaft and that's how they like it

Postby tr1ad » May 9th, 2016, 1:03 am

Unleash yuh vehicle potential on a track, not on public roads... Simple

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 5:59 am

tr1ad wrote:Unleash yuh vehicle potential on a track, not on public roads... Simple

You of all people haven't realised yet that you can't talk sense in this thread?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 9th, 2016, 6:07 am

tr1ad wrote:Unleash yuh vehicle potential on a track, not on public roads... Simple

That was using my daily driver. It wouldn't make sense using a powerful car. No sense at all. What i was really getting at in the post is maybe give a range. Like 80kph with a 5kph allowance for adjustment of your speed. I experienced erratic speed patterns in my lane(left) most of the way. Some were doing 55-75kph and always speeding up after realising it. The fastest I ever really went in cruise is 90kph and always between 80-90. My suggestion was that don't ticket someone because they were clocked one of two over the limit. My speedometer isn't graduated in single units,but in tens.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 9th, 2016, 6:09 am

Th fastest i ever went before the speed guns I meant

Postby Les Bain » May 9th, 2016, 7:17 am

Having a previous upper limit of 90, I don't agree with the petition's upper limit of 120. While I am adjusting to 80 in a positive way (increased weekly gas mileage), I'd agree with an upper limit of 90.

Still witnessing a minority of reckless speeding and lane weaving but I must admit a substantial increase of ease being on the roadways. Dreading enforcement of the 50km/h routes though. 60 works better.

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2016, 7:47 am

Annoying in what way though?

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2016, 8:17 am

well sorry for being an annoying person..I guess

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 9th, 2016, 8:20 am

I'm not sure whether a Lidar detector will be useful.
Checkout the specs

http://www.lasertech.com/TruCAM-Laser-Speed-Gun.aspx
TruCAM Specifications

Weight: 3.3 lbs (1.50 kg)
Size: 8.27 x 3.86 x 12.47 in (21.0 x 9.8 x 31.7 cm)
Construction: Composite polycarbonate outer shell; Aluminum internal chassis
Maximum Range: 4,000 ft (1,200 m); Typical
4,900 ft (1,500 m); Extended range can be modified by request.
Minimum Range:
Speed Mode: 50 ft (15 m)
Weather Mode: 200 ft (60 m)
Continuous Mode: 50 ft (15 m)
Range Accuracy: ± 6 in (±15 cm) absolute accuracy
Display Resolution:
Speed: + 1 mph (+ 2 km/h)
Range: ± 0.1 unit of measure
Speed Range: ± 200 mph (± 320 km/h)
Speed Accuracy: ± 1 mph (± 2 km/h)
Measurement Type: Automode and single-shot
Power:
Battery Pack: Lithium-ion polymer rechargeable battery pack (up to 15 hours of cordless operation)
Battery Charger: Automatic laser jammer avoidance
Main Charger: 110 v ac to 240 v ac
Automobile Charger: 11 v dc to 16 v dc
Communication: RS232, serial communications port RS485, nighttime flash signal,
USB 2.0, image data transfer, touch-panel input
Measurement Time: 0.33 second
Environment: NEMA 4/IP55 water- and dust-Resistant
Temperature Range: 14° F to 140° F (-10° C to +60° C)
Eye Safety: FDA Class 1 (CFR 21) IEC 60825-1
Laser Wavelength: 905 nanometers nominal
Beam Divergence: 2.5 milliradians nominal
Hardware:
Capture Data Storage: Removable SD card (supports up to 2 GB and larger; SD and SDHC formats)
Display: 2.7 in (6.9 cm), 240 x 320 pixel, color, 18 bits per pixel (bpp)
Camera Lens: 3.1 megapixel (2048 x 1536) 75 mm
GPS Receiver: 20 channels
Firmware:
Operating System: Linux based
Anti-Jam: Automatic laser jammer avoidance
Video Size: Standard format: 240 x 180 pixels,
Extended format: 480 x 360 pixels
Video Modes: LP (long play), EP (extended play)
Still Image Sizes: Selectable (1920 x 1440 pixels or 1440 x 1080 pixels)
Data Encryption: AES-128, U.S. Federal Information Processing Standards,
Advanced Encryption, Standard 128 bit

NOTE: All specifications are subject to change without notice. (Rev. 9.12)

Postby DVSTT » May 9th, 2016, 8:23 am

Are they calibrated to give accurate measurement from on top a flyover?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 9th, 2016, 8:27 am

I'll expect the accuracy to be higher as no need to move the device.
Just point the camera to a lane, leave it in auto mode and you could theoretically snag 3 vehicles per second.
Pray the fixed overhead cameras are still a couple years away.

Postby Redman » May 9th, 2016, 8:47 am

^^^^^^^^
We should make the step to fixed cameras/radar and mailed tickets.
Yes there are issues with License office-but that might also be away to weed out those issues.

The fly overs should be great locations for this when the infractions fall off to some acceptable level....implying that we complying with some rules...raise the speed limit.
And re assess.

Why isnt defensive driving courses MANDATORY for new drivers?